FoodtopsyFrançais
A small pile of raw peanuts

Peanuts, raw

Checked by us One serving: 30 g · 165 kcal

Lots of niacin.

Go easy: aflatoxins can add up.

Worth knowing for some people: choking risk under age 4.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (30 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Aflatoxins

    Go easyEFSA 2020, European peanuts

    Long exposure raises the risk of liver cancer.

    Learn more

    +30–439% a serving a day adds to an average adult’s intake from all food

    That share is for one serving, 30 g, every day. Eaten once a week instead, the same serving adds a seventh as much: 4.3–63%, not 30–439%.

    No amount of aflatoxins is proven harmless, so we compare with what people already take in instead of counting to a limit. We flag a food only when a daily serving would double that average.

    “Go easy” here because agencies’ estimates of what an average adult takes in differ, and against the lowest of them a serving a day can double it.

    One serving carries 67.6 ng

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can double average intake

    AFB1 lower bound 2.25, upper bound 2.91 µg/kg (88% non-detect, so both bounds shown). One serving = 0.97-1.25 ng/kg body weight/day. Against EFSA adult mean AFB1 (lower bound 0.22-0.49, upper bound 1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) it adds +197-439% on lower bound pairs and +38-92% on upper bound pairs: the range straddles the doubling line, so by the settled rule it goes in "may exceed". Serving alone margin of exposure (MOE) vs benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day = 321-415 (level of concern 10,000). PROPOSED band, not adopted.

    EFSA (2020) Annexes to the risk assessment of aflatoxins in food, Annex B (occurrence tables), Zenodo · grade A

    Every food with aflatoxins

Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, dry roasted salted peanuts

    You’d need about 5.7 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.23 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 6.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 76% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 4,300 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 1,200 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 6.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, peanuts and walnuts together

      You’d need about 4.3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 1.68 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 9.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 78% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 3,100 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 210 g a week, which stays within the 910 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 9.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

      Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, dry roasted salted peanuts

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0–0.3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); at most 0.12 µg per serving, up to 0.34% of average intake.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, peanuts and walnuts together

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.15 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      Middle bound (ND = half detection limit (LOD); 12.5% non-detects, under the 60% line): 4.96 µg/kg. lower bound 4.87, upper bound 5.05 µg/kg; per serving 0.146-0.152 µg (MB 0.149); adds 0.42-0.43% to average intake (MB 0.43%; 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day). Recent 3 composites (2016-2018) mean 1.64 µg/kg.

      Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

      Every food with lead

For some people

  • Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years; whole nuts, seeds, thick spreads or spoons of nut butter must never be fed to infants.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    1.4 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Oxalate: 142 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · Judprasong 2006 · grade B

    We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: 0.17 ± 0.04 (mean ± standard error, n = 3) g/100 g (as-is (edible portion; moisture 7.09%)) · Venkatachalam 2006 · grade B

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

  • Tyramine: 0.11 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.0033 mg in a 30 g serving. (mean 0.11 · standard deviation 0.41 · range nd–2.63 · n=47) · Sanchezperez 2021 · grade B

    For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Shown beside the EFSA row, not scored: no peanut-only mean, n or per-sample list is published, so no lower bound/upper bound mean can be computed. Legal limit 15 ppb total aflatoxins in nuts and nut products (Health Canada List of Contaminants); FDA action level 20 ppb for peanuts and peanut products; the 28 ppb sample was followed up (no detectable aflatoxin in further samples of the brand) and Health Canada judged it not typical.

  • Health Canada: common food allergens such as peanut can be introduced from about six months; delaying priority allergens is not recommended as a way to prevent food allergy. Context for the allergen flag, not a restriction.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other snacks we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For niacin: no other snacks we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other snacks we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (150 mg vs 53.9 mg)
    • More iron (2.51 mg vs 0.47 mg)
    • Less folate (17.4 µg vs 72 µg)
  • Almonds, raw
    • More vitamin E (7.69 mg vs 2.5 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.34 mg vs 0.04 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.14 mg vs 4.87 mg)
    • Less folate (13.2 µg vs 72 µg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too
  • Almonds, dry-roasted
    • More vitamin E (7.17 mg vs 2.5 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.36 mg vs 0.04 mg)
    • Less niacin (2.14 mg vs 4.87 mg)
    • Less thiamin (0.02 mg vs 0.19 mg)
    Aflatoxins: go easy · this food has it too

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Pumpkin seeds
    • More magnesium (150 mg vs 53.9 mg)
    • More iron (2.51 mg vs 0.47 mg)
    • Less folate (17.4 µg vs 72 µg)
  • Celery, raw
    • 4 kcal in 30 g (this food: 165)
    • Less niacin (0.14 mg vs 4.87 mg)
    • Less vitamin E (0.08 mg vs 2.5 mg)
  • Carrots, raw
    • 13 kcal in 30 g (this food: 165)
    • More vitamin A (251 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less niacin (0.35 mg vs 4.87 mg)
    • Less vitamin E (0.2 mg vs 2.5 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Sunflower seeds, dry-roasted (Cadmium: go easy).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Peanuts, raw

How the serving was set: Reference amount: nearest row. 30 g shelled (Health Canada O.1, nuts and seeds not for use as snacks; the row does not name peanuts)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.003 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Calcium49.13 mg14.74 mg8.92 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
60 mg18 mg10.9 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
92 mg27.6 mg16.71 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3396C
Carbohydrate26.498 g7.95 g4.81 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Choline52.5 mg15.75 mg9.53 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Energy550.622 kcal165.19 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
567 kcal170.1 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fat43.28 g12.98 g7.86 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
46 g13.8 g8.35 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fatty acids, total saturated6.279 g1.88 g1.14 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fibre8.014 g2.4 g1.46 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Folate240 µg72 µg43.59 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
110 µg33 µg19.98 µgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Iron1.554 mg0.47 mg0.28 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
2.5 mg0.75 mg0.45 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Magnesium179.7 mg53.91 mg32.64 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
210 mg63 mg38.14 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)16.233 mg4.87 mg2.95 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3396C
Phosphorus380.4 mg114.12 mg69.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
430 mg129 mg78.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Potassium635.6 mg190.68 mg115.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
670 mg201 mg121.68 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Protein23.205 g6.96 g4.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
25.8 g7.74 g4.69 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Riboflavin (B2)0.135 mg0.04 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0.1 mg0.03 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Selenium17.81 µg5.34 µg3.23 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
3 µg0.9 µg0.54 µgsecond database · not used · 5.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Sodium1.493 mg0.45 mg0.27 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
2 mg0.6 mg0.36 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Sugars4.72 g1.42 g0.86 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
6.2 g1.86 g1.13 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Thiamin (B1)0.64 mg0.19 mg0.12 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
1.14 mg0.34 mg0.21 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin B60.348 mg0.1 mg0.06 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0.59 mg0.18 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin E8.33 mg2.5 mg1.51 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
10.09 mg3.03 mg1.83 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Vitamin K10 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Water4.816 g1.44 g0.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
6.3 g1.89 g1.14 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Zinc2.78 mg0.83 mg0.5 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
3.5 mg1.05 mg0.64 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Copper0.46 mg0.14 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
1.02 mg0.31 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Energy (Atwater general)588.332 kcal176.5 kcal106.85 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Energy (Atwater specific)550.622 kcal165.19 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Nitrogen4.25 g1.28 g0.77 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Ash2.201 g0.66 g0.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Energy2,374 kj712.2 kj431.15 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Folate, food240 µg72 µg43.59 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Folate, DFE240 µg72 µg43.59 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Betaine0.6 mg0.18 mg0.11 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Tryptophan0.25 g0.08 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Threonine0.883 g0.26 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Isoleucine0.907 g0.27 g0.16 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Leucine1.672 g0.5 g0.3 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Lysine0.926 g0.28 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Methionine0.317 g0.1 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Cystine0.331 g0.1 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Phenylalanine1.377 g0.41 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Tyrosine1.049 g0.31 g0.19 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Valine1.082 g0.32 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Arginine3.085 g0.93 g0.56 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Histidine0.652 g0.2 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Alanine1.025 g0.31 g0.19 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Aspartic acid3.146 g0.94 g0.57 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Glutamic acid5.39 g1.62 g0.98 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Glycine1.554 g0.47 g0.28 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Proline1.138 g0.34 g0.21 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Serine1.271 g0.38 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 14:00.025 g0.01 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 16:05.154 g1.55 g0.94 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
SFA 18:01.1 g0.33 g0.2 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
MUFA 18:123.756 g7.13 g4.31 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 18:215.555 g4.67 g2.82 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 18:30.003 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
MUFA 16:10.009 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
MUFA 20:10.661 g0.2 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated24.426 g7.33 g4.44 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated15.558 g4.67 g2.83 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
Manganese1.68 mg0.5 mg0.31 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2515376C
2.1 mg0.63 mg0.38 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Niacin (B3, preformed)12.066 mg3.62 mg2.19 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
13.8 mg4.14 mg2.51 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Pantothenic acid (B5)1.767 mg0.53 mg0.32 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
2.66 mg0.8 mg0.48 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172430C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-877C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Chaturvedi 1986: peanuts

local variety · boiled groundnuts in shell · whole-day diet 39.90 mg niacin (200 g boiled groundnuts in shell, 100 C, 60 min)

full text read

Niacin (B3, preformed)–not reported6ANot used: it measures something other than the share absorbed.
Macfarlane et al. 1988: peanuts

not stated · nut meals (form not stated) · load not reported

full text read

Iron1.8 %not reported137BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: peanuts (pig), blanched animal study

blanched peanuts, not roasted · Blanched and dehusked (hammer-milled) · diet protein level not stated; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein81.5 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: peanuts (pig), smooth peanut butter animal study

smooth peanut butter · Fed as received · diet protein level not stated; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein92.6 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aflatoxins · Go easy: can double average intake · AFB1 lower bound 2.25, upper bound 2.91 µg/kg (88% non-detect, so both bounds shown). One serving = 0.97-1.25 ng/kg body weight/day. Against EFSA adult mean AFB1 (lower bound 0.22-0.49, upper bound 1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) it adds +197-439% on lower bound pairs and +38-92% on upper bound pairs: the range straddles the doubling line, so by the settled rule it goes in "may exceed". Serving alone margin of exposure (MOE) vs benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) 0.4 µg/kg body weight/day = 321-415 (level of concern 10,000). PROPOSED band, not adopted. · EFSA 2020 · A
  • Aflatoxins · Context · Shown beside the EFSA row, not scored: no peanut-only mean, n or per-sample list is published, so no lower bound/upper bound mean can be computed. Legal limit 15 ppb total aflatoxins in nuts and nut products (Health Canada List of Contaminants); FDA action level 20 ppb for peanuts and peanut products; the 28 ppb sample was followed up (no detectable aflatoxin in further samples of the brand) and Health Canada judged it not typical. · CFIA targeted surveys: Aflatoxins 2010-2011 · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 9.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 6.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Choking risk under age 4 · Worth knowing · Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years; whole nuts, seeds, thick spreads or spoons of nut butter must never be fed to infants. · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); at most 0.12 µg per serving, up to 0.34% of average intake. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Middle bound (ND = half detection limit (LOD); 12.5% non-detects, under the 60% line): 4.96 µg/kg. lower bound 4.87, upper bound 5.05 µg/kg; per serving 0.146-0.152 µg (MB 0.149); adds 0.42-0.43% to average intake (MB 0.43%; 0.50 µg/kg body weight/day). Recent 3 composites (2016-2018) mean 1.64 µg/kg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Peanut allergy · Worth knowing · Peanuts are a Health Canada priority food allergen: flagged for people with a peanut allergy. · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
  • Introducing peanut early to infants · Context · Health Canada: common food allergens such as peanut can be introduced from about six months; delaying priority allergens is not recommended as a way to prevent food allergy. Context for the allergen flag, not a restriction. · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap gos: total raffinose-family oligosaccharides (RFOs) 0.40-0.67%, mean 0.56%; raffinose mean 0.7 mg/g; stachyose mean 5.0 mg/g (3.4-6.0) g/100 g · dry weight · raw seed, greenhouse-grown · grade A · Sanyal 2023
  • fodmap gos: raffinose 0.05-0.12%; stachyose 0.31-0.61% (33 cultivars; basis not stated in the abstract) g/100 g · not stated (moisture of the samples 4.9%) · non-germinated seeds · grade B · Bryant 2003
  • fodmap gos: 0.56 g/100 g · dry weight basis as the paper states it; the assay used hexane-defatted meal, so whole-seed basis is uncertain · raw mature dry peanut seeds · grade B · Sanyal 2023
  • histamine: not detected (n = 7) mg/kg · fresh weight (table title) · "Peanuts"; raw vs roasted not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • histamine: ND in all samples mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • oxalate total: 142 ± 35 (mean ± standard deviation as printed; n not in abstract) mg/100 g · not stated · peanuts bought at three Bangkok markets; raw vs roasted not stated · grade B · Judprasong 2006
  • phytate: 0.17 ± 0.04 (mean ± standard error, n = 3) g/100 g · as-is (edible portion; moisture 7.09%) · raw full-fat kernels stored at -20 °C (inferred from the Methods: "full-fat seeds"; not otherwise stated) · grade B · Venkatachalam 2006
  • tyramine: mean 0.11 · standard deviation 0.41 · range nd–2.63 · n=47 mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
  • tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · market nuts, Belo Horizonte · grade B · Diniz 2015

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.