FoodtopsyFrançais
Fresh sweet cherries

Cherries, raw

Checked by us One serving: 140 g · 89 kcal

Some vitamin C.

Nothing to watch for most people so far.

Worth knowing for some people: choking risk under age 4; oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (140 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for nickel, aluminum, cadmium, glyphosate residues and lead: fine at normal amounts.

For some people

  • Life-stage: small, round, hard foods and fruit pits are choking hazards for young children; a whole cherry is small and round and holds a pit. Not a concentration.

  • Person-specific: people allergic to peach often react to cherry through a shared 13 kd allergen (a lipid-transfer-type component); cherry also carries a cherry-specific 30 kd allergen. Mostly oral symptoms in pollen-related cases; systemic reactions in the LTP form. No cherry-specific prevalence extracted.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    18 g of sugar in a 140 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 4

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day, with no safe level. CFIA measured only total arsenic, a lower-bound mean of 5.978 ng/g over 108 samples (48.1% non-detects), not the inorganic fraction the reference point applies to, so no rating or grams figure is given.

  • Shown as context, not rated: cherry stones hold amygdalin, which can release cyanide if the stone is eaten or chewed, and steeping cherries in alcohol extracts it. EFSA's 2019 acute reference dose is 20 µg cyanide/kg body weight per sitting, 1,400 µg for 70 kg. The flesh is not the source and no stone concentration was found, so there is no grams figure; in one case report, alcohol-steeped cherries with stones contained 4.7–15 mg/kg cyanide.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: EFSA's 2020 reference point for ochratoxin A is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats), with no safe level. Only 3 CFIA samples exist, 1 with a detect (0.069 ng/g), a mean of 0.023 ng/g, and fresh or dried form is not stated. At 0.069 ng/g a 140 g serving would carry 0.01 µg, but three samples cannot support a rating.

  • Shown as context, not rated: no limit is applied to pesticide residues here. 293 of 333 CFIA-screened samples (88%) carried at least one residue, the highest rate of the three tree fruits, with 0 violations on every pooled row. Cherries are eaten whole and unpeeled; the effect of washing was not looked up.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 140 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other fruits we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More vitamin C

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other fruits we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Kiwi, raw
    • More vitamin C (105 mg vs 14.5 mg)
    • More vitamin K1 (56.4 µg vs 2.94 µg)
    • More vitamin E (1.82 mg vs 0.1 mg)
  • Mango, raw
    • More vitamin C (51 mg vs 14.5 mg)
    • More folate (60.2 µg vs 5.6 µg)
  • Pineapple, rawMore vitamin C (82.1 mg vs 14.5 mg)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Cherries, sweet, raw

How the serving was set: 140 g (Health Canada TRA J.1, fruit fresh, frozen or canned; cherries are not listed as a separate item)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.026 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Calcium12.26 mg17.16 mg19.37 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
13 mg18.2 mg20.54 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1531C
Carbohydrate16.163 g22.63 g25.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Choline6.1 mg8.54 mg9.64 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Energy63.291 kcal88.61 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
63 kcal88.2 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fat0.193 g0.27 g0.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.038 g0.05 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fibre2.1 g2.94 g3.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Folate4 µg5.6 µg6.32 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Iron0.105 mg0.15 mg0.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Magnesium12.11 mg16.95 mg19.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)0.304 mg0.43 mg0.48 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1531C
Phosphorus23.25 mg32.55 mg36.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Potassium229.6 mg321.44 mg362.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Protein1.039 g1.46 g1.64 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Riboflavin (B2)0.033 mg0.05 mg0.05 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Selenium0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Sodium0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Sugars12.82 g17.95 g20.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Thiamin (B1)0.027 mg0.04 mg0.04 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin A3 µg4.2 µg4.74 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin B60.049 mg0.07 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Vitamin C10.39 mg14.55 mg16.42 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin E0.07 mg0.1 mg0.11 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin K12.1 µg2.94 µg3.32 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Water82.18 g115.05 g129.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Zinc0.064 mg0.09 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene38 µg53.2 µg60.04 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Copper0.069 mg0.1 mg0.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Energy (Atwater general)70.543 kcal98.76 kcal111.46 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Energy (Atwater specific)63.291 kcal88.61 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Nitrogen0.166 g0.23 g0.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Ash0.425 g0.6 g0.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Starch0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Sucrose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Glucose8.359 g11.7 g13.21 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Fructose5.513 g7.72 g8.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Maltose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Citric acid0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Malic acid762.4 mg1,067.36 mg1,204.6 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Oxalic acid0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Pyruvic acid0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Quinic acid0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Energy263 kj368.2 kj415.54 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Sugars, Total13.872 g19.42 g21.92 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Galactose0.59 g0.83 g0.93 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fluoride, F2 µg2.8 µg3.16 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Molybdenum, Mo0.97 µg1.36 µg1.53 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Vitamin A, IU64 iu89.6 iu101.12 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocopherol, beta0.01 mg0.01 mg0.02 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocopherol, gamma0.04 mg0.06 mg0.06 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.03 mg0.04 mg0.05 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Folate, food4 µg5.6 µg6.32 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Folate, DFE4 µg5.6 µg6.32 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tryptophan0.009 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Threonine0.022 g0.03 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Isoleucine0.02 g0.03 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Leucine0.03 g0.04 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Lysine0.032 g0.04 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Methionine0.01 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Cystine0.01 g0.01 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Phenylalanine0.024 g0.03 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Tyrosine0.014 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Valine0.024 g0.03 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Arginine0.018 g0.03 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Histidine0.015 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Alanine0.026 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Aspartic acid0.569 g0.8 g0.9 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Glutamic acid0.083 g0.12 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Glycine0.023 g0.03 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Proline0.039 g0.05 g0.06 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Serine0.03 g0.04 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 14:00.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 16:00.027 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
SFA 18:00.009 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
MUFA 18:10.047 g0.07 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 18:20.027 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 18:30.026 g0.04 g0.04 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
MUFA 16:10.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Phytosterols12 mg16.8 mg18.96 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.047 g0.07 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.052 g0.07 g0.08 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Lutein + zeaxanthin85 µg119 µg134.3 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Manganese0.073 mg0.1 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346399C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.154 mg0.22 mg0.24 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.199 mg0.28 mg0.31 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171719C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Aluminum · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's tolerable weekly intake for aluminium is 1 mg/kg body weight/week, 70,000 µg/week for 70 kg. At a lower-bound mean of 0.964 µg/g (CFIA, 108 samples), about 72,594 g of cherries a week eaten alone would reach it, an upper bound because the concentration is a lower bound; a 140 g serving carries 135 µg. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · B
  • Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2024 reference point for inorganic arsenic is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL05) of 0.06 µg/kg body weight/day, with no safe level. CFIA measured only total arsenic, a lower-bound mean of 5.978 ng/g over 108 samples (48.1% non-detects), not the inorganic fraction the reference point applies to, so no rating or grams figure is given. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.13% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · B
  • Choking risk under age 4 · Worth knowing · Life-stage: small, round, hard foods and fruit pits are choking hazards for young children; a whole cherry is small and round and holds a pit. Not a concentration. · Health Canada, Nutrition for Healthy Term Infants: Recommendations… · B
  • Cyanogenic glycosides · Context · Shown as context, not rated: cherry stones hold amygdalin, which can release cyanide if the stone is eaten or chewed, and steeping cherries in alcohol extracts it. EFSA's 2019 acute reference dose is 20 µg cyanide/kg body weight per sitting, 1,400 µg for 70 kg. The flesh is not the source and no stone concentration was found, so there is no grams figure; in one case report, alcohol-steeped cherries with stones contained 4.7–15 mg/kg cyanide. · EFSA 2019 · B
  • Glyphosate residues · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2023 acceptable daily intake for glyphosate is 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day, 35,000 µg/day for 70 kg. CFIA found it in 1 of 11 fresh cherry samples (maximum 0.0028 µg/g), a lower-bound mean of 0.0002545 µg/g, so on that figure 137,524,558 g a day eaten alone would be needed to reach it, an upper bound; a 140 g serving carries 0.0356 µg. Eleven samples is very small. · CFIA 2015–2017 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe level of lead is set, so there is no grams figure; the rating rests on what a serving adds to average intake. One 140 g serving carries 0.74 µg, 2.1% of an average adult's 35 µg/day. The CFIA lower-bound mean is 5.271 ng/g over 108 samples (74.1% non-detects), from targeted inspection rather than a random survey. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · B
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 tolerable daily intake for nickel is 13 µg/kg body weight/day, 910 µg/day for 70 kg. At a lower-bound mean of 17.077 ng/g (CFIA, 108 samples, 37.0% non-detects), about 53,289 g a day eaten alone would reach it, an upper bound; a 140 g serving carries 2.39 µg. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · B
  • Ochratoxin A · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's 2020 reference point for ochratoxin A is a benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats), with no safe level. Only 3 CFIA samples exist, 1 with a detect (0.069 ng/g), a mean of 0.023 ng/g, and fresh or dried form is not stated. At 0.069 ng/g a 140 g serving would carry 0.01 µg, but three samples cannot support a rating. · CFIA 2011–2022 · C
  • Oral allergy to Rosaceae fruit · Worth knowing · Person-specific: people allergic to peach often react to cherry through a shared 13 kd allergen (a lipid-transfer-type component); cherry also carries a cherry-specific 30 kd allergen. Mostly oral symptoms in pollen-related cases; systemic reactions in the LTP form. No cherry-specific prevalence extracted. · PubMed 7930303 · B
  • Pesticide residues · Context · Shown as context, not rated: no limit is applied to pesticide residues here. 293 of 333 CFIA-screened samples (88%) carried at least one residue, the highest rate of the three tree fruits, with 0 violations on every pooled row. Cherries are eaten whole and unpeeled; the effect of washing was not looked up. · CFIA chemical residue monitoring (2016–2023) · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: derived: fructose 5.513 minus glucose 8.359 = -2.85 g/100 g, i.e. no excess fructose (glucose exceeds fructose); the Spanish table agrees (fructose 56.5 below glucose 71.2 g/kg) g/100 g · fresh weight · raw · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
  • histamine: not detected (n = 5); tyramine not detected; putrescine 3.08 mg/kg (2.35-3.46) mg/kg · fresh weight · raw · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.