
Green cabbage, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ½ cup shredded) · 20 kcal
Lots of vitamin K1 and vitamin C.
Nothing to watch for most people.
On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: uncooked frozen vegetables.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
92.4 µg in one serving: 77% of the 120 µg a day men need, 103% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
31.9 mg in one serving: 35% of the 90 mg a day men need, 43% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.1 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
25.5 µg in one serving: 6% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
167 mg in one serving: 5% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 6% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
1.62 g in one serving: 4% of the 38 g a day men need, 6% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
40.8 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
12.8 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
17.3 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 4% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.03 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0.35 mg in one serving: 2% of the 16 mg a day men need, 3% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
1.08 g in one serving: 2% of the 56 g a day men need, 2% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.17 mg in one serving: 2% of the 11 mg a day men need, 2% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.51 µg in one serving: 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 2% of the 8 mg a day men need, 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
11.9 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
3.4 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 22 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.34 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 1.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 44,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 13,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 1.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.28 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
lower bound 3.24, upper bound 3.31 µg/kg; adds 0.8% to EFSA's average adult intake (35 µg/day at 70 kg); far below the doubling line. No safe threshold (EFSA 2010), so no share-of-limit figure.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
Health Canada: most frozen packaged vegetables need to be cooked; some produce should be avoided especially by pregnant women, children under 5, adults over 60 and people with weakened immune systems. Cabbage is sold fresh, so this is a flag for a future frozen variant only
For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. Listed vitamin K: SR Legacy 169976 boiled 108.7 µg/100 g, about 92 µg per 85 g (4 data points); raw 76 µg/100 g in SR 169975 (about 65 µg) and 59.4 µg/100 g in Foundation 2346407 (about 50 µg; 8 data points).
Learn more
Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 92 µg of vitamin K1.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
2.4 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Shown as context: no agency basis exists for goitrogens, so nothing is rated. Boiling lowers glucosinolates (not measured here).
Shown as context, never scored: about 26 mg nitrate per 85 g, 10.2% of the acceptable daily intake (3.7 mg/kg body weight = 259 mg at 70 kg). EFSA: peas, cabbage, beans, carrots, potatoes, spinach, endive and celery leaves lost 16 to 79% of their nitrate when cooked in water (one range across vegetables, no figure for cabbage alone).
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More vitamin K1
Kale, cooked355 µg in 85 g (this food: 92.4 µg) · but less vitamin C
Turnip greens, cooked312 µg in 85 g (this food: 92.4 µg)
More vitamin C
Red pepper, raw109 mg in 85 g (this food: 31.9 mg) · but less vitamin K1
Green pepper, raw84.6 mg in 85 g (this food: 31.9 mg) · but less vitamin K1
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 92.4 µg)
- More vitamin A (324 µg vs 3.4 µg)
- More folate (100 µg vs 25.5 µg)
Kale, cooked- More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 92.4 µg)
- More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 11.9 mg)
- More vitamin A (124 µg vs 3.4 µg)
- Less vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 31.9 mg)
Brussels sprouts, cooked- More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 31.9 mg)
- More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 92.4 µg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 92.4 µg)
- More vitamin A (324 µg vs 3.4 µg)
- More folate (100 µg vs 25.5 µg)
Bok choy, raw- 14 kcal in 85 g (this food: 20)
- More vitamin A (190 µg vs 3.4 µg)
- Less vitamin K1 (38.7 µg vs 92.4 µg)
Mushrooms, raw- More selenium (17 µg vs 0.51 µg)
- More riboflavin (0.38 mg vs 0.03 mg)
- More niacin (3.56 mg vs 0.35 mg)
- Less vitamin K1 (0 µg vs 92.4 µg)
- Less vitamin C (1.79 mg vs 31.9 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among vegetables, these help most.
Green peas, cooked5.2 g protein · 78 kcal per 100 g
Broccoli, cooked3.1 g protein · 28 kcal per 100 g
Kale, cooked2.9 g protein · 36 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Cabbage, green, cooked (boiled, drained)
How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1, vegetables without sauce; '85 g fresh or frozen')
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Calcium | 48 mg | 40.8 mg | 208.7 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 54 mg | 45.9 mg | 234.78 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| 48 mg | 40.8 mg | 208.7 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2362 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 5.51 g | 4.68 g | 23.96 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Choline | 20.3 mg | 17.26 mg | 88.26 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Energy | 23 kcal | 19.55 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fat | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.2 g | 0.17 g | 0.87 g | second database · not used · 3.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fibre | 1.9 g | 1.62 g | 8.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 2.2 g | 1.87 g | 9.57 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Folate | 30 µg | 25.5 µg | 130.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 40 µg | 34 µg | 173.91 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Iron | 0.17 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.4 mg | 0.34 mg | 1.74 mg | second database · not used · 2.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Magnesium | 15 mg | 12.75 mg | 65.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 9 mg | 7.65 mg | 39.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 0.415 mg | 0.35 mg | 1.8 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2362 | C |
| Phosphorus | 33 mg | 28.05 mg | 143.48 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 29 mg | 24.65 mg | 126.09 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Potassium | 196 mg | 166.6 mg | 852.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 187 mg | 158.95 mg | 813.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Protein | 1.27 g | 1.08 g | 5.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 1.5 g | 1.28 g | 6.52 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.038 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.22 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Selenium | 0.6 µg | 0.51 µg | 2.61 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 1 µg | 0.85 µg | 4.35 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Sodium | 8 mg | 6.8 mg | 34.78 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 5 mg | 4.25 mg | 21.74 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Sugars | 2.79 g | 2.37 g | 12.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 2.3 g | 1.95 g | 10 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.061 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.27 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.65 mg | second database · not used · 2.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 4 µg | 3.4 µg | 17.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.112 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.49 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.3 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 37.5 mg | 31.88 mg | 163.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 45 mg | 38.25 mg | 195.65 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.14 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.27 mg | 0.23 mg | 1.17 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 108.7 µg | 92.4 µg | 472.61 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 201 µg | 170.85 µg | 873.91 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Water | 92.57 g | 78.68 g | 402.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 91.9 g | 78.12 g | 399.57 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.2 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.87 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.87 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 48 µg | 40.8 µg | 208.7 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 317 µg | 269.45 µg | 1,378.26 µg | second database · not used · 6.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Copper | 0.017 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Ash | 0.59 g | 0.5 g | 2.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Starch | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Sucrose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Glucose | 1.62 g | 1.38 g | 7.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fructose | 1.16 g | 0.99 g | 5.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Energy | 97 kj | 82.45 kj | 421.74 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 1 µg | 0.85 µg | 4.35 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 80 iu | 68 iu | 347.83 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Folate, food | 30 µg | 25.5 µg | 130.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 30 µg | 25.5 µg | 130.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Betaine | 0.3 mg | 0.26 mg | 1.3 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Threonine | 0.035 g | 0.03 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Leucine | 0.041 g | 0.03 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Lysine | 0.043 g | 0.04 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Methionine | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Cystine | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.032 g | 0.03 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Valine | 0.042 g | 0.04 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Arginine | 0.074 g | 0.06 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Histidine | 0.022 g | 0.02 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Alanine | 0.042 g | 0.04 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.121 g | 0.1 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.292 g | 0.25 g | 1.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Glycine | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Proline | 0.048 g | 0.04 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Serine | 0.052 g | 0.04 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Phytosterols | 10 mg | 8.5 mg | 43.48 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.023 g | 0.02 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 27 µg | 22.95 µg | 117.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| Manganese | 0.205 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.12 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.52 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.248 mg | 0.21 mg | 1.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.26 mg | 1.3 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.174 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.76 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0.21 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.91 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169976 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-511 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tamura, Takai, Hayakawa, Morimoto & Suzuki 1955: cabbage, 1,100 g/day, apparent absorption of cabbage calcium (fecal balance) not stated (キャベツ, cabbage; cultivar and head type not given) · cabbage 300 + 300 + 500 g per day, stir-fried in oil, then simmered/boiled; English abstract: 'added to the basal diet after boiling'. Whether the cooking liquid was eaten or drained is not stated. full text read | Calcium | 48.6 % | 457 mg | 4 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Tamura et al. 1955: whole-diet apparent phosphorus absorption during the cabbage period (NOT a cabbage-phosphorus fraction) not stated · diet containing cabbage 1,100 g/day, stir-fried in oil then simmered full text read | Phosphorus | 63.7 % | 1,016 mg | 4 | C | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Gillooly et al. 1983: cabbage green Brassica oleracea (green/white not stated) · boiled 20 min in salted water (750 g vegetable in 1500 ml water with 5 g NaCl; lentils 40 min in 2500 ml), homogenised in a Waring blender to a thick soup; 100 g eaten (equivalent to 50 g uncooked vegetable) · 3 mg Fe as FeSO4.7H2O (59Fe or 55Fe) mixed into 100 g puree; native iron of the vegetable not reported full text read | Iron | 32 % | not reported | 6 | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Goitrogens (glucosinolates) · Context · Shown as context: no agency basis exists for goitrogens, so nothing is rated. Boiling lowers glucosinolates (not measured here). · Bhandari 2020 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 3.24, upper bound 3.31 µg/kg; adds 0.8% to EFSA's average adult intake (35 µg/day at 70 kg); far below the doubling line. No safe threshold (EFSA 2010), so no share-of-limit figure. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, never scored: about 26 mg nitrate per 85 g, 10.2% of the acceptable daily intake (3.7 mg/kg body weight = 259 mg at 70 kg). EFSA: peas, cabbage, beans, carrots, potatoes, spinach, endive and celery leaves lost 16 to 79% of their nitrate when cooked in water (one range across vegetables, no figure for cabbage alone). · EFSA 2008 · B
- Uncooked frozen vegetables · Worth knowing · Health Canada: most frozen packaged vegetables need to be cooked; some produce should be avoided especially by pregnant women, children under 5, adults over 60 and people with weakened immune systems. Cabbage is sold fresh, so this is a flag for a future frozen variant only · Health Canada, Produce safety · A
- Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. Listed vitamin K: SR Legacy 169976 boiled 108.7 µg/100 g, about 92 µg per 85 g (4 data points); raw 76 µg/100 g in SR 169975 (about 65 µg) and 59.4 µg/100 g in Foundation 2346407 (about 50 µg; 8 data points). · DailyMed 2026 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap fructan: 0.03 ± 0.01 g/100 g fresh weight (same single figure as the raw row; preparation not stated) g/100 g · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
- histamine: uncooked about 10 x10^-3 ppm (about 0.01 mg/kg), figure-read, approximate x10^-3 ppm · fresh weight (1 g portion) · uncooked (raw) cabbage; type (green, white, napa) not stated · grade B · Chung 2017
- oxalate soluble: 4 (boiled); n = 3 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as printed in the review table) · boiled (drained not stated) · grade B · Foods 2023
- oxalate total: 5 (boiled); n = 3 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as printed in the review table) · boiled (drained not stated) · grade B · Foods 2023
- oxalate total: 3.5 total; 1.3 soluble; 2.2 insoluble (boiled Savoy cabbage, n = 1) mg/100 g · fresh weight (as printed in the review table) · boiled · grade B · Foods 2023
Sources
- Bhandari SR, Rhee J, Choi CS, Jo JS, Shin YK, Lee JG. Profiling of individual desulfo-glucosinolate content in cabbage head (Brassica oleracea var. capitata) germplasm. Molecules 2020;25(8):1860 · doi:10.3390/molecules25081860 · PMID 32316621
bhandari2020-gsl· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI) - Chung BY, Park SY, Byun YS, Son JH, Choi YW, Cho YS, Kim HO, Park CW. Effect of different cooking methods on histamine levels in selected foods. Ann Dermatol 2017;29(6):706-714. · doi:10.5021/ad.2017.29.6.706 · PMID 29200758
chung2017· full text read · CC BY-NC 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - DailyMed, warfarin sodium tablet label (Cardinal Health 107; set id cdbbc317-35d3-42ba-94f0-c83891358529; effective 2026-10-06)
dailymed-warfarin-2026· full text read · US public label text - Gillooly M, Bothwell TH, Torrance JD, MacPhail AP, Derman DP, Bezwoda WR, et al. (1983). The effects of organic acids, phytates and polyphenols on the absorption of iron from vegetables. Br J Nutr 49:331-42 · doi:10.1079/bjn19830042 · PMID 6860621
doi:10.1079/bjn19830042· full text read · licence not recorded - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2008) Nitrate in vegetables. EFSA Journal 689 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2008.689
efsa-2008-nitrate· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B et al. 2024, Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods, Front Nutr (PMC11327153)
ferjancic2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Oxalate in Foods: Extraction Conditions, Analytical Methods, Occurrence, and Health Implications. Foods 2023;12(17):3201 (Table 5, ref [1] = Honow R, Hesse A. Food Chem 2002; 78:511-521). · doi:10.3390/foods12173201 · PMID 37685134
foods2023-oxalate-review· full text read · CC BY (MDPI open access) - Health Canada, Produce safety (General food safety tips)
hc-produce-safety· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Tamura E, Takai Y, Hayakawa T, Morimoto K, Suzuki H. On the rate of absorption of calcium in vegetables (野菜カルシウムの消化吸收率について). Jpn J Nutr Diet (Eiyogaku Zasshi) 1955;12(5-6):149-152 · doi:10.5264/eiyogakuzashi.12.149
tamura1955· full text read · J-STAGE record (Japanese Society of Nutrition and Dietetics); copyright not stated on the page
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.