FoodtopsyFrançais
Pieces of dark chocolate

Dark chocolate

Checked by us One serving: 40 g · 220 kcal

Some iron and magnesium.

A lot per serving: saturated and trans fat. Nothing else to watch for most people.

Worth knowing for some people: nickel for people who are sensitised; tyramine.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (40 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

20 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 6 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 112 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 47–55% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 39–41% of the limit.

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 330 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 40 g a day, which stays within the 240 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 325 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 112 µg, 12.3% of the tolerable intake, and adds 47-55% to the average adult intake, below doubling it.

    BfR MEAL Study: mercury, cadmium, lead and nickel in 356 foods prepared as consumed in Germany. Food Chemistry: X 2022, doi:10.1016/j.fochx.2022.100326 · pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European bitter-sweet chocolate

    You’d need about 1.4 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 5.4 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 31% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 93% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,300 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 380 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 31% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 2 other measurements of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European bitter chocolate

      You’d need about 1.5 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 4.92 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 28% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 91% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,400 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 420 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 28% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchSerbia 2024, 49 dark bars (50% cacao or more)

      You’d need about 3.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 2.28 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 13% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 80% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 3,100 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 900 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 13% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Nesic A, Lucic M, Veskovic J, Mandic L, Jankovic Momcilovic M, Miletic A, Onjia A (2024) Impact of Chocolate Cadmium on Vulnerable Populations in Serbia. Foods 14(1):18 · grade B

      Every food with cadmium

  • Caffeine

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 19 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 21 mg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 6.6–57% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

    760 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA (2015) gives levels of no safety concern for caffeine from human studies, not a tolerable intake: 400 mg a day for healthy adults, 200 mg in a single dose, and 200 mg a day in pregnancy (Health Canada: 300 mg a day if planning pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding). Eaten alone, about 762 g a day would reach 400 mg, 381 g reach 200 mg, and 571 g reach 300 mg. A 40 g serving carries 21.0 mg, 5.2% of 400 mg and 10.5% of 200 mg. Average adult intake from all sources is 37-319 mg/day across 16 Member States; a daily serving adds 56.8% at the low end and 6.6% at the high end.

    EFSA NDA Panel (2015) Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal 13(5):4102 (adopted 23 April 2015) · grade B

    Every food with caffeine

  • Aflatoxins

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the aflatoxins an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 3.3–49% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.01 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for aflatoxin B1 (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 7.6 ng, or 0.109 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 0.22-0.49 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 1.35-3.25 on the upper) that adds 3.3-49.4% (about 22-49% on the lower bound), below the doubling line. It is the largest share among the contaminants rated here.

    Turcotte AM, Scott PM, Tague B (2013) Analysis of cocoa products for ochratoxin A and aflatoxins. Mycotoxin Research (Aug 2013) · grade A

    Every food with aflatoxins

  • Ochratoxin A

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 8 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 3.7–13% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.02 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for ochratoxin A (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 15.6 ng, or 0.223 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper) that adds 3.7-13.4%, far from doubling it.

    Turcotte AM, Scott PM, Tague B (2013) Analysis of cocoa products for ochratoxin A and aflatoxins. Mycotoxin Research (Aug 2013) · grade A

    Every food with ochratoxin A

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 5.5–12% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 3.45 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide (EFSA 2015). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.45 µg, or 0.049 µg/kg body weight/day. Against the average adult intake of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day that adds 5.5-12.3%, far from doubling it. The survey does not say which kind of chocolate, so the same figure sits on both chocolate rows.

    CFIA, FSAP Targeted Survey – Acrylamide 2013–2015 · grade B

    Every food with acrylamide

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European bitter-sweet chocolate

    You’d need about 9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 12% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 4.24 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 4.24 µg of lead, 12.1% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead.

    EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European bitter chocolate

      You’d need about 20 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 5.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 1.8 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 1.80 µg of lead, 5.1% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead.

      EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade A

      Every food with lead

For some people

  • Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, and a margin of exposure of 30 or more is low concern. One 40 g serving of dark chocolate at 2.800 mg/kg gives 112 µg, or 1.6 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 2.7, well below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg, about 3.6 g of this chocolate). EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk: with food, absorption is 0.7-2.5%, against 25-27% fasted.

  • Flagged for people taking Parnate, as its label puts it: the label lists chocolate among tyramine-rich foods to avoid. Measured tyramine is low: Spanish retail chocolate averaged 3.70 mg/kg (n = 15, maximum 5.81), about 0.15 mg per 40 g, and histamine was not detected; a study of cocoa-based products found 1.7-31.7 µg/g. The label and the measurements disagree in scale; the flag follows the label.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sodium and saturated fat

    One 40 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 9 mg (0%) · saturated and trans fat 7.6 g (38%)

    Learn more

    We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.

    Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)

  • Sugar

    18 g of sugar in a 40 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 0–1.7 g per 100 g, so about 0–0.66 g in a 40 g serving. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · grade B

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context only (mixed cocoa products, selection bias). Grams to the limit would be 175 ÷ 0.396 = 442 g a week, but it is not used for the rating: the figure is not a dark-chocolate-bar concentration.

  • Shown as context, not rated: the data are mixed products with a selection bias, so they are not used to rate chocolate. No safe threshold is set for lead.

  • Context only, as for milk chocolate. EFSA itself notes that 'Bitter chocolate' and 'Cocoa powder' show higher means in the national data than in the association data.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 40 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other snacks or sweets we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More magnesium

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For iron: no other snacks or sweets we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 40 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other snacks or sweets we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (200 mg vs 60.8 mg)
    • More niacin (5.83 mg vs 0.67 mg)
    • More protein (12 g vs 2.04 g)
  • Walnuts, raw
    • More omega-3: ALA (3,632 mg vs 33.2 mg)
    • More vitamin B6 (0.26 mg vs 0.02 mg)
    • Less iron (0.89 mg vs 3.25 mg)
  • Cashews, raw
    • More thiamin (0.17 mg vs 0.01 mg)
    • More selenium (8.27 µg vs 1.4 µg)
    • More vitamin B6 (0.17 mg vs 0.02 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Popcorn, air-popped
    • 155 kcal in 40 g (this food: 220)
    • Less iron (1.28 mg vs 3.25 mg)
  • Maple syrup
    • 104 kcal in 40 g (this food: 220)
    • More riboflavin (0.51 mg vs 0.02 mg)
    • Less iron (0.04 mg vs 3.25 mg)
    • Less magnesium (8.4 mg vs 60.8 mg)
  • Celery, raw
    • 6 kcal in 40 g (this food: 220)
    • Less iron (0 mg vs 3.25 mg)
    • Less magnesium (4.37 mg vs 60.8 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Peanuts, dry-roasted (Aflatoxins: go easy).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Chocolate, dark

How the serving was set: 40 g (Health Canada TRA U.1: candies, confectionaries and chocolates, including chocolate bars)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.083 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Calcium57 mg22.8 mg10.36 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
33 mg13.2 mg6 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
57 mg22.8 mg10.36 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #6673C
Carbohydrate59.97 g23.99 g10.9 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Choline27.6 mg11.04 mg5.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Energy550 kcal220 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fat32.2 g12.88 g5.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
28 g11.2 g5.09 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Cholesterol7 mg2.8 mg1.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total saturated18.993 g7.6 g3.45 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fibre7.2 g2.88 g1.31 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Folate0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
12 µg4.8 µg2.18 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Iron8.13 mg3.25 mg1.48 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
2.3 mg0.92 mg0.42 mgsecond database · not used · 3.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Magnesium152 mg60.8 mg27.64 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
89 mg35.6 mg16.18 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.673 mg0.67 mg0.3 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #6673C
Phosphorus214 mg85.6 mg38.91 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
140 mg56 mg25.45 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Potassium568 mg227.2 mg103.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
300 mg120 mg54.55 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Protein5.09 g2.04 g0.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
5 g2 g0.91 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Riboflavin (B2)0.051 mg0.02 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.06 mg0.02 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Selenium3.5 µg1.4 µg0.64 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
4 µg1.6 µg0.73 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Sodium23 mg9.2 mg4.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
6 mg2.4 mg1.09 mgsecond database · not used · 3.8×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Sugars46.14 g18.46 g8.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
62.6 g25.04 g11.38 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Thiamin (B1)0.026 mg0.01 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.04 mg0.02 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin A2 µg0.8 µg0.36 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin B120.23 µg0.09 µg0.04 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin B60.041 mg0.02 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.03 mg0.01 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin E0.55 mg0.22 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
1.44 mg0.58 mg0.26 mgsecond database · not used · 2.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Vitamin K18 µg3.2 µg1.45 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
2.3 µg0.92 µg0.42 µgsecond database · not used · 3.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Water1 g0.4 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.6 g0.24 g0.11 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Zinc2.11 mg0.84 mg0.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
1.3 mg0.52 mg0.24 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene25 µg10 µg4.55 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Copper1.076 mg0.43 mg0.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.71 mg0.28 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Ash1.74 g0.7 g0.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Sucrose44.65 g17.86 g8.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Glucose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fructose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Caffeine47 mg18.8 mg8.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Theobromine515 mg206 mg93.64 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Energy2,301 kj920.4 kj418.36 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin A, IU49 iu19.6 iu8.91 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Carotene, alpha7 µg2.8 µg1.27 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Cryptoxanthin, beta1 µg0.4 µg0.18 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocopherol, gamma6.62 mg2.65 mg1.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocopherol, delta0.34 mg0.14 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocotrienol, gamma0.08 mg0.03 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)0.1 µg0.04 µg0.02 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Folate, food0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Folate, DFE0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total trans0.106 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 4:00.054 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 6:00.042 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 8:00.027 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 10:00.082 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 12:00.074 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 14:00.247 g0.1 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 16:07.825 g3.13 g1.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 18:010.132 g4.05 g1.84 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 20:00.315 g0.13 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 18:19.653 g3.86 g1.76 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:21.015 g0.41 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:30.083 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:40.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 22:00.055 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 14:10.018 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 16:10.113 g0.05 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 20:10.018 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Stigmasterol26 mg10.4 mg4.73 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Campesterol11 mg4.4 mg2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Beta-sitosterol67 mg26.8 mg12.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated9.801 g3.92 g1.78 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated1.107 g0.44 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 15:00.032 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 17:00.075 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
SFA 24:00.031 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
TFA 16:1 t0.01 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
TFA 18:1 t0.074 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
TFA 22:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.023 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0.025 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 24:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 16:1 c0.103 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 18:1 c9.579 g3.83 g1.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c0.967 g0.39 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 22:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.084 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.023 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.083 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:3 n-30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 20:3 n-60 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
PUFA 22:40.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Lactose1.5 g0.6 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.2 g0.08 g0.04 gsecond database · not used · 7.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Lutein + zeaxanthin31 µg12.4 µg5.64 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
Manganese1.44 mg0.58 mg0.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.63 mg0.25 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.747 mg0.3 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.4 mg0.16 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.304 mg0.12 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
0.3 mg0.12 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170274C
15 µg6 µg2.73 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-491C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide (EFSA 2015). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.45 µg, or 0.049 µg/kg body weight/day. Against the average adult intake of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day that adds 5.5-12.3%, far from doubling it. The survey does not say which kind of chocolate, so the same figure sits on both chocolate rows. · CFIA 2013–2015 · B
  • Aflatoxins · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for aflatoxin B1 (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 7.6 ng, or 0.109 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 0.22-0.49 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 1.35-3.25 on the upper) that adds 3.3-49.4% (about 22-49% on the lower bound), below the doubling line. It is the largest share among the contaminants rated here. · Health Canada 2013 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 31% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 28% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 13% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Serbia 2024 · B
  • Cadmium · Context · Context only (mixed cocoa products, selection bias). Grams to the limit would be 175 ÷ 0.396 = 442 g a week, but it is not used for the rating: the figure is not a dark-chocolate-bar concentration. · Hands 2024 · B
  • Caffeine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA (2015) gives levels of no safety concern for caffeine from human studies, not a tolerable intake: 400 mg a day for healthy adults, 200 mg in a single dose, and 200 mg a day in pregnancy (Health Canada: 300 mg a day if planning pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding). Eaten alone, about 762 g a day would reach 400 mg, 381 g reach 200 mg, and 571 g reach 300 mg. A 40 g serving carries 21.0 mg, 5.2% of 400 mg and 10.5% of 200 mg. Average adult intake from all sources is 37-319 mg/day across 16 Member States; a daily serving adds 56.8% at the low end and 6.6% at the high end. · EFSA 2015 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 4.24 µg of lead, 12.1% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 1.80 µg of lead, 5.1% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Lead · Context · Shown as context, not rated: the data are mixed products with a selection bias, so they are not used to rate chocolate. No safe threshold is set for lead. · Hands 2024 · B
  • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Flag on the survey, not the label: dark chocolate is not made with milk, yet 39 of 289 dairy-free dark chocolates carried milk protein from cross-contact and the CFIA recalled 36 as a health risk to allergic people. The share counts samples with a result for both markers; the rate in the whole dark-chocolate market is not known (a targeted survey of dairy-free claims). · CFIA 2022 · A
  • Mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH) · Context · Context only, as for milk chocolate. EFSA itself notes that 'Bitter chocolate' and 'Cocoa powder' show higher means in the national data than in the association data. · EFSA 2023 · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 325 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 112 µg, 12.3% of the tolerable intake, and adds 47-55% to the average adult intake, below doubling it. · BfR 2022 · A
  • Nickel for people who are sensitised · Worth knowing · Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, and a margin of exposure of 30 or more is low concern. One 40 g serving of dark chocolate at 2.800 mg/kg gives 112 µg, or 1.6 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 2.7, well below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg, about 3.6 g of this chocolate). EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk: with food, absorption is 0.7-2.5%, against 25-27% fasted. · BfR 2022 · A
  • Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for ochratoxin A (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 15.6 ng, or 0.223 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper) that adds 3.7-13.4%, far from doubling it. · Health Canada 2013 · A
  • Tyramine · Worth knowing · Flagged for people taking Parnate, as its label puts it: the label lists chocolate among tyramine-rich foods to avoid. Measured tyramine is low: Spanish retail chocolate averaged 3.70 mg/kg (n = 15, maximum 5.81), about 0.15 mg per 40 g, and histamine was not detected; a study of cocoa-based products found 1.7-31.7 µg/g. The label and the measurements disagree in scale; the flag follows the label. · PARNATE · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: fructose 0, glucose 0 g/100 g (SR dark NFS, 13 data points): no excess fructose; sugar is sucrose 44.65 g/100 g g/100 g · as sold (per 100 g) · dark chocolate as listed (SR Legacy 170274) · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • histamine: not detected (n 15 chocolate samples, Spanish retail; milk or dark not stated) mg/kg · as sold · chocolate, Spanish market, n 15 · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • lactose: 0 to 1.65 g/100 g across the dark SR rows; the representative row (SR 170274, dark NFS) 1.5 g/100 g, 0.60 g per 40 g, below Varney 2017 lactose cut-off (< 1.00 g per serve) g/100 g · as sold (per 100 g) · dark chocolate as listed in USDA SR Legacy (data points: NFS 13, 45-59% 5, 60-69% 6, 70-85% 2); UK plain chocolate (CoFID 17-491, 6 bars) 0.2 g/100 g · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • tyramine: mean 3.70 (standard deviation 1.24), P95 5.69, range 2.27-5.81 mg/kg (n 15; type not stated) mg/kg · as sold · chocolate, Spanish market, n 15 · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.