FoodtopsyFrançais
A pile of raw spinach leaves

Spinach, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ½ cup) · 20 kcal

Lots of vitamin K1, vitamin A and folate.

Go easy: cadmium can add up.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Had calcium-oxalate kidney stones? The usual advice: limit oxalate-rich foods; ask your care team how much suits you. Worth knowing for some people: uncooked frozen vegetables.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (85 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

19 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Cadmium

    Go easy

    Builds up in the kidneys over years.

    Learn more

    470 g a week takes an average adult to the limit

    You’d need about 5.5 servings a week of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    “Go easy” here because, for adults who already take in the most from other food, a serving a day can push past the limit.

    One serving carries 9.2 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 52% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 108% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day uses up the room left in about 5.5 days of the week.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,600 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 595 g a week, which is more than the 470 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can push past the limit

    The dataset’s original note, counted from zero and kept as written: A daily serving adds 52% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

Checked for lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 35 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 2.9% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 1 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    adds 2.9% to average intake

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with lead

For some people

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.4 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Context only: 35% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other vegetables we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin A

  • Carrots, raw710 µg in 85 g (this food: 445 µg) · but less vitamin K1 and folate

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For vitamin K1: Mustard greens, cooked would lead, in the same 85 g, but is left out (not tested for contaminants yet).

For folate: Edamame, cooked would lead, in the same 85 g, but is left out (not tested for contaminants yet).

None of the 23 other vegetables we could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

None of the 23 other vegetables we could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Mustard greens, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Left out: Edamame, cooked (not tested for contaminants yet).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Spinach, boiled, drained

How the serving was set: 85 g (Health Canada V.1)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.092 g0.08 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Calcium136 mg115.6 mg591.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
136 mg115.6 mg591.3 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2214C
Carbohydrate3.75 g3.19 g16.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Choline19.7 mg16.75 mg85.65 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Energy23 kcal19.55 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fat0.26 g0.22 g1.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.043 g0.04 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fibre2.4 g2.04 g10.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Folate146 µg124.1 µg634.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Iron3.57 mg3.03 mg15.52 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Magnesium87 mg73.95 mg378.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)1.157 mg0.98 mg5.03 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2214C
Phosphorus56 mg47.6 mg243.48 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Potassium466 mg396.1 mg2,026.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Protein2.97 g2.52 g12.91 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Riboflavin (B2)0.236 mg0.2 mg1.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Selenium1.5 µg1.28 µg6.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Sodium70 mg59.5 mg304.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Sugars0.43 g0.37 g1.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Thiamin (B1)0.095 mg0.08 mg0.41 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin A524 µg445.4 µg2,278.26 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin B60.242 mg0.21 mg1.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin C9.8 mg8.33 mg42.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin E2.08 mg1.77 mg9.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin K1493.6 µg419.56 µg2,146.09 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Water91.21 g77.53 g396.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Zinc0.76 mg0.65 mg3.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene6,288 µg5,344.8 µg27,339.13 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Copper0.174 mg0.15 mg0.76 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Ash1.81 g1.54 g7.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Energy96 kj81.6 kj417.39 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fluoride, F37.8 µg32.13 µg164.35 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin A, IU10,481 iu8,908.85 iu45,569.57 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Folate, food146 µg124.1 µg634.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Folate, DFE146 µg124.1 µg634.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Betaine89 mg75.65 mg386.96 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Tryptophan0.04 g0.03 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Threonine0.127 g0.11 g0.55 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Isoleucine0.152 g0.13 g0.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Leucine0.231 g0.2 g1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Lysine0.182 g0.15 g0.79 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Methionine0.055 g0.05 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Cystine0.035 g0.03 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Phenylalanine0.134 g0.11 g0.58 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Tyrosine0.113 g0.1 g0.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Valine0.168 g0.14 g0.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Arginine0.168 g0.14 g0.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Histidine0.066 g0.06 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Alanine0.147 g0.12 g0.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Aspartic acid0.25 g0.21 g1.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Glutamic acid0.357 g0.3 g1.55 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Glycine0.14 g0.12 g0.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Proline0.116 g0.1 g0.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Serine0.107 g0.09 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 14:00.006 g0.01 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 16:00.033 g0.03 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
SFA 18:00.003 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
MUFA 18:10.003 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 18:20.017 g0.01 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 18:30.092 g0.08 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
MUFA 16:10.003 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.006 g0.01 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.109 g0.09 g0.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Lutein + zeaxanthin11,308 µg9,611.8 µg49,165.22 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Manganese0.935 mg0.79 mg4.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.49 mg0.42 mg2.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.145 mg0.12 mg0.63 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168463C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Heaney, Weaver & Recker 1988: calcium absorbability from spinach vs milk, double-isotope (45Ca/47Ca) method

not stated · "test spinach"; whether raw, boiled or frozen not stated

abstract only

Calcium5.1 %200 mg13BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Go easy: can push past the limit · A daily serving adds 52% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), short of doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · adds 2.9% to average intake · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Nitrate · Context · Context only: 35% of the acceptable daily intake (ADI) per serving · EFSA 2008 · A
  • Uncooked frozen vegetables · Worth knowing · Don't eat frozen spinach uncooked if pregnant, 60+, under 5 or immunocompromised · Health Canada, Food safety for vulnerable populations: foods to avoid · A
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · With warfarin: keep vitamin K intake consistent · Warfarin product label · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • oxalate total: 477 ± 8 after boiling (raw 978 ± 5) mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled in water until soft (12-15 min for vegetables) · grade B · Akhtar 2011

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.