FoodtopsyFrançais
A heap of browned ground beef crumbles

Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 60 g · 163 kcal

Protein, plus vitamin B12 and niacin. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.

A lot per serving: saturated and trans fat. Nothing else to watch for most people so far.

Also worth knowing: red meat (IARC Group 2A). Worth knowing for some people: alpha-gal syndrome.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (60 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

16 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.04 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 240,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 420 g a week, which stays within the 70,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.25% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.9% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.33 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No safe threshold is set for lead. A daily serving adds about 0.9% to the average adult's intake (35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • CDC names beef among the red meats that trigger alpha-gal syndrome in sensitised people; worded no wider than the source

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sodium and saturated fat

    One 60 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 55 mg (2%) · saturated and trans fat 4.4 g (22%)

    Learn more

    We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.

    Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)

  • Sugar

    0 g of sugar in a 60 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

  • The group says how strong the evidence is, not how big the risk is at a given amount.

    Learn more

    For red meat, the Heart and Stroke Foundation says cholesterol in food has less effect on blood cholesterol than saturated and trans fat, and advises limiting fatty meats; Canada’s Dietary Guidelines favour lean red meat.

    Source: Heart and Stroke Foundation, Managing cholesterol · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1

    How we got this

    Shown as context, not rated: IARC classes red meat as Group 2A, probably carcinogenic to humans (limited evidence in humans, for colorectal cancer; strong mechanistic evidence). The group describes the strength of the evidence, not how likely cancer is at a given intake, and IARC gives no level of concern or reference value.

    IARC, Q&A on the carcinogenicity of the consumption of red meat and processed meat (2015) · grade A

    Every food with red meat (IARC Group 2A)

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context, no cap: no agency limit for dietary cholesterol is used. 89 mg cholesterol and 6.546 g saturated fat per 100 g (the food's own nutrient listing).

  • Not measured in this food yet. No agency reference value or margin of exposure (MOE) exists; IARC says pan-frying produces more heterocyclic aromatic amines and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) but there were not enough data to conclude whether cooking method changes cancer risk

Purines, which matter for gout, aren’t measured for this food yet.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 60 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More niacin

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For protein: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 60 g.

For vitamin B12: Clams, cooked would lead, in the same 60 g, but is left out (Cadmium: limit it).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Tilapia, cooked
    • More selenium (32.6 µg vs 13 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (81 mg vs 0 mg)
    • More vitamin D (2.22 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.25 mg vs 3.84 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (1.12 µg vs 1.68 µg)
  • Eggs, hard-boiled
    • More choline (176 mg vs 50.9 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.31 mg vs 0.11 mg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (25.8 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0.67 µg vs 1.68 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.63 mg vs 3.84 mg)
  • Lentils, cooked
    • More folate (109 µg vs 6.6 µg)
    • More fibre (4.74 g vs 0 g)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0 µg vs 1.68 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.76 mg vs 3.84 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Tilapia, cooked
    • 77 kcal in 60 g (this food: 163)
    • More selenium (32.6 µg vs 13 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (81 mg vs 0 mg)
    • More vitamin D (2.22 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.25 mg vs 3.84 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (1.12 µg vs 1.68 µg)
  • Deli turkey breast
    • 64 kcal in 60 g (this food: 163)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0.22 µg vs 1.68 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.56 mg vs 3.84 mg)
  • Chicken breast, roasted
    • 99 kcal in 60 g (this food: 163)
    • More niacin (11.8 mg vs 5.81 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0.2 µg vs 1.68 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.6 mg vs 3.84 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Clams, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).

Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Beef, ground, 80% lean meat / 20% fat, crumbles, cooked, pan-browned

How the serving was set: 60 g cooked (Health Canada L.7, ground meat, cooked)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.009 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Calcium28 mg16.8 mg10.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
14.825 mg8.9 mg5.45 mgsecond database · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4995C
Carbohydrate0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Choline84.8 mg50.88 mg31.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Energy272 kcal163.2 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fat17.36 g10.42 g6.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Cholesterol89 mg53.4 mg32.72 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fatty acids, total saturated6.546 g3.93 g2.41 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fibre0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Folate11 µg6.6 µg4.04 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Iron2.78 mg1.67 mg1.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Magnesium23 mg13.8 mg8.46 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)9.683 mg5.81 mg3.56 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4995C
Phosphorus226 mg135.6 mg83.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Potassium380 mg228 mg139.71 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Protein27 g16.2 g9.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Riboflavin (B2)0.191 mg0.11 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Selenium21.6 µg12.96 µg7.94 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Sodium91 mg54.6 mg33.46 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Sugars0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Thiamin (B1)0.045 mg0.03 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin A3 µg1.8 µg1.1 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin B122.8 µg1.68 µg1.03 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin B60.428 mg0.26 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin E0.12 mg0.07 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin K11.6 µg0.96 µg0.59 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Water54.54 g32.72 g20.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Zinc6.4 mg3.84 mg2.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Copper0.087 mg0.05 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Ash1.16 g0.7 g0.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Energy1,138 kj682.8 kj418.38 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin A, IU9 iu5.4 iu3.31 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units2 iu1.2 iu0.74 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Folate, food11 µg6.6 µg4.04 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Folate, DFE11 µg6.6 µg4.04 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Betaine9.5 mg5.7 mg3.49 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Tryptophan0.137 g0.08 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Threonine1.045 g0.63 g0.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Isoleucine1.193 g0.72 g0.44 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Leucine2.105 g1.26 g0.77 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Lysine2.235 g1.34 g0.82 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Methionine0.694 g0.42 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Cystine0.278 g0.17 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Phenylalanine1.053 g0.63 g0.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Tyrosine0.83 g0.5 g0.31 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Valine1.326 g0.8 g0.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Arginine1.756 g1.05 g0.65 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Histidine0.877 g0.53 g0.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Alanine1.69 g1.01 g0.62 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Aspartic acid2.43 g1.46 g0.89 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Glutamic acid4.046 g2.43 g1.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Glycine1.832 g1.1 g0.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Proline1.375 g0.83 g0.51 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Serine1.08 g0.65 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fatty acids, total trans0.753 g0.45 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 12:00.008 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 14:00.443 g0.27 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 16:03.344 g2.01 g1.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 18:02.501 g1.5 g0.92 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 20:00.008 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 18:16.414 g3.85 g2.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 18:20.424 g0.25 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 18:30.009 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 20:40.046 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 14:10.135 g0.08 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 16:10.603 g0.36 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 20:10.057 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated7.64 g4.58 g2.81 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.501 g0.3 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 15:00.072 g0.04 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
SFA 17:00.169 g0.1 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
TFA 18:1 t0.753 g0.45 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.009 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
MUFA 17:10.157 g0.09 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.753 g0.45 g0.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Manganese0.012 mg0.01 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Niacin (B3, preformed)5.831 mg3.5 mg2.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.807 mg0.48 mg0.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C
Retinol3 µg1.8 µg1.1 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171799C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Etcheverry 2006: beef meal, non-heme iron, children

not stated · beef meal; form, cut and cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Iron7.6 %not reported26BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Etcheverry 2006: beef meal, inorganic zinc, children

not stated · beef meal; form, cut and cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Zinc13.7 %not reported36BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Mayer Labba 2022: beef-protein meal (not ground beef), unadjusted

beef protein isolate from beef; NOT ground beef · beef protein extract (alkaline solubilisation, isoelectric precipitation) in a potato patty baked at 200 C for 28 min, frozen, thawed, microwave-heated

full text read

Iron13.9 %3 mg12BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Cook & Monsen 1976: standard meal containing beef muscle

not stated · beef muscle in a standard meal; cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Iron8.3 %not reported–BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Lozano 1982: beef ground 80 20

not stated · beef; cut, fat level and cooking not stated · dose containing approximately 2 mg vitamin B6

abstract only

Vitamin B6–not reported5BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Oberli et al. 2015: beef ground 80 20, cooked 55 C for 5 min

cut not stated · bovine meat cooked 55 C for 5 min · 120 g intrinsically 15N-labelled bovine meat

abstract only

Protein94.1 %not reported8BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Oberli et al. 2015: beef ground 80 20, cooked 90 C for 30 min

cut not stated · bovine meat cooked 90 C for 30 min · 120 g intrinsically 15N-labelled bovine meat

abstract only

Protein90.1 %not reported8BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: beef ground 80 20 (pig) animal study

tenderloin, not ground 80/20; related: tenderloin · Roasted to 63 C internal temperature, diced 1-2 cm · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein100 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Gallaher 1988: beef, extrinsic label

not stated · beef, 100 g; cut and cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Zinc20.9 %not reported12ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Gallaher 1988: beef, intrinsic label

not stated · beef, 100 g; cut and cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Zinc26.4 %not reported12ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Sandstrom 1987 (BJN): beef sauce with rice

not stated · meat sauce prepared from the beef (85 g) served with rice (40 g dry weight); cooking not otherwise stated · 63 umol Zn in the meal (4.1 mg; Table 2, meal 9); absorbed 13.7 +/- 3.2 umol

full text read

Zinc21.8 %not reported8ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Alpha-gal syndrome · Worth knowing · CDC names beef among the red meats that trigger alpha-gal syndrome in sensitised people; worded no wider than the source · US CDC, About alpha-gal syndrome · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.25% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Dietary cholesterol · Context · Context, no cap: no agency limit for dietary cholesterol is used. 89 mg cholesterol and 6.546 g saturated fat per 100 g (the food's own nutrient listing). · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
  • E. coli O157 in undercooked ground meat · Worth knowing · Safe if the thickest part reaches 71 C (160 F); colour is not a reliable test · Health Canada, Hamburger safety tips · A
  • Charring compounds · Not rated yet · No agency reference value or margin of exposure (MOE) exists; IARC says pan-frying produces more heterocyclic aromatic amines and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) but there were not enough data to conclude whether cooking method changes cancer risk · IARC 2015 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No safe threshold is set for lead. A daily serving adds about 0.9% to the average adult's intake (35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Red meat (IARC Group 2A) · Context · Shown as context, not rated: IARC classes red meat as Group 2A, probably carcinogenic to humans (limited evidence in humans, for colorectal cancer; strong mechanistic evidence). The group describes the strength of the evidence, not how likely cancer is at a given intake, and IARC gives no level of concern or reference value. · IARC 2015 · A
  • Safe cooking temperature · Worth knowing · Flagged: cooking temperature decides safety. Cook ground beef to 71 °C (160 °F) in the thickest part. Health Canada's chart gives ground meat a single temperature, with no rare or medium-rare option the way a steak has. Use a digital thermometer. · Health Canada, safe cooking temperatures · A

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.