FoodtopsyFrançais
A baked cod fillet

Cod, baked

Checked by us One serving: 100 g · 105 kcal

Protein, plus selenium and omega-3: EPA + DHA. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.

Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (100 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

16 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Flagged on cod, raw; not recorded on this one, so shown here. See that page

    Learn more
    How we got this

    As rated on cod, raw: Flagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake for dioxins and PCBs is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, but the survey is on the WHO2005 basis, so no grams figure is given until it is recomputed. The CFIA survey (2014-2019, raw cod, 18 samples, mean fat 5.1%) gives a lower-bound mean of 0.00505 pg WHO 2005 toxic equivalents/g (median 0.0045, max 0.0219) and an upper-bound mean of 0.07985 (median 0.0622, max 0.1455). Cod is a lean fish; oily fish such as salmon (0.51) are much higher.

    cfia-dioxins-2014-2019 · grade A

    Every food with dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs

  • Too much iodine

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 6.5 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 170 µg

    How we got this

    650 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for iodine is 1,100 µg/day for adults 19-50 and in pregnancy (Health Canada, table of 2025-11-19). On the FDA mean of 1.696 µg/g for baked cod (27 composites, all detected), about 649 g a day eaten alone would reach it, and one serving is 15% of the limit. Iodine is also a nutrient: a serving carries 170 µg against an adult recommended intake of 150 µg.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with too much iodine

  • Methylmercury

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 1.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 8.3 µg

    How we got this

    An average adult already takes in about 18% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,100 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 890 g of room left before the limit.

    Women who are or may become pregnant, and children: 170 g a day.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for methylmercury is 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week as mercury, 91 µg a week for 70 kg. At the FDA mean of 0.083 µg/g for baked cod (27 composites, all detected), about 1,096 g a week eaten alone would reach it, roughly 11 servings. Health Canada's limit for women of child-bearing age and children is 0.2 µg/kg body weight/day, 14 µg/day, reached at 169 g a day; one 100 g serving is 59% of that daily limit for a 70 kg adult, with less margin for a child. Total mercury is read as methylmercury, as on the salmon and tuna rows; the methylmercury share of cod mercury was not looked up. Whether a daily serving stays below double the average adult's intake depends on background, which was not checked. Cod is not named among Health Canada's low-mercury fish, and the figure is about 4 times farmed cooked salmon's 21 µg/kg.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with methylmercury

Checked for cadmium, nickel and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 33 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.22 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 1.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 80,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 23,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 1.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.17 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 540,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 100 g a day, which stays within the 390,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. On the FDA mean of 1.7 ppb for baked cod, about 535,000 g a day would reach it. The mean is uncertain: only 1 of 27 composites had a detect, at a reporting limit of 40 ppb.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 59 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1.7% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.6 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. FDA's baked cod found no lead in 27 of 27 composites (reporting limit 4 ppb), so FDA has no mean; the figure here is Health Canada's composite of haddock, cod and sole, 6.0156 µg/kg, not cod alone. A serving carries 0.6016 µg.

    Health Canada. Total Diet Study trace elements, open.canada.ca dataset 83934503, English resource 9c988c19-07ae-4aa4-8496-84658b6b0c45; composites pooled as an equal-weight mean per TDS food code, non-detects stored as 0. · grade B

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0 g of sugar in a 100 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 3

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Shown as context, not rated: total arsenic has no reference value. The FDA mean for baked cod is 4,915 ppb (27 composites, all detected), 491.5 µg a serving. Fish arsenic is mostly organic forms, but the inorganic share was not measured in any source read, so no inorganic figure is given.

  • Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day. The inorganic fraction of the 4.9 mg/kg total arsenic in cooked cod was not found, and FDA and CFIA report total arsenic only, so no figure is estimated.

  • Context: Health Canada's chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR) for sodium is 2,300 mg a day. A 100 g serving of baked cod carries 78 mg on the USDA listing, 3.4% of it; about 2,950 g would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured four times as much in US baked cod as eaten (319 mg per 100 g, 790 to 6,100 ppm across samples), which points to salted or brined fish in some samples.

Purines, which matter for gout, aren’t measured for this food yet.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More protein

More selenium

More omega-3: EPA + DHA

  • Mackerel, cooked1,203 mg in 100 g (this food: 158 mg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Sardines, canned in oil982 mg in 100 g (this food: 158 mg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Shrimp, cooked
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (276 mg vs 158 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.66 µg vs 1.05 µg)
    • More selenium (49.5 µg vs 37.6 µg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Sardines, canned in oil
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (982 mg vs 158 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (8.94 µg vs 1.05 µg)
    • More calcium (382 mg vs 14 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Mackerel, cooked
    • More vitamin B12 (19 µg vs 1.05 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (1,203 mg vs 158 mg)
    • More niacin (11.3 mg vs 6.78 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Light tuna, canned in water
    • More vitamin B12 (2.57 µg vs 1.05 µg)
    • More selenium (67.8 µg vs 37.6 µg)
    • More niacin (13.6 mg vs 6.78 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Shrimp, cooked
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (276 mg vs 158 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.66 µg vs 1.05 µg)
    • More selenium (49.5 µg vs 37.6 µg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too

2 foods out of the 19 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mussels, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).

Left out: Farmed salmon, cooked (Histamine: go easy).

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Cod, Atlantic, baked or broiled

How the serving was set: 100 g cooked (Health Canada TRA item I.3, marine and fresh water animals without sauce: 125 g raw, 100 g cooked)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Calcium14 mg14 mg13.33 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
14 mg14 mg13.33 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3195C
Carbohydrate0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Choline83.7 mg83.7 mg79.71 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Energy105 kcal105 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0.158 g0.16 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fat0.86 g0.86 g0.82 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Cholesterol55 mg55 mg52.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.168 g0.17 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fibre0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Folate8 µg8 µg7.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Iron0.49 mg0.49 mg0.47 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Magnesium42 mg42 mg40 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)6.78 mg6.78 mg6.46 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3195C
Phosphorus138 mg138 mg131.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Potassium244 mg244 mg232.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Protein22.83 g22.83 g21.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Riboflavin (B2)0.079 mg0.08 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Selenium37.6 µg37.6 µg35.81 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Sodium78 mg78 mg74.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Sugars0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Thiamin (B1)0.088 mg0.09 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin A14 µg14 µg13.33 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin B121.05 µg1.05 µg1 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin B60.283 mg0.28 mg0.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin C1 mg1 mg0.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin D1.2 µg1.2 µg1.14 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin E0.81 mg0.81 mg0.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin K10.1 µg0.1 µg0.1 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Water75.92 g75.92 g72.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Zinc0.58 mg0.58 mg0.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Copper0.036 mg0.04 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Ash1.49 g1.49 g1.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Starch0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Glucose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Fructose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Energy440 kj440 kj419.05 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Vitamin A, IU47 iu47 iu44.76 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units46 iu46 iu43.81 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)1.2 µg1.2 µg1.14 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Folate, food8 µg8 µg7.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Folate, DFE8 µg8 µg7.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Betaine9.7 mg9.7 mg9.24 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Tryptophan0.256 g0.26 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Threonine1.001 g1 g0.95 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Isoleucine1.052 g1.05 g1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Leucine1.856 g1.86 g1.77 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Lysine2.097 g2.1 g2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Methionine0.676 g0.68 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Cystine0.245 g0.25 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Phenylalanine0.891 g0.89 g0.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Tyrosine0.771 g0.77 g0.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Valine1.176 g1.18 g1.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Arginine1.366 g1.37 g1.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Histidine0.672 g0.67 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Alanine1.381 g1.38 g1.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Aspartic acid2.338 g2.34 g2.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Glutamic acid3.408 g3.41 g3.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Glycine1.096 g1.1 g1.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Proline0.807 g0.81 g0.77 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Serine0.932 g0.93 g0.89 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fatty acids, total trans0.006 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 14:00.012 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 16:00.117 g0.12 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 18:00.038 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 18:10.078 g0.08 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 18:20.006 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 18:30.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 20:40.028 g0.03 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0.154 g0.15 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 14:10.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 16:10.021 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 18:40.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
MUFA 20:10.019 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
MUFA 22:10.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0.013 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.124 g0.12 g0.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.292 g0.29 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
SFA 15:00.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
SFA 17:00.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 24:1 c0.005 g0.01 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 17:10.017 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
PUFA 20:30.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
MUFA 15:10.002 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
PUFA 22:40.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171990C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Manganese0.02 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Niacin (B3, preformed)2.513 mg2.51 mg2.39 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.18 mg0.18 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C
Retinol14 µg14 µg13.33 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171956C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Selenium, apparent absorption from intrinsically labelled cod (Se-77 or Se-82)

cod, species and cut not stated · cod fish, intrinsically labelled; cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Selenium56.1 %not reported14BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Non-heme iron absorption from a meal with cod protein concentrate (extrinsic 59Fe), adjusted median at a 40% reference dose

Atlantic cod (Gadus morhua) co-product protein extract, NOT a cod fillet · cod protein concentrate (83.4% protein dry weight) extracted from fresh Atlantic cod filleting co-products including head and tail, dried, milled and baked into potato patties at 200 C for 28 min

abstract only

Iron9.2 %2 mg15BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Arsenic, all forms · Context · Shown as context, not rated: total arsenic has no reference value. The FDA mean for baked cod is 4,915 ppb (27 composites, all detected), 491.5 µg a serving. Fish arsenic is mostly organic forms, but the inorganic share was not measured in any source read, so no inorganic figure is given. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.2% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Fish allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a fish allergy: fish is one of Health Canada's priority allergens. · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Inorganic arsenic · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day. The inorganic fraction of the 4.9 mg/kg total arsenic in cooked cod was not found, and FDA and CFIA report total arsenic only, so no figure is estimated. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
  • Too much iodine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for iodine is 1,100 µg/day for adults 19-50 and in pregnancy (Health Canada, table of 2025-11-19). On the FDA mean of 1.696 µg/g for baked cod (27 composites, all detected), about 649 g a day eaten alone would reach it, and one serving is 15% of the limit. Iodine is also a nutrient: a serving carries 170 µg against an adult recommended intake of 150 µg. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. FDA's baked cod found no lead in 27 of 27 composites (reporting limit 4 ppb), so FDA has no mean; the figure here is Health Canada's composite of haddock, cod and sole, 6.0156 µg/kg, not cod alone. A serving carries 0.6016 µg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Methylmercury · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for methylmercury is 1.3 µg/kg body weight/week as mercury, 91 µg a week for 70 kg. At the FDA mean of 0.083 µg/g for baked cod (27 composites, all detected), about 1,096 g a week eaten alone would reach it, roughly 11 servings. Health Canada's limit for women of child-bearing age and children is 0.2 µg/kg body weight/day, 14 µg/day, reached at 169 g a day; one 100 g serving is 59% of that daily limit for a 70 kg adult, with less margin for a child. Total mercury is read as methylmercury, as on the salmon and tuna rows; the methylmercury share of cod mercury was not looked up. Whether a daily serving stays below double the average adult's intake depends on background, which was not checked. Cod is not named among Health Canada's low-mercury fish, and the figure is about 4 times farmed cooked salmon's 21 µg/kg. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. On the FDA mean of 1.7 ppb for baked cod, about 535,000 g a day would reach it. The mean is uncertain: only 1 of 27 composites had a detect, at a reporting limit of 40 ppb. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Sodium · Context · Context: Health Canada's chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR) for sodium is 2,300 mg a day. A 100 g serving of baked cod carries 78 mg on the USDA listing, 3.4% of it; about 2,950 g would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured four times as much in US baked cod as eaten (319 mg per 100 g, 790 to 6,100 ppm across samples), which points to salted or brined fish in some samples. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.