
Green beans, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ⅔ cup) · 30 kcal
Lots of vitamin K1.
Nothing to watch for most people.
On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
40.7 µg in one serving: 34% of the 120 µg a day men need, 45% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients below “a lot”
- A little
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
8.25 mg in one serving: 9% of the 90 mg a day men need, 11% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
2.72 g in one serving: 7% of the 38 g a day men need, 11% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
28.1 µg in one serving: 7% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.08 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.06 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0.81 mg in one serving: 5% of the 16 mg a day men need, 6% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
75.7 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
15.3 mg in one serving: 4% of the 400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
124 mg in one serving: 4% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
The label says 37.4 mg of calcium. Your body gets about 10.5 mg.
From our evidence: Calcium on the label vs calcium absorbed →
Learn more
tested at load not reported · Grusak & Abrams: green beans · grade A
- 8Green beans, cooked85 g · 28% gets in · test dose not reported10mglabel 37
Listed: 37.4 mg. The word above is read from how well this calcium gets in compared with milk’s: 37.4 mg × 28% (gets in from this food) ÷ 32.1% (from milk) = 32.6 mg, counted as milk’s calcium, which is 3% of 1,000 mg a day.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- 8
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.55 mg in one serving: 7% of the 8 mg a day men need, 3% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
27.2 µg in one serving: 3% of the 900 µg a day men need, 4% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
1.61 g in one serving: 3% of the 56 g a day men need, 4% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
14.4 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 3% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.39 mg in one serving: 3% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.21 mg in one serving: 2% of the 11 mg a day men need, 3% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.17 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 89 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.08 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 180,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 53,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.45% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 72 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.48 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
adds 1.4%
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid.
Learn more
Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 41 µg of vitamin K1.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
3.1 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate, as the source gives it: below 60 (below the detection limit) mg/100 g (dry matter) · Siener 2021 · grade A
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Tyramine: 2.5 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.21 mg in a 85 g serving. (mean 2.46 · standard deviation 3.24 · range nd–9.86 · n 12) · Sanchezperez 2018 · grade B
For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Context only: 11%
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More vitamin K1
Kale, cooked355 µg in 85 g (this food: 40.7 µg)
Turnip greens, cooked312 µg in 85 g (this food: 40.7 µg)
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Turnip greens, cooked- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 40.7 µg)
- More vitamin A (324 µg vs 27.2 µg)
- More folate (100 µg vs 28.1 µg)
Kale, cooked- More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 40.7 µg)
- More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 75.7 mg)
- More calcium (52.1 mg vs 10.5 mg)
Brussels sprouts, cooked- More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 40.7 µg)
- More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 8.25 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Asparagus, cooked- 19 kcal in 85 g (this food: 30)
- More folate (127 µg vs 28.1 µg)
Turnip greens, cooked- 17 kcal in 85 g (this food: 30)
- More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 40.7 µg)
- More vitamin A (324 µg vs 27.2 µg)
- More folate (100 µg vs 28.1 µg)
Broccoli, cooked- 24 kcal in 85 g (this food: 30)
- More vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 8.25 mg)
- More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 40.7 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among vegetables, these help most.
Green peas, cooked5.2 g protein · 78 kcal per 100 g
Kale, cooked2.9 g protein · 36 kcal per 100 g
Sweet corn, frozen, cooked2.6 g protein · 81 kcal per 100 gNeeds care in handling: see its page
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).
Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Green beans, cooked
How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.089 g | 0.08 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Calcium | 44 mg | 37.4 mg | 125.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 61 mg | 51.85 mg | 174.29 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| 44 mg | 37.4 mg | 125.71 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2371 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 7.88 g | 6.7 g | 22.51 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Choline | 16.9 mg | 14.36 mg | 48.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Energy | 35 kcal | 29.75 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fat | 0.28 g | 0.24 g | 0.8 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.3 g | 0.26 g | 0.86 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.064 g | 0.05 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fibre | 3.2 g | 2.72 g | 9.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 4.1 g | 3.48 g | 11.71 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Folate | 33 µg | 28.05 µg | 94.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 58 µg | 49.3 µg | 165.71 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Iron | 0.65 mg | 0.55 mg | 1.86 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 1.06 mg | 0.9 mg | 3.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Magnesium | 18 mg | 15.3 mg | 51.43 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 28 mg | 23.8 mg | 80 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 0.947 mg | 0.81 mg | 2.71 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2371 | C |
| Phosphorus | 29 mg | 24.65 mg | 82.86 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 44 mg | 37.4 mg | 125.71 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Potassium | 146 mg | 124.1 mg | 417.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 304 mg | 258.4 mg | 868.57 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Protein | 1.89 g | 1.61 g | 5.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 2.1 g | 1.79 g | 6 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.097 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.28 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.23 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Selenium | 0.2 µg | 0.17 µg | 0.57 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 1 µg | 0.85 µg | 2.86 µg | second database · not used · 5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Sodium | 1 mg | 0.85 mg | 2.86 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Sugars | 3.63 g | 3.09 g | 10.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 3 g | 2.55 g | 8.57 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.074 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.23 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 32 µg | 27.2 µg | 91.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.056 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.06 mg | second database · not used · 2.8× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 9.7 mg | 8.25 mg | 27.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 6 mg | 5.1 mg | 17.14 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.46 mg | 0.39 mg | 1.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.26 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.74 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 47.9 µg | 40.72 µg | 136.86 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Water | 89.22 g | 75.84 g | 254.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 89.6 g | 76.16 g | 256 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.25 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.4 mg | 0.34 mg | 1.14 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 380 µg | 323 µg | 1,085.71 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 129 µg | 109.65 µg | 368.57 µg | second database · not used · 2.9× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Copper | 0.057 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.2 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Ash | 0.73 g | 0.62 g | 2.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Energy | 147 kj | 124.95 kj | 420 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 633 iu | 538.05 iu | 1,808.57 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Folate, food | 33 µg | 28.05 µg | 94.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 33 µg | 28.05 µg | 94.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Betaine | 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Threonine | 0.082 g | 0.07 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.069 g | 0.06 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Leucine | 0.116 g | 0.1 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Lysine | 0.091 g | 0.08 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Methionine | 0.023 g | 0.02 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Cystine | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.069 g | 0.06 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.044 g | 0.04 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Valine | 0.093 g | 0.08 g | 0.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Arginine | 0.076 g | 0.06 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Histidine | 0.035 g | 0.03 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Alanine | 0.087 g | 0.07 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.265 g | 0.23 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.194 g | 0.16 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Glycine | 0.068 g | 0.06 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Proline | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Serine | 0.103 g | 0.09 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.053 g | 0.05 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.009 g | 0.01 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.056 g | 0.05 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.089 g | 0.08 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.145 g | 0.12 g | 0.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Iodine | 0.6 µg | 0.51 µg | 1.71 µg | listed used | USDA iodine database (2024) #Green beans, fresh/frozen, boiled | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 641 µg | 544.85 µg | 1,831.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| Manganese | 0.285 mg | 0.24 mg | 0.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.37 mg | 0.31 mg | 1.06 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.614 mg | 0.52 mg | 1.75 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.7 mg | 0.6 mg | 2 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.074 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0.12 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.34 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169141 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-515 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grusak & Abrams: green beans standard · cooked, puréed, frozen · load not reported abstract only | Calcium | 28 % | not reported | 13 | A | Used |
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: green beans (pig) animal study frozen/grade A whole green beans · Simmered with water, diced 1-2 cm · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 85.8 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.45% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 1.4% · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Nitrate · Context · Context only: 11% · EFSA 2008 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose 1.2 < glucose 1.3) g/100 g · fresh weight · boiled in unsalted water · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- fodmap fructan: 0.03 g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
- fodmap fructan: not detected (n duplicate) g/100 g sample · as analysed · frozen retail product; whether it was cooked before analysis is not stated · grade B · Chumpitazi 2018
- fodmap mannitol: 0.02 g/100 g sample · as analysed (frozen retail product; cooking before analysis not stated) · frozen retail product; whether it was cooked before analysis is not stated · grade B · Chumpitazi 2018
- histamine: not detected (n = 12) mg/kg · as sold · raw · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
- histamine: not detected (n 3) mg/100 g (table unit); reported as not detected · fresh weight · raw, boiled (10 min) and steamed (15 min) · grade A · Preti 2017
- oxalate soluble: 8–31 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Abdelmoemin 2014
- oxalate total: 35–65 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Abdelmoemin 2014
- phytate: below 60 (below the detection limit) mg/100 g · dry matter · raw · grade A · Siener 2021
- tyramine: not detected (n 3) mg/100 g (table unit); reported as not detected · fresh weight · raw, boiled (10 min) and steamed (15 min) · grade A · Preti 2017
- tyramine: mean 2.46 · standard deviation 3.24 · range nd–9.86 · n 12 mg/kg · fresh weight · green beans, as sold (raw vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- Abdel-Moemin AR 2014 (oxalate in green beans, watercress)
abdelmoemin2014· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Chumpitazi BP, Lim J, McMeans AR, Shulman RJ, Hamaker BR. Evaluation of FODMAP carbohydrates content in selected foods in the United States. J Pediatr 2018 (author manuscript PMC6063767). · doi:10.1016/j.jpeds.2018.03.038 · PMID 29706489
chumpitazi2018· full text read · NIH author manuscript (PMC) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2008) Nitrate in vegetables. EFSA Journal 689 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2008.689
efsa-2008-nitrate· full text read · EFSA Journal: CC BY-ND 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B et al. 2024, Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods, Front Nutr (PMC11327153)
ferjancic2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - Preti R, Rapa M, Vinci G. Effect of steaming and boiling on the antioxidant properties and biogenic amines content in green bean (Phaseolus vulgaris) varieties of different colours. J Food Quality 2017;2017:5329070. · doi:10.1155/2017/5329070
preti2017· full text read · CC BY (Hindawi); repository copy is the submitted version - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Siener R et al. 2021 (oxalate in legumes and vegetables; CC BY 4.0)
siener2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Grusak MA, Abrams SA. USDA-ARS research record seqNo115=73011 (green beans and spinach in adolescents)
usda-ars-grusak-abrams· abstract only · US government record (USDA ARS), public domain - USDA, FDA and ODS-NIH Database for the Iodine Content of Common Foods, Release 4.0 (October 2024; 478 foods). Prepared by Heydorn K, Wambogo E, Spungen JH, Ershow AG, Gahche JJ, Haggans C, Merkel J, Patterson KY, Pehrsson PR. USDA ARS Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory.
usda-iodine-db4· secondary source · US Government work (public domain; USDA ARS)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.