
Deli turkey breast
Checked by us One serving: 55 g · 58 kcal
Lots of niacin.
A lot per serving: sodium. Nothing else to watch for most people so far.
Worth knowing for some people: Listeria; tyramine.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (55 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
6.39 mg in one serving: 40% of the 16 mg a day men need, 46% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
8.15 g in one serving: 15% of the 56 g a day men need, 18% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.23 mg in one serving: 18% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
7.15 µg in one serving: 13% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.2 µg in one serving: 8% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.08 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
204 mg in one serving: 6% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 8% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.52 mg in one serving: 5% of the 11 mg a day men need, 7% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
16.6 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 4% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
10.5 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 3% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
28.1 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
3.85 mg in one serving: 2% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.23 mg in one serving: 3% of the 8 mg a day men need, 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
7.7 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0.11 µg in one serving: 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
2.2 µg in one serving: 1% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Nitrite
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 12 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.39 mg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 19% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.
680 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2017 acceptable daily intake (ADI) for nitrite ion is 0.07 mg/kg body weight/day, 4.9 mg a day. Eaten alone, about 684 g a day would reach it; one 55 g serving carries 0.39 mg, 8% of the ADI. The figure is a pork-industry-funded US retail survey mean (7.16 ppm, 2008-09) for 'whole-muscle brine cured cooked' products, where placing deli turkey is inferred; uncured (celery-cured) turkey is not shown to carry less. Background intake from all sources (EFSA 2017: mean 0.03 mg/kg body weight/day in adults, 2.1 mg/day; high exposure 0.05, 3.5 mg/day) is shown, not subtracted.
Checked for histamine, cadmium, nickel and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Histamine
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.24 mg
How we got this
11,000 g in one meal reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: the reference point is EFSA's 2011 level of 50 mg of histamine per meal. This is a related-food figure: EFSA's category 'other meat products' (cooked ham, mortadella-type sausages; no turkey), mean 4.4 mg/kg at the upper bound (3.9 lower bound) in 75 samples, 80% non-detects, maximum 212 mg/kg. A serving carries 0.242 mg. Eaten alone, about 11,364 g in one meal would reach 50 mg at the upper-bound mean, and 236 g at the maximum.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 34 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.21 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 1.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 45,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 13,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 1.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Nickel
Nothing to watchWe have no measurement of this in this food, so there is no gram figure.
Learn more
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. All 3 FDA composites were below the 40 ppb reporting limit, so there is no concentration to compute from and the grams figure is only bounded: above 22,750 g a day. For information, Health Canada's proxy for bologna and pastrami (not turkey) is 29.46 µg/kg (n 13) and 24.69 (n 3), pooled 28.6 µg/kg, which would give 31,856 g a day.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.08 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. The FDA mean is 1.4 ppb across 3 composites (1 detect at 4.2 ppb, 2 non-detects counted as zero), so it is indicative only. A serving carries 0.077 µg, 0.22% of the 35 µg/day adult mean (EFSA 2012), well short of doubling it.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
For some people
Flagged for pregnancy: Health Canada's pregnancy page lists 'Non-dried deli meats, such as bologna, roast beef and turkey breast' among foods to avoid unless heated until steaming hot. In a CFIA survey (2018-2021), Listeria monocytogenes was found in 2 of 1,285 deli meat samples (ham and pastrami) and in none of 1,275 chicken or turkey breast strips; sliced deli turkey is not a named category, so its own prevalence is not reported.
Flagged for people taking monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) medicines, for whom 6 mg of tyramine per meal is the level of concern. This is a related-food figure: EFSA's 'other meat products' category (mean 16.2 mg/kg, 75 samples, maximum 292). For information, about 370 g at the mean, 90 g at the 95th percentile (67 mg/kg) and 21 g at the maximum would reach 6 mg.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sodium and saturated fat
One 55 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 494 mg (21%) · saturated and trans fat 0.5 g (3%)
Learn more
We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.
Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)
Sugar
0.5 g of sugar in a 55 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Context only (total arsenic; inorganic share not measured).
Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2019 group acceptable daily intake for phosphates is 40 mg/kg body weight/day as phosphorus, but the USDA listing's total phosphorus of 249 mg/100 g cannot be split into natural and added. A 55 g serving carries 137 mg total phosphorus, about 5% of 2,800 mg. Phosphate-injected deli turkey is the common case, and no measured added-phosphate level was found.
Context only. IARC's definition of processed meat covers poultry products ('most … contain pork or beef, but also … poultry'), yet the Q&A says the cancer risks of poultry as a meat 'were not evaluated'; the colorectal evidence is mostly red-meat products.
Purines, which matter for gout, aren’t measured for this food yet.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 55 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More niacin
Chicken breast, roasted10.9 mg in 55 g (this food: 6.39 mg)
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (29.9 µg vs 7.15 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.02 µg vs 0.2 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (74.3 mg vs 3.85 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.07 mg vs 0.23 mg)
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked- More vitamin B12 (1.54 µg vs 0.2 µg)
- More zinc (3.52 mg vs 0.52 mg)
- More protein (14.9 g vs 8.15 g)
Chicken breast, roasted- More niacin (10.9 mg vs 6.39 mg)
- More protein (17.1 g vs 8.15 g)
- More selenium (15.2 µg vs 7.15 µg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (29.9 µg vs 7.15 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.02 µg vs 0.2 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (74.3 mg vs 3.85 mg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.07 mg vs 0.23 mg)
1 food out of the 10 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g protein · 272 kcal per 100 g
Tilapia, cooked26.2 g protein · 128 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Turkey breast, sliced, prepackaged (deli turkey)
How the serving was set: 55 g (Health Canada TRA V.1, L.8 'Cured meat and poultry products… poultry ham products' and L.4 'Luncheon meats' both give 55 g cooked; which row governs deli turkey is not stated)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.051 g | 0.03 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Calcium | 14 mg | 7.7 mg | 13.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| 6 mg | 3.3 mg | 5.66 mg | second database · not used · 2.3× | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #5702 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 2.2 g | 1.21 g | 2.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Choline | 30.1 mg | 16.56 mg | 28.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Energy | 106 kcal | 58.3 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fat | 3.77 g | 2.07 g | 3.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Cholesterol | 49 mg | 26.95 mg | 46.23 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.906 g | 0.5 g | 0.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Folate | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 3.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Iron | 0.42 mg | 0.23 mg | 0.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Magnesium | 19 mg | 10.45 mg | 17.92 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 11.624 mg | 6.39 mg | 10.97 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #5702 | C |
| Phosphorus | 249 mg | 136.95 mg | 234.91 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Potassium | 371 mg | 204.05 mg | 350 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Protein | 14.81 g | 8.15 g | 13.97 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.145 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Selenium | 13 µg | 7.15 µg | 12.26 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Sodium | 898 mg | 493.9 mg | 847.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Sugars | 0.91 g | 0.5 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.038 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0.37 µg | 0.2 µg | 0.35 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.41 mg | 0.23 mg | 0.39 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg | 0.11 µg | 0.19 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin E | 0.13 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Water | 75.98 g | 41.79 g | 71.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Zinc | 0.94 mg | 0.52 mg | 0.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Copper | 0.024 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Ash | 3.24 g | 1.78 g | 3.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.33 g | 0.18 g | 0.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Glucose | 0.41 g | 0.23 g | 0.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fructose | 0.17 g | 0.09 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Energy | 442 kj | 243.1 kj | 416.98 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 6 iu | 3.3 iu | 5.66 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Folate, food | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 3.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 3.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Betaine | 4.8 mg | 2.64 mg | 4.53 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.194 g | 0.11 g | 0.18 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Threonine | 0.759 g | 0.42 g | 0.72 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.888 g | 0.49 g | 0.84 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Leucine | 1.36 g | 0.75 g | 1.28 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Lysine | 1.609 g | 0.88 g | 1.52 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Methionine | 0.495 g | 0.27 g | 0.47 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Cystine | 0.178 g | 0.1 g | 0.17 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.678 g | 0.37 g | 0.64 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.675 g | 0.37 g | 0.64 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Valine | 0.907 g | 0.5 g | 0.86 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Arginine | 1.191 g | 0.66 g | 1.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Histidine | 0.533 g | 0.29 g | 0.5 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Alanine | 1.057 g | 0.58 g | 1 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.658 g | 0.91 g | 1.56 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 2.786 g | 1.53 g | 2.63 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Glycine | 0.847 g | 0.47 g | 0.8 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Proline | 0.711 g | 0.39 g | 0.67 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Serine | 0.759 g | 0.42 g | 0.72 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.029 g | 0.02 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.027 g | 0.01 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.619 g | 0.34 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.235 g | 0.13 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 1.009 g | 0.55 g | 0.95 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.884 g | 0.49 g | 0.83 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.051 g | 0.03 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.054 g | 0.03 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.111 g | 0.06 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.015 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Phytosterols | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174572 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 1.145 g | 0.63 g | 1.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.024 g | 0.56 g | 0.97 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.021 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.109 g | 0.06 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 0.989 g | 0.54 g | 0.93 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.874 g | 0.48 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.022 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Manganese | 0.016 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 7.15 mg | 3.93 mg | 6.75 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.32 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.3 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172941 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Context only (total arsenic; inorganic share not measured). · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the reference point is EFSA's 2011 level of 50 mg of histamine per meal. This is a related-food figure: EFSA's category 'other meat products' (cooked ham, mortadella-type sausages; no turkey), mean 4.4 mg/kg at the upper bound (3.9 lower bound) in 75 samples, 80% non-detects, maximum 212 mg/kg. A serving carries 0.242 mg. Eaten alone, about 11,364 g in one meal would reach 50 mg at the upper-bound mean, and 236 g at the maximum. · EFSA 2011 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. The FDA mean is 1.4 ppb across 3 composites (1 detect at 4.2 ppb, 2 non-detects counted as zero), so it is indicative only. A serving carries 0.077 µg, 0.22% of the 35 µg/day adult mean (EFSA 2012), well short of doubling it. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Listeria · Worth knowing · Flagged for pregnancy: Health Canada's pregnancy page lists 'Non-dried deli meats, such as bologna, roast beef and turkey breast' among foods to avoid unless heated until steaming hot. In a CFIA survey (2018-2021), Listeria monocytogenes was found in 2 of 1,285 deli meat samples (ham and pastrami) and in none of 1,275 chicken or turkey breast strips; sliced deli turkey is not a named category, so its own prevalence is not reported. · Health Canada 2025 · A
- Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. All 3 FDA composites were below the 40 ppb reporting limit, so there is no concentration to compute from and the grams figure is only bounded: above 22,750 g a day. For information, Health Canada's proxy for bologna and pastrami (not turkey) is 29.46 µg/kg (n 13) and 24.69 (n 3), pooled 28.6 µg/kg, which would give 31,856 g a day. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Nitrite · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2017 acceptable daily intake (ADI) for nitrite ion is 0.07 mg/kg body weight/day, 4.9 mg a day. Eaten alone, about 684 g a day would reach it; one 55 g serving carries 0.39 mg, 8% of the ADI. The figure is a pork-industry-funded US retail survey mean (7.16 ppm, 2008-09) for 'whole-muscle brine cured cooked' products, where placing deli turkey is inferred; uncured (celery-cured) turkey is not shown to carry less. Background intake from all sources (EFSA 2017: mean 0.03 mg/kg body weight/day in adults, 2.1 mg/day; high exposure 0.05, 3.5 mg/day) is shown, not subtracted. · Nationalporkboard 2009 · B
- Added phosphates · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2019 group acceptable daily intake for phosphates is 40 mg/kg body weight/day as phosphorus, but the USDA listing's total phosphorus of 249 mg/100 g cannot be split into natural and added. A 55 g serving carries 137 mg total phosphorus, about 5% of 2,800 mg. Phosphate-injected deli turkey is the common case, and no measured added-phosphate level was found. · EFSA 2019 · C
- Processed meat (IARC classification) · Context · Context only. IARC's definition of processed meat covers poultry products ('most … contain pork or beef, but also … poultry'), yet the Q&A says the cancer risks of poultry as a meat 'were not evaluated'; the colorectal evidence is mostly red-meat products. · IARC 2015 · B
- Sodium · Context · Context (Health Canada chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR) 2,300 mg/day, adults 19-50). One 55 g serving = 494 mg = 21.5% of the CDRR. Low-salt deli turkey (usda-7046) lists 772 mg/100 g. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
- Tyramine · Worth knowing · Flagged for people taking monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) medicines, for whom 6 mg of tyramine per meal is the level of concern. This is a related-food figure: EFSA's 'other meat products' category (mean 16.2 mg/kg, 75 samples, maximum 292). For information, about 370 g at the mean, 90 g at the 95th percentile (67 mg/kg) and 21 g at the maximum would reach 6 mg. · EFSA 2011 · B
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: mean 3.9-4.4 mg/kg (lower bound-upper bound), n 75, P95 4.8, max 212; PROXY category 'other meat products (including cooked ham…)', not turkey mg/kg · as sold, fresh weight · cooked meat products, EU · grade B · EFSA 2011
- tyramine: mean 16.1-16.2 mg/kg, n 75, P95 67, max 292; PROXY category mg/kg · as sold, fresh weight · cooked meat products, EU · grade B · EFSA 2011
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - EFSA BIOHAZ Panel (2011) Scientific Opinion on risk based control of biogenic amine formation in fermented foods. EFSA Journal 9(10):2393 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2393
efsa-2011-histamine· secondary source · EFSA Journal: CC BY (not re-checked) - EFSA FAF Panel, Re-evaluation of phosphoric acid-phosphates - di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338-341, E 343, E 450-452) as food additives and the safety of proposed extension of use, EFSA J 2019;17(6):5674 (PMC7009158) · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2019.5674 · PMID 32626329 · doi.org
efsa-2019-phosphates· full text read · CC BY (EFSA) - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Safe food handling for pregnant people (published March 2025)
hc-safe-food-pregnant-2025· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - IARC, Q&A on the carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat (2015)
iarc-vol114-qa-2015· full text read · IARC 2015, all rights reserved - National Pork Board (Pork Checkoff), 'A National Survey of the Nitrite/Nitrate Concentrations in Cured Meat Products and Non-meat Foods Available at Retail' (Keeton, Texas A&M; completed 2009-08-04; project 08-124). Funder summary page of the survey behind Nuñez de González 2012.
nationalporkboard-keeton-2009-nitrite· page · licence not recorded
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.