FoodtopsyFrançais
A heap of boiled cauliflower florets

Cauliflower, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ⅔ cup chopped) · 20 kcal

Lots of vitamin C.

Nothing to watch for most people.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: uncooked frozen vegetables.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, cooked and raw cauliflower

    You’d need about 7.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.01 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 5.7% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 15,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 4,300 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 5.7% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, boiled cauliflower

      You’d need about 7.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.02 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 5.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 15,000 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 4,300 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 5.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, plus one pooled 1993-99 composite

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.28 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    Adds 0.8% to the average adult intake of 35 µg/day, so no cap. The mean of 16 composites from 2000-2018 is also 3.31 µg/kg; the three most recent (2016-2018), at 1.57 µg/kg, give 0.4%. FDA Total Diet Study item 116: none of 27 samples detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg; at that upper bound a serving carries 0.34 µg, 1.0%.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, none detected in 27 samples

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.34 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      Companion row: upper bound at the reporting limit adds 1.0%

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with lead

For some people

  • Don't eat frozen cauliflower uncooked if pregnant, 60+, or immunocompromised (Health Canada listeriosis page names frozen packaged vegetables not cooked per directions as higher-risk)

  • With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid. Cauliflower’s vitamin K (SR Legacy phylloquinone raw 15.5, cooked 13.8 µg/100 g; about 13 µg per 85 g raw).

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 12 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.8 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Tyramine: 1.1 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.089 mg in a 85 g serving. (mean 1.05 · standard deviation 0.91 · range nd–1.71 · n=3) · Sanchezperez 2018 · grade B

    For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Shown as context, not rated: 4.9% of the acceptable daily intake (259 mg for 70 kg) per serving; boiling lowers it.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin C

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 11.7 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 0.85 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 37.4 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 37.7 mg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 11.7 µg)
    • More vitamin A (124 µg vs 0.85 µg)
    • More calcium (128 mg vs 13.6 mg)
    • Less vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 37.7 mg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 11.7 µg)
    • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 37.7 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Asparagus, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 11.7 µg)
    • More folate (127 µg vs 37.4 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (6.55 mg vs 37.7 mg)
  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 11.7 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 0.85 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 37.4 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 37.7 mg)
  • Broccoli, cookedMore vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 11.7 µg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Cauliflower, cooked, boiled, drained

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1, vegetables without sauce, fresh or frozen)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.167 g0.14 g0.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Calcium16 mg13.6 mg69.57 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
19 mg16.15 mg82.61 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
16 mg13.6 mg69.57 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2046C
Carbohydrate4.11 g3.49 g17.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Choline39.1 mg33.24 mg170 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Energy23 kcal19.55 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fat0.45 g0.38 g1.96 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.9 g0.77 g3.91 gsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.07 g0.06 g0.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fibre2.3 g1.95 g10 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
1.9 g1.62 g8.26 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Folate44 µg37.4 µg191.3 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
48 µg40.8 µg208.7 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Iron0.32 mg0.27 mg1.39 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.45 mg0.38 mg1.96 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Magnesium9 mg7.65 mg39.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
12 mg10.2 mg52.17 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.81 mg0.69 mg3.52 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2046C
Phosphorus32 mg27.2 mg139.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
45 mg38.25 mg195.65 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Potassium142 mg120.7 mg617.39 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
215 mg182.75 mg934.78 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Protein1.84 g1.56 g8 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
1.9 g1.62 g8.26 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Riboflavin (B2)0.052 mg0.04 mg0.23 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.03 mg0.03 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Selenium0.6 µg0.51 µg2.61 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
1 µg0.85 µg4.35 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Sodium15 mg12.75 mg65.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
7 mg5.95 mg30.43 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Sugars2.08 g1.77 g9.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
2.4 g2.04 g10.43 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Thiamin (B1)0.042 mg0.04 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.09 mg0.08 mg0.39 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin A1 µg0.85 µg4.35 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin B60.173 mg0.15 mg0.75 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.15 mg0.13 mg0.65 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin C44.3 mg37.65 mg192.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
30 mg25.5 mg130.43 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin E0.07 mg0.06 mg0.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.11 mg0.09 mg0.48 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Vitamin K113.8 µg11.73 µg60 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
28.5 µg24.23 µg123.91 µgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Water93 g79.05 g404.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
92.3 g78.46 g401.3 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Zinc0.17 mg0.14 mg0.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.2 mg0.17 mg0.87 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene7 µg5.95 µg30.43 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Copper0.018 mg0.02 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.03 mg0.03 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Ash0.6 g0.51 g2.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Energy96 kj81.6 kj417.39 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Vitamin A, IU12 iu10.2 iu52.17 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Folate, food44 µg37.4 µg191.3 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Folate, DFE44 µg37.4 µg191.3 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Betaine0.1 mg0.09 mg0.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Tryptophan0.024 g0.02 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Threonine0.067 g0.06 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Isoleucine0.07 g0.06 g0.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Leucine0.107 g0.09 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Lysine0.099 g0.08 g0.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Methionine0.026 g0.02 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Cystine0.021 g0.02 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Phenylalanine0.066 g0.06 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Tyrosine0.04 g0.03 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Valine0.092 g0.08 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Arginine0.089 g0.08 g0.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Histidine0.037 g0.03 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Alanine0.097 g0.08 g0.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Aspartic acid0.216 g0.18 g0.94 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Glutamic acid0.245 g0.21 g1.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Glycine0.059 g0.05 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Proline0.079 g0.07 g0.34 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Serine0.096 g0.08 g0.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 16:00.062 g0.05 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
SFA 18:00.008 g0.01 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
MUFA 18:10.032 g0.03 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 18:20.05 g0.04 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 18:30.167 g0.14 g0.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.032 g0.03 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.217 g0.18 g0.94 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Iodine0.6 µg0.51 µg2.61 µglisted usedUSDA iodine database (2024) #Cauliflower, fresh/frozen, boiledC
Lutein + zeaxanthin29 µg24.65 µg126.09 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
Manganese0.132 mg0.11 mg0.57 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.14 mg0.12 mg0.61 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.41 mg0.35 mg1.78 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.4 mg0.34 mg1.74 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.508 mg0.43 mg2.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0.47 mg0.4 mg2.04 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170397C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-513C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Gillooly 1983: cauliflower puree (added FeSO4)

not stated · 750 g portions boiled 20 min in 1500 mL water with 5 g salt, homogenised; 100 g puree = 50 g uncooked vegetable; whether the cooking water was kept is not stated

full text read

Iron26.3 %3 mg18ANot used: its source hasn’t passed our evidence check yet.
Bills 1990: cauliflower

not stated · frozen cauliflower, microwaved 2 min · 0.5 mg pyridoxine-equivalent = 331 g frozen cauliflower at 0.151 mg B6/100 g

full text read

Vitamin B6–not reported9BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 5.7% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 5.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds 0.8% to the average adult intake of 35 µg/day, so no cap. The mean of 16 composites from 2000-2018 is also 3.31 µg/kg; the three most recent (2016-2018), at 1.57 µg/kg, give 0.4%. FDA Total Diet Study item 116: none of 27 samples detected, reporting limit 4 µg/kg; at that upper bound a serving carries 0.34 µg, 1.0%. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Companion row: upper bound at the reporting limit adds 1.0% · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, not rated: 4.9% of the acceptable daily intake (259 mg for 70 kg) per serving; boiling lowers it. · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Uncooked frozen vegetables · Worth knowing · Don't eat frozen cauliflower uncooked if pregnant, 60+, or immunocompromised (Health Canada listeriosis page names frozen packaged vegetables not cooked per directions as higher-risk) · Health Canada 2026 · A
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid. Cauliflower’s vitamin K (SR Legacy phylloquinone raw 15.5, cooked 13.8 µg/100 g; about 13 µg per 85 g raw). · Warfarin product label · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap fructan: standard deviation 0.01; portion 120 g = 0.11 g g/100 g · fresh weight · not stated (composite; methods say 'cooked, baked, or fried' then dried) · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
  • fodmap fructan: 1 g/100 g · dry matter (dry matter 11.0 +/- 0.9 g/100 g fresh) · steamed cauliflower (steamed until fully cooked, then freeze-dried) · grade A · Kalala 2017
  • histamine: white 'Forata' florets boiled 5 min 0.60 (standard deviation 0.06), 10 min 0.71 (standard deviation 0.01) µg/g · dry weight · boiled at about 95 C in 1000 mL water, 5 or 10 min (drained not stated) · grade A · Diamante 2019
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L, as the review's header) · see variant · grade B · Diniz 2025
  • oxalate soluble: not detected (below quantification limit 3) mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled (drained not stated) · grade B · Judprasong 2006
  • oxalate total: 8 mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled (household boiling; drained not stated) · grade B · Judprasong 2006
  • tyramine: mean 1.05 · standard deviation 0.91 · range nd–1.71 · n=3 mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.