
Swiss cheese
Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 1 slice) · 118 kcal
Lots of vitamin B12 and calcium.
A lot per serving: saturated and trans fat. Nothing else to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: Listeria; tyramine and MAO inhibitors.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (30 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.91 µg in one serving: 38% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
267 mg in one serving: 27% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
8.1 g in one serving: 14% of the 56 g a day men need, 18% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
9.03 µg in one serving: 16% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.31 mg in one serving: 12% of the 11 mg a day men need, 16% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
87.6 µg in one serving: 10% of the 900 µg a day men need, 13% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 8% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
1.05 mg in one serving: 7% of the 16 mg a day men need, 8% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
10 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 3% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
38.7 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.18 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
2.7 mg in one serving: 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
4.14 mg in one serving: 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
2.7 µg in one serving: 1% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
21.3 mg in one serving: 1% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 1% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.42 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 1% of the 8 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0.03 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.04 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 140,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 41,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.6% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.2 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B
For some people
Swiss is named by Health Canada as a firm cheese that may be eaten uncooked when made from pasteurized milk; uncooked cheese made from unpasteurized milk is to be avoided
Aged cheese category; Swiss is not named on the label; no Swiss tyramine measurement found
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sodium and saturated fat
One 30 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 56 mg (2%) · saturated and trans fat 5.8 g (29%)
Learn more
We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.
Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Oxalate: 2 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list · grade C
We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For vitamin B12: no other dairy foods we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
For calcium: no other dairy foods we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
None of the 4 other dairy foods we could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Mozzarella, part-skim- 89 kcal in 30 g (this food: 118)
- Less vitamin B12 (0.5 µg vs 0.91 µg)
Feta- 82 kcal in 30 g (this food: 118)
- Less vitamin B12 (0.51 µg vs 0.91 µg)
- Less calcium (111 mg vs 267 mg)
2 foods out of the 4 other dairy foods we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
None of the 12 other dairy foods we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Swiss cheese
How the serving was set: 30 g (Health Canada D.1, cheese)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.129 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Calcium | 890 mg | 267 mg | 226.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 1,025 mg | 307.5 mg | 260.81 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| 687 mg | 206.1 mg | 174.81 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #47 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 1.44 g | 0.43 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Choline | 13.8 mg | 4.14 mg | 3.51 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Energy | 393 kcal | 117.9 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fat | 31 g | 9.3 g | 7.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 30.9 g | 9.27 g | 7.86 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 93 mg | 27.9 mg | 23.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 18.2 g | 5.46 g | 4.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Folate | 9 µg | 2.7 µg | 2.29 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 23 µg | 6.9 µg | 5.85 µg | second database · not used · 2.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Iron | 0.13 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used · 2.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Magnesium | 33.4 mg | 10.02 mg | 8.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 38 mg | 11.4 mg | 9.67 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 3.516 mg | 1.05 mg | 0.89 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #47 | C |
| Phosphorus | 574 mg | 172.2 mg | 146.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 637 mg | 191.1 mg | 162.09 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Potassium | 71 mg | 21.3 mg | 18.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 87 mg | 26.1 mg | 22.14 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Protein | 27 g | 8.1 g | 6.87 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 30.2 g | 9.06 g | 7.68 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.303 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Selenium | 30.1 µg | 9.03 µg | 7.66 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 5 µg | 1.5 µg | 1.27 µg | second database · not used · 6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Sodium | 185 mg | 55.5 mg | 47.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 187 mg | 56.1 mg | 47.58 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.011 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 292 µg | 87.6 µg | 74.3 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 3.02 µg | 0.91 µg | 0.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 4.1 µg | 1.23 µg | 1.04 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.07 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg | 0.03 µg | 0.03 µg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #47 | C |
| 0.3 µg | 0.09 µg | 0.08 µg | second database · not used · 3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.6 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.42 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.11 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 1.4 µg | 0.42 µg | 0.36 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Water | 37.6 g | 11.28 g | 9.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 35.3 g | 10.59 g | 8.98 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Zinc | 4.37 mg | 1.31 mg | 1.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 4.6 mg | 1.38 mg | 1.17 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 60 µg | 18 µg | 15.27 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 133 µg | 39.9 µg | 33.84 µg | second database · not used · 2.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Copper | 0.047 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.61 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.16 mg | second database · not used · 13× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Nitrogen | 4.23 g | 1.27 g | 1.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Ash | 2.97 g | 0.89 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Sucrose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Glucose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Energy | 1,640 kj | 492 kj | 417.3 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Total fat (NLEA) | 27.6 g | 8.28 g | 7.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 1,047 iu | 314.1 iu | 266.41 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | second database · not used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 2 µg | 0.6 µg | 0.51 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Lycopene | 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.25 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.08 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.13 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 6.3 µg | 1.89 µg | 1.6 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Folate, food | 10 µg | 3 µg | 2.54 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 10 µg | 3 µg | 2.54 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Choline, free | 3.3 mg | 0.99 mg | 0.84 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Choline, from phosphocholine | 0.1 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Choline, from phosphotidyl choline | 6 mg | 1.8 mg | 1.53 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Choline, from glycerophosphocholine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Betaine | 0.1 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Choline, from sphingomyelin | 4.4 mg | 1.32 mg | 1.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.401 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Threonine | 1.038 g | 0.31 g | 0.26 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.537 g | 0.46 g | 0.39 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Leucine | 2.959 g | 0.89 g | 0.75 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Lysine | 2.585 g | 0.78 g | 0.66 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Methionine | 0.784 g | 0.24 g | 0.2 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Cystine | 0.29 g | 0.09 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 1.662 g | 0.5 g | 0.42 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Tyrosine | 1.693 g | 0.51 g | 0.43 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Valine | 2.139 g | 0.64 g | 0.54 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Arginine | 0.927 g | 0.28 g | 0.24 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Histidine | 1.065 g | 0.32 g | 0.27 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Alanine | 0.914 g | 0.27 g | 0.23 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.569 g | 0.47 g | 0.4 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 5.704 g | 1.71 g | 1.45 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Glycine | 0.508 g | 0.15 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Proline | 3.69 g | 1.11 g | 0.94 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Serine | 1.64 g | 0.49 g | 0.42 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.993 g | 0.3 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.679 g | 0.2 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0.541 g | 0.16 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.326 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.766 g | 0.23 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.874 g | 0.26 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 2.92 g | 0.88 g | 0.74 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 8.34 g | 2.5 g | 2.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 3.18 g | 0.95 g | 0.81 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.044 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 7.06 g | 2.12 g | 1.8 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.086 g | 0.33 g | 0.28 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.129 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.046 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.014 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.297 g | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.565 g | 0.17 g | 0.14 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.06 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 7.26 g | 2.18 g | 1.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.14 g | 0.34 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.305 g | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.189 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.102 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.7 g | 0.21 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.191 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.163 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.464 g | 0.14 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 6.37 g | 1.91 g | 1.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.731 g | 0.22 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.063 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.035 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.802 g | 0.24 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-dienoic | 0.191 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.194 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171251 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 22:2 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| SFA 11:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.125 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.032 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-9 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 c | 0.299 g | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 c | 0.063 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 c | 0.06 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 c | 0.894 g | 0.27 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 c | 0.127 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 c | 0.035 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:4c | 0.046 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:5c | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 c | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 8 µg | 2.4 µg | 2.04 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Manganese | 0.027 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.06 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.352 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| Retinol | 287 µg | 86.1 µg | 73.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #326135 | C |
| 320 µg | 96 µg | 81.42 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-493 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Listeria · Worth knowing · Swiss is named by Health Canada as a firm cheese that may be eaten uncooked when made from pasteurized milk; uncooked cheese made from unpasteurized milk is to be avoided · Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food… · A
- Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Worth knowing · Aged cheese category; Swiss is not named on the label; no Swiss tyramine measurement found · PARNATE · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: hard cheeses n = 29: positive in 51.7%; among positives mean 73.4, median 65.1, P95 155, max 163 (the statistics exclude negative samples) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · hard cheeses (Parmigiano Reggiano, Grana Padano, cheddar, grated, Gruyere and others), Poland 2022 · grade B · Pawulgruba 2025
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as sold, fresh weight · as sold · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
- oxalate total: rated Low (L) mg/100 g · as eaten (basis not stated) · not stated · grade C · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list
- tyramine: hard cheeses n = 29: positive in 31.0%; among positives mean 50.3, median 14.2, P95 190, max 262 mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · hard cheeses, Poland 2022 · grade B · Pawulgruba 2025
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - PARNATE (tranylcypromine sulfate) tablet, film coated [Advanz Pharma (US) Corp.], DailyMed SPL set id b72d8187-dfcc-4ea0-b5e9-c0be95b69a27, version 11, published Jul 07, 2025, section 7.2 and Table 5
dailymed-parnate· full text read · Product label (manufacturer copyright) - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food poisoning (page details 2026-09-29)
hc-safer-food-choices· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list (web page, (c) 2026, no version date)
ohf-dairy-oxalate· page · not stated - Pawul-Gruba M, Denis E, Kiljanek T, Osek J. Prevalence of biogenic amines and their relation to the bacterial content in ripened cheeses on the retail market in Poland. Foods 2025;14:2478 · doi:10.3390/foods14142478 · PMID 40724300
pawulgruba2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI; licence line not re-checked)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.