FoodtopsyFrançais
A block of firm mozzarella with two slices

Mozzarella, part-skim

Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 1 slice) · 89 kcal

Lots of calcium and vitamin B12.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: tyramine and MAO inhibitors.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (30 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

20 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.04 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 140,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 41,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.6% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.2 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.6 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 0–1.1 g per 100 g, so about 0–0.34 g in a 30 g serving. · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods), US food database (USDA SR Legacy), Canadian Nutrient File 2026 · grade B

  • Oxalate: 2 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list · grade C

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Not measured in this food yet. Mozzarella is not named. Low-moisture mozzarella is firm, fresh mozzarella is soft; Health Canada does not say which list either belongs on

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other dairy foods we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More calcium

  • Parmesan355 mg in 30 g (this food: 208 mg)

More vitamin B12

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other dairy foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

1 food out of the 4 other dairy foods we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

Skim milk would lead this list, but it’s left out (portions too different to compare by weight).

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Skim milk (portions too different to compare by weight).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Mozzarella cheese, low-moisture, part-skim

How the serving was set: 30 g (Health Canada D.1, cheese)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.071 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Calcium693 mg207.9 mg232.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
837 mg251.1 mg280.87 mgsecond database · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #111C
Carbohydrate4.44 g1.33 g1.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Choline13.5 mg4.05 mg4.53 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Energy298 kcal89.4 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0.006 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fat20.4 g6.12 g6.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Cholesterol65 mg19.5 mg21.81 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fatty acids, total saturated11.7 g3.51 g3.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fibre0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Folate26 µg7.8 µg8.72 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Iron0.2 mg0.06 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Magnesium27.2 mg8.16 mg9.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)7.477 mg2.24 mg2.51 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #111C
Phosphorus533 mg159.9 mg178.86 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Potassium116 mg34.8 mg38.93 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Protein23.7 g7.11 g7.95 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Riboflavin (B2)0.36 mg0.11 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Selenium26.7 µg8.01 µg8.96 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Sodium699 mg209.7 mg234.56 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Sugars1.9 g0.57 g0.64 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Thiamin (B1)0.023 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin A203 µg60.9 µg68.12 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin B121.65 µg0.5 µg0.55 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin B60.09 mg0.03 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin D0.1 µg0.03 µg0.03 µglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #111C
0.4 µg0.12 µg0.13 µgsecond database · not used · 4×US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin E0.51 mg0.15 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin K11.3 µg0.39 µg0.44 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Water47.7 g14.31 g16.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Zinc3.62 mg1.09 mg1.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene51 µg15.3 µg17.11 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Copper0.035 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Energy (Atwater general)296 kcal88.8 kcal99.33 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Energy (Atwater specific)298 kcal89.4 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Nitrogen3.71 g1.11 g1.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Ash3.79 g1.14 g1.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Glucose0.3 g0.09 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fructose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Energy1,240 kj372 kj416.11 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Sugars, Total1.81 g0.54 g0.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Galactose0.86 g0.26 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Total fat (NLEA)17.8 g5.34 g5.97 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin A, IU829 iu248.7 iu278.19 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units15 iu4.5 iu5.03 iusecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0.4 µg0.12 µg0.13 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocopherol, gamma0.04 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)5.4 µg1.62 µg1.81 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Folate, food27 µg8.1 µg9.06 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Folate, DFE27 µg8.1 µg9.06 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Choline, free2.1 mg0.63 mg0.7 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Choline, from phosphocholine0.5 mg0.15 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Choline, from phosphotidyl choline4.8 mg1.44 mg1.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Choline, from glycerophosphocholine2.6 mg0.78 mg0.87 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Betaine0.2 mg0.06 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Choline, from sphingomyelin3.6 mg1.08 mg1.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Tryptophan0.551 g0.17 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Threonine1.053 g0.32 g0.35 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Isoleucine1.216 g0.36 g0.41 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Leucine1.956 g0.59 g0.66 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Lysine1.034 g0.31 g0.35 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Methionine0.551 g0.17 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Cystine0.124 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Phenylalanine1.083 g0.32 g0.36 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Tyrosine1.117 g0.34 g0.37 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Valine1.416 g0.42 g0.48 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Arginine0.551 g0.17 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Histidine0.551 g0.17 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Alanine0.757 g0.23 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Aspartic acid1.749 g0.52 g0.59 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Glutamic acid4.776 g1.43 g1.6 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Glycine0.551 g0.17 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Proline2.519 g0.76 g0.85 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Serine0.787 g0.24 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Fatty acids, total trans0.705 g0.21 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 4:00.396 g0.12 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 6:00.334 g0.1 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 8:00.209 g0.06 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 10:00.509 g0.15 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 12:00.583 g0.17 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 14:01.89 g0.57 g0.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 16:05.39 g1.62 g1.81 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 18:02.01 g0.6 g0.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 20:00.028 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 18:14.59 g1.38 g1.54 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
PUFA 18:20.731 g0.22 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
PUFA 18:30.071 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
PUFA 20:40.032 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 22:00.008 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 14:10.186 g0.06 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
MUFA 16:10.309 g0.09 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 20:10.038 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0.006 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0.012 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated4.65 g1.4 g1.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.744 g0.22 g0.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 15:00.199 g0.06 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 17:00.121 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 24:00.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
TFA 16:1 t0.061 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
TFA 18:1 t0.504 g0.15 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
TFA 22:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.14 g0.04 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0.102 g0.03 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 24:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 16:1 c0.265 g0.08 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 18:1 c4.11 g1.23 g1.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c0.489 g0.15 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 22:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 17:10.038 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:30.022 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.565 g0.17 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fatty acids, total trans-dienoic0.14 g0.04 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.138 g0.04 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 22:20.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
SFA 11:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.075 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:3 n-30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:3 n-60.022 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:3i0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 22:40.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:3 n-90 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 14:1 c0.194 g0.06 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 17:1 c0.038 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
MUFA 20:1 c0.038 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:2 c0.591 g0.18 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 18:3 c0.076 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:3 c0.022 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:4c0.032 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:5c0.006 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 22:5 c0.012 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 22:6 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
PUFA 20:2 c0.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Lactose0.66 g0.2 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171244C
Manganese0.035 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.101 mg0.03 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.415 mg0.12 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C
Retinol203 µg60.9 µg68.12 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #329370C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Listeria · Not rated yet · Mozzarella is not named. Low-moisture mozzarella is firm, fresh mozzarella is soft; Health Canada does not say which list either belongs on · Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food… · A
  • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Nothing to watch: under the limit · Label lists mozzarella as acceptable (little or no tyramine) · PARNATE · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • lactose: 0.66 g/100 g · as sold, fresh weight · as sold · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
  • lactose: range 2310–5165 mg/kg (± 1200 standard deviation; range 2310-5165) · as sold · Mozzarella di Bufala Campana PDO (fresh, positive control) · grade A · Facioni 2021
  • lactose: 1.12 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, mozzarella · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
  • oxalate total: rated Low (L) mg/100 g · as eaten (basis not stated) · not stated · grade C · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.