FoodtopsyFrançais
A whole avocado and a half with its pit

Avocado, raw

Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about ¼ avocado) · 62 kcal

Some folate.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

On warfarin? Keep your vitamin K steady. Worth knowing for some people: latex-fruit syndrome.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (30 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 26 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.28 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 1.6% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 19,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 5,400 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 1.6% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.01 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    Adds 0.04% to the average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), so no cap. A whole fruit (136 g) carries 0.06 µg, +0.17%; the highest composite (12 µg/kg) in a whole fruit 1.6 µg, +4.7%. Peruvian pulp (dry weight): lead 0.22-0.33 mg/kg in 3 of 9 regions, below detection elsewhere; US Hass flesh mostly below detection.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Avocado is named by ACAAI among the foods 'most likely' to cross-react in latex allergy; the Allergy & Asthma Network (advocacy education body) puts it in its high-cross-reactivity group and says 30-50% of people with latex allergy react to foods. Gromek 2024: avocado the leading food in Beezhold 1996 (Canada, n = 47: 27% by history plus skin test, 70% by skin test) and Lavaud 1995 (59%); overall latex-fruit prevalence 4-88% by method; shared class I chitinases (Hev b 11). Not a Health Canada priority allergen.

  • For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. 6.3 µg per 30 g, 14 µg per half fruit. A case report, 'Warfarin antagonism by avocado' (Lancet 1991, title only), and a review that lists avocado among fruits in 'suspected' warfarin interactions, with 'scarce' evidence.

    Learn more

    Eat a steady amount, not none. This line goes on every food whose serving gives 10% or more of the daily vitamin K; a few foods below that carry it too, where a source names them. One serving here has about 6.3 µg of vitamin K1.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.1 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 5

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: only total arsenic was measured, and the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic.

  • Shown as context: EFSA's no-effect level is 50 mg histamine per meal (EFSA 2011). Not detected in 10 samples (Spain 5, Brazil 5); one reported 23 mg/kg of unexplained origin would be 0.7 mg per 30 g.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: two sources disagree by two orders of magnitude, and one paper's units are internally inconsistent. EFSA's methylmercury limit (1.3 µg/kg body weight/week) is driven by fish; mercury in plants is mostly inorganic.

  • 173 mg per 30 g (Foundation) or 152 mg (SR 171706); 392 mg per half fruit (68 g). The pediatric renal nutrition guide lists 'Avocado 75 g (1/2)' at 380 mg per portion among high-potassium fruits (507 mg/100 g). Against 3,400 mg (men) / 2,600 mg (women) adequate intakes. A flag, not a general-reader hazard.

  • One case report of hypertensive crisis with tranylcypromine after avocados (Generali 1981, abstract only); measured tyramine is low (~0.05 mg per 30 g, max 5.44 mg/kg), so the mechanism is not established by the amine data.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other fruits or toppings we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For folate: no other fruits or toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other fruits or toppings we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Chia seeds, ground and chia seeds
    • More omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 37.5 mg)
    • More selenium (16.6 µg vs 0.12 µg)
    • More niacin (4.83 mg vs 0.7 mg)
  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (150 mg vs 9.84 mg)
    • More niacin (4.38 mg vs 0.7 mg)
    • More zinc (1.9 mg vs 0.14 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Avocado, raw

How the serving was set: 30 g (Health Canada TRA row J.4, avocado)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.125 g0.04 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Calcium14.46 mg4.34 mg7.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
19 mg5.7 mg9.22 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
13 mg3.9 mg6.31 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1512C
Carbohydrate8.324 g2.5 g4.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
Choline14.2 mg4.26 mg6.89 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Energy206.049 kcal61.81 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
167 kcal50.1 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fat20.31 g6.09 g9.86 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
17.4 g5.22 g8.44 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fatty acids, total saturated2.126 g0.64 g1.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fibre6.8 g2.04 g3.3 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
3.1 g0.93 g1.5 gsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Folate128.7 µg38.61 µg62.46 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
31 µg9.3 µg15.04 µgsecond database · not used · 4.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Iron0.613 mg0.18 mg0.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
0.51 mg0.15 mg0.25 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Magnesium32.8 mg9.84 mg15.92 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
27 mg8.1 mg13.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.329 mg0.7 mg1.13 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1512C
Phosphorus42.38 mg12.71 mg20.57 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
57 mg17.1 mg27.66 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Potassium576.4 mg172.92 mg279.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
583 mg174.9 mg282.94 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Protein1.813 g0.54 g0.88 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
1.8 g0.54 g0.87 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Riboflavin (B2)0.143 mg0.04 mg0.07 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0.09 mg0.03 mg0.04 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Selenium0.4 µg0.12 µg0.19 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Sodium0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
7 mg2.1 mg3.4 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Sugars0.3 g0.09 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0.4 g0.12 g0.19 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Thiamin (B1)0.075 mg0.02 mg0.04 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0.09 mg0.03 mg0.04 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin A7 µg2.1 µg3.4 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin B60.167 mg0.05 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
0.3 mg0.09 mg0.15 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
1 mg0.3 mg0.49 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin E1.97 mg0.59 mg0.96 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
2.19 mg0.66 mg1.06 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Vitamin K121 µg6.3 µg10.19 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Water67 g20.1 g32.52 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
71.5 g21.45 g34.7 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Zinc0.46 mg0.14 mg0.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
0.6 mg0.18 mg0.29 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene63 µg18.9 µg30.58 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
14 µg4.2 µg6.79 µgsecond database · not used · 4.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Copper0.285 mg0.09 mg0.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
0.25 mg0.08 mg0.12 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Energy (Atwater general)223.334 kcal67 kcal108.39 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
Energy (Atwater specific)206.049 kcal61.81 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
Nitrogen0.29 g0.09 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
Ash2.554 g0.77 g1.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
Starch0.11 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Sucrose0.06 g0.02 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Glucose0.08 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fructose0.08 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Energy697 kj209.1 kj338.27 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Galactose0.08 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Vitamin A, IU147 iu44.1 iu71.34 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Carotene, alpha24 µg7.2 µg11.65 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Cryptoxanthin, beta27 µg8.1 µg13.1 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocopherol, beta0.04 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocopherol, gamma0.32 mg0.1 mg0.16 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocopherol, delta0.02 mg0.01 mg0.01 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.01 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Folate, food89 µg26.7 µg43.19 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Folate, DFE89 µg26.7 µg43.19 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Betaine0.7 mg0.21 mg0.34 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tryptophan0.025 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Threonine0.072 g0.02 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Isoleucine0.083 g0.02 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Leucine0.141 g0.04 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Lysine0.129 g0.04 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Methionine0.037 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Cystine0.027 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Phenylalanine0.095 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Tyrosine0.048 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Valine0.105 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Arginine0.087 g0.03 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Histidine0.048 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Alanine0.106 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Aspartic acid0.232 g0.07 g0.11 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Glutamic acid0.282 g0.08 g0.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Glycine0.102 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Proline0.096 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Serine0.112 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 8:00.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 16:02.075 g0.62 g1.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 18:00.049 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 18:19.066 g2.72 g4.4 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 18:21.674 g0.5 g0.81 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 18:30.125 g0.04 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 16:10.698 g0.21 g0.34 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 20:10.025 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Stigmasterol2 mg0.6 mg0.97 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Campesterol5 mg1.5 mg2.43 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Beta-sitosterol76 mg22.8 mg36.88 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated9.799 g2.94 g4.76 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated1.816 g0.54 g0.88 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 17:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.015 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 17:10.01 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 20:30.016 g0 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.111 g0.03 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Lutein + zeaxanthin271 µg81.3 µg131.52 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
Manganese0.197 mg0.06 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2710824C
0.28 mg0.08 mg0.14 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Niacin (B3, preformed)1.912 mg0.57 mg0.93 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
2.1 mg0.63 mg1.02 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Pantothenic acid (B5)1.463 mg0.44 mg0.71 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
1.34 mg0.4 mg0.65 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171706C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-386C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Mattill 1916 Subject I: apparent fecal fat digestibility on avocado periods (diet-level)

not stated · fruits peeled and ground to a uniform pulp, spread on crackers; 100 g per meal · load not reported for avocado fat alone: 100 g peeled avocado pulp per meal on a basal diet of graham crackers, cottage cheese and milk; total diet fat ingested per period 292.6-610.7 g (Subject I avocado periods), 280.6 g (Subject II)

full text read

Fat93.7 %not reported1BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Mattill 1916 Subject II: apparent fecal fat digestibility on an avocado period (diet-level)

not stated · fruits peeled and ground to a uniform pulp, spread on crackers; 100 g per meal · load not reported for avocado fat alone: 100 g peeled avocado pulp per meal on a basal diet of graham crackers, cottage cheese and milk; total diet fat ingested per period 292.6-610.7 g (Subject I avocado periods), 280.6 g (Subject II)

full text read

Fat89.1 %not reported1BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: only total arsenic was measured, and the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.6% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Histamine · Context · Shown as context: EFSA's no-effect level is 50 mg histamine per meal (EFSA 2011). Not detected in 10 samples (Spain 5, Brazil 5); one reported 23 mg/kg of unexplained origin would be 0.7 mg per 30 g. · Sanchezperez 2021 · B
  • Latex-fruit syndrome · Worth knowing · Avocado is named by ACAAI among the foods 'most likely' to cross-react in latex allergy; the Allergy & Asthma Network (advocacy education body) puts it in its high-cross-reactivity group and says 30-50% of people with latex allergy react to foods. Gromek 2024: avocado the leading food in Beezhold 1996 (Canada, n = 47: 27% by history plus skin test, 70% by skin test) and Lavaud 1995 (59%); overall latex-fruit prevalence 4-88% by method; shared class I chitinases (Hev b 11). Not a Health Canada priority allergen. · American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds 0.04% to the average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day = 35 µg/day, EFSA 2012), so no cap. A whole fruit (136 g) carries 0.06 µg, +0.17%; the highest composite (12 µg/kg) in a whole fruit 1.6 µg, +4.7%. Peruvian pulp (dry weight): lead 0.22-0.33 mg/kg in 3 of 9 regions, below detection elsewhere; US Hass flesh mostly below detection. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Mercury, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: two sources disagree by two orders of magnitude, and one paper's units are internally inconsistent. EFSA's methylmercury limit (1.3 µg/kg body weight/week) is driven by fish; mercury in plants is mostly inorganic. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
  • Potassium-restricted diets · Context · 173 mg per 30 g (Foundation) or 152 mg (SR 171706); 392 mg per half fruit (68 g). The pediatric renal nutrition guide lists 'Avocado 75 g (1/2)' at 380 mg per portion among high-potassium fruits (507 mg/100 g). Against 3,400 mg (men) / 2,600 mg (women) adequate intakes. A flag, not a general-reader hazard. · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) · C
  • Tyramine · Context · One case report of hypertensive crisis with tranylcypromine after avocados (Generali 1981, abstract only); measured tyramine is low (~0.05 mg per 30 g, max 5.44 mg/kg), so the mechanism is not established by the amine data. · PubMed 7297422 · B
  • Vitamin K and warfarin · Worth knowing · For people on warfarin, as the label puts it: keep vitamin K intake consistent, not avoid. 6.3 µg per 30 g, 14 µg per half fruit. A case report, 'Warfarin antagonism by avocado' (Lancet 1991, title only), and a review that lists avocado among fruits in 'suspected' warfarin interactions, with 'scarce' evidence. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · C

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none: fructose (2.7 +/- 0.8) <= glucose (3 +/- 1) mg/g DW, ready-to-eat Hass; pooled FW fructose 0.04 vs glucose 0.03 g/100 g g/100 g · dry weight (Beiro-Valenzuela); fresh weight (Ford) · raw pulp · grade A · PubMed 41012007
  • fodmap perseitol: 17 +/- 2 mg/g DW (mean +/- standard deviation, 5 fruits) mg/g · dry weight · raw mesocarp · grade A · PubMed 41012007
  • fodmap perseitol: 7 +/- 2 mg/g DW (mean +/- standard deviation, 5 fruits) mg/g · dry weight · raw mesocarp · grade A · PubMed 41012007
  • fodmap perseitol: 1.4 +/- 0.5 mg/g DW (mean +/- standard deviation, 5 fruits) mg/g · dry weight · raw mesocarp · grade A · PubMed 41012007
  • fodmap perseitol: 0.5 +/- 0.2 mg/g DW (mean +/- standard deviation, 5 fruits) mg/g · dry weight · raw mesocarp · grade A · PubMed 41012007
  • fodmap perseitol: pooled mean 292.9 mg/100 g FW (min 16, max 424.2; 39 values) mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw pulp · grade B · Ford 2023
  • fodmap perseitol: 7.9 mg/g DW at harvest, 0.6 mg/g DW 13 d after harvest (mannoheptulose 15.9 -> 2.1) mg/g DW · dry weight, mesocarp · cool-area South African Hass, at harvest and 13 d later · grade B · Pmid:blakey 2012
  • histamine: ND (n = 5) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (Spanish market samples) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • histamine: literature range nd-23 mg/kg mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: nd (n = 5, Brazil, Faria 2011) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Diniz 2025
  • oxalate soluble: 1.3 mg/100 g FW (insoluble 0) mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Oxalate 2023
  • oxalate total: 1.3 mg/100 g FW (n = 2) mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Oxalate 2023
  • oxalate total: oxalic acid ND (4 values) mg/100 g · fresh weight · raw pulp · grade B · Ford 2023
  • tyramine: 1.81 (standard deviation 2.06; range 0.58-5.44), n = 5 mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.