FoodtopsyFrançais
A green bell pepper, whole and halved

Green pepper, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ½ cup chopped) · 17 kcal

Lots of vitamin C.

Nothing to watch so far.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium, nickel, aluminum and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 7.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.94 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 5.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 16,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 4,600 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 5.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 80 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 8.43 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 9,200 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 85 g a day, which stays within the 6,800 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. The limit is 910 µg a day for a 70 kg adult; about 9,176 g a day of green pepper would reach it, eaten alone, and a serving carries 8.4 µg, 0.93% of it. FDA found green bell pepper at 54 ppb (11 of 27 detected).

    EFSA CONTAM Panel (2020). Update of the risk assessment of nickel in food and drinking water. EFSA Journal 18(11):6268 (PMC7643711) · doi.org · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Aluminum

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 19.1 µg

    How we got this

    310,000 g a week reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: a serving carries 19 µg of aluminium, far under EFSA's tolerable weekly intake of 1 mg/kg body weight/week (2008), which is 70,000 µg for a 70 kg adult. About 311,166 g a week of green pepper would reach it, eaten alone. The Health Canada Total Diet Study mean is 224.96 ng/g.

    EFSA AFC Panel (2008) Safety of aluminium from dietary intake. EFSA Journal 754; news release 'EFSA Advises on the Safety of Aluminium in Food' · grade A

    Every food with aluminum

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.3–0.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.28 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: a daily serving adds 0.80% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day, far from doubling it (0.31% without the 1999 composite). No safe threshold is set for lead (EFSA 2010). The Health Canada Total Diet Study mean for green pepper is 3.307 ng/g across 17 composites; the 1999 composite, 35.65 ng/g, is 28 times the median, and without it the mean is 1.286 ng/g. FDA found no lead detected in 27 samples (reporting limit 4 ppb).

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    2 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 4

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: only total arsenic was measured, and the harmful form is inorganic arsenic. FDA: not detected in 27 samples.

  • Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: histamine was not detected in 9 green pepper samples (Spanish market products), but the detection limit is not stated, so no amount of pepper can be set against the 50 mg per meal level. Putrescine, another amine, is high in green pepper (mean 90.04 mg/kg), and a 2021 paper raises a possible interference with histamine breakdown: a hypothesis, not a measurement.

  • Shown as context, not rated: the acceptable daily intake for nitrate is 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day (SCF/JECFA, EFSA 2008), 259 mg a day at 70 kg. One 85 g serving carries 9.2 mg, 3.5% of it, and about 2,398 g a day of capsicum would reach it, eaten alone. The mean is 108 mg/kg in European monitoring (median 28, 95th percentile 476); no Canadian figure was found. EFSA lists capsicum separately from chili pepper without saying sweet or bell, so reading it as bell pepper is an inference from that split.

  • Shown as context, not rated: the CFIA monitoring table counts violations per analyte, not per sample, so a share of samples over the limit cannot be worked out. Violations are against Canadian maximum residue limits, which are legal limits and are not used as a rating. CFIA 2022-23: 37 domestic samples screened, with violations for acetamiprid 1 and pyridalyl 1; 89 imported samples, with violations led by cypermethrin 4 and oxamyl-oxime 3. 'Pepper' is read as sweet pepper because the table lists 'Pepper - Hot' separately.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin C

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 15.3 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 18.9 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 84.6 mg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 6.8 mg)
    • More calcium (128 mg vs 6.37 mg)
    • Less vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 84.6 mg)
    • Less vitamin B6 (0.05 mg vs 0.21 mg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 84.6 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Asparagus, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • More folate (127 µg vs 18.9 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (6.55 mg vs 84.6 mg)
    • Less vitamin B6 (0.07 mg vs 0.21 mg)
  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 15.3 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 18.9 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (23.3 mg vs 84.6 mg)
  • Broccoli, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 6.29 µg)
    • Less vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 84.6 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Pepper, sweet, green, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g fresh (Health Canada TRA V.1 'Vegetables without sauce'; household measure '# piece(s) or unit(s) (85 g)'). V.4 'Chili pepper and green onion' (30 g) is not bell pepper.

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.008 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Calcium7.496 mg6.37 mg38.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
8 mg6.8 mg40.63 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
10 mg8.5 mg50.78 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2413C
Carbohydrate4.778 g4.06 g24.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Choline5.5 mg4.68 mg27.93 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Energy19.692 kcal16.74 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
20 kcal17 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fat0.106 g0.09 g0.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.3 g0.26 g1.52 gsecond database · not used · 2.8×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.058 g0.05 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fibre0.942 g0.8 g4.78 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Folate22.21 µg18.88 µg112.79 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
36 µg30.6 µg182.81 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Iron0.186 mg0.16 mg0.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.4 mg0.34 mg2.03 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Magnesium9.004 mg7.65 mg45.72 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
10 mg8.5 mg50.78 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.68 mg0.58 mg3.45 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2413C
Phosphorus16.75 mg14.24 mg85.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
19 mg16.15 mg96.49 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Potassium163.1 mg138.64 mg828.25 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
120 mg102 mg609.38 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Protein0.715 g0.61 g3.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.8 g0.68 g4.06 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Riboflavin (B2)0.089 mg0.08 mg0.45 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.01 mg0.01 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not used · 8.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Sodium0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
4 mg3.4 mg20.31 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Sugars2.4 g2.04 g12.19 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
2.4 g2.04 g12.19 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Thiamin (B1)0.039 mg0.03 mg0.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.01 mg0.01 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not used · 3.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin A18 µg15.3 µg91.41 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin B60.247 mg0.21 mg1.25 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.3 mg0.26 mg1.52 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin C99.51 mg84.58 mg505.33 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
120 mg102 mg609.38 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin E0.37 mg0.31 mg1.88 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0.8 mg0.68 mg4.06 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Vitamin K17.4 µg6.29 µg37.58 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
6.4 µg5.44 µg32.5 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Water94.12 g80 g477.96 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
93.3 g79.31 g473.79 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Zinc0.126 mg0.11 mg0.64 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.1 mg0.09 mg0.51 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene208 µg176.8 µg1,056.26 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
260 µg221 µg1,320.32 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Copper0.058 mg0.05 mg0.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.02 mg0.02 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not used · 2.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Energy (Atwater general)22.929 kcal19.49 kcal116.44 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Energy (Atwater specific)19.692 kcal16.74 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Nitrogen0.114 g0.1 g0.58 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Ash0.281 g0.24 g1.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Starch0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Sucrose0.11 g0.09 g0.56 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Glucose1.16 g0.99 g5.89 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fructose1.12 g0.95 g5.69 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Energy84 kj71.4 kj426.57 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fluoride, F2 µg1.7 µg10.16 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Vitamin A, IU370 iu314.5 iu1,878.92 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Carotene, alpha21 µg17.85 µg106.64 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Cryptoxanthin, beta7 µg5.95 µg35.55 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Biotin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Folate, food10 µg8.5 µg50.78 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Folate, DFE10 µg8.5 µg50.78 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Betaine0.1 mg0.09 mg0.51 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tryptophan0.012 g0.01 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Threonine0.036 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Isoleucine0.024 g0.02 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Leucine0.036 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Lysine0.039 g0.03 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Methionine0.007 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Cystine0.012 g0.01 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Phenylalanine0.092 g0.08 g0.47 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Tyrosine0.012 g0.01 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Valine0.036 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Arginine0.027 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Histidine0.01 g0.01 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Alanine0.036 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Aspartic acid0.208 g0.18 g1.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Glutamic acid0.194 g0.16 g0.99 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Glycine0.03 g0.03 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Proline0.024 g0.02 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Serine0.054 g0.05 g0.27 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 16:00.05 g0.04 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 18:00.008 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 18:10.008 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 18:20.054 g0.05 g0.27 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 18:30.008 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Phytosterols9 mg7.65 mg45.7 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.008 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.062 g0.05 g0.31 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 17:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Lutein + zeaxanthin341 µg289.85 µg1,731.65 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
Manganese0.1 mg0.08 mg0.51 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.1 mg0.09 mg0.51 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.636 mg0.54 mg3.23 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2258588C
0.1 mg0.09 mg0.51 mgsecond database · not used · 6.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.099 mg0.08 mg0.5 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0.08 mg0.07 mg0.41 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170427C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-318C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: a serving carries 19 µg of aluminium, far under EFSA's tolerable weekly intake of 1 mg/kg body weight/week (2008), which is 70,000 µg for a 70 kg adult. About 311,166 g a week of green pepper would reach it, eaten alone. The Health Canada Total Diet Study mean is 224.96 ng/g. · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: only total arsenic was measured, and the harmful form is inorganic arsenic. FDA: not detected in 27 samples. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 5.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Histamine · Not rated yet · Not rated: histamine was not detected in 9 green pepper samples (Spanish market products), but the detection limit is not stated, so no amount of pepper can be set against the 50 mg per meal level. Putrescine, another amine, is high in green pepper (mean 90.04 mg/kg), and a 2021 paper raises a possible interference with histamine breakdown: a hypothesis, not a measurement. · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily serving adds 0.80% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day, far from doubling it (0.31% without the 1999 composite). No safe threshold is set for lead (EFSA 2010). The Health Canada Total Diet Study mean for green pepper is 3.307 ng/g across 17 composites; the 1999 composite, 35.65 ng/g, is 28 times the median, and without it the mean is 1.286 ng/g. FDA found no lead detected in 27 samples (reporting limit 4 ppb). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. The limit is 910 µg a day for a 70 kg adult; about 9,176 g a day of green pepper would reach it, eaten alone, and a serving carries 8.4 µg, 0.93% of it. FDA found green bell pepper at 54 ppb (11 of 27 detected). · EFSA 2020 · A
  • Nitrate · Context · Shown as context, not rated: the acceptable daily intake for nitrate is 3.7 mg/kg body weight/day (SCF/JECFA, EFSA 2008), 259 mg a day at 70 kg. One 85 g serving carries 9.2 mg, 3.5% of it, and about 2,398 g a day of capsicum would reach it, eaten alone. The mean is 108 mg/kg in European monitoring (median 28, 95th percentile 476); no Canadian figure was found. EFSA lists capsicum separately from chili pepper without saying sweet or bell, so reading it as bell pepper is an inference from that split. · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Shown as context, not rated: the CFIA monitoring table counts violations per analyte, not per sample, so a share of samples over the limit cannot be worked out. Violations are against Canadian maximum residue limits, which are legal limits and are not used as a rating. CFIA 2022-23: 37 domestic samples screened, with violations for acetamiprid 1 and pyridalyl 1; 89 imported samples, with violations led by cypermethrin 4 and oxamyl-oxime 3. 'Pepper' is read as sweet pepper because the table lists 'Pepper - Hot' separately. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2022–2023) · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none: fructose 1.12 vs glucose 1.16 g/100 g (means of n = 9 each); excess -0.04 g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.32 g/100 g (fructose 2.26 minus glucose 1.94, means of n = 4 each); 0.27 g per 85 g serving g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap fructan: 0.02 +/- 0.00 g/100 g fresh weight (0.17 +/- 0.04 % of dry weight; water 90%) g/100 g · fresh weight · not stated; the table labels cooked items and gives bell pepper no label · grade A · DOI 10.3389/fnut.2024.1446771
  • histamine: nd (not detected), n = 9 (red: n = 8, nd); detection limit not stated mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (Spanish market samples) · grade A · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205
  • tyramine: nd (not detected), n = 9 green, n = 8 red; detection limit not stated mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (Spanish market samples) · grade A · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.