
Cheddar
Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 1 slice) · 122 kcal
Lots of calcium.
A lot per serving: saturated and trans fat. Nothing else to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: Listeria; tyramine and MAO inhibitors.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (30 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
212 mg in one serving: 21% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
21 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
6.99 g in one serving: 12% of the 56 g a day men need, 15% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.75 mg in one serving: 17% of the 16 mg a day men need, 20% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
8.49 µg in one serving: 15% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.32 µg in one serving: 13% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
94.8 µg in one serving: 11% of the 900 µg a day men need, 14% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.13 mg in one serving: 10% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 12% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.1 mg in one serving: 10% of the 11 mg a day men need, 14% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
34.2 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 3% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
8.04 mg in one serving: 2% of the 400 mg a day men need, 3% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
6.3 µg in one serving: 2% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.23 mg in one serving: 2% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
3.3 mg in one serving: 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
4.95 mg in one serving: 1% of the 550 mg a day men need, 1% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.01 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 1% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
23.1 mg in one serving: 1% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 1% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.72 µg in one serving: 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0.06 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.05 mg in one serving: 1% of the 8 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Histamine
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 8.3 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 6.1 mg
How we got this
250 g in one meal reaches the limit
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
6.1 mg per 30 g serving at this level, 12.2% of EFSA's 50 mg per meal for healthy adults: no flag for healthy adults. People with histamine intolerance, and people taking isoniazid, whose label says to avoid histamine-containing foods such as tuna, keep a separate flag.
Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2021, Nutrients 13:1395, Table 1 (histamine) · grade B
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.04 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 140,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 41,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.6% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.2 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
Pasteurized cheddar is listed as a safer cheese; uncooked cheese made from unpasteurized milk is to be avoided
Label tells monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) patients to avoid 'Aged cheeses'; cheddar is not named, and cheddar ranges from mild to extra old, so the flag applies to aged cheddar
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sodium and saturated fat
One 30 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 196 mg (9%) · saturated and trans fat 6.1 g (31%)
Learn more
We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.
Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)
Sugar
0.1 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Lactose: 0.1–0.2 g per 100 g, so about 0.018–0.048 g in a 30 g serving. · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods), Canadian Nutrient File 2026, UK food tables (CoFID 2021), US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · grade B
Oxalate: 2 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list · grade C
We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More calcium
Parmesan355 mg in 30 g (this food: 212 mg)
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other dairy foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Swiss cheese- More vitamin B12 (0.91 µg vs 0.32 µg)
- Less niacin (1.05 mg vs 2.75 mg)
1 food out of the 4 other dairy foods we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Mozzarella, part-skim89 kcal in 30 g (this food: 122)
ParmesanMore calcium (355 mg vs 212 mg)
Feta- 82 kcal in 30 g (this food: 122)
- Less niacin (0.79 mg vs 2.75 mg)
- Less calcium (111 mg vs 212 mg)
None of the 12 other dairy foods we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Cheddar cheese
How the serving was set: 30 g (Health Canada D.1, cheese, including cream cheese and cheese spread)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.114 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Calcium | 707 mg | 212.1 mg | 173.28 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 739 mg | 221.7 mg | 181.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| 800 mg | 240 mg | 196.08 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #119 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 2.44 g | 0.73 g | 0.6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Choline | 16.5 mg | 4.95 mg | 4.04 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Energy | 408 kcal | 122.4 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.011 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fat | 34 g | 10.2 g | 8.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 34.9 g | 10.47 g | 8.55 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 100 mg | 30 mg | 24.51 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 19.2 g | 5.76 g | 4.71 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Folate | 21 µg | 6.3 µg | 5.15 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 31 µg | 9.3 µg | 7.6 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Iron | 0.16 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Magnesium | 26.8 mg | 8.04 mg | 6.57 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 29 mg | 8.7 mg | 7.11 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 9.178 mg | 2.75 mg | 2.25 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #119 | C |
| Phosphorus | 458 mg | 137.4 mg | 112.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 505 mg | 151.5 mg | 123.77 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Potassium | 77 mg | 23.1 mg | 18.87 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 75 mg | 22.5 mg | 18.38 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Protein | 23.3 g | 6.99 g | 5.71 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 25.4 g | 7.62 g | 6.23 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.441 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.39 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Selenium | 28.3 µg | 8.49 µg | 6.94 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 6 µg | 1.8 µg | 1.47 µg | second database · not used · 4.7× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Sodium | 654 mg | 196.2 mg | 160.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 723 mg | 216.9 mg | 177.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Sugars | 0.48 g | 0.14 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| 0.1 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | second database · not used · 4.8× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.029 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 316 µg | 94.8 µg | 77.45 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.06 µg | 0.32 µg | 0.26 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 2.4 µg | 0.72 µg | 0.59 µg | second database · not used · 2.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.069 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used · 2.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg | 0.06 µg | 0.05 µg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #119 | C |
| 0.3 µg | 0.09 µg | 0.07 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| 0.6 µg | 0.18 µg | 0.15 µg | second database · not used · 3× | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.75 mg | 0.23 mg | 0.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.52 mg | 0.16 mg | 0.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 2.4 µg | 0.72 µg | 0.59 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 4.7 µg | 1.41 µg | 1.15 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Water | 36.6 g | 10.98 g | 8.97 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 36.6 g | 10.98 g | 8.97 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Zinc | 3.67 mg | 1.1 mg | 0.9 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 4.1 mg | 1.23 mg | 1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 85 µg | 25.5 µg | 20.83 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| 141 µg | 42.3 µg | 34.56 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Copper | 0.033 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 409 kcal | 122.7 kcal | 100.25 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 408 kcal | 122.4 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Nitrogen | 3.65 g | 1.1 g | 0.89 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Ash | 3.67 g | 1.1 g | 0.9 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Sucrose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Glucose | 0.1 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Energy | 1,710 kj | 513 kj | 419.12 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 0.33 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Galactose | 0.07 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Total fat (NLEA) | 29 g | 8.7 g | 7.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 1,242 iu | 372.6 iu | 304.41 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 24 iu | 7.2 iu | 5.88 iu | second database · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 0.6 µg | 0.18 µg | 0.15 µg | second database · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.04 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 9.3 µg | 2.79 µg | 2.28 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Folate, food | 27 µg | 8.1 µg | 6.62 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 27 µg | 8.1 µg | 6.62 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Betaine | 0.7 mg | 0.21 mg | 0.17 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.547 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Threonine | 1.044 g | 0.31 g | 0.26 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.206 g | 0.36 g | 0.3 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Leucine | 1.939 g | 0.58 g | 0.48 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Lysine | 1.025 g | 0.31 g | 0.25 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Methionine | 0.547 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Cystine | 0.123 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 1.074 g | 0.32 g | 0.26 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Tyrosine | 1.108 g | 0.33 g | 0.27 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Valine | 1.404 g | 0.42 g | 0.34 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Arginine | 0.547 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Histidine | 0.547 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Alanine | 0.751 g | 0.23 g | 0.18 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.734 g | 0.52 g | 0.43 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 4.735 g | 1.42 g | 1.16 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Glycine | 0.547 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Proline | 2.497 g | 0.75 g | 0.61 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Serine | 0.78 g | 0.23 g | 0.19 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 1.14 g | 0.34 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.653 g | 0.2 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0.543 g | 0.16 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.349 g | 0.1 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.843 g | 0.25 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.963 g | 0.29 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 3.1 g | 0.93 g | 0.76 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 8.79 g | 2.64 g | 2.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 3.39 g | 1.02 g | 0.83 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.049 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 7.403 g | 2.22 g | 1.81 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.171 g | 0.35 g | 0.29 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.114 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.051 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.015 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.296 g | 0.09 g | 0.07 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.504 g | 0.15 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.064 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 7.44 g | 2.23 g | 1.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.18 g | 0.35 g | 0.29 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.327 g | 0.1 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.196 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.009 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.104 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.816 g | 0.24 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.225 g | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.167 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.412 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 6.59 g | 1.98 g | 1.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 0.772 g | 0.23 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.061 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.037 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.92 g | 0.28 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-dienoic | 0.225 g | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 22:2 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| SFA 11:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.116 g | 0.03 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.036 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-9 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 c | 0.31 g | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 c | 0.061 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 c | 0.064 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 c | 0.939 g | 0.28 g | 0.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 c | 0.118 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 c | 0.037 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:4c | 0.051 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:5c | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 c | 0.018 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 c | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| Iodine | 46 µg | 13.8 µg | 11.27 µg | listed used | USDA iodine database (2024) #Cheese, cheddar (sharp/mild) | C |
| Lactose | 0.16 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.1 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173414 | C |
| Manganese | 0.026 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.052 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.413 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 0.5 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C | |
| Retinol | 316 µg | 94.8 µg | 77.45 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #328637 | C |
| 364 µg | 109.2 µg | 89.22 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-346 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: cheese (pig) animal study Cheddar (Albert Heijn) · Grated · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 99.2 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Wagner et al. 2008: cheese fortified regular-fat cheddar (DC) · vitamin D3 added to the whole milk (111 IU/g) before cheddar was made industrially (Agropur); regular-fat cheddar (~33% fat) · 28,000 IU D3 per weekly serving of 33.6 g fortified cheddar (design); measured concentration 833.88 IU/g full text read | Vitamin D | – | not reported | 20 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.21% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Histamine · Nothing to watch: under the limit · 6.1 mg per 30 g serving at this level, 12.2% of EFSA's 50 mg per meal for healthy adults: no flag for healthy adults. People with histamine intolerance, and people taking isoniazid, whose label says to avoid histamine-containing foods such as tuna, keep a separate flag. · Sanchezperez 2021 · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · One 30 g serving a day adds 0.56% to the average adult intake (35 µg/day), so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Listeria · Worth knowing · Pasteurized cheddar is listed as a safer cheese; uncooked cheese made from unpasteurized milk is to be avoided · Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food… · A
- Milk allergy · Worth knowing · Milk is a Health Canada priority allergen; casein stays in cheese · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Tyramine and MAO inhibitors · Worth knowing · Label tells monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) patients to avoid 'Aged cheeses'; cheddar is not named, and cheddar ranges from mild to extra old, so the flag applies to aged cheddar · PARNATE · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: not reported in either of 2 cheddar samples (dash in the table; quantification limit 5.13-6.28 mg/kg) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · retail ripened cheddar, Poland (2022) · grade A · Pawulgruba 2025
- histamine: mean 33.10, standard deviation 77.10, P95 203.30 (n = 80, ND included) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · cured, semi-cured and grated cheese, Spanish market · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
- histamine: hard cheeses n = 29: positive in 51.7%; among positives mean 73.4, median 65.1, P95 155, max 163 (the statistics exclude negative samples) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · hard cheeses (Parmigiano Reggiano, Grana Padano, cheddar, grated, Gruyere and others), Poland 2022 · grade B · Pawulgruba 2025
- histamine: 4.68–176.87 mg/kg · fresh weight · Cheddar, semi-hard, retail imported · grade A · Kandasamy 2021
- histamine: not detected (n 1) mg/kg · fresh weight · hard Cheddar, farmstead (domestic) · grade A · Kandasamy 2021
- lactose: 0.16 g/100 g · as sold, fresh weight · as sold · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
- lactose: 0.06 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, cheddar, mild (CNF 119) · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
- lactose: 0.1 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, Cheddar, English · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- lactose: <10 (not detected) mg/100 g · as sold · mature cheddar (supermarket and farm brands) · grade A · Shakerdi 2022
- lactose: <quantification limit (<10 mg/kg) mg/kg (<10 mg/kg = quantification limit) · as sold · PDO cheddar (also 26 other PDO hard, semi-hard and soft cheeses, all <LOQ except Pecorino Toscano at 20 and 60 days) · grade A · Facioni 2021
- lactose: <5 in 30 of 32 mg/100 g (quantification limit 5 mg/100 g) · as sold · 32 supermarket cheeses (semi-cured, cured, aged Spanish and international; cured and plain cheddar) · grade A · Vitoria 2023
- lactose: lactose+galactose <10 (range <0.05-12.65) mg/100 g (<0.05 detection limit; combined with galactose <10) · as sold · mature West Country cheddars (6 brands, 32 samples with Comte and Emmi fondue) · grade A · Portnoi 2016
- lactose: undetectable in named types mg/100 g (<2.8 LFI; <10 LGC) · as sold · Gruyere, Emmental, Jarlsberg, Parmesan (Parmigiano, Grana Padano), UK West Country mature cheddar · grade A · Portnoi 2009
- lactose: 0.12 g/100 g · as listed · Cheese, cheddar · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
- oxalate total: rated Low (L) mg/100 g · as eaten (basis not stated) · not stated · grade C · Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list
- tyramine: mean 128 (standard deviation 264.41), P95 613.46 (n = 80, ND included) mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · cured, semi-cured and grated cheese, Spanish market · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
- tyramine: hard cheeses n = 29: positive in 31.0%; among positives mean 50.3, median 14.2, P95 190, max 262 mg/kg · as sold, retail, fresh weight · hard cheeses, Poland 2022 · grade B · Pawulgruba 2025
- tyramine: 63.03–208.39 mg/kg · fresh weight · Cheddar, semi-hard, retail imported · grade A · Kandasamy 2021
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - PARNATE (tranylcypromine sulfate) tablet, film coated [Advanz Pharma (US) Corp.], DailyMed SPL set id b72d8187-dfcc-4ea0-b5e9-c0be95b69a27, version 11, published Jul 07, 2025, section 7.2 and Table 5
dailymed-parnate· full text read · Product label (manufacturer copyright) - Facioni MS, Dominici S, Marescotti F, Covucci R, Taglieri I, Venturi F, Zinnai A. Lactose residual content in PDO cheeses: novel inclusions for consumers with lactose intolerance. Foods 2021;10:2236 · doi:10.3390/foods10092236 · PMID 34574346
facioni2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Safer food choices for people at greater risk of food poisoning (page details 2026-09-29)
hc-safer-food-choices· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Kandasamy S, Yoo J, Yun J, Kang HB, Seol KH, Kim HW, Ham JS. Quantitative analysis of biogenic amines in different cheese varieties obtained from the Korean domestic and retail markets. Metabolites 2021;11(1):31. · doi:10.3390/metabo11010031 · PMID 33406794
kandasamy2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation, Dairy oxalate list (web page, (c) 2026, no version date)
ohf-dairy-oxalate· page · not stated - Pawul-Gruba M, Denis E, Kiljanek T, Osek J. Prevalence of biogenic amines and their relation to the bacterial content in ripened cheeses on the retail market in Poland. Foods 2025;14:2478 · doi:10.3390/foods14142478 · PMID 40724300
pawulgruba2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI; licence line not re-checked) - Wagner D, Sidhom G, Whiting SJ, Rousseau D, Vieth R. The bioavailability of vitamin D from fortified cheeses and supplements is equivalent in adults. J Nutr 2008;138:1365-1371. · doi:10.1093/jn/138.7.1365 · PMID 18567762
pmid:18567762· full text read · licence not recorded - Portnoi PA, MacDonald A. Determination of the lactose and galactose content of cheese for use in the galactosaemia diet. J Hum Nutr Diet 2009;22:400-408 · doi:10.1111/j.1365-277X.2009.00948.x · PMID 19486453
portnoi2009· abstract only · Publisher copyright - Portnoi PA, MacDonald A. The lactose and galactose content of cheese suitable for galactosaemia: new analysis. JIMD Rep 2016;29:85-87 · doi:10.1007/8904_2015_520 · PMID 26683467
portnoi2016· abstract only · Publisher copyright - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2021, Nutrients 13:1395, Table 1 (histamine)
sanchezperez2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Shakerdi LA, Wallace L, Smyth G, Madden N, Clark A, Hendroff U, McGovern M, Connellan S, Gillman B, Treacy EP. Determination of the lactose and galactose content of common foods: relevance to galactosemia. Food Sci Nutr 2022;10:3789-3800 · doi:10.1002/fsn3.2976 · PMID 36348783
shakerdi2022· full text read · CC BY (Wiley open access) - USDA, FDA and ODS-NIH Database for the Iodine Content of Common Foods, Release 4.0 (October 2024; 478 foods). Prepared by Heydorn K, Wambogo E, Spungen JH, Ershow AG, Gahche JJ, Haggans C, Merkel J, Patterson KY, Pehrsson PR. USDA ARS Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory.
usda-iodine-db4· secondary source · US Government work (public domain; USDA ARS) - Vitoria I, Melendreras F, Vazquez-Palazon A, Rausell D, Correcher P, Gonzalez-Lamuno D, Garcia-Peris M. Lactose and galactose content in Spanish cheeses: usefulness in the dietary treatment of patients with galactosaemia. Nutrients 2023;15:594 · doi:10.3390/nu15030594 · PMID 36771301
vitoria2023· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.