
Sauerkraut
Checked by us One serving: 30 g · 6 kcal
Weighed with the liquid in the can.
Little of the nutrients we score, per serving.
Nothing to watch for most people so far.
On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: sulphites; tyramine.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (30 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
No nutrient we score reaches “some” in one serving. The rest, at “a little” or less, is below.
22 more nutrients at a little or less
- A little
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
4.41 mg in one serving: 5% of the 90 mg a day men need, 6% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
3.9 µg in one serving: 3% of the 120 µg a day men need, 4% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.44 mg in one serving: 6% of the 8 mg a day men need, 2% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0.87 g in one serving: 2% of the 38 g a day men need, 3% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
7.2 µg in one serving: 2% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
51 mg in one serving: 2% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 2% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
3.9 mg in one serving: 1% of the 400 mg a day men need, 1% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
9 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
9.9 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 1% of the 16 mg a day men need, 1% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
3.12 mg in one serving: 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.01 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.06 mg in one serving: 1% of the 11 mg a day men need, 1% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.01 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
0.27 g in one serving: under 1% of the 56 g a day men need, 1% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.18 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0.3 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for histamine, cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Histamine
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 17 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 2.89 mg (highest retail sample, 96.2 mg/kg)
How we got this
520 g in one meal reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
The highest retail sample: 30 g x 96.2 mg/kg = 2.9 mg, 5.8% of EFSA's 50 mg per-meal no-effect level for healthy adults; at EFSA's mean (39.4-42.6) 1.2-1.3 mg (2.4-2.6%): no flag for healthy adults. A 250 g plate at the highest value would be 24 mg (48%). EFSA's level for people with histamine intolerance is 'below detectable limits'. EFSA found sauerkraut rarely implicated in poisoning.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 62 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.12 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.7% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 44,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 13,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.67% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 65 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1.5% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.54 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
30 g x 18 µg/kg = 0.54 µg, 1.5% of the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day, EFSA): far from doubling it, so no cap. At the 95th percentile (52 µg/kg) 1.56 µg, 4.5%. The Canadian Total Diet Study has no sauerkraut composite.
EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade A
For some people
Person-specific: sulphites are a Health Canada priority allergen, and some shelf-stable sauerkraut differs from refrigerated raw kinds here, a choice the label shows. No quantity is declared on the records.
Flagged for people taking monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) antidepressants: the US labels for phenelzine (Nardil), tranylcypromine (Parnate) and isocarboxazid (Marplan) list sauerkraut among foods to avoid. EFSA no-effect levels per meal: 600 mg tyramine for healthy people, 50 mg on third-generation MAOIs, 6 mg on classical MAOIs. 30 g at the highest retail value carries 2.5 mg (42% of the 6 mg line); 100 g 8.4 mg; 250 g 21 mg.
For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent. Sauerkraut is low in vitamin K1: a 30 g serving carries 3.9 µg on the USDA listing (a 2021 US survey measured 2.1 µg), against hundreds in leafy greens.
Learn more
Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 3.9 µg of vitamin K1.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.5 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 5
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Measured in this food, not rated yet. Total arsenic is not the toxic inorganic fraction; no speciation, no sauerkraut data. Not rated (brief: a hazard you cannot rate is 'missing').
Spread, not a rating: the 300 'upper limit of toxicity' is the paper's own (from Świder 2020), not an agency limit. Putrescine up to 339 mg/kg. EFSA 2011: fermented-vegetables sum 375-390 mg/kg.
Botulism needs a pH above 4.6; a ferment that fails to acidify is the risk. Sources: Health Canada home-canning page (seafood, 2011; threshold sentence) and the National Center for Home Food Preservation (University of Georgia, 2013; not an agency): 'fermented vegetables that do not finish fermenting to a truly acidic pH'.
Not measured in this food yet. Related-food FDA result is all non-detects; no sauerkraut data; not rated.
Shown as context, not scored: 30 g x 66 mg/kg = 1.98 mg, 0.76% of the 259 mg acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult. Sauerkraut's mean (66 mg/kg) sits far below cabbage's (311) in the same table; nitrite was not assessed.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other vegetables or condiments and dressings we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (110 µg vs 3.9 µg)
- More vitamin A (114 µg vs 0.3 µg)
Kale, cookedMore vitamin K1 (125 µg vs 3.9 µg)
Brussels sprouts, cooked- More vitamin K1 (42.1 µg vs 3.9 µg)
- More vitamin C (18.6 mg vs 4.41 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (110 µg vs 3.9 µg)
- More vitamin A (114 µg vs 0.3 µg)
Broccoli, cookedMore vitamin K1 (26.4 µg vs 3.9 µg)
Mushrooms, rawMore selenium (6.02 µg vs 0.18 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Soy sauce8.1 g protein · 53 kcal per 100 g
Green peas, cooked5.2 g protein · 78 kcal per 100 g
Broccoli, cooked3.1 g protein · 28 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Mayonnaise (Nothing to watch).
Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Sauerkraut, canned, solids and liquid
How the serving was set: 30 g drained solids (Health Canada TRA row V.9, pickled vegetables incl. sauerkraut; excludes packing liquid)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.033 g | 0.01 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Calcium | 30 mg | 9 mg | 157.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 50 mg | 15 mg | 263.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| 30 mg | 9 mg | 157.89 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2201 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 4.28 g | 1.28 g | 22.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Choline | 10.4 mg | 3.12 mg | 54.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Energy | 19 kcal | 5.7 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fat | 0.14 g | 0.04 g | 0.74 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.034 g | 0.01 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fibre | 2.9 g | 0.87 g | 15.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Folate | 24 µg | 7.2 µg | 126.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 16 µg | 4.8 µg | 84.21 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Iron | 1.47 mg | 0.44 mg | 7.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 1.2 mg | 0.36 mg | 6.32 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Magnesium | 13 mg | 3.9 mg | 68.42 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 10 mg | 3 mg | 52.63 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 0.31 mg | 0.09 mg | 1.63 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2201 | C |
| Phosphorus | 20 mg | 6 mg | 105.26 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 23 mg | 6.9 mg | 121.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Potassium | 170 mg | 51 mg | 894.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 180 mg | 54 mg | 947.37 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Protein | 0.91 g | 0.27 g | 4.79 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 1.1 g | 0.33 g | 5.79 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.022 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.01 mg | 0 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used · 2.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Selenium | 0.6 µg | 0.18 µg | 3.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Sodium | 661 mg | 198.3 mg | 3,478.95 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 590 mg | 177 mg | 3,105.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Sugars | 1.78 g | 0.53 g | 9.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 1.1 g | 0.33 g | 5.79 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.021 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.04 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 5.26 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.13 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.68 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.79 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 14.7 mg | 4.41 mg | 77.37 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 10 mg | 3 mg | 52.63 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.14 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 13 µg | 3.9 µg | 68.42 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Water | 92.52 g | 27.76 g | 486.95 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 91 g | 27.3 g | 478.95 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.19 mg | 0.06 mg | 1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.09 mg | 1.58 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 8 µg | 2.4 µg | 42.11 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 18 µg | 5.4 µg | 94.74 µg | second database · not used · 2.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Copper | 0.096 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.51 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Ash | 2.15 g | 0.65 g | 11.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Glucose | 0.14 g | 0.04 g | 0.74 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fructose | 0.04 g | 0.01 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Energy | 78 kj | 23.4 kj | 410.53 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 7 µg | 2.1 µg | 36.84 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 18 iu | 5.4 iu | 94.74 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 5 µg | 1.5 µg | 26.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Folate, food | 24 µg | 7.2 µg | 126.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 24 µg | 7.2 µg | 126.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Betaine | 0.5 mg | 0.15 mg | 2.63 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Threonine | 0.025 g | 0.01 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.021 g | 0.01 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Leucine | 0.029 g | 0.01 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Lysine | 0.031 g | 0.01 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Methionine | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Cystine | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.023 g | 0.01 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.014 g | 0 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Valine | 0.03 g | 0.01 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Arginine | 0.053 g | 0.02 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Histidine | 0.016 g | 0 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Alanine | 0.03 g | 0.01 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.087 g | 0.03 g | 0.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.209 g | 0.06 g | 1.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Glycine | 0.021 g | 0.01 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Proline | 0.034 g | 0.01 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Serine | 0.037 g | 0.01 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.028 g | 0.01 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.013 g | 0 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.034 g | 0.01 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.033 g | 0.01 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.013 g | 0 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.067 g | 0.02 g | 0.35 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 295 µg | 88.5 µg | 1,552.63 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| Manganese | 0.151 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.79 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.06 mg | 1.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.143 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.75 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.06 mg | 1.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.093 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.49 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0.23 mg | 0.07 mg | 1.21 mg | second database · not used · 2.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169279 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-336 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Total arsenic is not the toxic inorganic fraction; no speciation, no sauerkraut data. Not rated (brief: a hazard you cannot rate is 'missing'). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Biogenic amine index · Context · Spread, not a rating: the 300 'upper limit of toxicity' is the paper's own (from Świder 2020), not an agency limit. Putrescine up to 339 mg/kg. EFSA 2011: fermented-vegetables sum 375-390 mg/kg. · PubMed 41384496 · A
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.67% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Botulism in home ferments · Context · Botulism needs a pH above 4.6; a ferment that fails to acidify is the risk. Sources: Health Canada home-canning page (seafood, 2011; threshold sentence) and the National Center for Home Food Preservation (University of Georgia, 2013; not an agency): 'fermented vegetables that do not finish fermenting to a truly acidic pH'. · Health Canada, Home canning and bottling of seafood · B
- Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · The highest retail sample: 30 g x 96.2 mg/kg = 2.9 mg, 5.8% of EFSA's 50 mg per-meal no-effect level for healthy adults; at EFSA's mean (39.4-42.6) 1.2-1.3 mg (2.4-2.6%): no flag for healthy adults. A 250 g plate at the highest value would be 24 mg (48%). EFSA's level for people with histamine intolerance is 'below detectable limits'. EFSA found sauerkraut rarely implicated in poisoning. · EFSA 2011 · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · 30 g x 18 µg/kg = 0.54 µg, 1.5% of the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day, EFSA): far from doubling it, so no cap. At the 95th percentile (52 µg/kg) 1.56 µg, 4.5%. The Canadian Total Diet Study has no sauerkraut composite. · EFSA 2012 · A
- Mercury, all forms · Not rated yet · Related-food FDA result is all non-detects; no sauerkraut data; not rated. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, not scored: 30 g x 66 mg/kg = 1.98 mg, 0.76% of the 259 mg acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult. Sauerkraut's mean (66 mg/kg) sits far below cabbage's (311) in the same table; nitrite was not assessed. · EFSA 2008 · A
- Sulphites · Worth knowing · Person-specific: sulphites are a Health Canada priority allergen, and some shelf-stable sauerkraut differs from refrigerated raw kinds here, a choice the label shows. No quantity is declared on the records. · Fdc 2026 · C
- Tyramine · Worth knowing · Flagged for people taking monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) antidepressants: the US labels for phenelzine (Nardil), tranylcypromine (Parnate) and isocarboxazid (Marplan) list sauerkraut among foods to avoid. EFSA no-effect levels per meal: 600 mg tyramine for healthy people, 50 mg on third-generation MAOIs, 6 mg on classical MAOIs. 30 g at the highest retail value carries 2.5 mg (42% of the 6 mg line); 100 g 8.4 mg; 250 g 21 mg. · openFDA drug labels: Nardil · A
- Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent. Sauerkraut is low in vitamin K1: a 30 g serving carries 3.9 µg on the USDA listing (a 2021 US survey measured 2.1 µg), against hundreds in leafy greens. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none: fructose < glucose in both listings (CoFID fructose 0.3, glucose 0.7 g/100 g; SR fructose 0.04, glucose 0.14, each 1 data point) g/100 g · as listed · drained (CoFID) / solids+liquid (SR) · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- fodmap fructan: not detected (ND), both dry-weight and fresh-weight; water 92% g/100 g · fresh weight · retail sauerkraut, composite of >= 3 brands (Slovenia) · grade A · PubMed 39155934
- histamine: 14 retail samples, 13 quantified: 2.79-96.20; 1 below quantification limit (<0.09); median 18.7, mean 30.3 (Foodtopsy's arithmetic, quantification limit sample counted as 0). Units printed as mg/L in Table 1 and as mg/kg in the text for the same table: recorded as printed, not converted mg/kg (paper's Table 1 header: mg·L-1) · homogenised product (units inconsistent in the paper) · 14 commercial sauerkrauts, Poland, refrigerated at 4 C on collection, analysed within days; starter-culture use not declared; pasteurisation not stated · grade A · PubMed 41384496
- histamine: EFSA class 'fermented vegetables', n = 9 (data 'mainly represented by sauerkraut'); mean (lower bound-upper bound) 39.4-42.6; 44% non-detects; P5 <4; median 61; P95 92; max 92 mg/kg · as reported to EFSA (Member State occurrence data) · fermented vegetables class, mostly sauerkraut; pasteurisation unknown · grade B · EFSA 2011
- histamine: laboratory sauerkraut, spontaneous fermentation, 2.5% NaCl, stored 5 C for 90 days: <= 2 µg/g in cv. Tekila and Tolerator; almost 14.0 µg/g in cv. Agressor after 90 days (season 2006); not found in any stored sample in season 2007 µg/g (= mg/kg) · fresh weight of sauerkraut · laboratory-made, spontaneous, 2.5% NaCl, 20 C then 12 C then 5 C; not heat-treated · grade A · DOI 10.2478/v10032-010-0027-6
- lactose: listed as 0.0 g/100 g g/100 g · as listed · drained · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- oxalate soluble: n = 1; insoluble 0 mg/100 g · fresh weight · 'Raw' in the review table · grade B · DOI 10.3390/foods12173201
- oxalate total: n = 1 (table row 'Raw'); primary: Hönow & Hesse 2002 mg/100 g · fresh weight · 'Raw' in the review table (uncooked product) · grade B · DOI 10.3390/foods12173201
- tyramine: 14 retail samples, 13 quantified: 6.87-84.42; 1 below quantification limit (<0.07); median 32.7, mean 37.3 (Foodtopsy's arithmetic). Same unit inconsistency as histamine mg/kg (paper's Table 1 header: mg·L-1) · homogenised product · 14 commercial sauerkrauts, Poland (as histamine) · grade A · PubMed 41384496
- tyramine: EFSA class 'fermented vegetables', n = 9; mean (lower bound-upper bound) 45-47.4; 22% non-detects; P5 <5; median 44; P95 91; max 91 mg/kg · as reported to EFSA · fermented vegetables class, mostly sauerkraut · grade B · EFSA 2011
- tyramine: 7.75 mg per 250 g serving (one product; the abstract flags it as above the 6 mg/serving 'dangerous' line used for monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) diets) mg per 250 g · serving · sauerkraut; sample details not stated (US/Canada study, liquid chromatography) · grade A · PubMed 8889911
- tyramine: 'fluctuated between 0.0-8.0 mg/100 g (highest in sauerkraut)' across tomato paste, yeast, wine, cabbage and sauerkraut together; the 8.0 mg/100 g maximum is sauerkraut's mg/kg (8.0 mg/100 g = 80 mg/kg) · as sold · sauerkraut, Poland (1991), TLC · grade B · PubMed 1788507
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Kosson R, Elkner K. Effect of storage period on biogenic amine content in sauerkraut. Veg Crops Res Bull 73:151-160 (2010) · doi:10.2478/v10032-010-0027-6
doi:10.2478/v10032-010-0027-6· full text read · open access (Sciendo) - Salgado N, Silva MA, Figueira ME, et al. Oxalate in Foods: Extraction Conditions, Analytical Methods, Occurrence, and Health Implications. Foods 2023, Table 5 · doi:10.3390/foods12173201
doi:10.3390/foods12173201· full text read · CC BY - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2008) Nitrate in vegetables. EFSA Journal 689 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2008.689
efsa-2008-nitrate· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 - EFSA BIOHAZ Panel (2011) Scientific Opinion on risk based control of biogenic amine formation in fermented foods. EFSA Journal 9(10):2393 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2393
efsa-2011-histamine· secondary source · EFSA Journal: CC BY (not re-checked) - EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2012.2831
efsa-2012-lead-exposure· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central Branded Foods: sauerkraut label records (60 canned/jarred, 9 raw), pulled via API 2026-10-16
fdc-branded-api-2026-10-16· secondary source · CC0 (USDA) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Home canning and bottling of seafood (page details date 2011-04-12)
hc-home-canning-seafood· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - openFDA drug labels: Nardil (phenelzine) effective 2025-06-06; tranylcypromine 2024-12-20 and 2025-07-25; Marplan (isocarboxazid) 2026-04-21
openfda-mao-labels· secondary source · US government data (label text: manufacturer copyright) - Gajewska R, Lipka E, Ganowiak Z. [Histamine and tyramine levels in selected food products]. Rocz Panstw Zakl Hig 1991 · PMID 1788507
pmid:1788507· abstract only · licence not recorded - Ferjančič B, Korošec M, Kočevar Glavač N, et al. Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods and estimation of daily fructan consumption. Front Nutr 2024 · doi:10.3389/fnut.2024.1446771 · PMID 39155934
pmid:39155934· full text read · CC BY - Choińska R, Piasecka-Jóźwiak K, Świder O, et al. Microbiota and Quality Indexes of Commercial Sauerkraut and Fermented Cucumbers. Environ Microbiol Rep 2025 · doi:10.1111/1758-2229.70250 · PMID 41384496
pmid:41384496· full text read · CC BY - Walker SE, Shulman KI, Tailor SA, Gardner D. Tyramine content of previously restricted foods in monoamine oxidase inhibitor diets. J Clin Psychopharmacol 1996 Oct · doi:10.1097/00004714-199610000-00007 · PMID 8889911
pmid:8889911· abstract only · PubMed abstract
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.