FoodtopsyFrançais
A small pile of dry-roasted peanuts

Peanuts, dry-roasted

Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about 30 peanuts) · 176 kcal

Lots of niacin.

Go easy: aflatoxins can add up.

Worth knowing for some people: choking risk under age 4.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (30 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Aflatoxins

    Go easyEFSA 2020, European peanuts

    Long exposure raises the risk of liver cancer.

    Learn more

    +30–439% a serving a day adds to an average adult’s intake from all food

    That share is for one serving, 30 g (about 30 peanuts), every day. Eaten once a week instead, the same serving adds a seventh as much: 4.3–63%, not 30–439%.

    No amount of aflatoxins is proven harmless, so we compare with what people already take in instead of counting to a limit. We flag a food only when a daily serving would double that average.

    “Go easy” here because agencies’ estimates of what an average adult takes in differ, and against the lowest of them a serving a day can double it.

    One serving carries 67.6 ng

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can double average intake

    AFB1 lower bound 2.25, upper bound 2.91 µg/kg (88% non-detect, so both bounds shown). One serving = 0.97-1.25 ng/kg body weight/day. Against EFSA adult mean AFB1 (lower bound 0.22-0.49, upper bound 1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) it adds +197-439% on lower bound pairs and +38-92% on upper bound pairs: the range straddles the doubling line, so by the settled rule it goes in "may exceed". Serving alone margin of exposure (MOE) vs benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day = 321-415 (level of concern 10,000). PROPOSED band, not adopted.

    EFSA (2020) Annexes to the risk assessment of aflatoxins in food, Annex B (occurrence tables), Zenodo · grade A

    Every food with aflatoxins

Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, dry roasted salted peanuts

    You’d need about 5.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.23 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 6.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 76% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 4,300 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 1,200 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 6.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, peanuts and walnuts together

      You’d need about 4.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.68 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 9.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 78% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 3,100 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 910 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 9.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

      Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, dry roasted salted peanuts

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0–0.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); at most 0.12 µg per serving, up to 0.34% of average intake.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, peanuts and walnuts together

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.15 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      Middle bound (ND = half detection limit (LOD); 12.5% non-detects, under the 60% line): 4.96 µg/kg. lower bound 4.87, upper bound 5.05 µg/kg; per serving 0.146-0.152 µg (MB 0.149); adds 0.42-0.43% to average intake (MB 0.43%; 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day). Recent 3 composites (2016-2018) mean 1.64 µg/kg.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

      Every food with lead

For some people

  • Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years; whole nuts, seeds, thick spreads or spoons of nut butter must never be fed to infants.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.5 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 142 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Judprasong 2006 · grade B

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: 4.48 mg/g phytate (InsP6) (as free acid, MW 660.3), converted by Venkatachalam & Sathe from Chen 2004 mmol/kg; basis not stated g/100 g (not stated); 2.008% phytate (InsP6) (HPLC) as quoted; basis not stated g/100 g (not stated) · Venkatachalam 2006, Venkatachalam 2006 · grade B

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Shown beside the EFSA row, not scored: no peanut-only mean, n or per-sample list is published, so no lower bound/upper bound mean can be computed. Legal limit 15 ppb total aflatoxins in nuts and nut products (Health Canada List of Contaminants); FDA action level 20 ppb for peanuts and peanut products; the 28 ppb sample was followed up (no detectable aflatoxin in further samples of the brand) and Health Canada judged it not typical.

  • Health Canada: common food allergens such as peanut can be introduced from about six months; delaying priority allergens is not recommended as a way to prevent food allergy. Context for the allergen flag, not a restriction.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other snacks we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For niacin: no other snacks we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other snacks we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (150 mg vs 53.4 mg)
    • More iron (2.51 mg vs 0.47 mg)
  • Almonds, raw
    • More vitamin E (7.69 mg vs 1.48 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.34 mg vs 0.06 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.14 mg vs 5.46 mg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too
  • Almonds, dry-roasted
    • More vitamin E (7.17 mg vs 1.48 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.36 mg vs 0.06 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.14 mg vs 5.46 mg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (150 mg vs 53.4 mg)
    • More iron (2.51 mg vs 0.47 mg)
  • Peanuts, raw
    • More thiamin (0.19 mg vs 0.05 mg)
    • More folate (72 µg vs 29.1 µg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too
  • Almonds, raw
    • More vitamin E (7.69 mg vs 1.48 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.34 mg vs 0.06 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.14 mg vs 5.46 mg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Sunflower seeds, dry-roasted (Cadmium: go easy).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Peanuts, dry-roasted, unsalted

How the serving was set: Reference amount: nearest row. 30 g shelled (Health Canada O.1, nuts and seeds not for use as snacks; the row does not name peanuts)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.026 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Calcium58 mg17.4 mg9.88 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
52 mg15.6 mg8.86 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
58 mg17.4 mg9.88 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3362C
Carbohydrate21.26 g6.38 g3.62 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Choline64.6 mg19.38 mg11.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Energy587 kcal176.1 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fat49.66 g14.9 g8.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
49.8 g14.94 g8.48 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total saturated7.723 g2.32 g1.32 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fibre8.4 g2.52 g1.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
7.6 g2.28 g1.29 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Folate97 µg29.1 µg16.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
44 µg13.2 µg7.5 µgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Iron1.58 mg0.47 mg0.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
2.1 mg0.63 mg0.36 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Magnesium178 mg53.4 mg30.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
190 mg57 mg32.37 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)18.188 mg5.46 mg3.1 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3362C
Phosphorus363 mg108.9 mg61.84 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
420 mg126 mg71.55 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Potassium634 mg190.2 mg108.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
730 mg219 mg124.36 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Protein24.35 g7.31 g4.15 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
25.7 g7.71 g4.38 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Riboflavin (B2)0.197 mg0.06 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0.13 mg0.04 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Selenium9.3 µg2.79 µg1.58 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
3 µg0.9 µg0.51 µgsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Sodium6 mg1.8 mg1.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
790 mg237 mg134.58 mgsecond database · not used · 131.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Sugars4.9 g1.47 g0.83 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
3.8 g1.14 g0.65 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Thiamin (B1)0.152 mg0.05 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0.18 mg0.05 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin B60.466 mg0.14 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0.54 mg0.16 mg0.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin E4.93 mg1.48 mg0.84 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
1.11 mg0.33 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not used · 4.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Vitamin K10 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0.31 µg0.09 µg0.05 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Water1.81 g0.54 g0.31 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
1.8 g0.54 g0.31 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Zinc2.77 mg0.83 mg0.47 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
3.3 mg0.99 mg0.56 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Copper0.428 mg0.13 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0.64 mg0.19 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Ash2.92 g0.88 g0.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Starch4.39 g1.32 g0.75 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Sucrose4.9 g1.47 g0.83 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Glucose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fructose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Energy2,455 kj736.5 kj418.23 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocopherol, beta0.36 mg0.11 mg0.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocopherol, gamma6.32 mg1.9 mg1.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocopherol, delta0.61 mg0.18 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocotrienol, alpha0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Folate, food97 µg29.1 µg16.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Folate, DFE97 µg29.1 µg16.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Betaine0.4 mg0.12 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tryptophan0.23 g0.07 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Threonine0.811 g0.24 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Isoleucine0.833 g0.25 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Leucine1.535 g0.46 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Lysine0.85 g0.26 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Methionine0.291 g0.09 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Cystine0.304 g0.09 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Phenylalanine1.227 g0.37 g0.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Tyrosine0.963 g0.29 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Valine0.993 g0.3 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Arginine2.832 g0.85 g0.48 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Histidine0.599 g0.18 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Alanine0.941 g0.28 g0.16 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Aspartic acid2.888 g0.87 g0.49 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Glutamic acid4.949 g1.48 g0.84 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Glycine1.427 g0.43 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Proline1.045 g0.31 g0.18 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Serine1.167 g0.35 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total trans0.027 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 14:00.016 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 16:03.982 g1.19 g0.68 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 18:01.2 g0.36 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 20:00.575 g0.17 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 18:125.435 g7.63 g4.33 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:29.715 g2.91 g1.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:30.026 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:40.016 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 22:01.216 g0.36 g0.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 16:10.031 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 20:10.627 g0.19 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 22:10.055 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated26.181 g7.85 g4.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated9.773 g2.93 g1.66 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 15:00.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 17:00.041 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
SFA 24:00.689 g0.21 g0.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
TFA 16:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
TFA 18:1 t0.014 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
TFA 22:1 t0.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.012 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0.009 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 24:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 16:1 c0.031 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 18:1 c25.421 g7.63 g4.33 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c9.694 g2.91 g1.65 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 22:1 c0.054 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 17:10.032 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:30.011 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.015 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.012 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.025 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:3 n-30.011 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 20:3 n-60 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 18:3i0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
PUFA 22:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
Manganese1.786 mg0.54 mg0.3 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
2.2 mg0.66 mg0.37 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Niacin (B3, preformed)14.355 mg4.31 mg2.45 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
13.1 mg3.93 mg2.23 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Pantothenic acid (B5)1.011 mg0.3 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
1.59 mg0.48 mg0.27 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173806C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-878C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Chaturvedi & Geervani 1986: roasted groundnuts, niacin

local variety (Andhra Pradesh); oil and salt not mentioned · roasted, shelled, in a pan with sand, 170 C for 3 min (Table 1); local Andhra Pradesh variety

full text read

Niacin (B3, preformed)–40 mg6ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aflatoxins · Go easy: can double average intake · AFB1 lower bound 2.25, upper bound 2.91 µg/kg (88% non-detect, so both bounds shown). One serving = 0.97-1.25 ng/kg body weight/day. Against EFSA adult mean AFB1 (lower bound 0.22-0.49, upper bound 1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) it adds +197-439% on lower bound pairs and +38-92% on upper bound pairs: the range straddles the doubling line, so by the settled rule it goes in "may exceed". Serving alone margin of exposure (MOE) vs benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day = 321-415 (level of concern 10,000). PROPOSED band, not adopted. · EFSA 2020 · A
  • Aflatoxins · Context · Shown beside the EFSA row, not scored: no peanut-only mean, n or per-sample list is published, so no lower bound/upper bound mean can be computed. Legal limit 15 ppb total aflatoxins in nuts and nut products (Health Canada List of Contaminants); FDA action level 20 ppb for peanuts and peanut products; the 28 ppb sample was followed up (no detectable aflatoxin in further samples of the brand) and Health Canada judged it not typical. · CFIA targeted surveys: Aflatoxins 2010-2011 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 9.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 6.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Choking risk under age 4 · Worth knowing · Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years; whole nuts, seeds, thick spreads or spoons of nut butter must never be fed to infants. · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Middle bound (ND = half detection limit (LOD); 12.5% non-detects, under the 60% line): 4.96 µg/kg. lower bound 4.87, upper bound 5.05 µg/kg; per serving 0.146-0.152 µg (MB 0.149); adds 0.42-0.43% to average intake (MB 0.43%; 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day). Recent 3 composites (2016-2018) mean 1.64 µg/kg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); at most 0.12 µg per serving, up to 0.34% of average intake. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Peanut allergy · Worth knowing · Peanuts are a Health Canada priority food allergen: flagged for people with a peanut allergy. · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Introducing peanut early to infants · Context · Health Canada: common food allergens such as peanut can be introduced from about six months; delaying priority allergens is not recommended as a way to prevent food allergy. Context for the allergen flag, not a restriction. · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap gos: total raffinose-family oligosaccharides (RFOs) 0.40-0.67%, mean 0.56%; raffinose mean 0.7 mg/g; stachyose mean 5.0 mg/g (3.4-6.0) g/100 g · dry weight · raw seed, greenhouse-grown · grade B · Sanyal 2023
  • fodmap gos: raffinose 0.05-0.12%; stachyose 0.31-0.61% (33 cultivars; basis not stated in the abstract) g/100 g · not stated (moisture of the samples 4.9%) · non-germinated seeds · grade B · Bryant 2003
  • histamine: not detected (n = 7) mg/kg · fresh weight (table title) · "Peanuts"; raw vs roasted not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight (mg/kg or mg/L, as the review's header) · see variant · grade B · Diniz 2025
  • histamine: n not stated mg/kg · basis not stated · roasted peanut · grade C · Diniz 2015
  • oxalate total: 142 ± 35 (mean ± standard deviation as printed; n not in abstract) mg/100 g · not stated · peanuts bought at three Bangkok markets; raw vs roasted not stated · grade B · Judprasong 2006
  • phytate: 4.48 mg/g phytate (InsP6) (as free acid, MW 660.3), converted by Venkatachalam & Sathe from Chen 2004 mmol/kg; basis not stated g/100 g · not stated · dry-roasted peanut (as labelled in the Chen figure quoted by Venkatachalam & Sathe) · grade B · Venkatachalam 2006
  • phytate: 2.008% phytate (InsP6) (HPLC) as quoted; basis not stated g/100 g · not stated · dry-roasted ground peanut · grade B · Venkatachalam 2006
  • tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.