FoodtopsyFrançais
A block of tempeh with two slices cut from it

Tempeh

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ½ cup) · 163 kcal

Protein, plus niacin and riboflavin.

Nothing to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

14 more nutrients below “a lot”

Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: fibre, vitamin E, vitamin K1, choline and omega-3: EPA + DHA.

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 4.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.74 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 9.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 78% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 8,500 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which stays within the 2,500 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 9.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 14 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 6.8–7.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 2.46 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    adds 7.0%

    EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade B

    Every food with lead

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 47–65 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Alwahsh 2005 · grade B

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: 236–366 mg/100 g (dry weight) · Chan 2007 · grade A

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

  • Tyramine: 4.4 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.37 mg in a 85 g serving. (mean 4.36 · standard deviation 4.63 · range nd–10.66 · n 7) · Costacatala 2026 · grade A

    For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More protein

More niacin

More riboflavin

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (508 mg vs 211 mg)
    • More iron (4.37 mg vs 2.3 mg)
    • More selenium (6.21 µg vs 0 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • More calcium (298 mg vs 94.4 mg)
    • More selenium (7.57 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More iron (4.56 mg vs 2.3 mg)
    • Less riboflavin (0.04 mg vs 0.3 mg)
    • Less niacin (1.87 mg vs 4.99 mg)
  • Tilapia, cooked
    • More selenium (46.2 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.58 µg vs 0.07 µg)
    • More vitamin D (3.15 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less riboflavin (0.06 mg vs 0.3 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (38.3 mg vs 211 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Lentils, cooked
    • 99 kcal in 85 g (this food: 163)
    • More folate (154 µg vs 20.4 µg)
    • Less riboflavin (0.06 mg vs 0.3 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.05 mg vs 4.99 mg)
  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (508 mg vs 211 mg)
    • More iron (4.37 mg vs 2.3 mg)
    • More selenium (6.21 µg vs 0 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • 65 kcal in 85 g (this food: 163)
    • More calcium (298 mg vs 94.4 mg)
    • More selenium (7.57 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More iron (4.56 mg vs 2.3 mg)
    • Less riboflavin (0.04 mg vs 0.3 mg)
    • Less niacin (1.87 mg vs 4.99 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Tempeh

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada K.1, tofu or tempeh)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.248 g0.21 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Calcium111 mg94.35 mg57.81 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
120 mg102 mg62.5 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
111 mg94.35 mg57.81 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3321C
Carbohydrate7.64 g6.49 g3.98 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Energy192 kcal163.2 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Fat10.8 g9.18 g5.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
6.4 g5.44 g3.33 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Fatty acids, total saturated2.539 g2.16 g1.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Folate24 µg20.4 µg12.5 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
76 µg64.6 µg39.58 µgsecond database · not used · 3.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Iron2.7 mg2.3 mg1.41 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
3.6 mg3.06 mg1.88 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Magnesium81 mg68.85 mg42.19 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
70 mg59.5 mg36.46 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)5.873 mg4.99 mg3.06 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3321C
Phosphorus266 mg226.1 mg138.54 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
200 mg170 mg104.17 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Potassium412 mg350.2 mg214.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
370 mg314.5 mg192.71 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Protein20.29 g17.25 g10.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
20.7 g17.6 g10.78 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Riboflavin (B2)0.358 mg0.3 mg0.19 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0.48 mg0.41 mg0.25 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Sodium9 mg7.65 mg4.69 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
6 mg5.1 mg3.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Thiamin (B1)0.078 mg0.07 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0.19 mg0.16 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Vitamin B120.08 µg0.07 µg0.04 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0.1 µg0.09 µg0.05 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Vitamin B60.215 mg0.18 mg0.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
1.86 mg1.58 mg0.97 mgsecond database · not used · 8.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Water59.65 g50.7 g31.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
61 g51.85 g31.77 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Zinc1.14 mg0.97 mg0.59 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
1.8 mg1.53 mg0.94 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Copper0.56 mg0.48 mg0.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0.67 mg0.57 mg0.35 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Ash1.62 g1.38 g0.84 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Energy803 kj682.55 kj418.23 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Folate, food24 µg20.4 µg12.5 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Folate, DFE24 µg20.4 µg12.5 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Tryptophan0.194 g0.16 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Threonine0.796 g0.68 g0.41 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Isoleucine0.88 g0.75 g0.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Leucine1.43 g1.22 g0.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Lysine0.908 g0.77 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Methionine0.175 g0.15 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Cystine0.193 g0.16 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Phenylalanine0.893 g0.76 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Tyrosine0.664 g0.56 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Valine0.92 g0.78 g0.48 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Arginine1.252 g1.06 g0.65 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Histidine0.466 g0.4 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Alanine0.96 g0.82 g0.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Aspartic acid1.995 g1.7 g1.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Glutamic acid3.292 g2.8 g1.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Glycine0.754 g0.64 g0.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Proline1.03 g0.88 g0.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Serine1.019 g0.87 g0.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 14:00.023 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 16:01.693 g1.44 g0.88 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 18:00.677 g0.58 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 18:13.103 g2.64 g1.62 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
PUFA 18:24.052 g3.44 g2.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
PUFA 18:30.248 g0.21 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3321C
SFA 22:00.113 g0.1 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 20:10.045 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated3.205 g2.72 g1.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated4.3 g3.66 g2.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 17:00.034 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
MUFA 17:10.056 g0.05 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
Manganese1.3 mg1.11 mg0.68 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
1.4 mg1.19 mg0.73 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Niacin (B3, preformed)2.64 mg2.24 mg1.38 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
3.2 mg2.72 mg1.67 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.278 mg0.24 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
1.06 mg0.9 mg0.55 mgsecond database · not used · 3.8×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174272C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-118C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Haron et al. 2010: tempeh

standard · not stated in the abstract

abstract only

Calcium36.9 %130 mg20AUsed

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 9.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 7.0% · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Soy allergy · Worth knowing · Soy is a Health Canada priority allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (glucose and fructose both trace) g/100 g · fresh weight · as sold · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • fodmap fos: kestose, nystose, 1F-nystose each < 0.0100 g/100 g g/100 g · as sold · as sold · grade A · Natale 2025
  • fodmap total: 0.26 g per serve · per serve (serve size not stated) · as classified by the paper (preparation not stated) · grade B · Tuck 2018
  • histamine: category mean, standard deviation 184.51, n = 21 mg/kg · as sold · soy-fermented foods (category) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • histamine: mean 0.35 · standard deviation 0.64 · range nd–1.62 · n 7 mg/kg · fresh weight · as sold (commercial tempeh, soybean, Rhizopus) · grade A · Costacatala 2026
  • histamine: 100 mg/kg · dry matter · as sold (commercial tempe, fresh) · grade A · Nout 1993
  • oxalate total: 47–65 mg/100 g · not stated · not stated · grade B · Alwahsh 2005
  • phytate: 236–366 mg/100 g · dry weight · not stated · grade A · Chan 2007
  • tyramine: mean 4.36 · standard deviation 4.63 · range nd–10.66 · n 7 mg/kg · fresh weight · as sold (commercial tempeh, soybean, Rhizopus) · grade A · Costacatala 2026
  • tyramine: 500–575 mg/kg · dry matter · as sold (commercial tempe, fresh) · grade A · Nout 1993
  • tyramine: mean 1575 · n 1 mg/kg · dry matter · laboratory-made tempe (soaked 4 C, boiled, sterilised, Rhizopus oligosporus only, 45 h at 30 C) · grade B · Nout 1993

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.