FoodtopsyFrançais
Four whole raw carrots

Carrots, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about 1½ medium carrots) · 38 kcal

Lots of vitamin A.

Nothing to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

  • Vitamin A

    Your eyes need it to see in dim light.

    A lot
    Learn more

    Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.

    710 µg in one serving: 79% of the 900 µg a day men need, 101% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount.

    Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 4.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.6 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 77% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 9,600 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 2,800 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 48 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 2.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.73 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    adds 2.1%

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    4 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 16–49 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Akhtar 2011 · grade A

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables or snacks we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For vitamin A: no other vegetables or snacks we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 85 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables or snacks we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 5.02 mg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 31.5 µg)
    • Less vitamin A (324 µg vs 710 µg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 1.7 mg)
    • More calcium (52.1 mg vs 13.5 mg)
    • Less vitamin A (124 µg vs 710 µg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 5.02 mg)
    • Less vitamin A (33.2 µg vs 710 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Asparagus, cooked
    • 19 kcal in 85 g (this food: 38)
    • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More folate (127 µg vs 31.5 µg)
    • Less vitamin A (42.5 µg vs 710 µg)
  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • 17 kcal in 85 g (this food: 38)
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 5.02 mg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 31.5 µg)
    • Less vitamin A (324 µg vs 710 µg)
  • Broccoli, cooked
    • 24 kcal in 85 g (this food: 38)
    • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 11.2 µg)
    • More vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 5.02 mg)
    • Less vitamin A (43.4 µg vs 710 µg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Carrot, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Calcium30.48 mg25.91 mg67.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
26 mg22.1 mg57.81 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
33 mg28.05 mg73.37 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2380C
Carbohydrate10.268 g8.73 g22.83 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Choline8.8 mg7.48 mg19.56 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Energy44.979 kcal38.23 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
41 kcal34.85 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fat0.351 g0.3 g0.78 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.4 g0.34 g0.89 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.032 g0.03 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fibre3.095 g2.63 g6.88 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
3.9 g3.32 g8.67 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Folate37.06 µg31.5 µg82.39 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
8 µg6.8 µg17.79 µgsecond database · not used · 4.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Iron0.15 mg0.13 mg0.33 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.23 mg0.2 mg0.51 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Magnesium12.45 mg10.58 mg27.68 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
7 mg5.95 mg15.56 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.183 mg1.01 mg2.63 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2380C
Phosphorus39.81 mg33.84 mg88.51 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
16 mg13.6 mg35.57 mgsecond database · not used · 2.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Potassium279.6 mg237.66 mg621.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
178 mg151.3 mg395.74 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Protein0.941 g0.8 g2.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.5 g0.43 g1.11 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Riboflavin (B2)0.095 mg0.08 mg0.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not used · 9.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Sodium86.65 mg73.65 mg192.65 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
27 mg22.95 mg60.03 mgsecond database · not used · 3.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Sugars4.74 g4.03 g10.54 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
7.2 g6.12 g16.01 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Thiamin (B1)0.065 mg0.06 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.13 mg0.11 mg0.29 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin A835 µg709.75 µg1,856.44 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin B60.146 mg0.12 mg0.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.06 mg0.05 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin C5.9 mg5.02 mg13.12 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
2 mg1.7 mg4.45 mgsecond database · not used · 3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin E0.66 mg0.56 mg1.47 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0.09 mg0.08 mg0.2 mgsecond database · not used · 7.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Vitamin K113.2 µg11.22 µg29.35 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
5.5 µg4.68 µg12.23 µgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Water87.72 g74.56 g195.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
89 g75.65 g197.87 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Zinc0.236 mg0.2 mg0.53 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.1 mg0.09 mg0.22 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene8,285 µg7,042.25 µg18,419.88 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
9,149 µg7,776.65 µg20,340.79 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Copper0.061 mg0.05 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.03 mg0.03 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Energy (Atwater general)47.991 kcal40.79 kcal106.7 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Energy (Atwater specific)44.979 kcal38.23 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Nitrogen0.151 g0.13 g0.33 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Ash0.721 g0.61 g1.6 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Starch1.43 g1.22 g3.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Sucrose3.59 g3.05 g7.98 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Glucose0.59 g0.5 g1.31 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fructose0.55 g0.47 g1.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Energy173 kj147.05 kj384.63 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fluoride, F3.2 µg2.72 µg7.11 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Vitamin A, IU16,706 iu14,200.1 iu37,142.12 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Carotene, alpha3,477 µg2,955.45 µg7,730.34 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Lycopene1 µg0.85 µg2.22 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocopherol, beta0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Biotin2.22 µg1.89 µg4.94 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Folate, food19 µg16.15 µg42.24 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Folate, DFE19 µg16.15 µg42.24 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Betaine0.4 mg0.34 mg0.89 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tryptophan0.012 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Threonine0.191 g0.16 g0.42 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Isoleucine0.077 g0.07 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Leucine0.102 g0.09 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Lysine0.101 g0.09 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Methionine0.02 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Cystine0.083 g0.07 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Phenylalanine0.061 g0.05 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Tyrosine0.043 g0.04 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Valine0.069 g0.06 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Arginine0.091 g0.08 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Histidine0.04 g0.03 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Alanine0.113 g0.1 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Aspartic acid0.19 g0.16 g0.42 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Glutamic acid0.366 g0.31 g0.81 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Glycine0.047 g0.04 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Proline0.054 g0.05 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Serine0.054 g0.05 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 16:00.03 g0.03 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 18:00.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 18:10.011 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 18:20.1 g0.09 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 18:30.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 16:10.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.012 g0.01 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.102 g0.09 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 17:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Lutein + zeaxanthin256 µg217.6 µg569.16 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
Manganese0.13 mg0.11 mg0.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.07 mg0.06 mg0.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Niacin (B3, preformed)1.406 mg1.2 mg3.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258586C
0.2 mg0.17 mg0.44 mgsecond database · not used · 7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.273 mg0.23 mg0.61 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0.27 mg0.23 mg0.6 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170393C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-496C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Morris et al. 2008: control carrot

standard · harvested, sliced, stored at −20 °C; cooking not stated

full text read

Calcium52.1 %38 mg30AUsed
StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Bills 1990: carrot

not stated · canned carrots, microwaved 1 min · 0.5 mg pyridoxine-equivalent = 836 g canned carrots at 0.060 mg B6/100 g

full text read

Vitamin B6–not reported7BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Gillooly et al. 1983: carrot

not stated · boiled 20 min in salted water (750 g vegetable in 1500 ml water with 5 g NaCl; lentils 40 min in 2500 ml), homogenised in a Waring blender to a thick soup; 100 g eaten (equivalent to 50 g uncooked vegetable); peeled before cooking · 3 mg Fe as FeSO4.7H2O (59Fe or 55Fe) mixed into 100 g puree; native iron of the vegetable not reported

full text read

Iron9.8 %not reported9ANot used: no test dose on record.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: carrots (pig) animal study

jumbo carrots · Simmered with water, diced 1-2 cm · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein100 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Tang et al. 2005: carrot

not stated · puréed; cooking not stated · 100 g carrot = 19.2 umol trans-beta-carotene equivalents (about 10.3 mg)

abstract only

Vitamin A–not reported7ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Huang et al. 2000: carrot

not stated · stir-fried shredded carrot · single ingestion; load not stated

abstract only

Beta-carotene–not reported10ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Livny et al. 2003: carrot, cooked and puréed

not stated · cooked, puréed · 15 mg beta-carotene

abstract only

Beta-carotene65.1 %not reported8ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Livny et al. 2003: carrot, raw and chopped

not stated · raw, chopped · 15 mg beta-carotene

abstract only

Beta-carotene41.4 %not reported8ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Ghavami et al. 2012: carrot

not stated · raw; and stir-fried · 100 g portions

abstract only

Beta-carotene–not reported–ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 2.1% · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nitrate · Context · Context only: 10% · EFSA 2008 · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose 0.55 < glucose 0.59) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap fructan: 0.11 g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter (dry matter 13.3 g/100 g fresh carrot; about 0.27 g/100 g fresh weight by our arithmetic) · raw · grade A · Kalala 2017
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter (dry matter 11.9 g/100 g fresh) · steamed (model cooking) · grade B · Kalala 2017
  • fodmap mannitol: 0.2 g/100 g · as listed (basis not stated) · raw · grade C · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
  • histamine: not detected (n = 13) mg/kg · as sold · raw · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: mean 0.031 · standard deviation 0.006 · n 3 mg/kg · as cooked (fried carrot) · carrot fried (150 C, 1-5 min, soybean oil) · grade B · Chung 2017
  • oxalate soluble: 23 mg/100 g · not stated · raw · grade A · Akhtar 2011
  • oxalate total: 16–49 mg/100 g · not stated · raw · grade A · Akhtar 2011
  • tyramine: not detected (n 13) mg/kg · fresh weight · carrot, as sold (raw vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.