
Black tea, brewed
Checked by us One serving: 250 g (about 250 mL) · 3 kcal
Little of the nutrients we score, per serving.
Nothing to watch for most people so far.
Worth knowing for some people: caffeine in pregnancy.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (250 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
No nutrient we score reaches “some” in one serving. The rest, at “a little” or less, is below.
22 more nutrients at a little or less
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
12.5 µg in one serving: 3% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
92.5 mg in one serving: 3% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
7.5 mg in one serving: 2% of the 400 mg a day men need, 2% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
7.5 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 11 mg a day men need, 1% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 1% of the 8 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
1 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 16 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 56 g a day men need, under 1% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Caffeine in one sitting
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 4 servings in one sitting of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 50 mg
How we got this
1,000 g in one sitting reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: it takes 1,000 g of tea, 4 cups at one sitting, to reach the single dose of caffeine that EFSA (2015) finds raises no safety concern for healthy adults, 200 mg (about 3 mg/kg body weight). The same 200 mg a day is EFSA's figure for pregnancy and lactation: 4 cups a day. Health Canada's 300 mg for people planning a pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding would take 1,500 g (6 cups).
Caffeine
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 8 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 50 mg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 16–135% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.
2,000 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: average adult intake spans a range, and each end is tested on its own. At the low end a daily serving keeps total intake under the limit; at the high end it adds less than double the average. A cup carries 50 mg of caffeine (a USDA listing of 20 mg/100 g from 41 data points; Health Canada gives 30 to 50 mg per 237 mL). Against the 400 mg a day that EFSA (2015) and Health Canada give for adults, about 2,000 g a day (8 cups) would reach it, eaten alone; at Health Canada's figures, 1,896 to 3,160 g. At the low end of EFSA's adult averages (37 mg a day) a cup equals 135% of it, yet total intake stays under the 400 mg limit; at the high end (319 mg) it adds 15.7%. Tea is the main caffeine source in Ireland (59%) and the UK (57%).
You’d need about 7.4 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 1.34 mg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 8.9–67% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.
13,000 g a week reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for a 70 kg adult. Eaten alone, 13,048 g a week would reach it (52 cups; 7.5 cups a day); on the recent mean of 8.12 µg/g, 8,619 g. A daily cup is 9.4 mg a week, 13.4% of the limit, and adds 10.3% on the high average to 83.8% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2-1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted): at the low end a daily cup keeps total intake under the limit, and at the high end it adds less than double the average. The mean counts a 1999 record that is a multi-year average; without it the figure is 13,154 g a week.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
2 other measurements of this food, same verdict
You’d need about 6.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 1.66 mg
How we got this
11,000 g a week reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: average adult intake spans a range, and each end is tested on its own. At the low end a daily serving keeps total intake under the limit; at the high end it adds less than double the average. Black tea from filter bags (10 products bought in Slovenia, 1 g in 100 mL of boiling ultrapure water for 5 min) averages 6.621 mg/L of aluminium, 3.8 times the loose-leaf mean, so a cup carries 1.655 mg. Eaten alone, 10,572 g a week would reach EFSA's tolerable weekly intake (70,000 µg a week for a 70 kg adult); at the strongest bag (8.90 mg/L), 7,865 g, or 4.5 cups a day.
You’d need about 23 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.44 mg
How we got this
40,000 g a week reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
Grams to the limit = 70,000 ÷ 1.741 = 40,209 g a week (maximum loose 2.65 mg/L: 26,415 g).
Checked for manganese, nickel, cadmium, histamine and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Manganese
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 20 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.55 mg
How we got this
5,000 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for manganese is 11 mg/day for adults, from all sources (Health Canada, NASEM). One cup carries 0.55 mg on the USDA listing, 5% of that level, 24% of the adequate intake for men (2.3 mg/day) and 30% of women's (1.8); about 20 cups would reach the level. Health Canada's Total Diet Study measured about twice as much in black tea as consumed (1.06 mg a cup), and strength varies with the brew. EFSA sets an adequate intake of 3 mg/day and no upper level.
Nickel
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 48 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 14.5 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 6.1–7.1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 28% of the limit.
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 16,000 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 250 g a day, which stays within the 12,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 15,710 g a day would reach it, and one cup is 1.6% of the limit. For nickel-sensitised people one cup is about 0.21 µg/kg body weight, against EFSA's acute lowest-observed-adverse-effect level (LOAEL) of 4.3 µg/kg body weight; EFSA counts a margin of exposure of 30 as low concern, and this gives near 21 (Foodtopsy's own calculation; EFSA notes that its fasting-study basis overestimates).
EFSA CONTAM Panel (2020). Update of the risk assessment of nickel in food and drinking water. EFSA Journal 18(11):6268 (PMC7643711) · doi.org · grade A
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.04 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,000,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 1,750 g a week, which stays within the 300,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.24% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Histamine
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.01 mg (per cup, at the highest sample)
How we got this
2,500,000 g in one meal reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's no-effect level is 50 mg of histamine per meal. In 14 black-tea infusions from Italy, histamine was detected in 9 (11.1 to 20.0 µg/L) and not detected in 5, so a cup at the highest level carries 0.005 mg. About 2,500,000 g of tea would be needed to reach the limit, which is not a level that matters. A second survey (9 teas) found none.
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 59 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1.7% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.59 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: a daily cup of black tea carries 0.593 µg of lead, 1.7% of EFSA's average adult intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day) and 8.5% of the Canadian figure of about 0.1 µg/kg body weight/day, far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. At the 2016-2018 mean (0.27 ng/g) a cup carries 0.067 µg: 0.2% and 1.0%. Lead in tea fell about tenfold between 2000-2012 and 2016-2018. FDA Total Diet Study: not detected, reporting limit 1 ppb, 3 samples.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
No cap: a life-stage limit. A cup carries 50 mg of caffeine; 1,000 g (4 cups) a day reach EFSA's 200 mg a day for pregnancy, and 1,500 g (6 cups) reach Health Canada's 300 mg a day for people planning a pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 250 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 6
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Total arsenic is context in the dataset; not scored.
No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults, from all sources (Health Canada, NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day from age 15 (2005). One cup of brewed black tea carries 0.93 mg on the USDA listing, 9.3% of 10 mg (13% of 7); about 11 cups would reach 10 mg and 7.5 cups 7 mg. Measured teas vary a lot: filter-bag black teas from Slovenia averaged 0.89 mg a cup (the strongest 1.20 mg), five Bangkok brands 0.64 mg, and loose-leaf tea 0.21 mg.
Value only: the verdict belongs to method rule 4 (oxalate cap). 14.4 mg per cup. Urinary recovery (bioavailability) 3.2% in this study (n = 10 healthy men); 0.08%, 1.9-4.7% and 2.4% in earlier studies it cites.
Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: no safe threshold is set for pyrrolizidine alkaloids, and the share a serving adds to the average adult's intake cannot be worked out, because EFSA measured them only in honey, tea and herbal infusions. Instead the margin of exposure is shown against EFSA's reference point of 237 µg/kg body weight/day, where 10,000 counts as low concern. For black-tea drinkers, mean exposure of 1.9-32.2 ng/kg body weight/day (lower bound, non-detects counted as zero) gives margins of 124,737 to 7,360 (lower bound) and 94,800 to 5,563 (upper bound, non-detects counted at the detection limit); at the 95th percentile, 14,906 to 3,371 (lower bound). At the high end of exposure the margin falls below 10,000.
Not measured in this food yet. The two sources disagree and the second does not say whether it is leaf or beverage, so no per-cup figure is made. Person-specific (MAOI) flag only; no MAOI guidance names tea in the sources read.
Shown as context, not rated: IARC classifies drinking very hot beverages (above 65 °C) as probably carcinogenic to humans (Group 2A; oesophageal cancer). The concern is the temperature, not the tea: tea is named among drinks traditionally drunk very hot (about 70 °C). No amount is scored.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 250 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
Coffee, brewed would lead this list, but it’s left out (Furan: go easy).
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Coffee, brewed would lead this list, but it’s left out (Furan: go easy).
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Espresso0.1 g protein · 9 kcal per 100 g
1 food out of the 2 other hot drinks we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Coffee, brewed (Furan: go easy).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Tea, black, brewed
How the serving was set: 250 mL = 1 cup prepared (Health Canada TRA B.4, tea, regular and herbal, loose leaves, bags or pods); 250 g at 1.00 g/mL (SR 173227: cup (8 fl oz) = 237 g)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.003 g | 0.01 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Calcium | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2909 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0.3 g | 0.75 g | 30 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Choline | 0.4 mg | 1 mg | 40 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Energy | 1 kcal | 2.5 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fat | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 372.9 µg | 932.25 µg | 37,290 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.002 g | 0.01 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Folate | 5 µg | 12.5 µg | 500 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 3 µg | 7.5 µg | 300 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Iron | 0.02 mg | 0.05 mg | 2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Magnesium | 3 mg | 7.5 mg | 300 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 2 mg | 5 mg | 200 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Manganese | 0.219 mg | 0.55 mg | 21.9 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.38 mg | 15 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2909 | C |
| Phosphorus | 1 mg | 2.5 mg | 100 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 2 mg | 5 mg | 200 mg | second database · not used · 2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Potassium | 37 mg | 92.5 mg | 3,700 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 27 mg | 67.5 mg | 2,700 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.1 g | 0.25 g | 10 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.014 mg | 0.04 mg | 1.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.02 mg | 0.05 mg | 2 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Selenium | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Sodium | 3 mg | 7.5 mg | 300 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.27 µg | 0.68 µg | 27 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Water | 99.7 g | 249.25 g | 9,970 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 99.5 g | 248.75 g | 9,950 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.02 mg | 0.05 mg | 2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Copper | 0.01 mg | 0.03 mg | 1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.01 mg | 0.03 mg | 1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Ash | 0.04 g | 0.1 g | 4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Caffeine | 20 mg | 50 mg | 2,000 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Theobromine | 2 mg | 5 mg | 200 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Energy | 4 kj | 10 kj | 400 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Folate, food | 5 µg | 12.5 µg | 500 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 5 µg | 12.5 µg | 500 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Threonine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Leucine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Lysine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Methionine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Cystine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Valine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Arginine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Histidine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Alanine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Glycine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Proline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Serine | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.003 g | 0.01 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.004 g | 0.01 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.011 mg | 0.03 mg | 1.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0.04 mg | 0.1 mg | 4 mg | second database · not used · 3.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173227 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #17-165 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Siener & Hesse 2021: oxalate from 1.5 L a day of brewed black tea, from the rise in 24-h urinary oxalate one black tea bag product (brand not stated) · 12 tea bags x 1.75 g (21 g) in 1.5 L of 70 °C water, 5 min, drunk as 300 mL at 07:00, 10:00, 13:00, 16:00, 19:00 full text read | oxalate | 3.2 % | 86 mg | 10 | B | Not used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: average adult intake spans a range, and each end is tested on its own. At the low end a daily serving keeps total intake under the limit; at the high end it adds less than double the average. Black tea from filter bags (10 products bought in Slovenia, 1 g in 100 mL of boiling ultrapure water for 5 min) averages 6.621 mg/L of aluminium, 3.8 times the loose-leaf mean, so a cup carries 1.655 mg. Eaten alone, 10,572 g a week would reach EFSA's tolerable weekly intake (70,000 µg a week for a 70 kg adult); at the strongest bag (8.90 mg/L), 7,865 g, or 4.5 cups a day. · Pavlovic 2023 · A
- Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · Grams to the limit = 70,000 ÷ 1.741 = 40,209 g a week (maximum loose 2.65 mg/L: 26,415 g). · Pavlovic 2023 · A
- Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week for a 70 kg adult. Eaten alone, 13,048 g a week would reach it (52 cups; 7.5 cups a day); on the recent mean of 8.12 µg/g, 8,619 g. A daily cup is 9.4 mg a week, 13.4% of the limit, and adds 10.3% on the high average to 83.8% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2-1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted): at the low end a daily cup keeps total intake under the limit, and at the high end it adds less than double the average. The mean counts a 1999 record that is a multi-year average; without it the figure is 13,154 g a week. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Total arsenic is context in the dataset; not scored. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.24% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Caffeine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: average adult intake spans a range, and each end is tested on its own. At the low end a daily serving keeps total intake under the limit; at the high end it adds less than double the average. A cup carries 50 mg of caffeine (a USDA listing of 20 mg/100 g from 41 data points; Health Canada gives 30 to 50 mg per 237 mL). Against the 400 mg a day that EFSA (2015) and Health Canada give for adults, about 2,000 g a day (8 cups) would reach it, eaten alone; at Health Canada's figures, 1,896 to 3,160 g. At the low end of EFSA's adult averages (37 mg a day) a cup equals 135% of it, yet total intake stays under the 400 mg limit; at the high end (319 mg) it adds 15.7%. Tea is the main caffeine source in Ireland (59%) and the UK (57%). · EFSA 2015 · B
- Caffeine in pregnancy · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: a life-stage limit. A cup carries 50 mg of caffeine; 1,000 g (4 cups) a day reach EFSA's 200 mg a day for pregnancy, and 1,500 g (6 cups) reach Health Canada's 300 mg a day for people planning a pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding. · Health Canada 2025 · B
- Caffeine in one sitting · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: it takes 1,000 g of tea, 4 cups at one sitting, to reach the single dose of caffeine that EFSA (2015) finds raises no safety concern for healthy adults, 200 mg (about 3 mg/kg body weight). The same 200 mg a day is EFSA's figure for pregnancy and lactation: 4 cups a day. Health Canada's 300 mg for people planning a pregnancy, pregnant or breastfeeding would take 1,500 g (6 cups). · EFSA 2015 · B
- Fluoride · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults, from all sources (Health Canada, NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day from age 15 (2005). One cup of brewed black tea carries 0.93 mg on the USDA listing, 9.3% of 10 mg (13% of 7); about 11 cups would reach 10 mg and 7.5 cups 7 mg. Measured teas vary a lot: filter-bag black teas from Slovenia averaged 0.89 mg a cup (the strongest 1.20 mg), five Bangkok brands 0.64 mg, and loose-leaf tea 0.21 mg. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
- Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's no-effect level is 50 mg of histamine per meal. In 14 black-tea infusions from Italy, histamine was detected in 9 (11.1 to 20.0 µg/L) and not detected in 5, so a cup at the highest level carries 0.005 mg. About 2,500,000 g of tea would be needed to reach the limit, which is not a level that matters. A second survey (9 teas) found none. · Spizzirri 2016 · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a daily cup of black tea carries 0.593 µg of lead, 1.7% of EFSA's average adult intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day) and 8.5% of the Canadian figure of about 0.1 µg/kg body weight/day, far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. At the 2016-2018 mean (0.27 ng/g) a cup carries 0.067 µg: 0.2% and 1.0%. Lead in tea fell about tenfold between 2000-2012 and 2016-2018. FDA Total Diet Study: not detected, reporting limit 1 ppb, 3 samples. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Manganese · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the tolerable upper intake level for manganese is 11 mg/day for adults, from all sources (Health Canada, NASEM). One cup carries 0.55 mg on the USDA listing, 5% of that level, 24% of the adequate intake for men (2.3 mg/day) and 30% of women's (1.8); about 20 cups would reach the level. Health Canada's Total Diet Study measured about twice as much in black tea as consumed (1.06 mg a cup), and strength varies with the brew. EFSA sets an adequate intake of 3 mg/day and no upper level. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
- Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. Eaten alone, about 15,710 g a day would reach it, and one cup is 1.6% of the limit. For nickel-sensitised people one cup is about 0.21 µg/kg body weight, against EFSA's acute lowest-observed-adverse-effect level (LOAEL) of 4.3 µg/kg body weight; EFSA counts a margin of exposure of 30 as low concern, and this gives near 21 (Foodtopsy's own calculation; EFSA notes that its fasting-study basis overestimates). · EFSA 2020 · A
- Oxalate for kidney-stone formers · Context · Value only: the verdict belongs to method rule 4 (oxalate cap). 14.4 mg per cup. Urinary recovery (bioavailability) 3.2% in this study (n = 10 healthy men); 0.08%, 1.9-4.7% and 2.4% in earlier studies it cites. · Siener 2021 · B
- Pyrrolizidine alkaloids · Not rated yet · Not rated: no safe threshold is set for pyrrolizidine alkaloids, and the share a serving adds to the average adult's intake cannot be worked out, because EFSA measured them only in honey, tea and herbal infusions. Instead the margin of exposure is shown against EFSA's reference point of 237 µg/kg body weight/day, where 10,000 counts as low concern. For black-tea drinkers, mean exposure of 1.9-32.2 ng/kg body weight/day (lower bound, non-detects counted as zero) gives margins of 124,737 to 7,360 (lower bound) and 94,800 to 5,563 (upper bound, non-detects counted at the detection limit); at the 95th percentile, 14,906 to 3,371 (lower bound). At the high end of exposure the margin falls below 10,000. · EFSA 2017 · A
- Tyramine · Not rated yet · The two sources disagree and the second does not say whether it is leaf or beverage, so no per-cup figure is made. Person-specific (MAOI) flag only; no MAOI guidance names tea in the sources read. · Sanchez perez2021 · B
- Very hot drinks · Context · Shown as context, not rated: IARC classifies drinking very hot beverages (above 65 °C) as probably carcinogenic to humans (Group 2A; oesophageal cancer). The concern is the temperature, not the tea: tea is named among drinks traditionally drunk very hot (about 70 °C). No amount is scored. · IARC 2016 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: n.d. in 5 of 14 black teas; 11.1-20.0 in 9 (mean of the 14 with n.d. as 0: 9.3) µg/L · infusion, 2 g leaves per 100 mL, 20 min (ISO 3103) · infusion · grade A · Spizzirri 2016
- histamine: not detected in 9 teas mg/kg or L (basis not stated) · basis (leaf or beverage) not stated · not stated · grade B · Sanchez perez2021
- oxalate soluble: 57.5 mg/L oxalate mg/L · infusion, 21 g leaves in 1.5 L of 70 °C water, 5 min · infusion · grade B · Siener 2021
- tyramine: not detected in any of 14 black-tea infusions µg/L · infusion, ISO 3103 · infusion · grade A · Spizzirri 2016
- tyramine: mean 5.07 (standard deviation 3.80), n = 9 mg/kg or L (basis not stated) · basis (leaf or beverage) not stated · not stated · grade B · Sanchez perez2021
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - EFSA. EFSA explains risk assessment: Caffeine (corporate publication summarising the NDA Panel's 2015 scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine) · doi:10.2805/618813
efsa-2015-caffeine-explains· full text read · licence not recorded - EFSA CONTAM Panel. Statement on the risks for human health related to the presence of pyrrolizidine alkaloids in honey, tea, herbal infusions and food supplements. EFSA Journal 2017;15(7):4908 · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2017.4908 · PMID 32625569
efsa-2017-pa· full text read · CC BY-ND (EFSA Journal) - EFSA CONTAM Panel (2020). Update of the risk assessment of nickel in food and drinking water. EFSA Journal 18(11):6268 (PMC7643711) · doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2020.6268 · doi.org
efsa-2020-nickel· full text read · CC BY (EFSA Journal) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Caffeine in Foods (page details 2025-04-02): Table 1 recommended maximum daily intake; Table 2 average caffeine in food and drink
hc-caffeine-foods-2025· full text read · Government of Canada terms - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - IARC. Press release 244: IARC Monographs evaluate drinking coffee, mate, and very hot beverages (15 June 2016); Monographs vol. 116 (2018)
iarc-2016-pr244· full text read · licence not recorded - Pavlovic A, Tavcar G, Ponikvar-Svet M, et al. Fluoride and Aluminium in Tea (Camellia sinensis L.)-Tea Quality Indicators and Risk Factors for Consumers. Molecules 2023;28(17):6396 · doi:10.3390/molecules28176396 · PMID 37687225
pavlovic2023· full text read · CC BY (PMC open access) - Sanchez-Perez S, Comas-Baste O, et al. Low-Histamine Diets: Is the Exclusion of Foods Justified by Their Histamine Content? Nutrients 2021;13(5):1395 · doi:10.3390/nu13051395 · PMID 33919293
sanchez-perez2021· full text read · CC BY (PMC open access) - Siener R et al. 2021 (oxalate in legumes and vegetables; CC BY 4.0)
siener2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Spizzirri UG, Picci N, Restuccia D, et al. Extraction Efficiency of Different Solvents and LC-UV Determination of Biogenic Amines in Tea Leaves and Infusions. J Anal Methods Chem 2016 · doi:10.1155/2016/8715287 · PMID 27555979
spizzirri2016· full text read · CC BY (PMC open access)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.