FoodtopsyFrançais
A block of feta with a few crumbs

Feta

Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 2 one-inch cubes) · 82 kcal

Lots of vitamin B12.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: Listeria.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (30 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for histamine, cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Histamine

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 63 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.8 mg

    How we got this

    1,900 g in one meal reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    0.8 mg per 30 g serving at this level, 1.6% of EFSA's 50 mg per meal for healthy adults: no flag for healthy adults. People with histamine intolerance, and people taking isoniazid, whose label says to avoid histamine-containing foods such as tuna, keep a separate flag.

    Buňková L, Riemel J, Purevdorj K, Vinter Š, Míšková Z, Jančová P. Biogenic Amines in White Brined Cheeses. Foods 2025;14(3):369 · grade A

    Every food with histamine

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.04 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 140,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 41,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.6% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.2 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Uncooked feta: avoid even if pasteurized (named); cooked, in a casserole or au gratin, is acceptable

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 0–1.4 g per 100 g, so about 0.009–0.42 g in a 30 g serving. · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods), Canadian Nutrient File 2026, UK food tables (CoFID 2021) · grade B

  • Oxalate: 2 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list · grade C

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Not measured in this food yet. Feta is brined, not described as aged, and is not named on the label; measured tyramine in three counter-sold feta samples was 122.7-380.4 mg/kg

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other dairy foods we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin B12

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other dairy foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Swiss cheese
    • More vitamin B12 (0.91 µg vs 0.51 µg)
    • More calcium (267 mg vs 111 mg)
  • Cheddar
    • More niacin (2.75 mg vs 0.79 mg)
    • More calcium (212 mg vs 111 mg)

2 foods out of the 4 other dairy foods we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Parmesan
    • More calcium (355 mg vs 111 mg)
    • More niacin (2.49 mg vs 0.79 mg)

1 food out of the 4 other dairy foods we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Feta cheese, whole milk

How the serving was set: 30 g (Health Canada D.1, cheese)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.265 g0.08 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Calcium371.1 mg111.33 mg135.7 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
360 mg108 mg131.64 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
399 mg119.7 mg145.9 mgsecond database · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #108C
Carbohydrate5.583 g1.67 g2.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Choline15.4 mg4.62 mg5.63 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Energy273.472 kcal82.04 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
265 kcal79.5 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Fat19.08 g5.72 g6.98 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
20.2 g6.06 g7.39 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Cholesterol57.52 mg17.26 mg21.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Fatty acids, total saturated11.17 g3.35 g4.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Fibre0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Folate32 µg9.6 µg11.7 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
23 µg6.9 µg8.41 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Iron0.068 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.2 mg0.06 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not used · 3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Magnesium17.69 mg5.31 mg6.47 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
20 mg6 mg7.31 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.643 mg0.79 mg0.97 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #108C
Phosphorus327.6 mg98.28 mg119.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
280 mg84 mg102.39 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Potassium105.3 mg31.59 mg38.5 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
95 mg28.5 mg34.74 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Protein19.708 g5.91 g7.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
15.6 g4.68 g5.7 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Riboflavin (B2)0.444 mg0.13 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.21 mg0.06 mg0.08 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Selenium15 µg4.5 µg5.49 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
5 µg1.5 µg1.83 µgsecond database · not used · 3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Sodium1,034 mg310.2 mg378.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
1,000 mg300 mg365.67 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Sugars0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
1.5 g0.45 g0.55 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Thiamin (B1)0.056 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.04 mg0.01 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Vitamin A125 µg37.5 µg45.71 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Vitamin B121.69 µg0.51 µg0.62 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
1.1 µg0.33 µg0.4 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Vitamin B60.038 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.07 mg0.02 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Vitamin D0.1 µg0.03 µg0.04 µglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #108C
0.5 µg0.15 µg0.18 µgsecond database · not used · 5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin E0.18 mg0.05 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
0.37 mg0.11 mg0.14 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Vitamin K11.2 µg0.36 µg0.44 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Water51.89 g15.57 g18.97 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
56.5 g16.95 g20.66 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Zinc2.353 mg0.71 mg0.86 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.9 mg0.27 mg0.33 mgsecond database · not used · 2.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene3 µg0.9 µg1.1 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Copper0.032 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.07 mg0.02 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Energy (Atwater general)272.884 kcal81.87 kcal99.78 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Energy (Atwater specific)273.472 kcal82.04 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Nitrogen3.089 g0.93 g1.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Ash3.739 g1.12 g1.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Glucose0.586 g0.18 g0.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Fructose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Energy1,107 kj332.1 kj404.79 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Sugars, Total1.626 g0.49 g0.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Galactose0.429 g0.13 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin A, IU422 iu126.6 iu154.31 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iusecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol)0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Biotin0.464 µg0.14 µg0.17 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)4.8 µg1.44 µg1.76 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Folate, food32 µg9.6 µg11.7 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Folate, DFE32 µg9.6 µg11.7 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Tryptophan0.2 g0.06 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Threonine0.637 g0.19 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Isoleucine0.803 g0.24 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Leucine1.395 g0.42 g0.51 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Lysine1.219 g0.37 g0.45 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Methionine0.368 g0.11 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Cystine0.083 g0.02 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Phenylalanine0.675 g0.2 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Tyrosine0.668 g0.2 g0.24 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Valine1.065 g0.32 g0.39 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Arginine0.47 g0.14 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Histidine0.397 g0.12 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Alanine0.639 g0.19 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Aspartic acid0.779 g0.23 g0.28 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Glutamic acid2.421 g0.73 g0.89 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Glycine0.097 g0.03 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Proline1.378 g0.41 g0.5 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Serine1.169 g0.35 g0.43 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
SFA 4:00.404 g0.12 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 6:00.334 g0.1 g0.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 8:00.503 g0.15 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
SFA 10:00.481 g0.14 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 12:00.545 g0.16 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 14:01.797 g0.54 g0.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 16:05.313 g1.59 g1.94 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
SFA 18:01.741 g0.52 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
MUFA 18:13.975 g1.19 g1.45 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 18:20.326 g0.1 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 18:30.265 g0.08 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
MUFA 16:10.385 g0.12 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated4.184 g1.26 g1.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.591 g0.18 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
MUFA 16:1 c0.285 g0.09 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
MUFA 18:1 c3.663 g1.1 g1.34 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c0.424 g0.13 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Iodine48.44 µg14.53 µg17.71 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Lactose0.61 g0.18 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
1.4 g0.42 g0.51 gsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
Manganese0.02 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.264 mg0.08 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
0.2 mg0.06 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.967 mg0.29 mg0.35 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173420C
0.36 mg0.11 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not used · 2.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C
Retinol146.9 µg44.07 µg53.72 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2259796C
220 µg66 µg80.45 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-525C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: cheese (pig) animal study

Feta (Dodoni); variant of cheese · Cut into 0.2 cm pieces · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein97.6 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · 0.8 mg per 30 g serving at this level, 1.6% of EFSA's 50 mg per meal for healthy adults: no flag for healthy adults. People with histamine intolerance, and people taking isoniazid, whose label says to avoid histamine-containing foods such as tuna, keep a separate flag. · Whitebrined 2025 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Listeria · Worth knowing · Uncooked feta: avoid even if pasteurized (named); cooked, in a casserole or au gratin, is acceptable · Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food… · A
  • Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Not rated yet · Feta is brined, not described as aged, and is not named on the label; measured tyramine in three counter-sold feta samples was 122.7-380.4 mg/kg · PARNATE · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • histamine: 26.76 (standard deviation 2.11), ND, ND (n = 3 counter-sold feta) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · feta, counter-sold · grade A · Whitebrined 2025
  • lactose: 0.61 g/100 g · as sold, fresh weight · as sold · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
  • lactose: 0.03 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, feta · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
  • lactose: 1.4 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, Feta · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • oxalate total: rated Low (L) mg/100 g · as eaten (basis not stated) · not stated · grade C · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list
  • tyramine: 380.43 (standard deviation 21.90), 122.71 (9.57), 133.25 (10.99) (n = 3) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · feta, counter-sold · grade A · Whitebrined 2025

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.