FoodtopsyFrançais
A pear, whole and halved

Pears, raw

Checked by us One serving: 140 g · 80 kcal

Some fibre.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (140 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for nickel, cadmium, aluminum and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 79 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 8.75 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 15,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 140 g a day, which stays within the 11,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg/day for 70 kg. Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 0.0625156 µg/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so about 14,556 g a day, eaten alone, would reach it; one 140 g serving carries 8.75 µg. CFIA fresh pear is close (57.2 ng/g, 353 samples).

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 47 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.16 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 0.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 160,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 980 g a week, which stays within the 46,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 0.88% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Aluminum

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 33.6 µg

    How we got this

    290,000 g a week reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 0.240319 µg/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so about 291,280 g a week, eaten alone, would reach it; one 140 g serving carries 33.6 µg. CFIA fresh pear is 1.7 times higher (0.399 µg/g, 353 samples).

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with aluminum

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.5% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.16 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe level of lead is set (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01), 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day). Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 1.1741 ng/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so one 140 g serving carries 0.16 µg, 0.5% of the average adult's 35 µg/day, far from doubling it. CFIA fresh pear is higher, a lower-bound mean of 4.48 ng/g (353 samples, maximum 223).

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Person-specific: pear is a Bet v 1 cross-reactive food for birch-pollen-allergic people (Pyr c 1); symptoms are usually oral, and the Mediterranean LTP route (Pyr c 3) also exists. A selected, history-positive sample, so not a prevalence.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    14 g of sugar in a 140 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 5

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: only total arsenic was measured (Health Canada Total Diet Study mean 3.694 ng/g, 12 composites, none non-detect; CFIA fresh pear lower-bound mean 1.97 ng/g, 353 samples). EFSA's 2024 reference point, a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day with no safe limit, applies to the inorganic fraction. A CFIA speciation study of processed pear foods found inorganic arsenic of 4.11 ng/g in pear juice (total 5.64), 1.46 in infant pear food (total 3.09) and 14.45 in pear snacks (total 34.8).

  • Not measured in this food yet. Missing: the EFSA 2019 text checked names apple seeds elsewhere but gives no pear-seed figure; seeds are not eaten with the flesh. The one-sitting limit (the acute reference dose) is 20 µg CN/kg body weight.

  • Context: no detection in 25 samples, so no concentration to put into the acceptable daily intake (ADI) arithmetic (limit not applied; the detection limit was not stated in the pack). The NCRMP screens found glyphosate in 3 of 50 pear samples (2016-17 to 2021-22).

  • Shown as context, not rated: patulin comes from Penicillium decay in damaged or rotten pome fruit. The reference limit of 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day is not applied because no intact-pear concentration was found; the only data are a 1977 survey (about 120 samples) of apples and pears with brown rot, with patulin in about half. A pear with visible rot is not the food as eaten.

  • Shown as context, not rated: 893 of 1,166 CFIA-screened fresh pear samples (76.6%) carried at least one residue, and every pooled line shows 0 violations. No intake arithmetic is done, and the effect of peeling was not searched.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 140 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other fruits we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More fibre

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other fruits we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Kiwi, raw
    • More vitamin C (105 mg vs 6.02 mg)
    • More vitamin K1 (56.4 µg vs 6.16 µg)
    • More vitamin E (1.82 mg vs 0.17 mg)
  • Mango, raw
    • More vitamin C (51 mg vs 6.02 mg)
    • More folate (60.2 µg vs 9.8 µg)
    • More vitamin B6 (0.17 mg vs 0.04 mg)
  • Pineapple, rawMore vitamin C (82.1 mg vs 6.02 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Pears, raw

How the serving was set: 140 g (Health Canada TRA J.1, fruit fresh, frozen or canned; pears are not listed as a separate item)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Calcium9 mg12.6 mg15.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
9 mg12.6 mg15.79 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1731C
Carbohydrate15.23 g21.32 g26.72 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Choline5.1 mg7.14 mg8.95 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Energy57 kcal79.8 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fat0.14 g0.2 g0.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.022 g0.03 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fibre3.1 g4.34 g5.44 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Folate7 µg9.8 µg12.28 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Iron0.18 mg0.25 mg0.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Magnesium7 mg9.8 mg12.28 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.194 mg0.27 mg0.34 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1731C
Phosphorus12 mg16.8 mg21.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Potassium116 mg162.4 mg203.51 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Protein0.36 g0.5 g0.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Riboflavin (B2)0.026 mg0.04 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Selenium0.1 µg0.14 µg0.18 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Sodium1 mg1.4 mg1.75 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Sugars9.75 g13.65 g17.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Thiamin (B1)0.012 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin A1 µg1.4 µg1.75 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin B60.029 mg0.04 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin C4.3 mg6.02 mg7.54 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin E0.12 mg0.17 mg0.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin K14.4 µg6.16 µg7.72 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Water83.96 g117.54 g147.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Zinc0.1 mg0.14 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene14 µg19.6 µg24.56 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Copper0.082 mg0.11 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Energy (Atwater general)63 kcal88.2 kcal110.53 kcalfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Energy (Atwater specific)57 kcal79.8 kcal100 kcalfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Nitrogen0.06 g0.08 g0.11 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Ash0.32 g0.45 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Sucrose0.71 g0.99 g1.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Glucose2.6 g3.64 g4.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fructose6.42 g8.99 g11.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Energy239 kj334.6 kj419.3 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Sugars, Total9.69 g13.57 g17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fiber, soluble0.3 g0.42 g0.53 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Fiber, insoluble2.8 g3.92 g4.91 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #746773C
Fluoride, F2.2 µg3.08 µg3.86 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin A, IU25 iu35 iu43.86 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Carotene, alpha1 µg1.4 µg1.75 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Cryptoxanthin, beta2 µg2.8 µg3.51 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocopherol, gamma0.03 mg0.04 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.02 mg0.03 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Folate, food7 µg9.8 µg12.28 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Folate, DFE7 µg9.8 µg12.28 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Betaine0.2 mg0.28 mg0.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tryptophan0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Threonine0.011 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Isoleucine0.011 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Leucine0.019 g0.03 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Lysine0.017 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Methionine0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Cystine0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Phenylalanine0.011 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Tyrosine0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Valine0.017 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Arginine0.01 g0.01 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Histidine0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Alanine0.014 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Aspartic acid0.105 g0.15 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Glutamic acid0.03 g0.04 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Glycine0.013 g0.02 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Proline0.021 g0.03 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Serine0.015 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 16:00.017 g0.02 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
SFA 18:00.003 g0 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
MUFA 18:10.081 g0.11 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 18:20.093 g0.13 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 18:30.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
MUFA 16:10.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
MUFA 20:10.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Phytosterols8 mg11.2 mg14.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.084 g0.12 g0.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.094 g0.13 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Lutein + zeaxanthin44 µg61.6 µg77.19 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Manganese0.048 mg0.07 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.161 mg0.23 mg0.28 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.049 mg0.07 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169118C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 0.240319 µg/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so about 291,280 g a week, eaten alone, would reach it; one 140 g serving carries 33.6 µg. CFIA fresh pear is 1.7 times higher (0.399 µg/g, 353 samples). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: only total arsenic was measured (Health Canada Total Diet Study mean 3.694 ng/g, 12 composites, none non-detect; CFIA fresh pear lower-bound mean 1.97 ng/g, 353 samples). EFSA's 2024 reference point, a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day with no safe limit, applies to the inorganic fraction. A CFIA speciation study of processed pear foods found inorganic arsenic of 4.11 ng/g in pear juice (total 5.64), 1.46 in infant pear food (total 3.09) and 14.45 in pear snacks (total 34.8). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.88% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cyanogenic glycosides · Not rated yet · Missing: the EFSA 2019 text checked names apple seeds elsewhere but gives no pear-seed figure; seeds are not eaten with the flesh. The one-sitting limit (the acute reference dose) is 20 µg CN/kg body weight. · EFSA 2019 · B
  • Glyphosate residues · Context · Context: no detection in 25 samples, so no concentration to put into the acceptable daily intake (ADI) arithmetic (limit not applied; the detection limit was not stated in the pack). The NCRMP screens found glyphosate in 3 of 50 pear samples (2016-17 to 2021-22). · CFIA 2015–2017 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe level of lead is set (EFSA 2010 benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL01), 0.5 µg/kg body weight/day). Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 1.1741 ng/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so one 140 g serving carries 0.16 µg, 0.5% of the average adult's 35 µg/day, far from doubling it. CFIA fresh pear is higher, a lower-bound mean of 4.48 ng/g (353 samples, maximum 223). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg/day for 70 kg. Health Canada's Total Diet Study mean is 0.0625156 µg/g (16 composites, non-detects stored as zero), so about 14,556 g a day, eaten alone, would reach it; one 140 g serving carries 8.75 µg. CFIA fresh pear is close (57.2 ng/g, 353 samples). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit · Worth knowing · Person-specific: pear is a Bet v 1 cross-reactive food for birch-pollen-allergic people (Pyr c 1); symptoms are usually oral, and the Mediterranean LTP route (Pyr c 3) also exists. A selected, history-positive sample, so not a prevalence. · PubMed 33919631 · B
  • Patulin · Context · Shown as context, not rated: patulin comes from Penicillium decay in damaged or rotten pome fruit. The reference limit of 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day is not applied because no intact-pear concentration was found; the only data are a 1977 survey (about 120 samples) of apples and pears with brown rot, with patulin in about half. A pear with visible rot is not the food as eaten. · PubMed 613910 · C
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Shown as context, not rated: 893 of 1,166 CFIA-screened fresh pear samples (76.6%) carried at least one residue, and every pooled line shows 0 violations. No intake arithmetic is done, and the effect of peeling was not searched. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: derived: fructose 6.42 minus glucose 2.60 = 3.82 g/100 g; 5.35 g in a 140 g serving, about 36 times Varney 2017's 0.15 g per serve cut-off g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade A · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.