FoodtopsyFrançais
Raw celery stalks

Celery, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g · 13 kcal

Lots of vitamin K1.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: Listeria.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 2.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 3.26 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 18% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 84% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 4,600 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 1,300 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 18% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

Checked for nickel, aluminum and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 2.46 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 31,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 85 g a day, which stays within the 23,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 31,489 g a day would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 28.9 µg/kg.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Aluminum

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 31.5 µg

    How we got this

    190,000 g a week reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 188,724 g a week would reach it, on a Health Canada mean of 370.9 µg/kg.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with aluminum

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 91 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.7–1.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.31 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake (EFSA 2012 middle-bound mean 0.40-0.59 µg/kg body weight/day, 28-41 µg/day for 70 kg): 85 g of celery adds 0.31 µg, about 0.7-1.1%, far below doubling. The Health Canada mean is 3.597 µg/kg, a lower bound.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Flag, not scored: Listeria in pre-cut celery is a vulnerable-groups (pregnancy, immunocompromised) concern under the existing listeria reference.

  • Flag for people on warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent; celery has about 25 µg per 85 g.

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 25 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.1 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Context: total arsenic has no reference value; the inorganic share is rated only where measured.

  • Shown as context, not rated: nitrate is information here, never scored. EFSA's 2017 acceptable daily intake is 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day, 259 mg/day for 70 kg; it is the food-additive figure, applied to vegetable nitrate by this dataset's own convention. At the mean of 1,103 mg/kg (EFSA data, n 387), about 235 g of celery a day would reach it (374 g at the median of 693 mg/kg, 78 g at the P95 of 3,319). Boiling cuts nitrate by about 50%, according to EFSA.

  • Context only, never rated. Residues are frequent on celery (most samples carry at least one), with no violation of a Canadian maximum residue limit in any table.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables or snacks we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin K1

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables or snacks we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 18.7 µg)
    • More vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 2.64 mg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 0 mg)
    • More vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 2.64 mg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 2.64 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Asparagus, cooked
    • More folate (127 µg vs 30.6 µg)
    • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More thiamin (0.14 mg vs 0.02 mg)
  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 18.7 µg)
    • More vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 2.64 mg)
  • Broccoli, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 24.9 µg)
    • More vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 2.64 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Celery, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada TRA V.1, vegetables without sauce, fresh or frozen)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Calcium46.28 mg39.34 mg312.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
40 mg34 mg269.68 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2386C
Carbohydrate3.317 g2.82 g22.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Choline6.1 mg5.19 mg41.13 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Energy14.832 kcal12.61 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
14 kcal11.9 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fat0.163 g0.14 g1.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.042 g0.04 g0.28 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fibre1.6 g1.36 g10.79 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Folate36 µg30.6 µg242.72 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Iron0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Magnesium10.93 mg9.29 mg73.69 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.47 mg0.4 mg3.17 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2386C
Phosphorus21.6 mg18.36 mg145.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Potassium265.2 mg225.42 mg1,788.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Protein0.492 g0.42 g3.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Riboflavin (B2)0.057 mg0.05 mg0.38 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Sodium97.21 mg82.63 mg655.4 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Sugars1.34 g1.14 g9.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Thiamin (B1)0.021 mg0.02 mg0.14 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin A22 µg18.7 µg148.33 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin B60.052 mg0.04 mg0.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Vitamin C3.1 mg2.64 mg20.9 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin E0.27 mg0.23 mg1.82 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin K129.3 µg24.91 µg197.54 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Water95.2 g80.92 g641.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Zinc0.093 mg0.08 mg0.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene270 µg229.5 µg1,820.37 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Copper0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Energy (Atwater general)16.697 kcal14.19 kcal112.57 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Energy (Atwater specific)14.832 kcal12.61 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Nitrogen0.079 g0.07 g0.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Ash0.829 g0.7 g5.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Starch0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Sucrose0.08 g0.07 g0.54 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Glucose0.4 g0.34 g2.7 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fructose0.37 g0.31 g2.49 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Energy57 kj48.45 kj384.3 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Galactose0.48 g0.41 g3.24 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fluoride, F4 µg3.4 µg26.97 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Molybdenum, Mo0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Vitamin A, IU449 iu381.65 iu3,027.21 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.01 mg0.01 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Folate, food36 µg30.6 µg242.72 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Folate, DFE36 µg30.6 µg242.72 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Betaine0.1 mg0.09 mg0.67 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tryptophan0.009 g0.01 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Threonine0.02 g0.02 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Isoleucine0.021 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Leucine0.032 g0.03 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Lysine0.027 g0.02 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Methionine0.005 g0 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Cystine0.004 g0 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Phenylalanine0.02 g0.02 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Tyrosine0.009 g0.01 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Valine0.027 g0.02 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Arginine0.02 g0.02 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Histidine0.012 g0.01 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Alanine0.023 g0.02 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Aspartic acid0.117 g0.1 g0.79 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Glutamic acid0.09 g0.08 g0.61 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Glycine0.021 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Proline0.018 g0.02 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Serine0.02 g0.02 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 14:00.001 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 16:00.037 g0.03 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
SFA 18:00.004 g0 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
MUFA 18:10.031 g0.03 g0.21 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 18:20.079 g0.07 g0.53 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 18:30 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
MUFA 16:10.001 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Phytosterols6 mg5.1 mg40.45 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.032 g0.03 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.079 g0.07 g0.53 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Lutein + zeaxanthin283 µg240.55 µg1,908.02 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Manganese0.076 mg0.06 mg0.51 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346405C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.32 mg0.27 mg2.16 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.246 mg0.21 mg1.66 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169988C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 188,724 g a week would reach it, on a Health Canada mean of 370.9 µg/kg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Context: total arsenic has no reference value; the inorganic share is rated only where measured. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 18% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Celery allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a celery allergy, which can be severe. Celery is on the EU/UK mandatory allergen list (Annex II item 9) but not among Health Canada's nine priority allergens, so Canadian labels need not declare it. Any link with pollen allergy is not covered here. · EU 1169–2011 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake (EFSA 2012 middle-bound mean 0.40-0.59 µg/kg body weight/day, 28-41 µg/day for 70 kg): 85 g of celery adds 0.31 µg, about 0.7-1.1%, far below doubling. The Health Canada mean is 3.597 µg/kg, a lower bound. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Listeria · Worth knowing · Flag, not scored: Listeria in pre-cut celery is a vulnerable-groups (pregnancy, immunocompromised) concern under the existing listeria reference. · Cidrap 2010 · B
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 31,489 g a day would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 28.9 µg/kg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, not rated: nitrate is information here, never scored. EFSA's 2017 acceptable daily intake is 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day, 259 mg/day for 70 kg; it is the food-additive figure, applied to vegetable nitrate by this dataset's own convention. At the mean of 1,103 mg/kg (EFSA data, n 387), about 235 g of celery a day would reach it (374 g at the median of 693 mg/kg, 78 g at the P95 of 3,319). Boiling cuts nitrate by about 50%, according to EFSA. · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Context only, never rated. Residues are frequent on celery (most samples carry at least one), with no violation of a Canadian maximum residue limit in any table. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2022–2023) · A
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · Flag for people on warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent; celery has about 25 µg per 85 g. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap fructan: none found for celery stalk; Jovanovic-Malinovska 2014 found no fructo-oligosaccharides (GF2, GF3, GF4) in celery bulb or celery leaves not stated in the draft · g/100 g fresh weight (the paper) · not stated · grade B · Jovanovic 2014
  • fodmap mannitol: 1.50 g/100 g of celery as relayed from Yao 2014; at the 85 g serving that is 1.28 g mannitol against Varney 2017's cut-off of 0.20 g per serve for sorbitol or mannitol, so far above it g/100 g · not stated (the source table assumes fresh weight) · celery (preparation not stated) · grade B · Liljebo 2020

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.