
Pinto beans, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 90 g (about ½ cup) · 129 kcal
Lots of fibre and folate.
Cook dried beans well: raw or undercooked, they carry a natural toxin. Nothing else to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (90 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
8.13 g in one serving: 21% of the 38 g a day men need, 33% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
155 µg in one serving: 39% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
8.14 g in one serving: 15% of the 56 g a day men need, 18% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 2 absorption studies of this nutrient are on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.21 mg in one serving: 16% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.17 mg in one serving: 14% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 15% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.91 mg in one serving: 12% of the 16 mg a day men need, 14% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
394 mg in one serving: 12% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
45.2 mg in one serving: 11% of the 400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.89 mg in one serving: 24% of the 8 mg a day men need, 11% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 3 absorption studies of this nutrient are on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
5.6 µg in one serving: 10% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.89 mg in one serving: 8% of the 11 mg a day men need, 11% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
124 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 11% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
31.9 mg in one serving: 6% of the 550 mg a day men need, 8% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.85 mg in one serving: 6% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.06 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
41.6 mg in one serving: 4% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
3.16 µg in one serving: 3% of the 120 µg a day men need, 4% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0.72 mg in one serving: 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
How to handle it
Raw or undercooked, these beans carry a natural toxin, the one kidney beans are known for. The FDA’s advice for kidney beans: soak them for at least 5 hours, then boil them in fresh water for at least 30 minutes; a slow cooker doesn’t get hot enough.
Learn more
Source: US FDA, Bad Bug Book, 2nd edition (2012): Phytohaemagglutinin
How we got this
A risk only when raw or undercooked: boil for at least 30 minutes (FDA) and never slow-cook raw beans; canned pinto beans carry about 0.004% of the lectin (phytohaemagglutinin) in the raw retail sample.
Watch out
How we counted this
How to handle it, just above: Cook dried beans well
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 22 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.32 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 1.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 49,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 632 g a week, which stays within the 14,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 1.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.34 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Daily serving adds about 1.0% to average adult intake (0.5% at the recent mean); no cap
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.3 g of sugar in a 90 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Oxalate: 99–117 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Shi 2018 · grade B
We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.
Phytate, as the source gives it: 1.7% average of three cultivars % (form and basis not stated) (not stated); 1.7% average of white, red, pinto beans % (form and basis not stated) (not stated) · Proulx 1993, Weaver 1993 · grade B
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 90 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For fibre: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 90 g.
For folate: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 90 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Soybeans, cooked- More omega-3: ALA (540 mg vs 124 mg)
- More riboflavin (0.26 mg vs 0.06 mg)
- More iron (4.64 mg vs 1.89 mg)
- Less folate (48.8 µg vs 155 µg)
Tofu, calcium-set- More calcium (316 mg vs 41.6 mg)
- More iron (4.84 mg vs 1.89 mg)
- More omega-3: ALA (288 mg vs 124 mg)
- Less folate (13.6 µg vs 155 µg)
- Less fibre (0.27 g vs 8.13 g)
Tempeh- More niacin (5.31 mg vs 1.91 mg)
- More riboflavin (0.32 mg vs 0.06 mg)
- More protein (18.3 g vs 8.14 g)
- Less folate (21.7 µg vs 155 µg)
- Less selenium (0 µg vs 5.6 µg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Soybeans, cooked- More omega-3: ALA (540 mg vs 124 mg)
- More riboflavin (0.26 mg vs 0.06 mg)
- More iron (4.64 mg vs 1.89 mg)
- Less folate (48.8 µg vs 155 µg)
Tofu, calcium-set- 69 kcal in 90 g (this food: 129)
- More calcium (316 mg vs 41.6 mg)
- More iron (4.84 mg vs 1.89 mg)
- More omega-3: ALA (288 mg vs 124 mg)
- Less folate (13.6 µg vs 155 µg)
- Less fibre (0.27 g vs 8.13 g)
Tempeh- More niacin (5.31 mg vs 1.91 mg)
- More riboflavin (0.32 mg vs 0.06 mg)
- More protein (18.3 g vs 8.14 g)
- Less folate (21.7 µg vs 155 µg)
- Less selenium (0 µg vs 5.6 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Tempeh20.3 g protein · 192 kcal per 100 g
Soybeans, cooked18.2 g protein · 172 kcal per 100 g
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Pinto beans, cooked
How the serving was set: 125 mL cooked = 90.35 g (Health Canada K.2; FDC 171 g per cup)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.137 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Calcium | 46 mg | 41.56 mg | 32.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 47 mg | 42.46 mg | 32.87 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| 46 mg | 41.56 mg | 32.17 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3270 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 26.22 g | 23.69 g | 18.34 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Choline | 35.3 mg | 31.89 mg | 24.69 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Energy | 143 kcal | 129.2 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fat | 0.65 g | 0.59 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.7 g | 0.63 g | 0.49 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.136 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fibre | 9 g | 8.13 g | 6.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Folate | 172 µg | 155.4 µg | 120.28 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 145 µg | 131.01 µg | 101.4 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Iron | 2.09 mg | 1.89 mg | 1.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 2.3 mg | 2.08 mg | 1.61 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Magnesium | 50 mg | 45.18 mg | 34.97 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 56 mg | 50.6 mg | 39.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 2.118 mg | 1.91 mg | 1.48 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3270 | C |
| Phosphorus | 147 mg | 132.81 mg | 102.8 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 150 mg | 135.53 mg | 104.9 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Potassium | 436 mg | 393.93 mg | 304.9 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 460 mg | 415.61 mg | 321.68 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Protein | 9.01 g | 8.14 g | 6.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 8.9 g | 8.04 g | 6.22 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.062 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.06 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Selenium | 6.2 µg | 5.6 µg | 4.34 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 6 µg | 5.42 µg | 4.2 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Sodium | 1 mg | 0.9 mg | 0.7 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 1 mg | 0.9 mg | 0.7 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Sugars | 0.34 g | 0.31 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.193 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.13 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.23 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.229 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0.8 mg | 0.72 mg | 0.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 2 mg | 1.81 mg | 1.4 mg | second database · not used · 2.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.94 mg | 0.85 mg | 0.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 3.5 µg | 3.16 µg | 2.45 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Water | 62.95 g | 56.88 g | 44.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 62.5 g | 56.47 g | 43.71 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.98 mg | 0.89 mg | 0.69 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 1 mg | 0.9 mg | 0.7 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Copper | 0.219 mg | 0.2 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.26 mg | 0.23 mg | 0.18 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Ash | 1.17 g | 1.06 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Starch | 15.15 g | 13.69 g | 10.59 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.34 g | 0.31 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Glucose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Energy | 600 kj | 542.1 kj | 419.58 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 2.2 µg | 1.99 µg | 1.54 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Folate, food | 172 µg | 155.4 µg | 120.28 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 172 µg | 155.4 µg | 120.28 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Betaine | 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.108 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Threonine | 0.331 g | 0.3 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.426 g | 0.38 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Leucine | 0.765 g | 0.69 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Lysine | 0.63 g | 0.57 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Methionine | 0.117 g | 0.11 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Cystine | 0.084 g | 0.08 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.531 g | 0.48 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.213 g | 0.19 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Valine | 0.519 g | 0.47 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Arginine | 0.494 g | 0.45 g | 0.35 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Histidine | 0.247 g | 0.22 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Alanine | 0.409 g | 0.37 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.128 g | 1.02 g | 0.79 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.447 g | 1.31 g | 1.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Glycine | 0.365 g | 0.33 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Proline | 0.515 g | 0.47 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Serine | 0.565 g | 0.51 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.133 g | 0.12 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.133 g | 0.12 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.098 g | 0.09 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.137 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.133 g | 0.12 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.235 g | 0.21 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| Manganese | 0.453 mg | 0.41 mg | 0.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.5 mg | 0.45 mg | 0.35 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.318 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.27 mg | 0.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.21 mg | 0.19 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0.29 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.2 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175200 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-107 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weaver et al. 1993: white, red and pinto beans, pooled (shared arm; same study figure attached to both white and pinto rows) white, red and pinto beans (labelled with 45Ca), cultivars not stated; the three types pooled, no per-type figure given · not stated; described as "cooked and pureed beans" eaten with toast, butter and coffee or tea in a later review (Shkembi & Huppertz 2022) abstract only | Calcium | 21.9 % | 72 mg | 24 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Weaver et al. 1993: pinto beans pre-treated with phytase (EXPERIMENTAL preparation; not a retail or home preparation) pinto, phytase-pretreated (experimental) · labelled pinto beans pre-treated with phytase; cooking and puréeing not stated · load not reported for this arm (main design: 72 mg) abstract only | Calcium | 31.8 % | not reported | 10 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Petry et al. 2014: control (non-biofortified) bean meals, native phytic acid common bean, class unstated (Rwandan control beans); not white or pinto · cooked composite bean meals with potatoes or rice · load not reported (control beans 5.4 mg Fe per 100 g as analysed) abstract only | Iron | 9.2 % | not reported | 22 | B | Not used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation. |
| Calderon et al. 2021: beans common pinto (Phaseolus vulgaris), intrinsically 2H-labelled · cooked pinto beans as a paste on toasted corn tortilla with guacamole topping · load not reported abstract only | Protein | 77 % | not reported | 6 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Petry et al. 2016: beans common control beans (regular iron and phytic acid concentrations) · cooked beans in a composite meal · load not reported in the text I read abstract only | Iron | 8 % | not reported | 25 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Petry et al. 2013: beans common low-phytic-acid (lpa) mutant line high in polyphenols (PA 124 mg/100 g): NOT a standard bean; lpa line low in polyphenols 4% (1.8-8.7) · bean meal (cooking not stated) · load not reported abstract only | Iron | 6.1 % | not reported | 20 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: beans common (pig) animal study whole dry pinto beans · Soaked then pressure cooked in water · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 67.7 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Donangelo 2003: high-Fe/Zn bean genotype (HFeZnB), extrinsic label high-Fe/Zn bred genotype (zinc 98% higher than common beans): NOT the common-bean genotype · beans fed in a single meal; cooking not stated · load not reported abstract only | Zinc | 13.4 % | not reported | 11 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Donangelo 2003: high-Fe/Zn bean genotype (HFeZnB), intrinsic label high-Fe/Zn bred genotype: NOT the common-bean genotype · beans fed in a single meal; cooking not stated · load not reported abstract only | Zinc | 15.2 % | not reported | 11 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Daily serving adds about 1.0% to average adult intake (0.5% at the recent mean); no cap · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Phytohaemagglutinin (raw bean lectins) · Worth knowing · A risk only when raw or undercooked: boil for at least 30 minutes (FDA) and never slow-cook raw beans; canned pinto beans carry about 0.004% of the lectin (phytohaemagglutinin) in the raw retail sample. · Thompson 2025 · B
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not detected) mg/g · seed flour · common bean dry seed, 12 accessions · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
- fodmap fructan: 0.24 g/100 g FW = 1.85% DW (± 0.00 / 0.03) g/100 g · fresh weight · canned, as bought, whole beans cooked/dried for analysis · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
- fodmap gos: mean 3.60 across 14 pinto genotype means (computed from Table 5 rows) % dry weight · dry weight · dry seed (raw) · grade B · Oleary 2026
- fodmap gos: mean 1.57 across 14 pinto genotype means; leaching 49-69% (mean 55.9) % dry weight · dry weight · laboratory-canned, drained and rinsed (not home-boiled) · grade B · Oleary 2026
- fodmap gos: range 23.3–33.1 mg/g (RFO = verbascose + stachyose + raffinose; mean of 12 accessions) · mg per g of seed flour; moisture not stated · common bean (Phaseolus vulgaris) dry seed, local accessions, Asturias Spain · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
- fodmap gos: computed by agent from Table 5 rows: mean of 14 pinto genotype means · range 3.22–3.76 % dry weight (total RFO, stachyose basis) · dry weight · pinto bean dry seed, field-grown, Alberta Canada, 2022-2023 · grade A · Oleary 2026
- fodmap gos: computed by agent from Table 5 rows: mean of 14 pinto genotype means · range 1.14–1.76 % dry weight (total RFO, stachyose basis) · dry weight · pinto bean, laboratory-canned, drained and rinsed · grade B · Oleary 2026
- fodmap gos: 45.43 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Judion (JG): raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 44.18 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Judion (JG): cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 42.17 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote WA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 30.48 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote WA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 38.5 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote PA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 29.73 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote PA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 34.61 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote BA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap gos: 33.1 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote BA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
- fodmap mannitol: trace, not quantified mg/g · seed flour · common bean dry seed, 12 accessions · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Beans, pinto, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
- oxalate soluble: about 24-72% of total oxalate is soluble across all pulses tested (not bean-specific) % of total · not stated · raw and processed seeds, pulses pooled · grade C · Shi 2018
- oxalate total: 0.34% average of white, red, pinto beans % (basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Weaver 1993
- oxalate total: 0.37% average of three cultivars % (basis not stated) · not stated · raw and cooked legumes were fed to rats; which state was analysed is not stated · grade B · Proulx 1993
- oxalate total: 98.86-117.0 mg/100 g in common beans (the abstract does not say which states the range covers) mg/100 g · not stated · not stated (range may pool raw, soaked and cooked seeds) · grade B · Shi 2018
- phytate: 1.7% average of three cultivars % (form and basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Proulx 1993
- phytate: 1.7% average of white, red, pinto beans % (form and basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Weaver 1993
- phytate: range across published bean studies, mean about 1000 mg/100 g beans (phytic acid) · not stated (review) · not stated; mostly raw seed · grade B · Petry 2015
- phytate: control beans 980; iron-biofortified beans 1320 mg/100 g (phytic acid) · not stated · beans as fed in composite meals (basis not stated) · grade B · PubMed 25332466
- phytate: two normal-phytate parent lines: 1030 and 1360; low-phytic-acid lines 124 and 70 mg/100 g (phytic acid) · not stated · not stated · grade B · PubMed 23784069
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B et al. 2024, Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods, Front Nutr (PMC11327153)
ferjancic2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - O'Leary BM, Kumari V, Reid T, Balasubramanian P. Multi-environment evaluation of raffinose-family oligosaccharide content in diverse dry bean varieties and their reduction upon canning. J Sci Food Agric 2026;106(3):1904 · doi:10.1002/jsfa.70303 · PMID 41221961
oleary2026· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Petry N, Boy E, Wirth JP, Hurrell RF. Review: the potential of the common bean (Phaseolus vulgaris) as a vehicle for iron biofortification. Nutrients 2015;7(2):1144-73 · doi:10.3390/nu7021144 · PMID 25679229
petry2015· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Donangelo CM, Woodhouse LR, King SM, Toffolo G, et al. Iron and zinc absorption from two bean (Phaseolus vulgaris L.) genotypes in young women. J Agric Food Chem 2003 · doi:10.1021/jf030151w · PMID 12903981
pmid:12903981· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Petry N, Egli I, Campion B, Nielsen E, Hurrell R. Genetic reduction of phytate in common bean (Phaseolus vulgaris L.) seeds increases iron absorption in young women. J Nutr 2013 · doi:10.3945/jn.113.175067 · PMID 23784069
pmid:23784069· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Petry N, Egli I, Gahutu JB, Tugirimana PL, Boy E, Hurrell R. Phytic acid concentration influences iron bioavailability from biofortified beans in Rwandese women with low iron status. J Nutr 2014;144 · doi:10.3945/jn.114.192989 · PMID 25332466
pmid:25332466· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Petry N, Rohner F, Gahutu JB, Campion B, Boy E, Tugirimana PL, et al. (2016). In Rwandese women with low iron status, iron absorption from low-phytic acid beans and biofortified beans is comparable, but low-phytic acid beans cause adverse gastrointestinal symptoms. J Nutr 146:970-5 · doi:10.3945/jn.115.223693 · PMID 27029940
pmid:27029940· abstract only · licence not recorded - Calderon de la Barca AM, Martinez-Diaz G, Ibarra-Pastrana ON, Devi S, Kurpad AV, et al. Pinto bean amino acid digestibility and score in a Mexican dish with corn tortilla and guacamole, evaluated in adults using a dual-tracer isotopic method. J Nutr 2021;151:3151-3157. · doi:10.1093/jn/nxab216 · PMID 34255067
pq_calderon2021· abstract only · licence not recorded - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - Proulx WR, Weaver CM, Bock MA. Trypsin inhibitor activity and tannin content do not affect calcium bioavailability of three commonly consumed legumes. J Food Sci 1993;58:382-4 · doi:10.1111/j.1365-2621.1993.tb04280.x
proulx1993· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Redondo-Cuenca A, Pedrosa MM, Sanz MDT, Alvarado Lopez AN, Garcia-Alonso A. Influence of high-pressure processing on nutritional composition and bioactive compounds of Phaseolus coccineus L. J Food Sci 2022;87:5289-5302. · doi:10.1111/1750-3841.16361 · PMID 36316801
redondo-cuenca2022· full text read · CC BY - Rodriguez Madrera R, Campa Negrillo A, Ferreira Fernandez JJ. Quantitative assessment of soluble carbohydrates in two panels of pulses (Phaseolus vulgaris and Pisum sativum). Foods 2026;15:391 · doi:10.3390/foods15020391 · PMID 41596988
rodriguezmadrera2026· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Shi L, Arntfield SD, Nickerson M. Changes in levels of phytic acid, lectins and oxalates during soaking and cooking of Canadian pulses. Food Res Int 2018;107:660-8 · doi:10.1016/j.foodres.2018.02.056 · PMID 29580532
shi2018· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Thompson HJ, Neil ES, McGinley JN, Lutsiv T. Toward standardized measurement of active phytohemagglutinin in common bean, Phaseolus vulgaris L. Foods 2025;14(24):4247 · doi:10.3390/foods14244247 · PMID 41464957
thompson2025-pha· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Weaver CM, Heaney RP, Proulx WR, Hinders SM, Packard PT. Absorbability of calcium from common beans. J Food Sci 1993;58(6):1401-3 · doi:10.1111/j.1365-2621.1993.tb06192.x
weaver1993-beans· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.