
Almonds, dry-roasted
Checked by us One serving: 30 g (about ¼ cup whole kernels) · 179 kcal
Lots of vitamin E, riboflavin and magnesium.
Go easy: aflatoxins can add up. Rated from a general figure (grade C), not measured in this food.
Worth knowing for some people: choking risk under age 4.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (30 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
7.17 mg in one serving: 48% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.36 mg in one serving: 28% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 33% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
83.7 mg in one serving: 21% of the 400 mg a day men need, 27% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
19 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
6.29 g in one serving: 11% of the 56 g a day men need, 14% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.14 mg in one serving: 13% of the 16 mg a day men need, 15% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.99 mg in one serving: 9% of the 11 mg a day men need, 12% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
3.27 g in one serving: 9% of the 38 g a day men need, 13% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
80.4 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
214 mg in one serving: 6% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 8% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.12 mg in one serving: 14% of the 8 mg a day men need, 6% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
16.5 µg in one serving: 4% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
15.6 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 4% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.02 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.6 µg in one serving: 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
3 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Aflatoxins
Go easyLong exposure raises the risk of liver cancer.
Learn more
+17–253% a serving a day adds to an average adult’s intake from all food
That share is for one serving, 30 g (about ¼ cup whole kernels), every day. Eaten once a week instead, the same serving adds a seventh as much: 2.4–36%, not 17–253%.
No amount of aflatoxins is proven harmless, so we compare with what people already take in instead of counting to a limit. We flag a food only when a daily serving would double that average.
“Go easy” here because agencies’ estimates of what an average adult takes in differ, and against the lowest of them a serving a day can double it.
One serving carries 39 ng (AFB1, 0.56 ng/kg body weight/day; raw-almond figure)
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can double average intake
May exceed, on the raw-almond figure: no survey of roasted almonds was found, and roasting adds no aflatoxin, so raw almonds' JECFA mean stands in. Whether a daily serving doubles intake depends on where in EFSA's range of adult averages a person sits. Against the upper-bound average (1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) one serving adds 17-41%; against the lower-bound average (0.22-0.49) it adds 114-253%, more than doubling it. The almond figure (JECFA) is an upper bound only.
Acrylamide
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 3 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 17–38% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 10.7 µg (0.153 µg/kg body weight)
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Adds 17-38% to EFSA's adult mean 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day; below the doubling line
For some people
Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years (choking)
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
1.5 g of sugar in a 30 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 30 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More magnesium
Pumpkin seeds150 mg in 30 g (this food: 83.7 mg) · but less riboflavin
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For vitamin E: no other snacks or toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
For riboflavin: no other snacks or toppings we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 30 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other snacks or toppings we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Chia seeds, ground- More omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 3 mg)
- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 0.6 µg)
- More fibre (10.3 g vs 3.27 g)
- Less vitamin E (0.15 mg vs 7.17 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.05 mg vs 0.36 mg)
Sesame seeds, whole- More calcium (293 mg vs 80.4 mg)
- More thiamin (0.24 mg vs 0.02 mg)
- More iron (4.37 mg vs 1.12 mg)
- Less vitamin E (0.08 mg vs 7.17 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.07 mg vs 0.36 mg)
Pumpkin seeds- More magnesium (150 mg vs 83.7 mg)
- More niacin (4.38 mg vs 2.14 mg)
- More selenium (6.16 µg vs 0.6 µg)
- Less riboflavin (0.05 mg vs 0.36 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Chia seeds, ground- More fibre (10.3 g vs 3.27 g)
- More omega-3: ALA (5,349 mg vs 3 mg)
- More selenium (16.6 µg vs 0.6 µg)
- Less vitamin E (0.15 mg vs 7.17 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.05 mg vs 0.36 mg)
Pumpkin seeds- More magnesium (150 mg vs 83.7 mg)
- More niacin (4.38 mg vs 2.14 mg)
- More selenium (6.16 µg vs 0.6 µg)
- Less riboflavin (0.05 mg vs 0.36 mg)
Sesame seeds, whole- More calcium (293 mg vs 80.4 mg)
- More thiamin (0.24 mg vs 0.02 mg)
- More iron (4.37 mg vs 1.12 mg)
- Less vitamin E (0.08 mg vs 7.17 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.07 mg vs 0.36 mg)
None of the 26 other snacks or toppings we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Almonds, dry roasted
How the serving was set: 30 g shelled (Health Canada TRA O.1)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Calcium | 268 mg | 80.4 mg | 44.82 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 268 mg | 80.4 mg | 44.82 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| 268 mg | 80.4 mg | 44.82 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2536 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 21.01 g | 6.3 g | 3.51 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Choline | 52.1 mg | 15.63 mg | 8.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Energy | 598 kcal | 179.4 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fat | 52.54 g | 15.76 g | 8.79 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 52.5 g | 15.75 g | 8.78 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 4.092 g | 1.23 g | 0.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fibre | 10.9 g | 3.27 g | 1.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 10.9 g | 3.27 g | 1.82 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Folate | 55 µg | 16.5 µg | 9.2 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 55 µg | 16.5 µg | 9.2 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Iron | 3.73 mg | 1.12 mg | 0.62 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 3.73 mg | 1.12 mg | 0.62 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Magnesium | 279 mg | 83.7 mg | 46.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 279 mg | 83.7 mg | 46.66 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 7.12 mg | 2.14 mg | 1.19 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #2536 | C |
| Phosphorus | 471 mg | 141.3 mg | 78.76 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 471 mg | 141.3 mg | 78.76 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Potassium | 713 mg | 213.9 mg | 119.23 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 713 mg | 213.9 mg | 119.23 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Protein | 20.96 g | 6.29 g | 3.51 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 21 g | 6.3 g | 3.51 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 1.197 mg | 0.36 mg | 0.2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 1.2 mg | 0.36 mg | 0.2 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Selenium | 2 µg | 0.6 µg | 0.33 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 2 µg | 0.6 µg | 0.33 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Sodium | 3 mg | 0.9 mg | 0.5 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 3 mg | 0.9 mg | 0.5 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Sugars | 4.86 g | 1.46 g | 0.81 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 5.1 g | 1.53 g | 0.85 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.077 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.136 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.02 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 23.9 mg | 7.17 mg | 4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 23.9 mg | 7.17 mg | 4 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Water | 2.41 g | 0.72 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 2.4 g | 0.72 g | 0.4 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Zinc | 3.31 mg | 0.99 mg | 0.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 3.3 mg | 0.99 mg | 0.55 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.17 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.17 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Copper | 1.099 mg | 0.33 mg | 0.18 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 1.1 mg | 0.33 mg | 0.18 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Ash | 3.07 g | 0.92 g | 0.51 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Starch | 0.73 g | 0.22 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Sucrose | 4.75 g | 1.43 g | 0.79 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Glucose | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fructose | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Maltose | 0.09 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Energy | 2,502 kj | 750.6 kj | 418.39 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 1 iu | 0.3 iu | 0.17 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.32 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.72 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.09 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Folate, food | 55 µg | 16.5 µg | 9.2 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 55 µg | 16.5 µg | 9.2 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.209 g | 0.06 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Threonine | 0.595 g | 0.18 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.745 g | 0.22 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Leucine | 1.461 g | 0.44 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Lysine | 0.563 g | 0.17 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Methionine | 0.155 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Cystine | 0.214 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 1.122 g | 0.34 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.446 g | 0.13 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Valine | 0.848 g | 0.25 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Arginine | 2.444 g | 0.73 g | 0.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Histidine | 0.534 g | 0.16 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Alanine | 0.991 g | 0.3 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.616 g | 0.78 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 6.153 g | 1.85 g | 1.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Glycine | 1.417 g | 0.43 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Proline | 0.961 g | 0.29 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Serine | 0.904 g | 0.27 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0.04 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.019 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 3.348 g | 1 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.704 g | 0.21 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.008 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 32.754 g | 9.83 g | 5.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 12.945 g | 3.88 g | 2.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.01 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.259 g | 0.08 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.007 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Stigmasterol | 4 mg | 1.2 mg | 0.67 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Campesterol | 4 mg | 1.2 mg | 0.67 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Beta-sitosterol | 122 mg | 36.6 mg | 20.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 33.076 g | 9.92 g | 5.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 12.955 g | 3.89 g | 2.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.012 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 32.748 g | 9.82 g | 5.48 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 12.945 g | 3.88 g | 2.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.057 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| SFA 13:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0.005 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 1 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.17 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| Manganese | 2.232 mg | 0.67 mg | 0.37 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 2.23 mg | 0.67 mg | 0.37 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 3.637 mg | 1.09 mg | 0.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 3.6 mg | 1.08 mg | 0.6 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.321 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0.32 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170158 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #14-897 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gebauer 2016: almond butter (dry-roasted, no additives), metabolisable energy nonpareil · dry-roasted almonds ground to a smooth butter by a commercial processor, no additives full text read | Energy | – | 42,000 mg | 18 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Gebauer 2016: whole DRY-ROASTED almonds, metabolisable energy nonpareil (Almond Board of California lot) · whole almonds, dry roasted 154-157 C for 9 min (nonpareil, same lot as the natural arm) full text read | Energy | – | 42,000 mg | 18 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Gebauer 2016: chopped (dry-roasted) almonds, metabolisable energy nonpareil · chopped (particle sizes 8.7 and 3.2 mm, industry 'medium 22/8'), dry roasted full text read | Energy | – | 42,000 mg | 18 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Chungchunlam 2024: almonds not stated · roasted almonds (review's wording) · 1.00 mg riboflavin (as listed by the review) secondary source | Riboflavin (B2) | – | not reported | – | B | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Jung et al. 2018: almonds not stated · whole almonds as a snack (roasting not stated) · 56 g almonds a day for 4 weeks (nominal); measured by diet records: vitamin E intake +102.7% full text read | Vitamin E | – | not reported | 84 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Adepoju et al. 2026: almonds not stated · whole natural dry-roasted almonds · 57 g (2 oz) dry-roasted almonds a day for 6 weeks (nominal; 322 kcal) full text read | Vitamin E | – | not reported | 69 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds 17-38% to EFSA's adult mean 0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day; below the doubling line · CFIA 2013–2015 · B
- Aflatoxins · Go easy: can double average intake · May exceed, on the raw-almond figure: no survey of roasted almonds was found, and roasting adds no aflatoxin, so raw almonds' JECFA mean stands in. Whether a daily serving doubles intake depends on where in EFSA's range of adult averages a person sits. Against the upper-bound average (1.35-3.25 ng/kg body weight/day) one serving adds 17-41%; against the lower-bound average (0.22-0.49) it adds 114-253%, more than doubling it. The almond figure (JECFA) is an upper bound only. · JECFA 2008 · C
- Choking risk under age 4 · Worth knowing · Health Canada: peanuts or other nuts are not safe for children younger than four years (choking) · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · A
- Tree nut allergy · Worth knowing · Almonds are named among the tree nuts of the Health Canada priority food allergens · Health Canada, Tree Nuts - Priority food allergens · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap fructan: 0.6 g/100 g · fresh weight (the paper's '% FRU (FW)'); its 1.16 g/100 g is on a defatted dry basis (samples with >10% fat were petroleum-ether defatted before assay) · almond kernels, as bought; Slovenian market almonds, composite of >= 3 subsamples of different brands; raw, roasted or blanched not stated · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
- histamine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
- tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- CFIA, FSAP Targeted Survey – Acrylamide 2013–2015
cfia-acrylamide-2013-2015· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Chungchunlam SMS, Moughan PJ (2024). Comparative bioavailability of vitamins in human foods sourced from animals and plants. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr 64(31):11603-11630. · doi:10.1080/10408398.2023.2241541 · PMID 37522617
doi:10.1080/10408398.2023.2241541· full text read · Taylor & Francis (OA) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B, Korosec M, Kocevar Baloh A, Bertoncelj J. Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods and estimation of daily fructan consumption. Front Nutr 2024;11:1446771. · doi:10.3389/fnut.2024.1446771 · PMID 39155934
ferjancic-2024-fnut· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations from Six to 24 Months (Choking and aspiration)
hc-infant-nutrition-6-24m· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Tree Nuts - Priority food allergens
hc-tree-nuts-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - JECFA 68th meeting. Aflatoxins (pages 305-356). In: Safety evaluation of certain food additives and contaminants, WHO Food Additives Series 59, Geneva 2008
jecfa-68-aflatoxins-2008· full text read · WHO publication; reuse terms not checked - Gebauer SK, Novotny JA, Bornhorst GM, Baer DJ. Food processing and structure impact the metabolizable energy of almonds. Food Funct 2016;7:4231-4238 · doi:10.1039/c6fo01076h · PMID 27713968
pmid:27713968· full text read · CC BY 3.0 (per a search result; not checked on the publisher page) - Jung H, Chen CO, Blumberg JB, Kwak HK. The effect of almonds on vitamin E status and cardiovascular risk factors in Korean adults: a randomized clinical trial. Eur J Nutr 2018;57:2069-2079. · doi:10.1007/s00394-017-1480-5 · PMID 28695324
pmid:28695324· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field, PMC6105263) - Adepoju A, Rabbani E, Brickey P, Vieira-Potter V, Dhillon J. Almond consumption improves inflammatory profiles independent of weight change: a 6-week randomized controlled trial in adults with obesity. Nutrients 2026;18(5):875. · doi:10.3390/nu18050875 · PMID 41830044
pmid:41830044· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.