FoodtopsyFrançais
A small glass bowl of cottage cheese

Cottage cheese

Checked by us One serving: 125 g (about ½ cup) · 131 kcal

Protein, plus vitamin B12 and selenium. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.

Nothing to watch for most people.

Worth knowing for some people: Listeria; tyramine and MAO inhibitors.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (125 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

18 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.03 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 650,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 875 g a week, which stays within the 190,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.19% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.14 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    One 125 g serving a day adds 0.39% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Pasteurized cottage cheese is listed as safer (pregnancy page); no flag when pasteurized

  • Label lists cottage cheese as acceptable (little or no tyramine)

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    3.3 g of sugar in a 125 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 2.7–3.1 g per 100 g, so about 3.34–3.88 g in a 125 g serving. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy), UK food tables (CoFID 2021), Canadian Nutrient File 2026 · grade B

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 125 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other dairy foods or breakfast foods we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin B12

More selenium

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For protein: Parmesan would lead, in the same 125 g, but is left out (portions too different to compare by weight).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other dairy foods or breakfast foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

2 foods out of the 8 other dairy foods or breakfast foods we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Skim milk
    • 43 kcal in 125 g (this food: 131)
    • Less protein (4.21 g vs 14.5 g)
    • Less selenium (3.88 µg vs 12.1 µg)
  • Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat
    • 74 kcal in 125 g (this food: 131)
    • More riboflavin (0.35 mg vs 0.2 mg)
  • Kefir, low-fat
    • 54 kcal in 125 g (this food: 131)
    • More vitamin A (214 µg vs 46.3 µg)
    • Less vitamin B12 (0.36 µg vs 0.83 µg)
    • Less protein (4.74 g vs 14.5 g)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Parmesan (portions too different to compare by weight).

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Cottage cheese, creamed, large or small curd

How the serving was set: 125 g (Health Canada D.2, cottage cheese)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.017 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Calcium88.27 mg110.34 mg84.41 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
127 mg158.75 mg121.44 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
83 mg103.75 mg79.37 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #25C
Carbohydrate4.6 g5.75 g4.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Choline18.4 mg23 mg17.6 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Energy104.574 kcal130.72 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
98 kcal122.5 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Fat4.225 g5.28 g4.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
6 g7.5 g5.74 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Cholesterol18 mg22.5 mg17.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Fatty acids, total saturated2.601 g3.25 g2.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Fibre0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Folate12 µg15 µg11.48 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
22 µg27.5 µg21.04 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Iron0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Magnesium9.189 mg11.49 mg8.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
13 mg16.25 mg12.43 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.549 mg3.19 mg2.44 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #25C
Phosphorus154 mg192.5 mg147.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
171 mg213.75 mg163.52 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Potassium123.6 mg154.5 mg118.19 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
161 mg201.25 mg153.96 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Protein11.624 g14.53 g11.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
9.4 g11.75 g8.99 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Riboflavin (B2)0.163 mg0.2 mg0.16 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
0.24 mg0.3 mg0.23 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Selenium9.7 µg12.13 µg9.28 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
4 µg5 µg3.83 µgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Sodium349.8 mg437.25 mg334.5 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
250 mg312.5 mg239.06 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Sugars2.67 g3.34 g2.55 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
3.1 g3.88 g2.96 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Thiamin (B1)0.052 mg0.07 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
0.05 mg0.06 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Vitamin A37 µg46.25 µg35.38 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin B120.662 µg0.83 µg0.63 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
0.6 µg0.75 µg0.57 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Vitamin B60.047 mg0.06 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
0.05 mg0.06 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin D0.1 µg0.13 µg0.1 µglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #25C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
0.1 µg0.13 µg0.1 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin E0.08 mg0.1 mg0.08 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
0.14 mg0.18 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Vitamin K10.2 µg0.25 µg0.19 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Water78.1 g97.63 g74.68 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
83.5 g104.38 g79.85 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Zinc0.454 mg0.57 mg0.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
0.6 mg0.75 mg0.57 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene12 µg15 µg11.48 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
18 µg22.5 µg17.21 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Copper0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Energy (Atwater general)102.921 kcal128.65 kcal98.42 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Energy (Atwater specific)104.574 kcal130.72 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Nitrogen1.822 g2.28 g1.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Ash1.451 g1.81 g1.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Glucose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Fructose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Energy412 kj515 kj393.98 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Fluoride, F31.6 µg39.5 µg30.22 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin A, IU140 iu175 iu133.88 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units3 iu3.75 iu2.87 iusecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0.1 µg0.13 µg0.1 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocopherol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Biotin2.28 µg2.85 µg2.18 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)1.3 µg1.63 µg1.24 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Folate, food12 µg15 µg11.48 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Folate, DFE12 µg15 µg11.48 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Betaine0.7 mg0.88 mg0.67 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tryptophan0.147 g0.18 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Threonine0.5 g0.63 g0.48 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Isoleucine0.591 g0.74 g0.57 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Leucine1.116 g1.4 g1.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Lysine0.934 g1.17 g0.89 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Methionine0.269 g0.34 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Cystine0.066 g0.08 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Phenylalanine0.577 g0.72 g0.55 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Tyrosine0.604 g0.76 g0.58 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Valine0.748 g0.94 g0.72 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Arginine0.497 g0.62 g0.48 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Histidine0.326 g0.41 g0.31 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Alanine0.384 g0.48 g0.37 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Aspartic acid0.905 g1.13 g0.87 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Glutamic acid2.603 g3.25 g2.49 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Glycine0.222 g0.28 g0.21 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Proline1.229 g1.54 g1.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Serine0.639 g0.8 g0.61 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 4:00.109 g0.14 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 6:00.025 g0.03 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 8:00.023 g0.03 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 10:00.064 g0.08 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 12:00.136 g0.17 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
SFA 14:00.424 g0.53 g0.41 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
SFA 16:01.227 g1.53 g1.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
SFA 18:00.383 g0.48 g0.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
MUFA 18:10.714 g0.89 g0.68 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 18:20.105 g0.13 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 18:30.017 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
MUFA 14:10.017 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
MUFA 16:10.047 g0.06 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.916 g1.15 g0.88 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.123 g0.15 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 15:00.029 g0.04 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
SFA 17:00.012 g0.02 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c0.097 g0.12 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Iodine45.69 µg57.11 µg43.69 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
24 µg30 µg22.95 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Lactose2.67 g3.34 g2.55 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
3.1 g3.88 g2.96 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
Manganese0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.138 mg0.17 mg0.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
0.2 mg0.25 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.557 mg0.7 mg0.53 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172179C
0.3 mg0.38 mg0.29 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C
Retinol36.5 µg45.63 µg34.9 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346384C
64 µg80 µg61.2 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-539C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.19% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · One 125 g serving a day adds 0.39% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Listeria · Worth knowing · Pasteurized cottage cheese is listed as safer (pregnancy page); no flag when pasteurized · Health Canada, Safe food handling for pregnant people · A
  • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Nothing to watch: under the limit · Label lists cottage cheese as acceptable (little or no tyramine) · PARNATE · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • lactose: 2.67 g/100 g · as sold, fresh weight · as sold · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • lactose: 3.1 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, cottage, plain · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • lactose: 2.67 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, cottage · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
  • oxalate total: rated Low (L) mg/100 g · as eaten (basis not stated) · not stated · grade C · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.