
Eggs, hard-boiled
Checked by us One serving: 100 g (about 2 large eggs) · 155 kcal
Protein, plus selenium and choline. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.
Nothing to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (100 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
The label says 12.6 g. Measured in adults, about 89% of it is digested: 11.2 g.
From our evidence: Raw egg vs cooked egg: how much of the protein you digest →
Learn more
Measured in 1 study in adults, at a test dose of 22.1 g; grade A. Details in The numbers.
12.6 g in one serving: 23% of the 56 g a day men need, 27% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ? Counting only the part studies found is digested (11.2 g), that is 20%.
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
30.8 µg in one serving: 56% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
294 mg in one serving: 53% of the 550 mg a day men need, 69% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
1.11 µg in one serving: 46% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.51 mg in one serving: 39% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 46% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
3.38 mg in one serving: 21% of the 16 mg a day men need, 24% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
43 mg in one serving: 17% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
149 µg in one serving: 17% of the 900 µg a day men need, 21% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
2.2 µg in one serving: 15% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
44 µg in one serving: 11% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.05 mg in one serving: 10% of the 11 mg a day men need, 13% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.03 mg in one serving: 7% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.19 mg in one serving: 15% of the 8 mg a day men need, 7% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
50 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
126 mg in one serving: 4% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
10 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 3% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
35 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.3 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.04 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 450,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 130,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.22% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.12 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Daily serving adds 0.35% to the average adult intake (margin of exposure (MOE) basis); not a cap
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Cholesterol
373 mg in a 100 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
The American Heart Association says healthy adults can include up to one whole egg a day (up to two for older adults with normal cholesterol, in a heart-healthy diet), and the Heart and Stroke Foundation says cholesterol in food has less effect on blood cholesterol than saturated and trans fat. If your cholesterol is high, your healthcare provider may advise limiting egg yolks. One serving on this page is 100 g (about 2 large eggs); that guidance counts eggs, not servings.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Source: Carson et al., Circulation 2020 (American Heart Association science advisory) · Heart and Stroke Foundation, Managing cholesterol
Sugar
1.1 g of sugar in a 100 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted31 g in 100 g (this food: 12.6 g) · but less choline
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g in 100 g (this food: 12.6 g) · but less selenium and choline
More selenium
Tilapia, cooked54.4 µg in 100 g (this food: 30.8 µg) · but less choline
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For choline: Beef liver, pan-fried would lead, in the same 100 g, but is left out (Copper: limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins or breakfast foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (54.4 µg vs 30.8 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (135 mg vs 43 mg)
- More niacin (9.16 mg vs 3.38 mg)
- Less choline (51.3 mg vs 294 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.07 mg vs 0.51 mg)
1 food out of the 15 other main-dish proteins or breakfast foods we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat- 59 kcal in 100 g (this food: 155)
- Less choline (15.1 mg vs 294 mg)
- Less selenium (9.7 µg vs 30.8 µg)
Cottage cheese- 105 kcal in 100 g (this food: 155)
- Less choline (18.4 mg vs 294 mg)
- Less selenium (9.7 µg vs 30.8 µg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (54.4 µg vs 30.8 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (135 mg vs 43 mg)
- More niacin (9.16 mg vs 3.38 mg)
- Less choline (51.3 mg vs 294 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.07 mg vs 0.51 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g protein · 272 kcal per 100 g
Tempeh20.3 g protein · 192 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Mussels, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Egg, whole, hard-boiled
How the serving was set: 100 g (Health Canada G.2, eggs including eggs in the shell; label unit "# eggs (# g)")
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.035 g | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Calcium | 50 mg | 50 mg | 32.26 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 55 mg | 55 mg | 35.48 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| 44.816 mg | 44.82 mg | 28.91 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #130 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 1.12 g | 1.12 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Choline | 293.8 mg | 293.8 mg | 189.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Energy | 155 kcal | 155 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.043 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fat | 10.61 g | 10.61 g | 6.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 9.6 g | 9.6 g | 6.19 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 373 mg | 373 mg | 240.65 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 3.267 g | 3.27 g | 2.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Folate | 44 µg | 44 µg | 28.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 30 µg | 30 µg | 19.35 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Iron | 1.19 mg | 1.19 mg | 0.77 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 1.97 mg | 1.97 mg | 1.27 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Magnesium | 10 mg | 10 mg | 6.45 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 14 mg | 14 mg | 9.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 3.378 mg | 3.38 mg | 2.18 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #130 | C |
| Phosphorus | 172 mg | 172 mg | 110.97 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 205 mg | 205 mg | 132.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Potassium | 126 mg | 126 mg | 81.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 141 mg | 141 mg | 90.97 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Protein | 12.58 g | 12.58 g | 8.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 14.1 g | 14.1 g | 9.1 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.513 mg | 0.51 mg | 0.33 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.47 mg | 0.47 mg | 0.3 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Selenium | 30.8 µg | 30.8 µg | 19.87 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 27 µg | 27 µg | 17.42 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Sodium | 124 mg | 124 mg | 80 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 150 mg | 150 mg | 96.77 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Sugars | 1.12 g | 1.12 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.066 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 149 µg | 149 µg | 96.13 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.11 µg | 1.11 µg | 0.72 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 2 µg | 2 µg | 1.29 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.121 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.06 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 2.2 µg | 2.2 µg | 1.42 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 2.3 µg | 2.3 µg | 1.48 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 1.03 mg | 1.03 mg | 0.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 1.63 mg | 1.63 mg | 1.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.3 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.19 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Water | 74.62 g | 74.62 g | 48.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 75.4 g | 75.4 g | 48.65 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Zinc | 1.05 mg | 1.05 mg | 0.68 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 1.3 mg | 1.3 mg | 0.84 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 11 µg | 11 µg | 7.1 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Copper | 0.013 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used · 5.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Ash | 1.08 g | 1.08 g | 0.7 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Energy | 649 kj | 649 kj | 418.71 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 4.8 µg | 4.8 µg | 3.1 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 520 iu | 520 iu | 335.48 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 87 iu | 87 iu | 56.13 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 2.2 µg | 2.2 µg | 1.42 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 25-hydroxycholecalciferol | 0.18 µg | 0.18 µg | 0.12 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 10 µg | 10 µg | 6.45 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Folate, food | 44 µg | 44 µg | 28.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 44 µg | 44 µg | 28.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Betaine | 0.6 mg | 0.6 mg | 0.39 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.153 g | 0.15 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Threonine | 0.604 g | 0.6 g | 0.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.686 g | 0.69 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Leucine | 1.075 g | 1.08 g | 0.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Lysine | 0.904 g | 0.9 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Methionine | 0.392 g | 0.39 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Cystine | 0.292 g | 0.29 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.668 g | 0.67 g | 0.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.513 g | 0.51 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Valine | 0.767 g | 0.77 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Arginine | 0.755 g | 0.76 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Histidine | 0.298 g | 0.3 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Alanine | 0.7 g | 0.7 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.264 g | 1.26 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.644 g | 1.64 g | 1.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Glycine | 0.423 g | 0.42 g | 0.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Proline | 0.501 g | 0.5 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Serine | 0.936 g | 0.94 g | 0.6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.035 g | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 2.349 g | 2.35 g | 1.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.828 g | 0.83 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 3.725 g | 3.73 g | 2.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.188 g | 1.19 g | 0.77 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.035 g | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.149 g | 0.15 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.038 g | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.31 g | 0.31 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 4.077 g | 4.08 g | 2.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.414 g | 1.41 g | 0.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 353 µg | 353 µg | 227.74 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| Manganese | 0.026 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.064 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.06 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1.398 mg | 1.4 mg | 0.9 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 1.25 mg | 1.25 mg | 0.81 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C | |
| Retinol | 148 µg | 148 µg | 95.48 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173424 | C |
| 120 µg | 120 µg | 77.42 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-940 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kashyap et al. 2018: whole boiled egg, mean true ileal indispensable amino acid (IAA) digestibility hens dosed orally for 35 d with a uniformly 2H-labelled amino acid mix (BV-300 layers) · whole boiled egg, shelled (boiled 20 min in boiling water); eaten in a ghee-rice and curry meal, microwave-warmed full text read | Protein | 89.4 % | 22,080 mg | 6 | A | Used |
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kashyap et al. 2018: boiled egg WHITE only (lyophilised), mean true ileal IAA digestibility egg white only; not whole egg · egg white separated from boiled egg, lyophilised and ground to powder full text read | Protein | 86.3 % | 22,500 mg | 6 | B | Not used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation. |
| Shivakumar et al. 2019: whole boiled egg in children, mean true ileal IAA digestibility hens dosed orally for 35 d with a 2H-labelled amino acid mix (enrichment measured on the egg white); whole egg fed · whole egg boiled, shelled, stored at -80 C, finely chopped into the khichdi meal full text read | Protein | 87.4 % | 4,300 mg | 6 | A | Not used: tested in children or teenagers, and the figure here is for adults. |
| Evenepoel et al. 1999: COOKED labelled egg protein, digested and absorbed in the small intestine (1 - the 5.73% printed as escaping) 13C/15N/2H-labelled egg protein · cooked (method not stated) abstract only | Protein | 94.3 % | 25,000 mg | 10 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Kashyap et al. 2024: egg not stated · whole boiled egg · load not reported abstract only | Tryptophan | 91.4 % | not reported | 6 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: egg (pig) animal study whole free-range egg · Boiled in water, peeled then cut to 0.2 cm pieces · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 90.4 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Doscherholmen et al. 1975: egg, boiled whole egg, in vivo labelled by injection into two hens fed standard Purina Flock Chow · boiled eggs: "the whites were coagulated and the yolks were still mainly liquid" (soft-boiled) · one whole boiled egg per test, about 60 g, average B12 0.67 ug (hen 1, range 0.51-0.82) or 0.85 ug (hen 2, range 0.72-0.94); about 0.5 uCi 57Co per egg full text read | Vitamin B12 | 24 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.22% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Dietary cholesterol · Context · Context only: no rating, no agency limit used · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
- Egg allergy · Worth knowing · Eggs are a Health Canada priority allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Daily serving adds 0.35% to the average adult intake (margin of exposure (MOE) basis); not a cap · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Salmonella · Context · Hard-boiled to a firm yolk and white meets the advice; the flag belongs to raw or runny eggs. Not applicable if cooked firm · PHAC 2021 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: mean 0.012 · standard deviation 0.00173 · n 3 mg/kg · as cooked (boiled egg) · egg boiled (90 C, 5-10 min) · grade B · Chung 2017
Sources
- Chung BY, Park SY, Byun YS, Son JH, Choi YW, Cho YS, Kim HO, Park CW. Effect of different cooking methods on histamine levels in selected foods. Ann Dermatol 2017;29(6):706-714. · doi:10.5021/ad.2017.29.6.706 · PMID 29200758
chung2017· full text read · CC BY-NC 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health Agency of Canada, Public Health Notice: Outbreak of Salmonella infections linked to eggs (final update 2021-04-14)
phac-egg-outbreak-2021· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Evenepoel P, Claus D, Geypens B, Hiele M, Geboes K, Rutgeerts P, Ghoos Y (1999) Amount and fate of egg protein escaping assimilation in the small intestine of humans. Am J Physiol 277(5):G935-G943 · doi:10.1152/ajpgi.1999.277.5.g935 · PMID 10564098
pmid:10564098· abstract only · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Doscherholmen A, McMahon J, Ripley D (1975) Vitamin B12 absorption from eggs. Proc Soc Exp Biol Med 149(4):987-990 · doi:10.3181/00379727-149-38940 · PMID 1172618
pmid:1172618· abstract only · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Kashyap S, Shivakumar N, Varkey A, Duraisamy R, Thomas T, Preston T, Devi S, Kurpad AV (2018) Ileal digestibility of intrinsically labeled hen's egg and meat protein determined with the dual stable isotope tracer method in Indian adults. Am J Clin Nutr 108(5):980-987 · doi:10.1093/ajcn/nqy178 · PMID 30272112
pmid:30272112· full text read · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Shivakumar N, Kashyap S, Kishore S, Thomas T, Varkey A, Devi S, Preston T, Jahoor F, Sheshshayee MS, Kurpad AV (2019) Protein-quality evaluation of complementary foods in Indian children. Am J Clin Nutr 109(5):1319-1327 · doi:10.1093/ajcn/nqy265 · PMID 30920607
pmid:30920607· full text read · Open access (PMC); licence not checked - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - Kashyap S, Devi S, Pasanna RM, Preston T, Kurpad AV. True digestibility of tryptophan in plant and animal protein. J Nutr 2024;154:3203-3209. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2024.09.014 · PMID 39307282
pq_kashyap2024_trp· abstract only · licence not recorded
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.