FoodtopsyFrançais
Pieces of milk chocolate

Milk chocolate

Checked by us One serving: 40 g (about 1 chocolate bar (44 g)) · 214 kcal

Some vitamin B12.

A lot per serving: saturated fat. Nothing else to watch for most people.

Worth knowing for some people: nickel for people who are sensitised; tyramine.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (40 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, plain bars (type not stated)

    You’d need about 23 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 29 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 12–14% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 29–30% of the limit.

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,300 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 40 g a day, which stays within the 930 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 1,254 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 29.0 µg, 3.2% of the tolerable intake, and adds 12.2-14.3% to the average adult intake.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Nickel

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, plain milk chocolate bar

      You’d need about 18 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 37.7 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 16–19% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 30–31% of the limit.

      The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 970 g a day would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 40 g a day, which stays within the 710 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 965 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 37.7 µg, 4.1% of the tolerable intake, and adds 15.8-18.6% to the average adult intake.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with nickel

  • Caffeine

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 55 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 7.3 mg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 2.3–20% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

    2,200 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA (2015) gives levels of no safety concern for caffeine from human studies, not a tolerable intake: 400 mg a day for healthy adults, 200 mg in a single dose, and 200 mg a day in pregnancy (Health Canada: 300 mg a day if planning pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding). Eaten alone, about 2,186 g a day would reach 400 mg, 1,093 g reach 200 mg, and 1,639 g reach 300 mg. A 40 g serving carries 7.3 mg, 1.8% of 400 mg and 3.7% of 200 mg. Average adult intake from all sources is 37-319 mg/day across 16 Member States; a daily serving adds 19.8% at the low end and 2.3% at the high end.

    EFSA NDA Panel (2015) Scientific Opinion on the safety of caffeine. EFSA Journal 13(5):4102 (adopted 23 April 2015) · grade B

    Every food with caffeine

  • Aflatoxins

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 5 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the aflatoxins an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1.6–23% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for aflatoxin B1 (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.6 ng, or 0.051 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 0.22-0.49 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 1.35-3.25 on the upper) that adds 1.6-23.4% (about 10-23% on the lower bound), below the doubling line. It is the largest share among the contaminants rated here.

    Turcotte AM, Scott PM, Tague B (2013) Analysis of cocoa products for ochratoxin A and aflatoxins. Mycotoxin Research (Aug 2013) · grade A

    Every food with aflatoxins

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 5.5–12% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 3.45 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide (EFSA 2015). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.45 µg, or 0.049 µg/kg body weight/day. Against the average adult intake of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day that adds 5.5-12.3%, far from doubling it. The survey does not say which kind of chocolate, so the same figure sits on both chocolate rows.

    CFIA, FSAP Targeted Survey – Acrylamide 2013–2015 · grade B

    Every food with acrylamide

Checked for cadmium, ochratoxin A and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, plain bars (type not stated)

    You’d need about 11 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.63 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 3.6% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 11,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 3,200 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 3.6% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 3 other measurements of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European milk chocolate

      You’d need about 9.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.78 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 4.4% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 74% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 8,900 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 2,600 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 4.4% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, plain milk chocolate bar

      You’d need about 9.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 0.8 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 4.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 74% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 8,800 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 2,600 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 4.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchSerbia 2024, 98 milk chocolates (30-50% cacao)

      You’d need about 6.4 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.12 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 6.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 6,300 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 1,800 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 6.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Nesic A, Lucic M, Veskovic J, Mandic L, Jankovic Momcilovic M, Miletic A, Onjia A (2024) Impact of Chocolate Cadmium on Vulnerable Populations in Serbia. Foods 14(1):18 · grade B

      Every food with cadmium

  • Ochratoxin A

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 16 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1.8–6.5% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.01 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for ochratoxin A (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 7.6 ng, or 0.109 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper) that adds 1.8-6.5%, far from doubling it.

    Turcotte AM, Scott PM, Tague B (2013) Analysis of cocoa products for ochratoxin A and aflatoxins. Mycotoxin Research (Aug 2013) · grade A

    Every food with ochratoxin A

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, plain bars (type not stated)

    You’d need about 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.37 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 0.37 µg of lead, 1.0% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchEFSA 2012, European milk chocolate

      You’d need about 24 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 4.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 1.48 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 1.48 µg of lead, 4.2% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead.

      EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade A

      Every food with lead

For some people

  • Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, the lowest dose at which sensitised people had eczematous flare-ups and systemic contact dermatitis. EFSA calls a margin of exposure of 30 or more low concern. One 40 g serving gives 29.0 µg, or 0.41 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 10.4, below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg). EFSA's own margin for the average adult day is 1.9 to 0.9, so the whole diet already sits far below 30 for sensitised people. EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk.

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, the lowest dose at which sensitised people had eczematous flare-ups and systemic contact dermatitis. EFSA calls a margin of exposure of 30 or more low concern. One 40 g serving gives 37.7 µg, or 0.54 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 8.0, below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg). EFSA's own margin for the average adult day is 1.9 to 0.9, so the whole diet already sits far below 30 for sensitised people. EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk.

  • Flagged for people taking Parnate, as its label puts it: the label lists chocolate among tyramine-rich foods to avoid. Measured tyramine is low: Spanish retail chocolate averaged 3.70 mg/kg (n = 15, maximum 5.81), about 0.15 mg per 40 g, and histamine was not detected; a study of cocoa-based products found 1.7-31.7 µg/g. The label and the measurements disagree in scale; the flag follows the label.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sodium and saturated fat

    One 40 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 32 mg (1%) · saturated fat 7.4 g (37%)

    Learn more

    We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits. No trans fat figure is held for this food, so its saturated fat is counted alone.

    Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)

  • Sugar

    21 g of sugar in a 40 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 9.2 g per 100 g, so about 3.68 g in a 40 g serving. · UK food tables (CoFID 2021) · grade B

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context only (dataset types mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH) and mineral oil saturated hydrocarbons (MOSH) as context). EFSA applied an margin of exposure (MOE) with a surrogate PAH8 reference point (benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.49 mg/kg body weight/day) for 3+ ring MOAH and could not assess 1-2 ring MOAH. No grams figure; no rating.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 40 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other snacks or sweets we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For vitamin B12: no other snacks or sweets we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 40 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other snacks or sweets we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Maple syrup
    • More riboflavin (0.51 mg vs 0.12 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)
  • Popcorn, air-popped
    • More fibre (5.8 g vs 1.36 g)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)
  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (200 mg vs 25.2 mg)
    • More niacin (5.83 mg vs 0.75 mg)
    • More protein (12 g vs 3.06 g)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Popcorn, air-popped
    • 155 kcal in 40 g (this food: 214)
    • More fibre (5.8 g vs 1.36 g)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)
  • Maple syrup
    • 104 kcal in 40 g (this food: 214)
    • More riboflavin (0.51 mg vs 0.12 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)
  • Celery, raw
    • 6 kcal in 40 g (this food: 214)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 0.3 µg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Peanuts, dry-roasted (Aflatoxins: go easy).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Chocolate, milk

How the serving was set: 40 g (Health Canada TRA U.1: candies, confectionaries and chocolates, including chocolate bars)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.122 g0.05 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Calcium189 mg75.6 mg35.33 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
226 mg90.4 mg42.24 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
189 mg75.6 mg35.33 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4186C
Carbohydrate59.4 g23.76 g11.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Choline46.1 mg18.44 mg8.62 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Energy535 kcal214 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fat29.66 g11.86 g5.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
31.1 g12.44 g5.81 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Cholesterol23 mg9.2 mg4.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fatty acids, total saturated18.509 g7.4 g3.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fibre3.4 g1.36 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
2.3 g0.92 g0.43 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Folate12 µg4.8 µg2.24 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
9 µg3.6 µg1.68 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Iron2.35 mg0.94 mg0.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
2.05 mg0.82 mg0.38 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Magnesium63 mg25.2 mg11.78 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
57 mg22.8 mg10.65 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.869 mg0.75 mg0.35 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4186C
Phosphorus208 mg83.2 mg38.88 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
224 mg89.6 mg41.87 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Potassium372 mg148.8 mg69.53 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
451 mg180.4 mg84.3 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Protein7.65 g3.06 g1.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
7.3 g2.92 g1.36 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Riboflavin (B2)0.298 mg0.12 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.53 mg0.21 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Selenium4.5 µg1.8 µg0.84 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
3 µg1.2 µg0.56 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Sodium79 mg31.6 mg14.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
89 mg35.6 mg16.64 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Sugars51.5 g20.6 g9.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
56 g22.4 g10.47 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Thiamin (B1)0.112 mg0.04 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.12 mg0.05 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Vitamin A59 µg23.6 µg11.03 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin B120.75 µg0.3 µg0.14 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
2.1 µg0.84 µg0.39 µgsecond database · not used · 2.8×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Vitamin B60.036 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.21 mg0.08 mg0.04 mgsecond database · not used · 5.8×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin E0.51 mg0.2 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
1.6 mg0.64 mg0.3 mgsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Vitamin K15.7 µg2.28 µg1.07 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Water1.5 g0.6 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
1.6 g0.64 g0.3 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Zinc2.3 mg0.92 mg0.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
1.1 mg0.44 mg0.21 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
22 µg8.8 µg4.11 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Copper0.491 mg0.2 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.31 mg0.12 mg0.06 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Ash1.78 g0.71 g0.33 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Caffeine20 mg8 mg3.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Theobromine205 mg82 mg38.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Energy2,239 kj895.6 kj418.5 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fluoride, F5 µg2 µg0.93 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin A, IU195 iu78 iu36.45 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Tocopherol, gamma0.92 mg0.37 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Folate, food11 µg4.4 µg2.06 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Folate, DFE11 µg4.4 µg2.06 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Betaine2.6 mg1.04 mg0.49 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 4:00.358 g0.14 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 6:00.099 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 8:00.111 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 10:00.246 g0.1 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 12:00.254 g0.1 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 14:01.184 g0.47 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 16:08.332 g3.33 g1.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 18:07.836 g3.13 g1.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 20:00.071 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 18:16.076 g2.43 g1.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 18:21.218 g0.49 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 18:30.122 g0.05 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 22:00.007 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 16:10.407 g0.16 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Stigmasterol16 mg6.4 mg2.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Campesterol6 mg2.4 mg1.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Beta-sitosterol37 mg14.8 mg6.92 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated7.186 g2.87 g1.34 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated1.376 g0.55 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 17:00.013 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
TFA 18:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 24:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 18:1 c6.076 g2.43 g1.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
SFA 13:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.122 g0.05 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Lutein + zeaxanthin6 µg2.4 µg1.12 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
Manganese0.471 mg0.19 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.3 mg0.12 mg0.06 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.386 mg0.15 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.3 mg0.12 mg0.06 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.472 mg0.19 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
0.73 mg0.29 mg0.14 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C
Retinol59 µg23.6 µg11.03 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #167587C
66 µg26.4 µg12.34 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-648C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide (EFSA 2015). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.45 µg, or 0.049 µg/kg body weight/day. Against the average adult intake of 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day that adds 5.5-12.3%, far from doubling it. The survey does not say which kind of chocolate, so the same figure sits on both chocolate rows. · CFIA 2013–2015 · B
  • Aflatoxins · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for aflatoxin B1 (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 3.6 ng, or 0.051 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 0.22-0.49 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 1.35-3.25 on the upper) that adds 1.6-23.4% (about 10-23% on the lower bound), below the doubling line. It is the largest share among the contaminants rated here. · Health Canada 2013 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 3.6% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 4.4% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 4.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 6.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Serbia 2024 · B
  • Caffeine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA (2015) gives levels of no safety concern for caffeine from human studies, not a tolerable intake: 400 mg a day for healthy adults, 200 mg in a single dose, and 200 mg a day in pregnancy (Health Canada: 300 mg a day if planning pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding). Eaten alone, about 2,186 g a day would reach 400 mg, 1,093 g reach 200 mg, and 1,639 g reach 300 mg. A 40 g serving carries 7.3 mg, 1.8% of 400 mg and 3.7% of 200 mg. Average adult intake from all sources is 37-319 mg/day across 16 Member States; a daily serving adds 19.8% at the low end and 2.3% at the high end. · EFSA 2015 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 0.37 µg of lead, 1.0% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily 40 g serving carries 1.48 µg of lead, 4.2% of the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. · EFSA 2012 · A
  • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; milk chocolate is made with milk, so every serving carries it. Lactose is a separate, gut-side matter (see Gut). · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH) · Context · Context only (dataset types mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH) and mineral oil saturated hydrocarbons (MOSH) as context). EFSA applied an margin of exposure (MOE) with a surrogate PAH8 reference point (benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.49 mg/kg body weight/day) for 3+ ring MOAH and could not assess 1-2 ring MOAH. No grams figure; no rating. · EFSA 2023 · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 1,254 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 29.0 µg, 3.2% of the tolerable intake, and adds 12.2-14.3% to the average adult intake. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 965 g a day would reach it. A 40 g serving carries 37.7 µg, 4.1% of the tolerable intake, and adds 15.8-18.6% to the average adult intake. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Nickel for people who are sensitised · Worth knowing · Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, the lowest dose at which sensitised people had eczematous flare-ups and systemic contact dermatitis. EFSA calls a margin of exposure of 30 or more low concern. One 40 g serving gives 29.0 µg, or 0.41 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 10.4, below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg). EFSA's own margin for the average adult day is 1.9 to 0.9, so the whole diet already sits far below 30 for sensitised people. EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk. · EFSA 2020 · A
  • Nickel for people who are sensitised · Worth knowing · Flagged for people who are sensitised to nickel: EFSA's acute reference point is 4.3 µg nickel/kg body weight, the lowest dose at which sensitised people had eczematous flare-ups and systemic contact dermatitis. EFSA calls a margin of exposure of 30 or more low concern. One 40 g serving gives 37.7 µg, or 0.54 µg/kg body weight, a margin of 8.0, below 30 (a margin of 30 needs a dose of about 10 µg at 70 kg). EFSA's own margin for the average adult day is 1.9 to 0.9, so the whole diet already sits far below 30 for sensitised people. EFSA says its basis, a dose taken fasting, likely overestimates the risk. · EFSA 2020 · A
  • Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for ochratoxin A (EFSA 2020). A daily 40 g serving carries 7.6 ng, or 0.109 ng/kg body weight. Against the average adult intake (EFSA: 1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper) that adds 1.8-6.5%, far from doubling it. · Health Canada 2013 · A
  • Tyramine · Worth knowing · Flagged for people taking Parnate, as its label puts it: the label lists chocolate among tyramine-rich foods to avoid. Measured tyramine is low: Spanish retail chocolate averaged 3.70 mg/kg (n = 15, maximum 5.81), about 0.15 mg per 40 g, and histamine was not detected; a study of cocoa-based products found 1.7-31.7 µg/g. The label and the measurements disagree in scale; the flag follows the label. · PARNATE · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: trace (fructose Tr, glucose Tr per CoFID 17-648); sugars are sucrose 46.8 and lactose 9.2 g/100 g g/100 g · as sold · milk chocolate (CoFID 17-648) · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • histamine: not detected (n 15 chocolate samples, Spanish retail; milk or dark not stated) mg/kg · as sold · chocolate, Spanish market, n 15 · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • lactose: 9.2 g/100 g; 3.7 g per 40 g serving, above Varney 2017 lactose cut-off (< 1.00 g per serve) g/100 g · as sold (per 100 g) · milk chocolate, UK retail (CoFID 17-648, 11 samples, 11 products) · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • tyramine: mean 3.70 (standard deviation 1.24), P95 5.69, range 2.27-5.81 mg/kg (n 15; type not stated) mg/kg · as sold · chocolate, Spanish market, n 15 · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.