FoodtopsyFrançais
Cooked ground turkey crumbles

Ground turkey, 93% lean, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 60 g · 128 kcal

Protein, plus niacin and vitamin B12. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.

Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (60 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

16 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Flagged on ground turkey, 93% lean, raw; not recorded on this one, so shown here. See that page

    Learn more
    How we got this

    As rated on ground turkey, 93% lean, raw: Flagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, but the survey figures are on the older WHO2005 basis, so no grams figure is given until they are recomputed. In 24 CFIA raw turkey samples (2014-2019 survey; cut and form not stated) the lower-bound mean is 0.0063 pg/g (median 0.0004, maximum 0.1126) and the upper-bound mean 0.08478 pg WHO 2005 toxic equivalents/g (median 0.0722, maximum 0.2639). One sample at 0.1126 pulls the mean up.

    cfia-dioxins-2014-2019 · grade B

    Every food with dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs

Checked for cadmium, nickel and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.05 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 210,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 420 g a week, which stays within the 60,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.29% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.53 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 100,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 60 g a day, which stays within the 75,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. Eaten alone, about 102,247 g of pan-cooked ground turkey a day would reach it. The FDA mean is 8.9 ppb across 27 composites (85.2% non-detects), so the mean is uncertain and its bound is not stated. A serving carries 0.534 µg.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.09 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. The headline is Health Canada's mixed chicken-and-turkey composite (mean 1.5341 ng/g, 17 composites, none non-detect), because the FDA found no lead in 27 of 27 ground turkey composites (reporting limit 4 ppb) and so has no mean. A serving carries 0.092 µg.

    Health Canada. Total Diet Study trace elements, open.canada.ca dataset 83934503, English resource 9c988c19-07ae-4aa4-8496-84658b6b0c45; composites pooled as an equal-weight mean per TDS food code, non-detects stored as 0. · grade B

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Cholesterol

    62 mg in a 60 g serving.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.

    Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1

  • Sugar

    0 g of sugar in a 60 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 4

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context: total arsenic, no reference value; the inorganic share is not measured here.

  • Context. IARC's Group 2A classification covers red meat (mammalian muscle meat), not turkey.

  • Context (mercury in a non-fish food). Not detected.

  • Context: Health Canada's chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR) for sodium is 2,300 mg a day. A 60 g serving carries 54 mg on the USDA listing, 2.3% of it; about 2,560 g would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured about the same in US ground turkey as eaten (91 mg per 100 g).

Purines, which matter for gout, aren’t measured for this food yet.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 60 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More niacin

More vitamin B12

  • Mackerel, cooked11.4 µg in 60 g (this food: 1.14 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Sardines, canned in water6.48 µg in 60 g (this food: 1.14 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For protein: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 60 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Shrimp, cooked
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (166 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More selenium (29.7 µg vs 17 µg)
    • Less niacin (4.21 mg vs 7.94 mg)
    • Less zinc (0.98 mg vs 2.26 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Sardines, canned in oil
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (589 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (5.36 µg vs 1.14 µg)
    • More selenium (31.6 µg vs 17 µg)
    • Less vitamin B6 (0.1 mg vs 0.3 mg)
    • Less zinc (0.79 mg vs 2.26 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Mackerel, cooked
    • More vitamin B12 (11.4 µg vs 1.14 µg)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (722 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More selenium (31 µg vs 17 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.56 mg vs 2.26 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Light tuna, canned in water
    • 54 kcal in 60 g (this food: 128)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (133 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More selenium (40.7 µg vs 17 µg)
    • More vitamin B12 (1.54 µg vs 1.14 µg)
    • Less zinc (0.4 mg vs 2.26 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Shrimp, cooked
    • 71 kcal in 60 g (this food: 128)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (166 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More selenium (29.7 µg vs 17 µg)
    • Less niacin (4.21 mg vs 7.94 mg)
    • Less zinc (0.98 mg vs 2.26 mg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
  • Cod, baked
    • 63 kcal in 60 g (this food: 128)
    • More omega-3: EPA + DHA (94.8 mg vs 9 mg)
    • More selenium (22.6 µg vs 17 µg)
    • Less niacin (4.07 mg vs 7.94 mg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0.63 µg vs 1.14 µg)
    Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).

Left out: Clams, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Turkey, ground, 93% lean, pan-broiled crumbles

How the serving was set: 60 g cooked (Health Canada TRA item L.7, patties and ground meat and poultry: 100 g raw, 60 g cooked)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.184 g0.11 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Calcium31 mg18.6 mg14.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Carbohydrate0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Choline78.7 mg47.22 mg36.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Energy213 kcal127.8 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0.015 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fat11.6 g6.96 g5.45 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Cholesterol104 mg62.4 mg48.83 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total saturated2.966 g1.78 g1.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fibre0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Folate7 µg4.2 µg3.29 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Iron1.56 mg0.94 mg0.73 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Magnesium29 mg17.4 mg13.62 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)13.228 mg7.94 mg6.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Phosphorus259 mg155.4 mg121.6 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Potassium304 mg182.4 mg142.72 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Protein27.1 g16.26 g12.72 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Riboflavin (B2)0.262 mg0.16 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Selenium28.4 µg17.04 µg13.33 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Sodium90 mg54 mg42.25 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Sugars0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Thiamin (B1)0.088 mg0.05 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin A30 µg18 µg14.08 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin B121.9 µg1.14 µg0.89 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin B60.497 mg0.3 mg0.23 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin D0.2 µg0.12 µg0.09 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin E0.18 mg0.11 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin K10 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Water61.05 g36.63 g28.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Zinc3.77 mg2.26 mg1.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Copper0.166 mg0.1 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Ash1.27 g0.76 g0.6 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Energy890 kj534 kj417.84 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin A, IU101 iu60.6 iu47.42 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units8 iu4.8 iu3.76 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0.2 µg0.12 µg0.09 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocopherol, beta0.01 mg0.01 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocopherol, gamma0.19 mg0.11 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocopherol, delta0.03 mg0.02 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.04 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocotrienol, gamma0.11 mg0.07 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Folate, food7 µg4.2 µg3.29 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Folate, DFE7 µg4.2 µg3.29 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Betaine12.3 mg7.38 mg5.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tryptophan0.308 g0.18 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Threonine1.244 g0.75 g0.58 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Isoleucine1.214 g0.73 g0.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Leucine2.237 g1.34 g1.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Lysine2.425 g1.46 g1.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Methionine0.797 g0.48 g0.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Cystine0.286 g0.17 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Phenylalanine1.056 g0.63 g0.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Tyrosine0.96 g0.58 g0.45 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Valine1.256 g0.75 g0.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Arginine1.968 g1.18 g0.92 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Histidine0.803 g0.48 g0.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Alanine1.687 g1.01 g0.79 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Aspartic acid2.617 g1.57 g1.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Glutamic acid4.338 g2.6 g2.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Glycine1.483 g0.89 g0.7 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Proline1.199 g0.72 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Serine1.151 g0.69 g0.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Hydroxyproline0.226 g0.14 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total trans0.144 g0.09 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 4:00.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 8:00.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 10:00.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 12:00.015 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 14:00.093 g0.06 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 16:02.018 g1.21 g0.95 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 18:00.774 g0.46 g0.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 20:00.01 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 18:13.433 g2.06 g1.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:23.113 g1.87 g1.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:30.184 g0.11 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:40.165 g0.1 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0.011 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 22:00.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 14:10.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 16:10.38 g0.23 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:40.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 20:10.041 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 22:10.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0.015 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated3.895 g2.34 g1.83 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated3.562 g2.14 g1.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 15:00.014 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 17:00.027 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
SFA 24:00.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
TFA 16:1 t0.007 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
TFA 18:1 t0.099 g0.06 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
TFA 22:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.038 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0.02 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 24:1 c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.02 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 16:1 c0.372 g0.22 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 18:1 c3.335 g2 g1.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c3.054 g1.83 g1.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 22:1 c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.009 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 17:10.02 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:30.016 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.106 g0.06 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.038 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.175 g0.11 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:3 n-30.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 20:3 n-60.014 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 18:3i0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
PUFA 22:40.031 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Manganese0.01 mg0.01 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Niacin (B3, preformed)8.095 mg4.86 mg3.8 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Pantothenic acid (B5)1.4 mg0.84 mg0.66 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C
Retinol30 µg18 µg14.08 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172851C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
True ileal nitrogen digestibility, turkey breast roasted to 74 C and diced (growing pigs) animal study

turkey breast, not ground turkey 93% lean; cooked by roasting, not pan-broiling · turkey breast, barrel cut, roasted to 74 C internal temperature then diced 1 cm (Table 1) · foods fed as the only protein source; load not stated

full text read

Protein98.5 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Arsenic, all forms · Context · Context: total arsenic, no reference value; the inorganic share is not measured here. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.29% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Charring compounds · Context · Context. IARC's Group 2A classification covers red meat (mammalian muscle meat), not turkey. · IARC 2015 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day), so no grams figure is given. The headline is Health Canada's mixed chicken-and-turkey composite (mean 1.5341 ng/g, 17 composites, none non-detect), because the FDA found no lead in 27 of 27 ground turkey composites (reporting limit 4 ppb) and so has no mean. A serving carries 0.092 µg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Mercury, all forms · Context · Context (mercury in a non-fish food). Not detected. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake (TDI) for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. Eaten alone, about 102,247 g of pan-cooked ground turkey a day would reach it. The FDA mean is 8.9 ppb across 27 composites (85.2% non-detects), so the mean is uncertain and its bound is not stated. A serving carries 0.534 µg. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Sodium · Context · Context: Health Canada's chronic disease risk reduction intake (CDRR) for sodium is 2,300 mg a day. A 60 g serving carries 54 mg on the USDA listing, 2.3% of it; about 2,560 g would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured about the same in US ground turkey as eaten (91 mg per 100 g). · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.