FoodtopsyFrançais
A whole head of raw bok choy

Bok choy, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about 1¼ cups shredded) · 14 kcal

Lots of vitamin K1, vitamin C and vitamin A.

Nothing to watch for most people.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

19 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 13 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.55 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 3.1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 27,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 7,900 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 3.1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 32 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 2.2–3.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.94 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 9, upper bound 13 µg/kg; adds 2.2–3.2%

    EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 39 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context only: 31% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin K1

More vitamin C

  • Red pepper, raw109 mg in 85 g (this food: 25.8 mg) · but less vitamin K1
  • Green pepper, raw84.6 mg in 85 g (this food: 25.8 mg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin A

More vitamin A

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 38.7 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 190 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 57.8 µg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 38.7 µg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 46.8 mg)
    • Less vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 25.8 mg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 38.7 µg)
    • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 25.8 mg)
    • Less vitamin A (33.2 µg vs 190 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 38.7 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 190 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 57.8 µg)
  • Broccoli, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 38.7 µg)
    • Less vitamin A (43.4 µg vs 190 µg)

2 foods out of the 22 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Bok choy, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.055 g0.05 g0.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Calcium61.93 mg52.64 mg364.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
73 mg62.05 mg429.33 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
105 mg89.25 mg617.53 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2038C
Carbohydrate3.515 g2.99 g20.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Choline6.4 mg5.44 mg37.64 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Energy17.003 kcal14.45 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
13 kcal11.05 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fat0.234 g0.2 g1.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
0.1 g0.09 g0.59 gsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.027 g0.02 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fibre1.259 g1.07 g7.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
2 g1.7 g11.76 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Folate68 µg57.8 µg399.92 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
80 µg68 µg470.5 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Iron0.439 mg0.37 mg2.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
0.96 mg0.82 mg5.65 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Magnesium13.64 mg11.59 mg80.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
16 mg13.6 mg94.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.75 mg0.64 mg4.41 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2038C
Phosphorus30.51 mg25.93 mg179.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
47 mg39.95 mg276.42 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Potassium227.8 mg193.63 mg1,339.75 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
287 mg243.95 mg1,687.91 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Protein1.024 g0.87 g6.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
1.5 g1.28 g8.82 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Riboflavin (B2)0.07 mg0.06 mg0.41 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.24 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Selenium0.5 µg0.43 µg2.94 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Sodium14.27 mg12.13 mg83.93 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
39 mg33.15 mg229.37 mgsecond database · not used · 2.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Sugars1.18 g1 g6.94 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
1.5 g1.28 g8.82 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Thiamin (B1)0.04 mg0.03 mg0.24 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.07 mg0.06 mg0.41 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin A223 µg189.55 µg1,311.52 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin B60.194 mg0.16 mg1.14 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.24 mgsecond database · not used · 4.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin C30.3 mg25.76 mg178.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
15 mg12.75 mg88.22 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin E0.09 mg0.08 mg0.53 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.4 mg0.34 mg2.35 mgsecond database · not used · 4.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Vitamin K145.5 µg38.68 µg267.6 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Water94.54 g80.36 g556.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
94.8 g80.58 g557.54 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Zinc0.274 mg0.23 mg1.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
0.4 mg0.34 mg2.35 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene2,681 µg2,278.85 µg15,767.59 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
217 µg184.45 µg1,276.23 µgsecond database · not used · 12.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Copper0.028 mg0.02 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
0.06 mg0.05 mg0.35 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Energy (Atwater general)20.259 kcal17.22 kcal119.15 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Energy (Atwater specific)17.003 kcal14.45 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Nitrogen0.164 g0.14 g0.96 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Ash0.688 g0.58 g4.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Energy55 kj46.75 kj323.47 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Vitamin A, IU4,468 iu3,797.8 iu26,277.36 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Carotene, alpha1 µg0.85 µg5.88 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Folate, food66 µg56.1 µg388.16 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
5-methyl tetrahydrofolate (5-MTHF)50 µg42.5 µg294.06 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
Folate, DFE66 µg56.1 µg388.16 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Betaine0.3 mg0.26 mg1.76 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Tryptophan0.015 g0.01 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Threonine0.049 g0.04 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Isoleucine0.085 g0.07 g0.5 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Leucine0.088 g0.07 g0.52 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Lysine0.089 g0.08 g0.52 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Methionine0.009 g0.01 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Cystine0.017 g0.01 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Phenylalanine0.044 g0.04 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Tyrosine0.029 g0.02 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Valine0.066 g0.06 g0.39 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Arginine0.084 g0.07 g0.49 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Histidine0.026 g0.02 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Alanine0.086 g0.07 g0.51 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Aspartic acid0.108 g0.09 g0.64 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Glutamic acid0.36 g0.31 g2.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Glycine0.043 g0.04 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Proline0.031 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Serine0.048 g0.04 g0.28 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 12:00.001 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 14:00.001 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 16:00.024 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
SFA 18:00.001 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
MUFA 18:10.015 g0.01 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 18:20.042 g0.04 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 18:30.055 g0.05 g0.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.015 g0.01 g0.09 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.096 g0.08 g0.56 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Lutein + zeaxanthin40 µg34 µg235.25 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
Manganese0.196 mg0.17 mg1.15 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2685572C
0.27 mg0.23 mg1.59 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.5 mg0.43 mg2.94 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.5 mg0.43 mg2.94 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.088 mg0.07 mg0.52 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0.14 mg0.12 mg0.82 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170390C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-516C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney et al. 1993: bok choy stems

standard · not stated in the abstract

abstract only

Calcium51.9 %83 mg15AUsed
StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney et al. 1993: bok choy leaves

standard · not stated in the abstract

abstract only

Calcium52 %83 mg15ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 3.1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 9, upper bound 13 µg/kg; adds 2.2–3.2% · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Nitrate · Context · Context only: 31% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving · EFSA 2008 · B
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent · Warfarin product label · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose 0.6 < glucose 0.8) g/100 g · fresh weight · steamed · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • oxalate total: 101 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Managa 2021
  • oxalate total: 17–44 mg/100 g · not stated · cooked · grade B · Managa 2021

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.