
Tofu, calcium-set
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ⅓ cup) · 65 kcal
Lots of calcium and iron.
Nothing to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: tyramine and MAO inhibitors.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
298 mg in one serving: 30% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Listed amount only. 2 absorption studies of this nutrient are on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
4.56 mg in one serving: 57% of the 8 mg a day men need, 25% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
19 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
6.87 g in one serving: 12% of the 56 g a day men need, 15% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- Some
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
271 mg in one serving: 17% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 25% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
7.57 µg in one serving: 14% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.87 mg in one serving: 12% of the 16 mg a day men need, 13% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
25.5 mg in one serving: 6% of the 400 mg a day men need, 8% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.68 mg in one serving: 6% of the 11 mg a day men need, 9% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
24.5 mg in one serving: 4% of the 550 mg a day men need, 6% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
12.8 µg in one serving: 3% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
103 mg in one serving: 3% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
2.04 µg in one serving: 2% of the 120 µg a day men need, 2% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0.26 g in one serving: 1% of the 38 g a day men need, 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.01 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: vitamin A.
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 7.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 1.02 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 5.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 75% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 15,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 4,300 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 5.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.34 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg: adds 0-1.0% to the average adult intake (35 µg a day). For comparison only, EFSA's 20 µg/kg would give 1.7 µg (+4.9%), also no cap
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B
For some people
Tofu is on the avoid lists in the US labels of two monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) antidepressants: Parnate (tranylcypromine), and the EMSAM patch (selegiline) at 9 or 12 mg per 24 hours.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.5 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Phytate: 89–621 mg per 100 g as eaten. · Alwahsh 2005 · grade A
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Context only: total arsenic does not give inorganic arsenic; not rated
Context, not a flag: the levothyroxine label names soybean flour, not tofu, and its 4-hour rule covers calcium supplements, not foods.
Context only: not detected at reporting limit 1 µg/kg
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For calcium: Sardines, canned in water would lead, in the same 85 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).
For iron: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 85 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Soybeans, cooked- More protein (15.5 g vs 6.87 g)
- More riboflavin (0.24 mg vs 0.04 mg)
- More omega-3: ALA (508 mg vs 271 mg)
- Less calcium (86.7 mg vs 298 mg)
Lentils, cooked- More folate (154 µg vs 12.8 µg)
- More fibre (6.72 g vs 0.26 g)
- Less calcium (16.2 mg vs 298 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (31.5 mg vs 271 mg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (46.2 µg vs 7.57 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.58 µg vs 0 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (115 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less calcium (11.9 mg vs 298 mg)
- Less iron (0.59 mg vs 4.56 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Lentils, cooked- More fibre (6.72 g vs 0.26 g)
- More folate (154 µg vs 12.8 µg)
- Less calcium (16.2 mg vs 298 mg)
- Less omega-3: ALA (31.5 mg vs 271 mg)
Soybeans, cooked- More fibre (5.1 g vs 0.26 g)
- More protein (15.5 g vs 6.87 g)
- More riboflavin (0.24 mg vs 0.04 mg)
- Less calcium (86.7 mg vs 298 mg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (46.2 µg vs 7.57 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.58 µg vs 0 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (115 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less calcium (11.9 mg vs 298 mg)
- Less iron (0.59 mg vs 4.56 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Tempeh20.3 g protein · 192 kcal per 100 g
Soybeans, cooked18.2 g protein · 172 kcal per 100 g
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Sardines, canned in water (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Tofu, calcium-set (CaSO4 or CaCl2), as sold
How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada K.1, tofu or tempeh)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.319 g | 0.27 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Calcium | 350 mg | 297.5 mg | 460.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 171 mg | 145.35 mg | 225 mg | second database · not used · 2× | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3418 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 1.87 g | 1.59 g | 2.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Choline | 28.8 mg | 24.48 mg | 37.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Energy | 76 kcal | 64.6 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fat | 4.78 g | 4.06 g | 6.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 4.2 g | 3.57 g | 5.53 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.691 g | 0.59 g | 0.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fibre | 0.3 g | 0.26 g | 0.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Folate | 15 µg | 12.75 µg | 19.74 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 15 µg | 12.75 µg | 19.74 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Iron | 5.36 mg | 4.56 mg | 7.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 1.2 mg | 1.02 mg | 1.58 mg | second database · not used · 4.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Magnesium | 30 mg | 25.5 mg | 39.47 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 23 mg | 19.55 mg | 30.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 2.195 mg | 1.87 mg | 2.89 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3418 | C |
| Phosphorus | 97 mg | 82.45 mg | 127.63 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 95 mg | 80.75 mg | 125 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Potassium | 121 mg | 102.85 mg | 159.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 63 mg | 53.55 mg | 82.89 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Protein | 8.08 g | 6.87 g | 10.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 8.1 g | 6.89 g | 10.66 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.052 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used · 2.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Selenium | 8.9 µg | 7.57 µg | 11.71 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Sodium | 7 mg | 5.95 mg | 9.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 4 mg | 3.4 mg | 5.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Sugars | 0.62 g | 0.53 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.3 g | 0.26 g | 0.39 g | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.081 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.06 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.047 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.09 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.13 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.95 mg | 0.81 mg | 1.25 mg | second database · not used · 95× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 2.4 µg | 2.04 µg | 3.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Water | 84.55 g | 71.87 g | 111.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 85 g | 72.25 g | 111.84 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.8 mg | 0.68 mg | 1.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.7 mg | 0.6 mg | 0.92 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | 0.193 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.26 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Ash | 0.72 g | 0.61 g | 0.95 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Energy | 317 kj | 269.45 kj | 417.11 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 85 iu | 72.25 iu | 111.84 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Folate, food | 15 µg | 12.75 µg | 19.74 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 15 µg | 12.75 µg | 19.74 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Threonine | 0.402 g | 0.34 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.435 g | 0.37 g | 0.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Leucine | 0.713 g | 0.61 g | 0.94 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Lysine | 0.452 g | 0.38 g | 0.59 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Methionine | 0.108 g | 0.09 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Cystine | 0.029 g | 0.02 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.428 g | 0.36 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.359 g | 0.31 g | 0.47 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Valine | 0.446 g | 0.38 g | 0.59 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Arginine | 0.701 g | 0.6 g | 0.92 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Histidine | 0.221 g | 0.19 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Alanine | 0.396 g | 0.34 g | 0.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.043 g | 0.89 g | 1.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.684 g | 1.43 g | 2.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Glycine | 0.375 g | 0.32 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Proline | 0.555 g | 0.47 g | 0.73 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Serine | 0.519 g | 0.44 g | 0.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.507 g | 0.43 g | 0.67 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.171 g | 0.15 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 1.043 g | 0.89 g | 1.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 2.38 g | 2.02 g | 3.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.319 g | 0.27 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 1.056 g | 0.9 g | 1.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 2.699 g | 2.29 g | 3.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| Manganese | 0.605 mg | 0.51 mg | 0.8 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.4 mg | 0.34 mg | 0.53 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.195 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.26 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.068 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172476 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-570 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weaver et al. 2002 study 1: CaCl2-set tofu CaCl2 coagulant · calcium-set tofu, 'set with CaCl2'; raw or cooked not stated; 44Ca built into the coagulant; fecal recovery secondary source | Calcium | 49.3 % | 250 mg | – | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Weaver et al. 2002 study 2: CaSO4-set tofu CaSO4 coagulant · 'tofu set with CaSO4'; raw or cooked not stated; 45Ca radioisotope, serum appearance at 5 h secondary source | Calcium | 39 % | 200 mg | – | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Tarumizu et al. 2010: tofu + basal diet, post-menopausal women (whole-diet balance) not stated anywhere in the paper; not confirmed calcium-set, could be Mg-set · tofu (300 mg Ca/d) added to a basal diet (Ca 300 mg/d); the paper does not say raw or cooked, brand, type (momen/kinu) or amount in g; balance method, feces/urine/diet of the last 5 d collected full text read | Calcium | 32.8 % | 634 mg | 12 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: tofu calcium set (pig) animal study firm tofu, coagulant not stated · Diced to 2 cm · diet protein level not stated; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 93.3 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Context only: total arsenic does not give inorganic arsenic; not rated · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 5.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg: adds 0-1.0% to the average adult intake (35 µg a day). For comparison only, EFSA's 20 µg/kg would give 1.7 µg (+4.9%), also no cap · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Soy and levothyroxine · Context · Context, not a flag: the levothyroxine label names soybean flour, not tofu, and its 4-hour rule covers calcium supplements, not foods. · SYNTHROID · A
- Mercury, all forms · Context · Context only: not detected at reporting limit 1 µg/kg · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Soy allergy · Worth knowing · Soy is a Health Canada priority allergen; the page names tofu among soy sources · Health Canada, Soy - A priority food allergen · A
- Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Worth knowing · Tofu is on the avoid lists in the US labels of two monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) antidepressants: Parnate (tranylcypromine), and the EMSAM patch (selegiline) at 9 or 12 mg per 24 hours. · PARNATE · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap fos: below the limit of quantification (kestose <0.0100, nystose <0.0100, 1F-FFnystose <0.0020) g/100 g · g/100 g as printed in the table; the paper does not say fresh, dry or as purchased (foods homogenised before analysis) · same Italian tofu · grade A · Natale 2025
- fodmap fructan: short FOS < quantification limit (0.01 / 0.01 / 0.002) g/100 g · as purchased · tofu, Italian supermarket product (type not stated) · grade B · Natale 2025
- fodmap gos: raffinose 0.0263 + stachyose 0.1140 (sum is Foodtopsy's arithmetic) g/100 g · g/100 g as printed in the table; the paper does not say fresh, dry or as purchased (foods homogenised before analysis) · tofu bought in Italian supermarkets March-April 2024; type and cooking not stated · grade A · Natale 2025
- fodmap gos: 3.55 g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · soybean, whole seeds (as listed in Table 2; no cooking mentioned; raw material of tofu) · grade C · Ispiryan 2020
- fodmap gos: 3.323 g/100 g (basis not stated) · whole food as purchased · soybeans, dried (raw material of tofu) · grade C · Natale 2025
- fodmap gos: 4.43 g/100 g (basis not stated) · seed flour as analysed · soybean, unprocessed seed, three Ugandan varieties pooled · grade C · Alowo 2025
- histamine: not detected (n = 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · tofu, Spanish market, as sold (not further stated) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
- histamine: not detected in non-fermented soybean products (category) mg/kg · not stated · non-fermented soybean products, Spanish market · grade B · Torofunes 2015
- histamine: not detected (n 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · tofu, as sold (coagulant not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Tofu, soya bean, steamed · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- oxalate total: 2–9 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as purchased, wet weight) · commercial tofu as purchased; cooking not stated · grade A · Alwahsh 2005
- oxalate total: 3–7 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as purchased, wet weight) · commercial tofu as purchased · grade A · Alwahsh 2005
- oxalate total: 6–10 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as purchased, wet weight) · commercial tofu as purchased · grade B · Alwahsh 2005
- phytate: 174–210 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as purchased, wet weight); as phytic acid · commercial tofu as purchased · grade A · Alwahsh 2005
- phytate: 89–621 mg/100 g · fresh weight (as purchased, wet weight); as phytic acid (P x 1/0.282) · commercial tofu as purchased · grade A · Alwahsh 2005
- tyramine: not detected (n 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · tofu, as sold (coagulant not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- Alowo et al. 2025, Front Nutr (FODMAP in Ugandan crops; PMC11932858)
alowo2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Al-Wahsh IA et al. 2005, J Agric Food Chem (oxalate and phytate in soy foods)
alwahsh2005· secondary source · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - PARNATE (tranylcypromine sulfate) tablet, film coated [Advanz Pharma (US) Corp.], DailyMed SPL set id b72d8187-dfcc-4ea0-b5e9-c0be95b69a27, version 11, published Jul 07, 2025, section 7.2 and Table 5
dailymed-parnate· full text read · Product label (manufacturer copyright) - SYNTHROID (levothyroxine sodium) tablet, label, DailyMed set id 1e11ad30-1041-4520-10b0-8f9d30d30fcc, published 2024-02-29
dailymed-synthroid· page · US government label text (DailyMed) - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Soy - A priority food allergen (page modified 2017-09-11)
hc-soy-priority-allergen· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Ispiryan L, Zannini E, Arendt EK. Characterization of the FODMAP-profile in cereal-product ingredients. J Cereal Sci 2020;92:102916. · doi:10.1016/j.jcs.2020.102916
ispiryan2020· full text read · journal pre-proof copy from the UCC repository (CORA) - Natale A, Fiori F, Turati F, La Vecchia C, Parpinel M, Rossi M. Quantification of naturally occurring prebiotics in selected foods. Nutrients 2025;17:683 · doi:10.3390/nu17040683
natale2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI) - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Tarumizu C, Vu Thi Thu Hien, Sarukura N, Wakikawa N, Wakita A, Yamamoto S. Studies on Ca bioavailability of soybean products. Soy Protein Research, Japan 2010;13:16-22
tarumizu2010· full text read · not stated (Fuji Foundation report PDF) - Toro-Funes N, Bosch-Fuste J, Latorre-Moratalla ML, Veciana-Nogues MT, Vidal-Carou MC. Biologically active amines in fermented and non-fermented commercial soybean products from the Spanish market. Food Chem 2015;173:1119-1124 · doi:10.1016/j.foodchem.2014.10.118 · PMID 25466133
torofunes2015· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Weaver CM, Heaney RP, Connor L, Martin BR, Smith DL, Nielsen S. Bioavailability of calcium from tofu as compared with milk in premenopausal women. J Food Sci 2002;67(8):3144-3147 · doi:10.1111/j.1365-2621.2002.tb08873.x
weaver2002· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.