FoodtopsyFrançais
A cucumber, whole and sliced

Cucumber, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g · 12 kcal

Some vitamin K1.

Worth knowing: Salmonella. Nothing else to watch for most people so far.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

How to handle it

  • Flagged: this is a single closed event, not an occurrence rate. A PHAC notice (final update 2018-12-12) counted 56 laboratory-confirmed cases of Salmonella Infantis (British Columbia 47, Alberta 5, Saskatchewan 1, Manitoba 2, Quebec 1), 11 hospitalised, no deaths. Long English cucumbers were identified as the likely source, since many of the ill reported eating them; the cause of contamination was not identified and the food samples tested were negative.

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for nickel, cadmium, aluminum and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 2.86 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 27,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 85 g a day, which stays within the 20,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 27,029 g a day would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 0.03367 µg/g for a fresh-and-pickled composite.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with nickel

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 39 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.19 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 80,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 23,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Aluminum

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 77.3 µg

    How we got this

    77,000 g a week reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2008 tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 76,967 g a week would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 0.9095 µg/g. That composite covers fresh and pickled cucumbers.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with aluminum

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 94 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.38 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe level of lead is set; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012): 0.375 µg a serving, 1.07%. The Health Canada composite (4.412 ng/g) covers fresh and pickled cucumbers, so it may overstate fresh ones; FDA found no lead in 27 peeled raw cucumbers at a reporting limit of 4 ppb.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid.

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 20 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.4 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Context only: total arsenic has no reference value; inorganic arsenic is not reported. Not scored.

  • Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2011 no-effect level for histamine is 50 mg per meal, and histamine was not detected in 10 Spanish market cucumber samples (Sanchez-Perez 2018), so there is no amount to compare and none is needed.

  • Context only, never scored. Violations: boscalid 1 of 399 domestic samples (44 positives, max 1.47 ppm); spinosyn A+D 1 of 97 greenhouse domestic samples (max 0.58 ppm). No acceptable daily intake (ADI) arithmetic was done.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin K1

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 4.25 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 5.95 µg)
  • Kale, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (355 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (286 mg vs 4.25 mg)
    • More vitamin C (15.1 mg vs 2.38 mg)
  • Brussels sprouts, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (119 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More vitamin C (52.7 mg vs 2.38 mg)
    • More folate (51 µg vs 5.95 µg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Asparagus, cooked
    • More folate (127 µg vs 5.95 µg)
    • More vitamin K1 (43 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More thiamin (0.14 mg vs 0.02 mg)
  • Turnip greens, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (312 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More vitamin A (324 µg vs 4.25 µg)
    • More folate (100 µg vs 5.95 µg)
  • Broccoli, cooked
    • More vitamin K1 (74.9 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • More vitamin C (34.1 mg vs 2.38 mg)
    • More folate (47.6 µg vs 5.95 µg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Spinach, cooked (Cadmium: go easy · lots of oxalate, more than its own calcium can bind).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Cucumber, with peel, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g fresh (Health Canada TRA V.1, vegetables without sauce, fresh or frozen)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Calcium16.34 mg13.89 mg117.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
16 mg13.6 mg114.82 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2363C
Carbohydrate2.953 g2.51 g21.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Choline6 mg5.1 mg43.06 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Energy13.935 kcal11.84 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
15 kcal12.75 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fat0.178 g0.15 g1.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.037 g0.03 g0.27 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fibre0.5 g0.43 g3.59 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Folate7 µg5.95 µg50.23 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Iron0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Magnesium10.11 mg8.59 mg72.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.181 mg0.15 mg1.3 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2363C
Phosphorus23.23 mg19.75 mg166.7 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Potassium169.6 mg144.16 mg1,217.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Protein0.625 g0.53 g4.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Riboflavin (B2)0.033 mg0.03 mg0.24 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Selenium0.3 µg0.26 µg2.15 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Sodium1.515 mg1.29 mg10.87 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Sugars1.67 g1.42 g11.98 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Thiamin (B1)0.027 mg0.02 mg0.19 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin A5 µg4.25 µg35.88 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin B60.04 mg0.03 mg0.29 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin C2.8 mg2.38 mg20.09 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin E0.03 mg0.03 mg0.22 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin K124 µg20.4 µg172.23 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Water95.87 g81.49 g687.98 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Zinc0.204 mg0.17 mg1.46 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene45 µg38.25 µg322.93 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Copper0.063 mg0.05 mg0.45 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Energy (Atwater general)15.908 kcal13.52 kcal114.16 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Energy (Atwater specific)13.935 kcal11.84 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Nitrogen0.1 g0.09 g0.72 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Ash0.375 g0.32 g2.69 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Starch0.83 g0.71 g5.96 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Sucrose0.03 g0.03 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Glucose0.76 g0.65 g5.45 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fructose0.87 g0.74 g6.24 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Maltose0.01 g0.01 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Energy65 kj55.25 kj466.45 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fluoride, F1.3 µg1.11 µg9.33 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Molybdenum, Mo3.723 µg3.16 µg26.72 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Vitamin A, IU105 iu89.25 iu753.5 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Carotene, alpha11 µg9.35 µg78.94 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Cryptoxanthin, beta26 µg22.1 µg186.58 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocopherol, beta0.01 mg0.01 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocopherol, gamma0.03 mg0.03 mg0.22 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.04 mg0.03 mg0.29 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Biotin0.963 µg0.82 µg6.91 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Folate, food7 µg5.95 µg50.23 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Folate, DFE7 µg5.95 µg50.23 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Betaine0.1 mg0.09 mg0.72 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tryptophan0.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Threonine0.019 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Isoleucine0.021 g0.02 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Leucine0.029 g0.02 g0.21 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Lysine0.029 g0.02 g0.21 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Methionine0.006 g0.01 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Cystine0.004 g0 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Phenylalanine0.019 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Tyrosine0.011 g0.01 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Valine0.022 g0.02 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Arginine0.044 g0.04 g0.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Histidine0.01 g0.01 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Alanine0.024 g0.02 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Aspartic acid0.041 g0.03 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Glutamic acid0.196 g0.17 g1.41 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Glycine0.024 g0.02 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Proline0.015 g0.01 g0.11 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Serine0.02 g0.02 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 14:00.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 16:00.028 g0.02 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 18:00.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 18:10.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 18:20.028 g0.02 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 18:30.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Phytosterols14 mg11.9 mg100.47 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.005 g0 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.032 g0.03 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 17:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Lutein + zeaxanthin23 µg19.55 µg165.05 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Manganese0.085 mg0.07 mg0.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346406C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.098 mg0.08 mg0.7 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.259 mg0.22 mg1.86 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168409C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2008 tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 76,967 g a week would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 0.9095 µg/g. That composite covers fresh and pickled cucumbers. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Context only: total arsenic has no reference value; inorganic arsenic is not reported. Not scored. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Histamine · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2011 no-effect level for histamine is 50 mg per meal, and histamine was not detected in 10 Spanish market cucumber samples (Sanchez-Perez 2018), so there is no amount to compare and none is needed. · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe level of lead is set; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake of 35 µg/day (EFSA 2012): 0.375 µg a serving, 1.07%. The Health Canada composite (4.412 ng/g) covers fresh and pickled cucumbers, so it may overstate fresh ones; FDA found no lead in 27 peeled raw cucumbers at a reporting limit of 4 ppb. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 27,029 g a day would reach it, on a lower-bound Health Canada mean of 0.03367 µg/g for a fresh-and-pickled composite. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Context only, never scored. Violations: boscalid 1 of 399 domestic samples (44 positives, max 1.47 ppm); spinosyn A+D 1 of 97 greenhouse domestic samples (max 0.58 ppm). No acceptable daily intake (ADI) arithmetic was done. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · A
  • Salmonella · Worth knowing · Flagged: this is a single closed event, not an occurrence rate. A PHAC notice (final update 2018-12-12) counted 56 laboratory-confirmed cases of Salmonella Infantis (British Columbia 47, Alberta 5, Saskatchewan 1, Manitoba 2, Quebec 1), 11 hospitalised, no deaths. Long English cucumbers were identified as the likely source, since many of the ill reported eating them; the cause of contamination was not identified and the food samples tested were negative. · PHAC 2018 · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: derived: SR 168409 (with peel) fructose 0.87 minus glucose 0.76 = 0.11 g/100 g; SR 169225 (peeled) 0.75 - 0.63 = 0.12 g/100 g. Per 85 g serving 0.09-0.10 g, under Varney 2017's 0.15 g general line (and the 0.40 g fresh-produce line). g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap fructan: not detectable (ND); water 95% % fresh weight · fresh weight · not stated (food sold as 'Cucumber') · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
  • histamine: not detected (nd), n 10 mg/kg fresh weight · fresh weight · raw, Spanish market · grade A · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205
  • tyramine: mean 0.61 (standard deviation 0.89), range nd-2.33 mg/kg fresh weight · fresh weight · raw, Spanish market · grade A · DOI 10.3390/foods7120205

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.