
Sockeye salmon, canned
Checked by us One serving: 55 g · 92 kcal
Weighed drained, without the liquid in the can.
Protein, plus omega-3: EPA + DHA and vitamin B12. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.
Worth knowing: bisphenol A and dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (55 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
13 g in one serving: 23% of the 56 g a day men need, 28% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
697 mg in one serving: 279% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
3.03 µg in one serving: 126% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
11.6 µg in one serving: 77% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
6.79 mg in one serving: 42% of the 16 mg a day men need, 49% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
18.9 µg in one serving: 34% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
128 mg in one serving: 13% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Listed amount only. 2 absorption studies of this nutrient are on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 11% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
45.4 mg in one serving: 8% of the 550 mg a day men need, 11% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.14 mg in one serving: 8% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
173 mg in one serving: 5% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 7% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
17.1 mg in one serving: 4% of the 400 mg a day men need, 6% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.46 mg in one serving: 4% of the 11 mg a day men need, 6% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
30.3 µg in one serving: 3% of the 900 µg a day men need, 4% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
32.5 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.36 mg in one serving: 5% of the 8 mg a day men need, 2% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
2.2 µg in one serving: 1% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.06 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Bisphenol A (BPA)
Worth knowingAn average adult is already at or past the limit from other food.
Learn more
Flagged: EFSA's 2023 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for bisphenol A is 0.2 ng/kg body weight/day, 14 ng a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 0.24 g of canned fish in one day would reach it on the 5-composite mean of 58.57 ng/g (2.4 g on the 2016 composite alone); a 55 g can portion carries 3.2 µg, 230 times the TDI. EFSA 2023 says mean dietary exposure already exceeds the TDI by two to three orders of magnitude, so what a serving adds could not be settled. Health Canada's levels fell from 51-109 ng/g (2009-2012) to 5.86 ng/g (2016), and the category is canned tuna and salmon together.
Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs
Worth knowingAn average adult is already at or past the limit from other food.
Learn more
Flagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, 42 pg a week. Eaten alone, about 300 g a week would reach it at the upper bound (735 g at the lower bound; upper-bound mean 0.1399 pg/g). Mean adult intake of 18.7-56.4 pg/day is already above the limit, so a 55 g serving adds 5.6% to 41%. This is a CFIA category figure (66 samples, 2017-2018) whose form (fresh, frozen, canned, species) is not stated.
Methylmercury
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 14 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.77 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 7–110% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 20–39% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 18% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 6,500 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 5,300 g of room left before the limit.
Women who are or may become pregnant, and children: 1,000 g a day.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2012 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for mercury is 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week, 91 µg a week. Eaten alone, about 6,500 g of canned salmon a week would reach it (FDA mean 0.014 ppm in 19 samples, 1993-2009, US market; the page does not say total or methyl mercury). A serving carries 0.77 µg against a daily allowance of 13 µg. Mean adult intake is 0.24 µg/kg body weight/week, 18% of the TWI, within a background range of 0.07-1.08 µg/kg body weight/week that is not subtracted.
US FDA, Mercury Levels in Commercial Fish and Shellfish (1990-2012) · grade A
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 13 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.57 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 3.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 17,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 385 g a week, which stays within the 4,900 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 3.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.11 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. Health Canada's total diet study gives a mean of 2.036 ng/g across 13 composites (2000-2012), but the category is canned tuna and salmon together, so this is not a salmon measurement. A serving carries 0.11 µg, 0.3% of EFSA 2012's adult mean of 35 µg/day.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
For some people
Measured, not rated: 73.1 mg purines
Learn more
If you have gout: avoiding organ meats such as liver, which are higher in purines, is one of the diet changes that help lower uric acid in the blood and the number of flares, according to the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Source: NIAMS (NIH), Gout: diagnosis, treatment, and steps to take
How we got this
Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Canned salmon measures 132.9 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species is not stated). A 55 g serving carries about 73 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 301 g.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 55 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Context only, not rated (total arsenic in fish is mostly arsenobetaine).
Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day, but no inorganic arsenic value for canned salmon was found, so no grams figure is given.
Context (sodium chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR), 2,300 mg/day): 224 mg is 10% of the CDRR per 55 g.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 55 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More vitamin B12
Mackerel, cooked10.5 µg in 55 g (this food: 3.03 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Sardines, canned in water5.94 µg in 55 g (this food: 3.03 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For protein: Bacon, pan-fried would lead, in the same 55 g, but is left out (portions too different to compare by weight).
For omega-3: EPA + DHA: Farmed salmon, cooked would lead, in the same 55 g, but is left out (Histamine: go easy).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Sardines, canned in oil- More vitamin B12 (4.92 µg vs 3.03 µg)
- More selenium (29 µg vs 18.9 µg)
- More omega-3: ALA (274 mg vs 32.5 mg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (540 mg vs 697 mg)
- Less vitamin D (2.64 µg vs 11.6 µg)
Mackerel, cooked- More vitamin B12 (10.5 µg vs 3.03 µg)
- More selenium (28.4 µg vs 18.9 µg)
- More vitamin B6 (0.25 mg vs 0.07 mg)
- Less vitamin D (1.43 µg vs 11.6 µg)
- Less calcium (8.25 mg vs 128 mg)
2 foods out of the 21 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Light tuna, canned in water- 50 kcal in 55 g (this food: 92)
- More selenium (37.3 µg vs 18.9 µg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (122 mg vs 697 mg)
- Less vitamin D (0.66 µg vs 11.6 µg)
Shrimp, cooked- 65 kcal in 55 g (this food: 92)
- More selenium (27.2 µg vs 18.9 µg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (152 mg vs 697 mg)
- Less vitamin B12 (0.91 µg vs 3.03 µg)
2 foods out of the 21 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Bacon, pan-fried33.9 g protein · 468 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
1 food out of the 22 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Farmed salmon, cooked (Histamine: go easy).
Left out: Clams, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Salmon, sockeye, canned, drained solids (bones included)
How the serving was set: 55 g canned (Health Canada TRA item I.4, marine and fresh water animals, canned)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.059 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Calcium | 232 mg | 127.6 mg | 138.92 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| 232 mg | 127.6 mg | 138.92 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3223 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Choline | 82.6 mg | 45.43 mg | 49.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Energy | 167 kcal | 91.85 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 1.267 g | 0.7 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fat | 7.39 g | 4.06 g | 4.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Cholesterol | 79 mg | 43.45 mg | 47.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 1.44 g | 0.79 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Folate | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 2.4 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Iron | 0.65 mg | 0.36 mg | 0.39 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Magnesium | 31 mg | 17.05 mg | 18.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 12.338 mg | 6.79 mg | 7.39 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3223 | C |
| Phosphorus | 338 mg | 185.9 mg | 202.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Potassium | 314 mg | 172.7 mg | 188.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Protein | 23.59 g | 12.97 g | 14.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.212 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.13 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Selenium | 34.3 µg | 18.87 µg | 20.54 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Sodium | 408 mg | 224.4 mg | 244.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.032 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin A | 55 µg | 30.25 µg | 32.93 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 5.5 µg | 3.03 µg | 3.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.119 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin D | 21 µg | 11.55 µg | 12.57 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin E | 2.07 mg | 1.14 mg | 1.24 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.1 µg | 0.06 µg | 0.06 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Water | 68.07 g | 37.44 g | 40.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Zinc | 0.84 mg | 0.46 mg | 0.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Copper | 0.072 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Ash | 2.47 g | 1.36 g | 1.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Starch | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Energy | 701 kj | 385.55 kj | 419.76 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 184 iu | 101.2 iu | 110.18 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 841 iu | 462.55 iu | 503.59 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 21 µg | 11.55 µg | 12.57 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.04 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Folate, food | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 2.4 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 4 µg | 2.2 µg | 2.4 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Betaine | 3.7 mg | 2.04 mg | 2.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.283 g | 0.16 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Threonine | 1.269 g | 0.7 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.13 g | 0.62 g | 0.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Leucine | 1.832 g | 1.01 g | 1.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Lysine | 2.059 g | 1.13 g | 1.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Methionine | 0.696 g | 0.38 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Cystine | 0.18 g | 0.1 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 1.003 g | 0.55 g | 0.6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.866 g | 0.48 g | 0.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Valine | 1.306 g | 0.72 g | 0.78 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Arginine | 1.483 g | 0.82 g | 0.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Histidine | 0.64 g | 0.35 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Alanine | 1.519 g | 0.84 g | 0.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.745 g | 1.51 g | 1.64 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 3.319 g | 1.83 g | 1.99 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Glycine | 1.443 g | 0.79 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Proline | 0.966 g | 0.53 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Serine | 1.059 g | 0.58 g | 0.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.231 g | 0.13 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.971 g | 0.53 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.164 g | 0.09 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 1.335 g | 0.73 g | 0.8 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.134 g | 0.07 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.059 g | 0.03 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.027 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.749 g | 0.41 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.323 g | 0.18 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.112 g | 0.06 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.737 g | 0.41 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.518 g | 0.28 g | 0.31 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.072 g | 0.04 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.139 g | 0.08 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 2.494 g | 1.37 g | 1.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.783 g | 0.98 g | 1.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.027 g | 0.01 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.016 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 1.321 g | 0.73 g | 0.79 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.117 g | 0.06 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0.07 g | 0.04 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.017 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.017 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.054 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Manganese | 0.029 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 7.621 mg | 4.19 mg | 4.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.535 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
| Retinol | 55 µg | 30.25 µg | 32.93 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173693 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calcium from enzymatically cleaned, freeze-dried, ground Atlantic salmon bones (800 mg Ca test meal), healthy young men Atlantic salmon (farmed fish by-product), not sockeye · bone powder from Atlantic salmon frames, rinsed of soft tissue by protease and cold water, freeze-dried and milled; not canned salmon full text read | Calcium | 22.5 % | 800 mg | 10 | B | Not used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation. |
| Calcium from small whole Bengali fish eaten with their bones (397 mg Ca meal) against skimmed milk (377 mg Ca) in the same subjects small soft-boned freshwater fish, not salmon · indigenous Bengali small fish eaten whole with bones (cooking not stated) abstract only | Calcium | 23.8 % | 397 mg | 19 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Context only, not rated (total arsenic in fish is mostly arsenobetaine). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Bisphenol A (BPA) · Worth knowing · Flagged: EFSA's 2023 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for bisphenol A is 0.2 ng/kg body weight/day, 14 ng a day for 70 kg. Eaten alone, about 0.24 g of canned fish in one day would reach it on the 5-composite mean of 58.57 ng/g (2.4 g on the 2016 composite alone); a 55 g can portion carries 3.2 µg, 230 times the TDI. EFSA 2023 says mean dietary exposure already exceeds the TDI by two to three orders of magnitude, so what a serving adds could not be settled. Health Canada's levels fell from 51-109 ng/g (2009-2012) to 5.86 ng/g (2016), and the category is canned tuna and salmon together. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, BPA · B
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 3.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · Worth knowing · Flagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, 42 pg a week. Eaten alone, about 300 g a week would reach it at the upper bound (735 g at the lower bound; upper-bound mean 0.1399 pg/g). Mean adult intake of 18.7-56.4 pg/day is already above the limit, so a 55 g serving adds 5.6% to 41%. This is a CFIA category figure (66 samples, 2017-2018) whose form (fresh, frozen, canned, species) is not stated. · CFIA dioxins survey (2014–2019) · B
- Fish allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a fish allergy: Health Canada lists fish among the priority food allergens. · Health Canada, Crustaceans and Molluscs - Priority food allergens · A
- Inorganic arsenic · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day, but no inorganic arsenic value for canned salmon was found, so no grams figure is given. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. Health Canada's total diet study gives a mean of 2.036 ng/g across 13 composites (2000-2012), but the category is canned tuna and salmon together, so this is not a salmon measurement. A serving carries 0.11 µg, 0.3% of EFSA 2012's adult mean of 35 µg/day. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Methylmercury · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2012 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for mercury is 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week, 91 µg a week. Eaten alone, about 6,500 g of canned salmon a week would reach it (FDA mean 0.014 ppm in 19 samples, 1993-2009, US market; the page does not say total or methyl mercury). A serving carries 0.77 µg against a daily allowance of 13 µg. Mean adult intake is 0.24 µg/kg body weight/week, 18% of the TWI, within a background range of 0.07-1.08 µg/kg body weight/week that is not subtracted. · FDA 1990–2012 · A
- Purines and gout · Not rated yet · Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Canned salmon measures 132.9 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species is not stated). A 55 g serving carries about 73 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 301 g. · Kaneko 2014 · C
- Sodium · Context · Context (sodium chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR), 2,300 mg/day): 224 mg is 10% of the CDRR per 55 g. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
Sources
- CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey: Dioxins and Dioxin-like Compounds in Selected Foods 2014-2019 (data and 2-page overview PDF; report page inspection.canada.ca)
cfia-dioxins-2014-2019· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - US FDA, Mercury Levels in Commercial Fish and Shellfish (1990-2012)
fda-mercury-1990-2012· page · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Crustaceans and Molluscs - Priority food allergens (2017, Cat. H164-156/5-1-2017E-PDF)
hc-priority-allergens-crustaceans-molluscs· secondary source · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study - Bisphenol A (BPA) 2008-2012, 2016 (open.canada.ca, dataset 0497695c-dd4c-42d6-8201-45d63509f416, resource a75e3f05-5de9-4ae6-8da6-4d8d1b4bc75c)
hc-tds-bpa· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Kaneko K, et al. (2014) Total purine and purine base content of common foodstuffs for facilitating nutritional therapy for gout and hyperuricemia. Biol Pharm Bull 37(5):709-721 · doi:10.1248/bpb.b13-00967 · PMID 24553148
kaneko-2014-purines· secondary source · J-STAGE open access - Malde MK, Bügel S, Kristensen M, Malde K, Graff IE, Pedersen JI. Calcium from salmon and cod bone is well absorbed in young healthy men: a double-blinded randomised crossover design. Nutr Metab (Lond) 2010;7:61 · doi:10.1186/1743-7075-7-61 · PMID 20646299
pmid:20646299· full text read · CC BY 2.0 - Hansen M, Thilsted SH, Sandstrom B, et al. Calcium absorption from small soft-boned fish. J Trace Elem Med Biol 1998;12(3):148-54 · PMID 9857327
pmid:9857327· abstract only · licence not recorded
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.