FoodtopsyFrançais
A pile of raw spinach leaves

Spinach, raw

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about 3 cups) · 18 kcal

Lots of vitamin K1, vitamin A and vitamin C. Rich in 2 more nutrients: see Good for.

Go easy: cadmium can add up. Its calcium barely gets in.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Had calcium-oxalate kidney stones? The usual advice: limit oxalate-rich foods; ask your care team how much suits you. Worth knowing for some people: uncooked frozen vegetables.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

17 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Cadmium

    Go easy

    Builds up in the kidneys over years.

    Learn more

    470 g a week takes an average adult to the limit

    You’d need about 5.5 servings a week of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    “Go easy” here because, for adults who already take in the most from other food, a serving a day can push past the limit.

    One serving carries 9.2 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 52% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 108% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day uses up the room left in about 5.5 days of the week.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,600 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which is more than the 470 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can push past the limit

    The dataset’s original note, counted from zero and kept as written: A daily serving adds 52% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Calcium

    Barely

    The label says 56.6 mg of calcium. Your body gets about 2.9 mg.

    Learn more

    In people who ate it, about 5.1% of its calcium got in. The likely reason: it’s very high in oxalate, which grabs calcium and locks it away before the gut can take it up.

    tested at 200 mg · Heaney, Weaver & Recker 1988: spinach · grade A

    ⚑ The study's dose was more than twice one serving's calcium.

    ◇ The study doesn't say how the food was prepared.

    1. 9
      Spinach, raw
      85 g · 5.1% gets in · tested at 200 mg ⚑ ◇
      3mg
      label 57

    All 9 foods ranked by absorbed calcium

Checked for lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 35 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 2.9% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 1 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    adds 2.9% to average intake

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.4 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Tyramine: 2.1 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.17 mg in a 85 g serving. (mean 2.05 · standard deviation 0.83 · range 0.79–4.28 · 0% below the detection limit · n 18) · Sanchezperez 2021 · grade B

    For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context only: 35% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

If you eat it for calcium

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin A

  • Carrots, raw710 µg in 85 g (this food: 260 µg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin C
  • Spinach, cooked445 µg in 85 g (this food: 260 µg) · but less vitamin CCadmium: go easy · this food has it too

More vitamin C

  • Red pepper, raw109 mg in 85 g (this food: 25.7 mg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin A
  • Green pepper, raw84.6 mg in 85 g (this food: 25.7 mg) · but less vitamin K1 and vitamin A

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For vitamin K1: Mustard greens, cooked would lead, in the same 85 g, but is left out (not tested for contaminants yet).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other vegetables we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Spinach, cooked
    • More vitamin A (445 µg vs 260 µg)
    • More iron (3.03 mg vs 0.9 mg)
    • Less vitamin C (8.33 mg vs 25.7 mg)
    Cadmium: go easy · this food has it too

1 food out of the 24 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Spinach, cooked
    • More vitamin A (445 µg vs 260 µg)
    • More iron (3.03 mg vs 0.9 mg)
    • Less vitamin C (8.33 mg vs 25.7 mg)
    Cadmium: go easy · this food has it too

1 food out of the 24 other vegetables we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Spinach, raw

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.138 g0.12 g0.64 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Calcium66.64 mg56.64 mg308.81 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
170 mg144.5 mg787.78 mgsecond database · not used · 2.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
99 mg84.15 mg458.76 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2213C
Carbohydrate2.641 g2.25 g12.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Choline19.3 mg16.41 mg89.44 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Energy21.58 kcal18.34 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
23 kcal19.55 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fat0.604 g0.51 g2.8 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.8 g0.68 g3.71 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.063 g0.05 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fibre1.588 g1.35 g7.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Folate113.4 µg96.39 µg525.49 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
114 µg96.9 µg528.27 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Iron1.054 mg0.9 mg4.88 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
2.1 mg1.79 mg9.73 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Magnesium92.96 mg79.02 mg430.78 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
54 mg45.9 mg250.24 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.374 mg1.17 mg6.37 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2213C
Phosphorus40.56 mg34.48 mg187.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
45 mg38.25 mg208.53 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Potassium459.7 mg390.75 mg2,130.24 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
500 mg425 mg2,316.99 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Protein2.906 g2.47 g13.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
2.8 g2.38 g12.98 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Riboflavin (B2)0.192 mg0.16 mg0.89 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.09 mg0.08 mg0.42 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
1 µg0.85 µg4.63 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Sodium106.6 mg90.61 mg493.98 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
140 mg119 mg648.76 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Sugars0.42 g0.36 g1.95 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
1.5 g1.28 g6.95 gsecond database · not used · 3.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Thiamin (B1)0.077 mg0.07 mg0.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.07 mg0.06 mg0.32 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin A306 µg260.1 µg1,418 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin B60.214 mg0.18 mg0.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.17 mg0.14 mg0.79 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin C30.27 mg25.73 mg140.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
26 mg22.1 mg120.48 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin E2.03 mg1.73 mg9.41 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
1.71 mg1.45 mg7.92 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Vitamin K1482.9 µg410.47 µg2,237.75 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
394 µg334.9 µg1,825.79 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Water92.43 g78.57 g428.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
89.7 g76.25 g415.67 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Zinc0.423 mg0.36 mg1.96 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.7 mg0.6 mg3.24 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene3,668.75 µg3,118.44 µg17,000.93 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
8,295 µg7,050.75 µg38,438.91 µgsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Copper0.079 mg0.07 mg0.37 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Energy (Atwater general)27.63 kcal23.49 kcal128.04 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Energy (Atwater specific)21.58 kcal18.34 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Nitrogen0.465 g0.4 g2.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Ash1.418 g1.21 g6.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Sucrose0.07 g0.06 g0.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Glucose0.11 g0.09 g0.51 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fructose0.15 g0.13 g0.7 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Energy97 kj82.45 kj449.5 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Galactose0.1 g0.09 g0.46 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Vitamin A, IU9,377 iu7,970.45 iu43,452.88 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Carotene, gamma0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Zeaxanthin466.5 µg396.53 µg2,161.75 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Cryptoxanthin, beta10 µg8.5 µg46.34 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Lutein7,451 µg6,333.35 µg34,527.82 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocopherol, gamma0.18 mg0.15 mg0.83 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
cis-Lutein/Zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Biotin4.252 µg3.61 µg19.7 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Folate, food194 µg164.9 µg898.99 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Folate, DFE194 µg164.9 µg898.99 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Betaine102.6 mg87.21 mg475.45 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tryptophan0.039 g0.03 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Threonine0.122 g0.1 g0.57 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Isoleucine0.147 g0.12 g0.68 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Leucine0.223 g0.19 g1.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Lysine0.174 g0.15 g0.81 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Methionine0.053 g0.05 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Cystine0.035 g0.03 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Phenylalanine0.129 g0.11 g0.6 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Tyrosine0.108 g0.09 g0.5 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Valine0.161 g0.14 g0.75 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Arginine0.162 g0.14 g0.75 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Histidine0.064 g0.05 g0.3 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Alanine0.142 g0.12 g0.66 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Aspartic acid0.24 g0.2 g1.11 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Glutamic acid0.343 g0.29 g1.59 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Glycine0.134 g0.11 g0.62 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Proline0.112 g0.1 g0.52 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Serine0.104 g0.09 g0.48 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 14:00.01 g0.01 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 16:00.049 g0.04 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
SFA 18:00.004 g0 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
MUFA 18:10.005 g0 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 18:20.026 g0.02 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 18:30.138 g0.12 g0.64 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
MUFA 16:10.005 g0 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Phytosterols9 mg7.65 mg41.71 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.01 g0.01 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.165 g0.14 g0.76 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
Cryptoxanthin, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Iodine6.7 µg5.7 µg31.05 µglisted usedUSDA iodine database (2024) #Spinach, rawC
2 µg1.7 µg9.27 µgsecond database · not used · 3.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
6.088 µg5.17 µg28.21 µgsecond database · not usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Lutein + zeaxanthin7,917.5 µg6,729.88 µg36,689.58 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
Manganese0.426 mg0.36 mg1.97 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
0.6 mg0.51 mg2.78 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.51 mg0.43 mg2.36 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #1999633C
1.2 mg1.02 mg5.56 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.065 mg0.06 mg0.3 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
0.27 mg0.23 mg1.25 mgsecond database · not used · 4.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168462C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-572C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney, Weaver & Recker 1988: spinach

standard · not stated in the abstract

abstract only

Calcium5.1 %200 mg13AUsed
StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Weaver & Heaney 1991: spinach (intrinsic)

standard · not stated

abstract only

Calcium2.9 %250 mg14ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Grusak & Abrams: spinach (teens)

standard · cooked, puréed, frozen · load not reported

abstract only

Calcium3 %not reported13ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach alone (sub-study, n=5)

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E2 %not reported5ANot used: no test dose on record.
Dainty et al. 2007: spinach, urinary excretion method

Spinacia oleracea var. Ballet, hydroponic, 15N-labelled (intrinsic label) · spinach finely chopped, heated about 2 min to about 60 C in the soup, blended with milk, served at about 85 C · 308 ug 15N-labelled total flavins (free riboflavin + FMN) from the spinach (0.86 ug riboflavin + 0.68 ug FMN per g raw spinach); plus 334 ug unlabelled riboflavin from the soup's milk

full text read

Riboflavin (B2)60 %not reported17ANot used: no test dose on record.
Dainty et al. 2007: spinach, plasma appearance method

Spinacia oleracea var. Ballet, hydroponic, 15N-labelled (intrinsic label) · spinach finely chopped, heated about 2 min to about 60 C in the soup, blended with milk, served at about 85 C · 308 ug 15N-labelled total flavins (free riboflavin + FMN) from the spinach (0.86 ug riboflavin + 0.68 ug FMN per g raw spinach); plus 334 ug unlabelled riboflavin from the soup's milk

full text read

Riboflavin (B2)20 %not reported15ANot used: no test dose on record.
Bills 1990: spinach

not stated · frozen chopped spinach, microwaved 2 min · 0.5 mg pyridoxine-equivalent of B6 (microbiological assay) = 215 g frozen chopped spinach at 0.230 mg B6/100 g

full text read

Vitamin B6–not reported7BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Hannon-Fletcher et al. 2004: spinach

not stated · lyophilised (freeze-dried) spinach powder, 7.8 g = 200 ug folate (50% polyglutamyl), added after cooking to a low-folate carrier meal (ingredients boiled 3 times) or stirred into 20 mL water + 50 mL sugar-free lemonade (drink); the spinach itself was not cooked or fresh · 200 ug natural folate/day as 7.8 g lyophilised spinach, 5 d/week over 6 weeks (30 d of treatment); folic acid arm 200 ug tablet

full text read

Folate–not reported18ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Konings et al. 2002: spinach, fraction absorbed (ileostomy volunteers)

not stated · spinach meal; preparation not stated · A 436 ug spinach folate (60% polyglutamate); B 362 ug (100% monoglutamate); reference C 500 ug PteGlu (loads as given in the Melse-Boonstra thesis appendix)

abstract only

Folate79 %not reported11ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Konings et al. 2002: spinach, relative bioavailability vs PteGlu

not stated · spinach meal; preparation not stated · A 436 ug spinach folate (60% polyglutamate); B 362 ug (100% monoglutamate); reference C 500 ug PteGlu (loads as given in the Melse-Boonstra thesis appendix)

abstract only

Folate–not reported11ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Wright et al. 2005: spinach

not stated · intrinsically 15N-labelled spinach (hydroponic, 8 weeks): leaves shredded, 200 g portions blanched in microwave 750 W 3 min, cooled, frozen -20 C; thawed, homogenised and reheated by microwave before serving · 588 nmol spinach folate (about 260 ug; 2.94 umol/kg x ~200 g portion)

full text read

Folate44 %not reported14ANot used: no test dose on record.
Prinz-Langenohl et al. 1999: spinach, 600 g

not stated · commercial frozen leaf spinach (Langnese-Iglo), thawed overnight at 4 C, microwaved at 600 W without added water (8 min for 600 g, 6 min for 300 g); meal prepared just before consumption, taken fasting · 600 g spinach; folate content from the package label 80 ug/100 g, i.e. about 480 ug

full text read

Folate–not reported20ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Prinz-Langenohl et al. 1999: spinach, 300 g

not stated · commercial frozen leaf spinach (Langnese-Iglo), thawed overnight at 4 C, microwaved at 600 W without added water (8 min for 600 g, 6 min for 300 g); meal prepared just before consumption, taken fasting · 300 g spinach (about 240 ug by package label 80 ug/100 g)

full text read

Folate–not reported20ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Monch et al. 2015: spinach

not stated · not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Folate–not reported24BNot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Gillooly et al. 1983: spinach

not stated · boiled 20 min in salted water (750 g vegetable in 1500 ml water with 5 g NaCl; lentils 40 min in 2500 ml), homogenised in a Waring blender to a thick soup; 100 g eaten (equivalent to 50 g uncooked vegetable) · 3 mg Fe as FeSO4.7H2O (59Fe or 55Fe) mixed into 100 g puree; native iron of the vegetable not reported

full text read

Iron1.4 %not reported7ANot used: no test dose on record.
Bohn et al. 2004: spinach

not stated (bought frozen at a local supermarket) · frozen spinach, cooked, pureed, microwave-reheated · 121 mg (4.98 mmol total Mg in the meal)

full text read

Magnesium26.7 %not reported9ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 1 egg at time 0 (sub-study, n=5)

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.5 %not reported5ANot used: no test dose on record.
Gijsbers et al. 1996: spinach, without butter

not stated · commercially prepared deep-frozen shredded spinach (Iglo), heated without additions until boiling under constant stirring (boiled from frozen) · 1 mg (2.2 umol) phylloquinone from 227 g boiled spinach (9.8 nmol/g)

full text read

Vitamin K1–not reported5ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Tang et al. 2005: spinach

not stated · puréed; cooking not stated · 300 g spinach = 20.8 umol (men) or 20.0 umol (women) trans-beta-carotene equivalents (about 10.7 to 11.2 mg)

abstract only

Vitamin A–not reported14ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Castenmiller et al. 1999: spinach

four processing variants · whole leaf with an almost intact matrix; minced; enzymatically liquefied; liquefied + 10 g/kg fibre · daily dose not stated

abstract only

Beta-carotene–not reported12ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Wang et al. 2007: spinach

not stated · steamed · 100 g steamed spinach = 7.0 umol beta-carotene (about 3.8 mg)

abstract only

Vitamin A–not reported10ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Li et al. 2007: spinach

not stated · not stated · 5 g spinach (230 ug 2H10-beta-carotene) before lunch and before dinner for 7 d

abstract only

Vitamin A–not reported32ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach, then 1 egg 3 h later (sub-study, n=5)

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E1.6 %not reported5ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 1 egg at 0 h and a second at 3 h (sub-study, n=5)

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.7 %not reported5ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach alone

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E2.4 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 1 hard-boiled whole egg

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.9 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 2 hard-boiled whole eggs

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 3 hard-boiled whole eggs

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.4 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 2 egg whites

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.1 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Rezaei et al. 2026: spinach + 9.6 g soybean oil

Platypus RZ F1, hydroponic, 30 atom% D2O · spinach chopped, microwaved 30 s, vacuum-sealed, frozen at -20 C; thawed and microwaved 60 s before eating · 118 +/- 7.5 g (mean +/- SEM; range 94-134 g) of labelled spinach per trial, delivering 5 mg d x-alpha-tocopherol (design value; per-trial analysed mg not reported)

full text read

Vitamin E4.9 %not reported8ANot used: no test dose on record.
Gijsbers et al. 1996: spinach, with 25 g butter

not stated · deep-frozen shredded spinach (Iglo) heated to boiling, served with 25 g butter · 1 mg (2.2 umol) phylloquinone from 227 g boiled spinach plus 25 g butter

full text read

Vitamin K1–not reported5ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Garber et al. 1999: spinach, 150 g

not stated · fresh spinach from a local market, washed, stems removed (raw) · 495 ug phylloquinone as 150 g fresh spinach; tablet 500 ug

full text read

Vitamin K1–not reported3ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Garber et al. 1999: spinach, 50 g

not stated · fresh spinach (raw) · 165 ug phylloquinone as 50 g fresh spinach; tablet 500 ug

full text read

Vitamin K1–not reported4ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Go easy: can push past the limit · A daily serving adds 52% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 2.9% to average intake · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nitrate · Context · Context only: 35% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Uncooked frozen vegetables · Worth knowing · Don't eat frozen spinach uncooked if pregnant, 60+, under 5 or immunocompromised · Health Canada, Food safety for vulnerable populations: foods to avoid · A
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent · Warfarin product label · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.04 g/100 g · fresh weight; computed as fructose minus glucose · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • fodmap fructan: 0.14 g/100 g sample · as analysed (frozen retail product; cooking before analysis not stated); reported in the 'FOS' column · frozen retail product; whether it was cooked before analysis is not stated · grade B · Chumpitazi 2018
  • fodmap gos: not detected (n duplicate) g/100 g sample · as analysed · frozen retail product; whether it was cooked before analysis is not stated · grade B · Chumpitazi 2018
  • histamine: standard deviation 17.02, range 9.46–69.71, n = 18 mg/kg · as sold · raw · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: mean 31.77 · standard deviation 17.02 · range 9.46–69.72 · 0% below the detection limit · n 18 mg/kg · fresh weight · spinach, as sold in Spanish retail (fresh vs frozen and raw vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • histamine: 9.5–69.7 mg/kg · fresh weight · spinach, as sold in Spanish retail · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: mean 142 · standard deviation 6 mg/kg · DRY MATTER (not fresh weight; no conversion made) · raw spinach (the raw control of a cooking experiment; Spanish retail purchase) · grade A · Munozesparza 2021
  • oxalate soluble: 413–504 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · Brogren 2003
  • oxalate total: 557–1800 mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw (across studies) · grade A · Brogren 2003
  • tyramine: mean 2.05 · standard deviation 0.83 · range 0.79–4.28 · 0% below the detection limit · n 18 mg/kg · fresh weight · spinach, as sold in Spanish retail (fresh vs frozen and raw vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.