FoodtopsyFrançais
A glass cup of green tea

Green tea, brewed

Checked by us One serving: 250 g (about 250 mL) · 3 kcal

Some riboflavin.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: caffeine in pregnancy.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (250 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Caffeine in one sitting

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 6.8 servings in one sitting of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 30 mg

    How we got this

    1,700 g in one sitting reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2015 single-dose level is 200 mg in one sitting (about 3 mg/kg body weight) for healthy adults. At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing), about 1,667 g (6.7 cups) in one sitting would reach it, and 948–1,580 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A cup carries about 30 mg.

    EFSA. EFSA explains risk assessment: Caffeine (corporate publication summarising the NDA Panel's 2015 scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine) · grade B

    Every food with caffeine in one sitting

  • Caffeine

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 13 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 30 mg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 9.4–81% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

    3,300 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: 400 mg/day is the safe intake for healthy adults (EFSA 2015 and Health Canada). At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing, 6 data points), about 3,333 g a day (13.3 cups) would reach it, and 1,896–3,160 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A 30 mg cup (20–45 mg at USDA minimum and maximum) is 9.4% to 81% of EFSA's adult average intake (319 and 37 mg/day, the two ends of the survey range): at the low end a cup nearly doubles it, yet the total stays far under the limit.

    EFSA. EFSA explains risk assessment: Caffeine (corporate publication summarising the NDA Panel's 2015 scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine) · grade B

    Every food with caffeine

  • Aluminum

    Nothing to watchSlovenia 2022, 9 loose-leaf green teas

    You’d need about 23 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.42 mg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 2.8–21% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

    41,000 g a week reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Loose-leaf green tea averages 1.689 mg/L (9 products, ultrapure water), so about 41,445 g a week (23.7 cups a day), eaten alone, would reach it, and 18,717 g for the strongest product (3.74 mg/L). A daily cup is 3.0 mg a week, 4.2% of the limit, and adds 2.8% on the high average to 21.1% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2–1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted).

    Pavlovic A, Tavcar G, Ponikvar-Svet M, et al. Fluoride and Aluminium in Tea (Camellia sinensis L.)-Tea Quality Indicators and Risk Factors for Consumers. Molecules 2023;28(17):6396 · grade A

    Every food with aluminum

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Aluminum

      Nothing to watchSlovenia 2022, 5 filter-bag green teas

      You’d need about 6.9 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.51 mg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 10–76% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit.

      12,000 g a week reaches the limit

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Green filter-bag tea averages 6.048 mg/L (5 products, ultrapure water), so about 11,574 g a week (6.6 cups a day), eaten alone, would reach it, and 9,358 g for the strongest product (7.48 mg/L). A daily cup is 10.6 mg a week, 15.1% of the limit, and adds 10.1% on the high average to 75.6% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2–1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted).

      Pavlovic A, Tavcar G, Ponikvar-Svet M, et al. Fluoride and Aluminium in Tea (Camellia sinensis L.)-Tea Quality Indicators and Risk Factors for Consumers. Molecules 2023;28(17):6396 · grade A

      Every food with aluminum

Checked for manganese, nickel, cadmium, histamine and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Manganese

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 24 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.46 mg

    How we got this

    6,000 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: Health Canada's upper intake level for manganese is 11 mg/day for adults 19–50; EFSA sets none. One cup of brewed green tea carries 0.46 mg on the USDA listing, 4.2% of the limit, and about 5,980 g a day (24 cups), eaten alone, would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured 0.85 mg a cup in tea brewed from bags (type not stated). Tea is also a main dietary source of this nutrient (adequate intake 2.3 mg/day for men, 1.8 for women).

    USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04 · grade C

    Every food with manganese

  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 48 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 13.5 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 17,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 250 g a day, which stays within the 12,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg/day for 70 kg. FDA brewed bag tea averages 54 µg/kg (3 composites, all detected; tea type not stated, so not specific to green), which puts the limit at about 16,852 g a day (67 cups), eaten alone. One cup carries 13.5 µg, 1.5% of the daily limit.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.02 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.1% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 2,100,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 1,750 g a week, which stays within the 610,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.12% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Deka H, Barman T, Sarmah PP, Devi A, Tamuly P, Karak T. Impact of processing method on selected trace elements content of green tea: Does CTC green tea infusion possess risk towards human health? Food Chem X 2021;12:100173 · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Histamine

    Nothing to watch

    We have no measurement of this in this food, so there is no gram figure.

    Learn more
    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2011 no-effect level is 50 mg of histamine per person per meal. Histamine was not detected in any of 7 green-tea infusions (Italy), so no grams figure is computed; even the black-tea maximum of 20 µg/L would give 5 µg a cup, 0.01% of 50 mg.

    Spizzirri UG, Picci N, Restuccia D, et al. Extraction Efficiency of Different Solvents and LC-UV Determination of Biogenic Amines in Tea Leaves and Infusions. J Anal Methods Chem 2016 · grade A

    Every food with histamine

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.9% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.3 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe level of lead is set (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01), 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day, 35 µg/day at 70 kg). The cup figure is derived, not measured: the CFIA dry-leaf mean of 1.201 µg/g (100 samples, tea type not stated), 10 g of leaf per litre and a 9.96% transfer into the infusion give 1.196 µg/L, so one 250 mL cup carries 0.299 µg, 0.9% of 35 µg/day and 4.3% of the Canadian figure of about 7 µg/day. At the CFIA maximum leaf (4.296 µg/g) and 12.79% transfer a cup would carry 1.37 µg.

    Deka H, Barman T, Sarmah PP, Devi A, Tamuly P, Karak T. Impact of processing method on selected trace elements content of green tea: Does CTC green tea infusion possess risk towards human health? Food Chem X 2021;12:100173 · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • No cap: for pregnant or breastfeeding adults EFSA (2015) gives 200 mg/day and Health Canada 300 mg/day. At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing), about 1,667 g (6.7 cups) a day would reach EFSA's figure, and 948–1,580 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A cup carries about 30 mg.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0 g of sugar in a 250 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 7

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • No cap: the upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults (Health Canada/NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day. Green filter-bag tea averages 2.892 mg/L (5 products, brewed in ultrapure water), so one 250 mL cup carries 0.723 mg, 7.2% of 10 mg (10.3% of 7), and 13.8 cups would reach 10 mg. Products ranged 2.76–3.08 mg/L (strongest cup 0.77 mg), and tap water adds its own fluoride.

  • No cap: the upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults (Health Canada/NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day. Loose-leaf green tea averages 0.85 mg/L (9 products, ultrapure water), so one 250 mL cup carries 0.212 mg, 2.1% of 10 mg (3.0% of 7), and 47.2 cups would reach 10 mg. Products ranged 0.34–1.43 mg/L (strongest cup 0.36 mg), and tap water adds its own fluoride.

  • Shown as context, not rated: one 250 g cup carries about 175 mg of EGCG (0.7 mg/g, the USDA database mean of 100 brewed green teas), 22% of the 800 mg/day supplement effect level, and 4.6 cups reach 800 mg. Against EFSA's mean adult exposure from infusions (90–300 mg/day) a cup adds 58–194%. EFSA found no raised liver enzyme (ALT) at five or more cups a day or 700 mg EGCG/day from infusion; the effect level is for extracts, so it is not scored.

  • Shown as context, not rated: oxalate matters for people who form calcium oxalate stones. Green tea averages 5.55 mg/L (4 tea bags), 1.36 mg of soluble oxalate in a 245 mL cup and about 1.4 mg per 250 mL; black tea is the oxalate-rich tea (57.5 mg/L in one batch), and green is about one seventh of it.

  • Context, not scored: leaf residues cannot be put on a cup without a pesticide-specific transfer rate, and none was found.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: pyrrolizidine alkaloids are genotoxic carcinogens with no safe level, so EFSA judges them by margin of exposure from a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 237 µg/kg body weight/day, and no share of average intake is computed. Green tea infusion averages 0.8 µg/L at the lower bound (310 European samples), so a cup carries 0.2 µg, 2.9 ng/kg body weight for 70 kg: a margin of about 83,000, above the 10,000 level of concern. EFSA's adult mean exposure from green tea infusion is 0.25–1.6 ng/kg body weight/day.

  • Shown as context, not rated: IARC (2016) places drinking very hot beverages in Group 2A, from studies of tea or mate drunk at about 70 °C. Green tea is typically brewed at 70–80 °C, but nothing in the sources fixes the serving temperature; this is an effect of temperature, not a property of the leaf.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 250 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other hot drinks we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For riboflavin: Espresso would lead, in the same 250 g, but is left out (portions too different to compare by weight).

Of the other hot drinks we’ve checked, the one we could compare doesn’t give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Of the other hot drinks we’ve checked, the one we could compare doesn’t give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Espresso (portions too different to compare by weight).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Tea, green, brewed

How the serving was set: 250 mL = 1 cup prepared (Health Canada TRA B.4, tea, regular and herbal, loose leaves, bags or pods); 250 g at about 1.00 g/mL (SR 171917 water 99.93 g/100 g; no cup weight read for green tea)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Calcium0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
0 mg0 mg0 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #7624C
Carbohydrate0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Choline0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Energy1 kcal2.5 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fat0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fatty acids, total saturated0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fibre0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Folate0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Iron0.02 mg0.05 mg2 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Magnesium1 mg2.5 mg100 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Manganese0.184 mg0.46 mg18.4 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.07 mg0.18 mg7.03 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #7624C
Phosphorus0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Potassium8 mg20 mg800 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Protein0.22 g0.55 g22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Riboflavin (B2)0.058 mg0.15 mg5.8 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Sodium1 mg2.5 mg100 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Sugars0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Thiamin (B1)0.007 mg0.02 mg0.7 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin B60.005 mg0.01 mg0.5 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin E0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin K10 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Water99.93 g249.83 g9,993 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Zinc0.01 mg0.03 mg1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Copper0.004 mg0.01 mg0.4 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Ash0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Glucose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fructose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Caffeine12 mg30 mg1,200 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Energy4 kj10 kj400 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Folate, food0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Folate, DFE0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 16:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
SFA 18:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
MUFA 18:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 18:20 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 18:30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.03 mg0.08 mg3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171917C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Green filter-bag tea averages 6.048 mg/L (5 products, ultrapure water), so about 11,574 g a week (6.6 cups a day), eaten alone, would reach it, and 9,358 g for the strongest product (7.48 mg/L). A daily cup is 10.6 mg a week, 15.1% of the limit, and adds 10.1% on the high average to 75.6% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2–1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted). · Pavlovic 2023 · A
  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Loose-leaf green tea averages 1.689 mg/L (9 products, ultrapure water), so about 41,445 g a week (23.7 cups a day), eaten alone, would reach it, and 18,717 g for the strongest product (3.74 mg/L). A daily cup is 3.0 mg a week, 4.2% of the limit, and adds 2.8% on the high average to 21.1% on the low average of adult intake (EFSA 2008, about 0.2–1.5 mg/kg body weight/week; shown, not subtracted). · Pavlovic 2023 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.12% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Deka 2021 · B
  • Caffeine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: 400 mg/day is the safe intake for healthy adults (EFSA 2015 and Health Canada). At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing, 6 data points), about 3,333 g a day (13.3 cups) would reach it, and 1,896–3,160 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A 30 mg cup (20–45 mg at USDA minimum and maximum) is 9.4% to 81% of EFSA's adult average intake (319 and 37 mg/day, the two ends of the survey range): at the low end a cup nearly doubles it, yet the total stays far under the limit. · EFSA 2015 · B
  • Caffeine in pregnancy · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: for pregnant or breastfeeding adults EFSA (2015) gives 200 mg/day and Health Canada 300 mg/day. At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing), about 1,667 g (6.7 cups) a day would reach EFSA's figure, and 948–1,580 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A cup carries about 30 mg. · EFSA 2015 · B
  • Caffeine in one sitting · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2015 single-dose level is 200 mg in one sitting (about 3 mg/kg body weight) for healthy adults. At 120 µg/g (a USDA listing), about 1,667 g (6.7 cups) in one sitting would reach it, and 948–1,580 g at Health Canada's 30–50 mg per 237 mL. A cup carries about 30 mg. · EFSA 2015 · B
  • Fluoride · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults (Health Canada/NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day. Green filter-bag tea averages 2.892 mg/L (5 products, brewed in ultrapure water), so one 250 mL cup carries 0.723 mg, 7.2% of 10 mg (10.3% of 7), and 13.8 cups would reach 10 mg. Products ranged 2.76–3.08 mg/L (strongest cup 0.77 mg), and tap water adds its own fluoride. · Pavlovic 2023 · A
  • Fluoride · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: the upper intake level for fluoride is 10 mg/day for adults (Health Canada/NASEM); EFSA's is 7 mg/day. Loose-leaf green tea averages 0.85 mg/L (9 products, ultrapure water), so one 250 mL cup carries 0.212 mg, 2.1% of 10 mg (3.0% of 7), and 47.2 cups would reach 10 mg. Products ranged 0.34–1.43 mg/L (strongest cup 0.36 mg), and tap water adds its own fluoride. · Pavlovic 2023 · A
  • Green tea catechins · Context · Shown as context, not rated: one 250 g cup carries about 175 mg of EGCG (0.7 mg/g, the USDA database mean of 100 brewed green teas), 22% of the 800 mg/day supplement effect level, and 4.6 cups reach 800 mg. Against EFSA's mean adult exposure from infusions (90–300 mg/day) a cup adds 58–194%. EFSA found no raised liver enzyme (ALT) at five or more cups a day or 700 mg EGCG/day from infusion; the effect level is for extracts, so it is not scored. · EFSA 2018 · B
  • Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2011 no-effect level is 50 mg of histamine per person per meal. Histamine was not detected in any of 7 green-tea infusions (Italy), so no grams figure is computed; even the black-tea maximum of 20 µg/L would give 5 µg a cup, 0.01% of 50 mg. · Spizzirri 2016 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe level of lead is set (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01), 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day, 35 µg/day at 70 kg). The cup figure is derived, not measured: the CFIA dry-leaf mean of 1.201 µg/g (100 samples, tea type not stated), 10 g of leaf per litre and a 9.96% transfer into the infusion give 1.196 µg/L, so one 250 mL cup carries 0.299 µg, 0.9% of 35 µg/day and 4.3% of the Canadian figure of about 7 µg/day. At the CFIA maximum leaf (4.296 µg/g) and 12.79% transfer a cup would carry 1.37 µg. · Deka 2021 · B
  • Manganese · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: Health Canada's upper intake level for manganese is 11 mg/day for adults 19–50; EFSA sets none. One cup of brewed green tea carries 0.46 mg on the USDA listing, 4.2% of the limit, and about 5,980 g a day (24 cups), eaten alone, would reach it. FDA's Total Diet Study measured 0.85 mg a cup in tea brewed from bags (type not stated). Tea is also a main dietary source of this nutrient (adequate intake 2.3 mg/day for men, 1.8 for women). · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg/day for 70 kg. FDA brewed bag tea averages 54 µg/kg (3 composites, all detected; tea type not stated, so not specific to green), which puts the limit at about 16,852 g a day (67 cups), eaten alone. One cup carries 13.5 µg, 1.5% of the daily limit. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Oxalate for kidney-stone formers · Context · Shown as context, not rated: oxalate matters for people who form calcium oxalate stones. Green tea averages 5.55 mg/L (4 tea bags), 1.36 mg of soluble oxalate in a 245 mL cup and about 1.4 mg per 250 mL; black tea is the oxalate-rich tea (57.5 mg/L in one batch), and green is about one seventh of it. · Charrier 2002 · A
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Context, not scored: leaf residues cannot be put on a cup without a pesticide-specific transfer rate, and none was found. · CFIA 2009 · B
  • Pyrrolizidine alkaloids · Not rated yet · Not rated: pyrrolizidine alkaloids are genotoxic carcinogens with no safe level, so EFSA judges them by margin of exposure from a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 237 µg/kg body weight/day, and no share of average intake is computed. Green tea infusion averages 0.8 µg/L at the lower bound (310 European samples), so a cup carries 0.2 µg, 2.9 ng/kg body weight for 70 kg: a margin of about 83,000, above the 10,000 level of concern. EFSA's adult mean exposure from green tea infusion is 0.25–1.6 ng/kg body weight/day. · EFSA 2017 · A
  • Very hot drinks · Context · Shown as context, not rated: IARC (2016) places drinking very hot beverages in Group 2A, from studies of tea or mate drunk at about 70 °C. Green tea is typically brewed at 70–80 °C, but nothing in the sources fixes the serving temperature; this is an effect of temperature, not a property of the leaf. · IARC 2016 · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • histamine: not detected in 7 of 7 green-tea infusions (limit of detection not stated in the table) µg/L · infusion as drunk (2 g leaf, 70 mL boiling water, 20 min, made to 100 mL) · brewed · grade A · Spizzirri 2016
  • oxalate soluble: green teas (n = 4 bags): 0.24-1.15 mg/g, mean 0.68 (SE 0.19); about 0.3-1.7 mg oxalate per cup mg oxalate/g dry tea (soluble, extracted into infusate) · per g of dry tea leaf, soluble oxalate in the infusate (HPLC) · tea bag (1.34-2.14 g) in 245 mL hot (90 C) nanopure water, 5 min, stirred twice, bag squeezed twice · grade A · Charrier 2002
  • tyramine: not detected in 7 of 7 green-tea infusions (and in all 14 black) µg/L · infusion as drunk · brewed · grade A · Spizzirri 2016

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.