
Soy drink, unsweetened, fortified
Checked by us One serving: 250 g (about 1 cup) · 96 kcal
Lots of vitamin B12 and calcium. Some of that may be added by the maker and depends on the brand: check your label.
Nothing to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: soy and levothyroxine; plant-based drinks under 2 years.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (250 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.98 µg in one serving: 41% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
253 mg in one serving: 25% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
18 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
8.87 g in one serving: 16% of the 56 g a day men need, 19% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
2.94 mg in one serving: 18% of the 16 mg a day men need, 21% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
146 µg in one serving: 16% of the 900 µg a day men need, 21% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.21 mg in one serving: 16% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 19% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
253 mg in one serving: 16% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 23% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
53.9 mg in one serving: 13% of the 400 mg a day men need, 17% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.16 mg in one serving: 13% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 15% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
49.2 µg in one serving: 12% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
396 mg in one serving: 12% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
1.7 µg in one serving: 11% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 11% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
4.86 µg in one serving: 9% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
1.35 mg in one serving: 17% of the 8 mg a day men need, 8% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.78 mg in one serving: 7% of the 11 mg a day men need, 10% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.39 mg in one serving: 3% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Missing from our databases for this food, so left out, not counted as zero: vitamin K1 and choline.
Watch out
How we counted this
Nickel
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 16 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 43.5 µg
How we got this
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 5,200 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 250 g a day, which stays within the 3,900 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. At 0.174 µg/g (10 yearly composites), about 5,230 g a day (about 5 L), eaten alone, would reach it. A 250 g serving carries 43.5 µg, 4.8% of the daily limit; soy is nickel-rich by nature, and the lower threshold for nickel-sensitised people is a separate question not rated here.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Checked for deoxynivalenol, selenium, cadmium, aluminum, glyphosate residues, ochratoxin A and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin)
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 44 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.5 µg (at the highest value)
How we got this
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 35,000 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 250 g a day, which stays within the 11,000 g of room left before the limit.
general_acute: 280,000 g in one sitting.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg a day, with an acute reference dose of 8 µg/kg body weight per eating occasion, 560 µg. At the highest value found, 2.0 µg/kg (retail drinks in Riga and Kaunas), 35,000 g a day would reach the daily limit and 280,000 g in a sitting the acute one; a serving at that maximum carries 0.5 µg, 0.7%. This is a European maximum, not a Canadian mean, and a German survey found lower values (maximum 0.17 µg/L).
Selenium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 52 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 4.86 µg
This amount varies a lot from one batch to the next: the figures we hold for this food differ twofold or more. Every figure on this site uses the same one, the food’s listed value.
How we got this
13,000 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2023 tolerable upper intake level for selenium is 255 µg a day (Health Canada's is 400 µg). A 250 g serving carries 4.9 µg on the USDA listing, 1.9% of EFSA's level; about 13,100 g a day, eaten alone, would reach it. Health Canada's Total Diet Study measured less in fortified soy beverage (2 µg a serving).
USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30 · grade C
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 9.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.76 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 4.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 74% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 57,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 1,750 g a week, which stays within the 17,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 4.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Aluminum
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 86 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 116 µg
How we got this
150,000 g a week reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's 2008 tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week. At 0.465 µg/g (10 yearly composites), about 150,538 g of soy drink in a week (about 150 L), eaten alone, would reach it. A 250 g serving carries 116 µg, 0.17% of the weekly limit.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Glyphosate residues
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.03 µg
How we got this
340,000,000 g a day reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap: EFSA's acceptable daily intake for glyphosate is 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day, 35,000 µg a day at 70 kg. At the CFIA lower-bound mean of 0.102 µg/kg (50 samples, 1 detected, maximum 5.1 µg/kg), about 343,137,255 g of soy drink a day would reach it, an upper bound, and 6,862,745 g at the detected maximum. A serving carries 0.03 µg at the mean.
Ochratoxin A
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 91 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.3–1.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: no safe limit is set for ochratoxin A; EFSA's 2020 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day. A 250 g serving at the CFIA lower-bound mean of 0.005196 ng/g (102 samples, 4 detected) adds 0.0013 µg (0.019 ng/kg body weight), and 0.05 µg at the highest sample, 0.202 ng/g. The share of the average adult's intake was not worked out.
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.6–0.8% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.23 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake (EFSA 2012: 0.40-0.59 µg/kg body weight/day, 28-41 µg a day at 70 kg), a 250 g serving at the Total Diet Study mean of 0.9093 ng/g (10 yearly composites) carries 0.23 µg, about 0.6-0.8%, far under the doubling line.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
Flagged for people on levothyroxine: the US label says soybean flour, among other foods, may bind the drug and decrease its absorption. It names soybean flour and soy-based infant formula rather than soy drink, so the effect here is by extension, and the label gives no quantity.
Flagged for children under two: Canadian paediatric and dietitian bodies advise that soy and other plant beverages, fortified or not, are not appropriate alternatives to cow's milk in the first two years. The source is a 2017 news release from the Canadian Paediatric Society and Dietitians of Canada.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
1 g of sugar in a 250 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Shown as context, not rated: the Total Diet Study mean of 2.451 ng/g (10 yearly composites, 0.613 µg per 250 g serving) is total arsenic, not the toxic form, and the inorganic arsenic that health limits apply to is not reported for this food.
Shown as context, not rated: no agency sets an intake limit for oxalate. The one figure found is 4.4 mg/100 mL (11 mg for a 250 mL serving), relayed in a 2021 review for a drink that is only 62% soy milk, so a plain fortified drink may differ. For comparison the dry soybean is 277 mg/100 g, so the drink is far lower per serving.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 250 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
No swaps for vitamin B12 and calcium: they may be added to this food, so its amount varies by brand.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Parmesan35.8 g protein · 392 kcal per 100 g
Swiss cheese27 g protein · 393 kcal per 100 g
Mozzarella, part-skim23.7 g protein · 298 kcal per 100 g
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Soy milk, unsweetened, calcium- and vitamin-D-fortified (soy beverage)
How the serving was set: 250 mL (1 cup), taken as 250 g at 1.0 g/mL. Health Canada's Table of Reference Amounts names no plant beverage: D.11 'Milk, buttermilk and milk-based drinks' is 250 mL, B.1 'non-carbonated beverages' is 375 mL; the milk row's 250 mL is used, as on most labels.
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.101 g | 0.25 g | 0.26 g | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #6330 | C |
| Calcium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 101 mg | 252.5 mg | 262.44 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 120 mg | 300 mg | 311.81 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| 113 mg | 282.5 mg | 293.62 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #6330 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 1.293 g | 3.23 g | 3.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Energy | 38.485 kcal | 96.21 kcal | – | FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| 33 kcal | 82.5 kcal | – | from SR Legacy · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C | |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fat | 2.125 g | 5.31 g | 5.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 1.6 g | 4 g | 4.16 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.314 g | 0.78 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.5 g | 1.25 g | 1.3 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Folate · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 19.69 µg | 49.23 µg | 51.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 14 µg | 35 µg | 36.38 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Iron · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.542 mg | 1.35 mg | 1.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.43 mg | 1.08 mg | 1.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Magnesium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 21.54 mg | 53.85 mg | 55.97 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 15 mg | 37.5 mg | 38.98 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 1.177 mg | 2.94 mg | 3.06 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #6330 | C |
| Phosphorus · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 68.65 mg | 171.63 mg | 178.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 48 mg | 120 mg | 124.72 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Potassium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 158.2 mg | 395.5 mg | 411.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 74 mg | 185 mg | 192.28 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Protein | 3.547 g | 8.87 g | 9.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 2.4 g | 6 g | 6.24 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.084 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.2 mg | 0.5 mg | 0.52 mg | second database · not used · 2.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Selenium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 1.942 µg | 4.86 µg | 5.05 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 4 µg | 10 µg | 10.39 µg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Sodium | 34.28 mg | 85.7 mg | 89.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Sugars | 0.41 g | 1.03 g | 1.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| 0.2 g | 0.5 g | 0.52 g | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.063 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.06 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Vitamin A · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 58.2 µg | 145.5 µg | 151.23 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Vitamin B12 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.393 µg | 0.98 µg | 1.02 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.4 µg | 1 µg | 1.04 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.055 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Vitamin C · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Vitamin D · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.681 µg | 1.7 µg | 1.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.8 µg | 2 µg | 2.08 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Vitamin E · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.156 mg | 0.39 mg | 0.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.32 mg | 0.8 mg | 0.83 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Water | 92.4 g | 231 g | 240.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 93 g | 232.5 g | 241.65 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Zinc · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.312 mg | 0.78 mg | 0.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.75 mg | 0.78 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Copper · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.108 mg | 0.27 mg | 0.28 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.09 mg | 0.23 mg | 0.23 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 38.485 kcal | 96.21 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 38.485 kcal | 96.21 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Nitrogen | 0.568 g | 1.42 g | 1.47 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Ash | 0.635 g | 1.59 g | 1.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.557 g | 1.39 g | 1.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Glucose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Energy | 138 kj | 345 kj | 358.58 kj | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 0.557 g | 1.39 g | 1.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Raffinose | 0.067 g | 0.17 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Stachyose | 0.434 g | 1.09 g | 1.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Total fat (NLEA) | 1.884 g | 4.71 g | 4.9 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Molybdenum, Mo | 58.38 µg | 145.95 µg | 151.7 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 207 iu | 517.5 iu | 537.87 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 27.2 iu | 68 iu | 70.68 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) | 0.681 µg | 1.7 µg | 1.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Carotene, gamma | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Zeaxanthin | 7.259 µg | 18.15 µg | 18.86 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 1.42 mg | 3.55 mg | 3.69 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.874 mg | 2.19 mg | 2.27 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| cis-beta-Carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| cis-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| cis-Lutein/Zeaxanthin | 0.966 µg | 2.41 µg | 2.51 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Biotin | 3.338 µg | 8.35 µg | 8.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.046 g | 0.12 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Threonine | 0.128 g | 0.32 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.145 g | 0.36 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Leucine | 0.249 g | 0.62 g | 0.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Lysine | 0.221 g | 0.55 g | 0.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Methionine | 0.046 g | 0.12 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.175 g | 0.44 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.124 g | 0.31 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Valine | 0.142 g | 0.35 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Arginine | 0.269 g | 0.67 g | 0.7 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Histidine | 0.098 g | 0.24 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Alanine | 0.139 g | 0.35 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.396 g | 0.99 g | 1.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 0.619 g | 1.55 g | 1.61 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Glycine | 0.141 g | 0.35 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Proline | 0.137 g | 0.34 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Serine | 0.168 g | 0.42 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Cysteine | 0.058 g | 0.14 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.004 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.218 g | 0.55 g | 0.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.073 g | 0.18 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.101 g | 0.25 g | 0.26 g | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #6330 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.007 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 14:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.416 g | 1.04 g | 1.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.154 g | 2.89 g | 3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.002 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.002 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 0.409 g | 1.02 g | 1.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.988 g | 2.47 g | 2.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:2 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 11:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Daidzein | 0.457 mg | 1.14 mg | 1.19 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Genistein | 0.38 mg | 0.95 mg | 0.99 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.166 g | 0.42 g | 0.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-9 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 5:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 7:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 9:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 21:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| SFA 23:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 12:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 c | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 20:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 n-9 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 n-11 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 c | 0.988 g | 2.47 g | 2.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 c | 0.166 g | 0.42 g | 0.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| TFA 18:3 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:4c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:5c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| trans-beta-Carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| trans-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Daidzin | 12.91 mg | 32.28 mg | 33.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Genistin | 18.81 mg | 47.03 mg | 48.88 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Glycitin | 1.365 mg | 3.41 mg | 3.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Verbascose | 0.026 g | 0.07 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Iodine · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 1 µg | 2.5 µg | 2.6 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 8.225 µg | 20.56 µg | 21.37 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| Manganese · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.208 mg | 0.52 mg | 0.54 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.25 mg | 0.63 mg | 0.65 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.236 mg | 0.59 mg | 0.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.25 mg | 0.26 mg | second database · not used · 2.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-524 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.082 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.21 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175215 | C |
| Retinol · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 58.23 µg | 145.58 µg | 151.31 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999630 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zhao, Martin & Weaver 2005: calcium-carbonate-fortified soymilk (intrinsically labelled with 44Ca), 250 mg Ca load, young women CC-fortified; the most popular soymilk in the U.S. per the authors · commercial-type soymilk fortified with calcium carbonate, labelled with 44Ca at the manufacturing facility; flavour, sugar content and brand not stated in the abstract abstract only | Calcium | 21.1 % | 250 mg | 20 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Zhao, Martin & Weaver 2005: tricalcium-phosphate-fortified soymilk (intrinsically labelled), 250 mg Ca load, young women TCP-fortified · soymilk fortified with tricalcium phosphate, labelled at the manufacturing facility abstract only | Calcium | 18.1 % | 250 mg | 20 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Heaney et al. 2000: intrinsically labelled calcium-fortified soy milk relative to cow milk, 300 mg Ca load, men not stated in the abstract · a fortified soy 'imitation milk' (brand and fortificant salt not given in the abstract), light breakfast abstract only | Calcium | – | 300 mg | 16 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2008 tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg a week. At 0.465 µg/g (10 yearly composites), about 150,538 g of soy drink in a week (about 150 L), eaten alone, would reach it. A 250 g serving carries 116 µg, 0.17% of the weekly limit. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Arsenic, all forms · Context · Shown as context, not rated: the Total Diet Study mean of 2.451 ng/g (10 yearly composites, 0.613 µg per 250 g serving) is total arsenic, not the toxic form, and the inorganic arsenic that health limits apply to is not reported for this food. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 4.3% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2017 group tolerable daily intake for deoxynivalenol is 1 µg/kg body weight/day, 70 µg a day, with an acute reference dose of 8 µg/kg body weight per eating occasion, 560 µg. At the highest value found, 2.0 µg/kg (retail drinks in Riga and Kaunas), 35,000 g a day would reach the daily limit and 280,000 g in a sitting the acute one; a serving at that maximum carries 0.5 µg, 0.7%. This is a European maximum, not a Canadian mean, and a German survey found lower values (maximum 0.17 µg/L). · Pavlenko 2024 · B
- Glyphosate residues · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's acceptable daily intake for glyphosate is 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day, 35,000 µg a day at 70 kg. At the CFIA lower-bound mean of 0.102 µg/kg (50 samples, 1 detected, maximum 5.1 µg/kg), about 343,137,255 g of soy drink a day would reach it, an upper bound, and 6,862,745 g at the detected maximum. A serving carries 0.03 µg at the mean. · CFIA 2015–2017 · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for lead; EFSA's 2010 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01) of 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day. Judged by what a serving adds to the average adult's intake (EFSA 2012: 0.40-0.59 µg/kg body weight/day, 28-41 µg a day at 70 kg), a 250 g serving at the Total Diet Study mean of 0.9093 ng/g (10 yearly composites) carries 0.23 µg, about 0.6-0.8%, far under the doubling line. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Soy and levothyroxine · Worth knowing · Flagged for people on levothyroxine: the US label says soybean flour, among other foods, may bind the drug and decrease its absorption. It names soybean flour and soy-based infant formula rather than soy drink, so the effect here is by extension, and the label gives no quantity. · SYNTHROID · A
- Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg a day. At 0.174 µg/g (10 yearly composites), about 5,230 g a day (about 5 L), eaten alone, would reach it. A 250 g serving carries 43.5 µg, 4.8% of the daily limit; soy is nickel-rich by nature, and the lower threshold for nickel-sensitised people is a separate question not rated here. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe limit is set for ochratoxin A; EFSA's 2020 reference point is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day. A 250 g serving at the CFIA lower-bound mean of 0.005196 ng/g (102 samples, 4 detected) adds 0.0013 µg (0.019 ng/kg body weight), and 0.05 µg at the highest sample, 0.202 ng/g. The share of the average adult's intake was not worked out. · CFIA ochratoxin A survey (2012–2022) · A
- Oxalate for kidney-stone formers · Context · Shown as context, not rated: no agency sets an intake limit for oxalate. The one figure found is 4.4 mg/100 mL (11 mg for a 250 mL serving), relayed in a 2021 review for a drink that is only 62% soy milk, so a plain fortified drink may differ. For comparison the dry soybean is 277 mg/100 g, so the drink is far lower per serving. · Siener 2021 · C
- Plant-based drinks under 2 years · Worth knowing · Flagged for children under two: Canadian paediatric and dietitian bodies advise that soy and other plant beverages, fortified or not, are not appropriate alternatives to cow's milk in the first two years. The source is a 2017 news release from the Canadian Paediatric Society and Dietitians of Canada. · Canadian Paediatric Society 2017 · B
- Selenium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2023 tolerable upper intake level for selenium is 255 µg a day (Health Canada's is 400 µg). A 250 g serving carries 4.9 µg on the USDA listing, 1.9% of EFSA's level; about 13,100 g a day, eaten alone, would reach it. Health Canada's Total Diet Study measured less in fortified soy beverage (2 µg a serving). · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) · C
- Soy allergy · Worth knowing · Flagged for people with a soy allergy: soy is a Health Canada priority allergen, and soy beverages are labelled as containing soy. No intake limit applies. · Health Canada, Soy - A priority food allergen · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap gos: GOS 0.269 g/100 g as sold = 0.67 g in a 250 g serving; fructan not measured; Varney 2017 oligosaccharide cut-off for legume products is < 0.30 g per serve, so the serving is above it on GOS alone (indicative: Varney's serve is not the Health Canada serve) g/100 g (raffinose 0.0389 + stachyose 0.2300) · as sold (retail soy beverage, Italy) · commercial soy beverage ('soy milk'), brand, fortification and sweetening not stated · grade B · Natale 2025
Sources
- CFIA, 2015-2017 Glyphosate Testing Data, open.canada.ca dataset 906cd35c-d396-4999-9a9f-f5351796661f (resource 11318cc2-f9ef-4774-8b54-4716c18cc340)
cfia-glyphosate-2015-2017· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada - CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Ochratoxin A in Selected Foods, 2012-2018 and 2019-2022
cfia-ota-2012-2022· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada 2.0 (as for the other CFIA datasets; not checked on this page) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Canadian Paediatric Society / Dietitians of Canada, 'Dietitians, pediatricians advise parents to exercise caution with plant-based beverages' (news release, 2017)
cps-plant-beverages-2017· secondary source · licence not recorded - SYNTHROID (levothyroxine sodium) tablet, label, DailyMed set id 1e11ad30-1041-4520-10b0-8f9d30d30fcc, published 2024-02-29
dailymed-synthroid· page · US government label text (DailyMed) - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Soy - A priority food allergen (page modified 2017-09-11)
hc-soy-priority-allergen· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Natale A, Fiori F, et al. Quantification of naturally occurring prebiotics in selected foods. Nutrients 2025 (doi 10.3390/nu17040683) · PMID 40005011
natale-2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field, PMC11858256) - Pavlenko R, Berzina Z, Reinholds I, Bartkiene E, Bartkevics V. An Occurrence Study of Mycotoxins in Plant-Based Beverages Using Liquid Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry. Toxins 2024;16(1):53 · doi:10.3390/toxins16010053 · PMID 38251269
pavlenko2024-mycotoxins-plant-drinks· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Heaney RP, Dowell MS, Rafferty K, Bierman J. Bioavailability of the calcium in fortified soy imitation milk, with some observations on method. Am J Clin Nutr 2000;71:1166-9 · doi:10.1093/ajcn/71.5.1166 · PMID 10799379
pmid:10799379· abstract only · licence not recorded - Zhao Y, Martin BR, Weaver CM. Calcium bioavailability of calcium carbonate fortified soymilk is equivalent to cow's milk in young women. J Nutr 2005;135:2379-82 · doi:10.1093/jn/135.10.2379 · PMID 16177199
pmid:16177199· abstract only · licence not recorded - Siener R. Nutrition and kidney stone disease. Nutrients 2021;13(6):1917 (secondary table; sesame value attributed to Hönow & Hesse 2002, Food Chem 78:511-521) · doi:10.3390/nu13061917
siener2021-kidney-stones· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI; not checked on the page)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.