FoodtopsyFrançais
A pile of boiled soybeans

Soybeans, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 91 g (about ½ cup) · 156 kcal

Protein, plus omega-3: ALA and iron. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.

Nothing to watch for most people.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (91 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

16 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 3.9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.86 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 11% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 79% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 8,500 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 636 g a week, which stays within the 2,500 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 11% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    EFSA (2012) Cadmium dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(1):2551 · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

Checked for lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 13 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 7.3–7.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 2.64 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 28, upper bound 30; adds 7.5%

    EFSA (2012) Lead dietary exposure in the European population. EFSA Journal 10(7):2831 · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent (label), not avoid.

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 17 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    2.7 g of sugar in a 91 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 224 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Akhtar 2011 · grade A

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 91 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More protein

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For omega-3: ALA: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 91 g.

For iron: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 91 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Tilapia, cooked
    • More selenium (49.4 µg vs 6.64 µg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.69 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (123 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (40.9 mg vs 544 mg)
    • Less iron (0.63 mg vs 4.67 mg)
  • Eggs, hard-boiled
    • More vitamin B12 (1.01 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More choline (267 mg vs 43.2 mg)
    • More selenium (28 µg vs 6.64 µg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (31.8 mg vs 544 mg)
    • Less iron (1.08 mg vs 4.67 mg)

2 foods out of the 10 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Lentils, cooked
    • 105 kcal in 91 g (this food: 156)
    • More folate (165 µg vs 49.1 µg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (33.6 mg vs 544 mg)
    • Less protein (8.2 g vs 16.6 g)
  • Tilapia, cooked
    • 116 kcal in 91 g (this food: 156)
    • More selenium (49.4 µg vs 6.64 µg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.69 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (123 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (40.9 mg vs 544 mg)
    • Less iron (0.63 mg vs 4.67 mg)
  • Deli turkey breast
    • 96 kcal in 91 g (this food: 156)
    • More niacin (10.6 mg vs 4.03 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.34 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin B6 (0.37 mg vs 0.21 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (46.4 mg vs 544 mg)
    • Less iron (0.38 mg vs 4.67 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Soybeans, boiled

How the serving was set: 125 mL cooked = 90.9 g (Health Canada K.2; FDC 172 g per cup)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.598 g0.54 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Calcium102 mg92.72 mg59.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
83 mg75.45 mg48.26 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
102 mg92.72 mg59.3 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3401C
Carbohydrate8.36 g7.6 g4.86 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Choline47.5 mg43.18 mg27.62 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Energy172 kcal156.35 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fat8.97 g8.15 g5.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
7.3 g6.64 g4.24 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fatty acids, total saturated1.297 g1.18 g0.75 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fibre6 g5.45 g3.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Folate54 µg49.09 µg31.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
54 µg49.09 µg31.4 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Iron5.14 mg4.67 mg2.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
3 mg2.73 mg1.74 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Magnesium86 mg78.17 mg50 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
63 mg57.27 mg36.63 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)4.432 mg4.03 mg2.58 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3401C
Phosphorus245 mg222.71 mg142.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
250 mg227.25 mg145.35 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Potassium515 mg468.14 mg299.42 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
510 mg463.59 mg296.51 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Protein18.21 g16.55 g10.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
14 g12.73 g8.14 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Riboflavin (B2)0.285 mg0.26 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.09 mg0.08 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not used · 3.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Selenium7.3 µg6.64 µg4.24 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
5 µg4.55 µg2.91 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Sodium1 mg0.91 mg0.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
1 mg0.91 mg0.58 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Sugars3 g2.73 g1.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
2.1 g1.91 g1.22 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Thiamin (B1)0.155 mg0.14 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.12 mg0.11 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Vitamin B60.234 mg0.21 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.23 mg0.21 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Vitamin C1.7 mg1.55 mg0.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Vitamin E0.35 mg0.32 mg0.2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
1.13 mg1.03 mg0.66 mgsecond database · not used · 3.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Vitamin K119.2 µg17.45 µg11.16 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Water62.55 g56.86 g36.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
64.3 g58.45 g37.38 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Zinc1.15 mg1.05 mg0.67 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.9 mg0.82 mg0.52 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene5 µg4.55 µg2.91 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
6 µg5.45 µg3.49 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Copper0.407 mg0.37 mg0.24 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.32 mg0.29 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Ash1.91 g1.74 g1.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Energy721 kj655.39 kj419.19 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin A, IU9 iu8.18 iu5.23 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Folate, food54 µg49.09 µg31.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Folate, DFE54 µg49.09 µg31.4 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Tryptophan0.242 g0.22 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Threonine0.723 g0.66 g0.42 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Isoleucine0.807 g0.73 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Leucine1.355 g1.23 g0.79 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Lysine1.108 g1.01 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Methionine0.224 g0.2 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Cystine0.268 g0.24 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Phenylalanine0.869 g0.79 g0.51 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Tyrosine0.63 g0.57 g0.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Valine0.831 g0.76 g0.48 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Arginine1.291 g1.17 g0.75 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Histidine0.449 g0.41 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Alanine0.784 g0.71 g0.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Aspartic acid2.093 g1.9 g1.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Glutamic acid3.224 g2.93 g1.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Glycine0.77 g0.7 g0.45 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Proline0.974 g0.89 g0.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Serine0.965 g0.88 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 14:00.025 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 16:00.952 g0.87 g0.55 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
SFA 18:00.32 g0.29 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
MUFA 18:11.956 g1.78 g1.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 18:24.465 g4.06 g2.6 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 18:30.598 g0.54 g0.35 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
MUFA 16:10.025 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated1.981 g1.8 g1.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated5.064 g4.6 g2.94 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
Manganese0.824 mg0.75 mg0.48 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.7 mg0.64 mg0.41 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.399 mg0.36 mg0.23 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.5 mg0.45 mg0.29 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.179 mg0.16 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0.18 mg0.16 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #174271C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-116C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney, Weaver & Fitzsimmons 1991: high-phytate (ordinary) soybeans

standard · not stated in the abstract (secondary source: cooked)

abstract only

Calcium31 %98 mg16AUsed
StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney, Weaver & Fitzsimmons 1991: low-phytate line (experimental)

low phytate line · not stated in the abstract

abstract only

Calcium41.4 %98 mg16ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Lozano 1982: soybeans

not stated · soybeans, preparation not stated · dose containing approximately 2 mg vitamin B6

abstract only

Vitamin B6–not reported5BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Murray-Kolb et al. 2003: soybeans

hydroponically grown, non-nodulating soybeans, intrinsically labelled with 55Fe · soup or muffins (preparation of the beans inside them not stated) · load not reported

full text read

Iron27 %not reported18ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: soybeans (pig) animal study

shelled blanched edamame (immature soybeans); related: edamame, not mature soybeans · Simmered with water · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein95.5 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 11% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 28, upper bound 30; adds 7.5% · EFSA 2012 · B
  • Soy allergy · Worth knowing · Soy is a Health Canada priority allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.1 g/100 g · fresh weight; computed as fructose minus glucose · boiled in unsalted water · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.03 g/100 g · dried grain; standard deviation 0.06 · unprocessed dried seed · grade B · Alowo 2025
  • fodmap excess fructose: not computable (fructose + glucose reported together) g/kg dry matter · dry matter · raw dry soybean · grade C · Wang 2007
  • fodmap fos: 3.7 g/100 g · not stated · unprocessed grain, not boiled · grade B · Alowo 2025
  • fodmap fructan: 3.7 g/100 g · dried grain (oven-dried at 50 C); standard deviation 0.43 (reported as 'Total FOS') · unprocessed dried seed · grade B · Alowo 2025
  • fodmap fructan: not detected (< 0.1 g/100 g dry matter) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · raw whole dry seeds · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried soya beans soaked, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap gos: 4.43 g/100 g · not stated · unprocessed grain, not boiled · grade B · Alowo 2025
  • fodmap gos: 3.55 g/100 g dry matter · dry matter (raffinose/stachyose 3.37 +/- 0.04 plus verbascose 0.19) · raw whole dry seeds · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap gos: 0.79 g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried soya beans soaked, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap total: 8.16 g/100 g · not stated · unprocessed grain, not boiled · grade B · Alowo 2025
  • histamine: not detected (n = 5) mg/kg · as sold · soybeans · grade A · Sanchezperez 2021
  • histamine: range nd–5 · 100% below the detection limit · n 3 mg/kg · dry matter · soaked, then boiled 30 min at 100 C · grade A · Nout 1993
  • oxalate soluble: 38 mg/100 g · dry seed · dry seed · grade A · Siener 2021
  • oxalate total: 224 mg/100 g · not stated · boiled (from 497 raw) · grade A · Akhtar 2011
  • oxalate total: 277 mg/100 g · dry seed · dry seed · grade A · Siener 2021
  • tyramine: 113–200 mg/kg · dry matter · soaked, then boiled 30 min at 100 C · grade A · Nout 1993

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.