
Ground turkey, 93% lean, raw
Checked by us One serving: 100 g · 150 kcal
Protein, plus niacin and vitamin B12. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.
Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs, Campylobacter and Salmonella.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (100 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
18.7 g in one serving: 33% of the 56 g a day men need, 41% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
8.97 mg in one serving: 56% of the 16 mg a day men need, 64% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
1.2 µg in one serving: 50% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
19 µg in one serving: 35% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.35 mg in one serving: 27% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
2.53 mg in one serving: 23% of the 11 mg a day men need, 32% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.19 mg in one serving: 15% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 17% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
53 mg in one serving: 10% of the 550 mg a day men need, 12% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
127 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 12% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.17 mg in one serving: 15% of the 8 mg a day men need, 7% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
213 mg in one serving: 6% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 8% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
21 mg in one serving: 5% of the 400 mg a day men need, 7% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
13 mg in one serving: 5% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0.4 µg in one serving: 3% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
22 µg in one serving: 2% of the 900 µg a day men need, 3% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
21 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
7 µg in one serving: 2% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.11 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
How to handle it
Flagged for a cooking warning (74 °C): Campylobacter was recovered from 46% (188 of 412) of raw retail turkey meat samples in southern Ontario, 2003-2004 (turkey pieces, not ground turkey; abstract only).
Flagged for a cooking warning: Health Canada's rule for ground poultry is to cook to 74 °C. Salmonella was found in 24% (95 of 397) of raw retail turkey meat samples in southern Ontario (February 2003 to May 2004; turkey pieces, not ground turkey; abstract only), and in 27% of turkey (n 91) in Alberta retail in 2007-08, S. Heidelberg the common serovar, with about 25% of turkey isolates resistant to amoxicillin-clavulanate, ceftiofur and ceftriaxone. No CFIA retail turkey survey was found.
Flagged for a cooking warning: a PHAC public health notice (final update 2020-02-21) names exposure to raw turkey and raw chicken products as the likely source of a Salmonella Reading outbreak, with 130 cases in ten provinces and territories (illnesses April 2017 to January 2020), no single supplier and no Canadian recall. The notice advises cooking ground poultry to 74 °C and not rinsing poultry. Raw turkey was not the sole source, and whether it was ground or pieces is not stated; this anchors the flag and is not a prevalence.
Watch out
How we counted this
Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs
Worth knowingFlagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, but the survey figures are on the older WHO2005 basis, so no grams figure is given until they are recomputed. In 24 CFIA raw turkey samples (2014-2019 survey; cut and form not stated) the lower-bound mean is 0.0063 pg/g (median 0.0004, maximum 0.1126) and the upper-bound mean 0.08478 pg WHO 2005 toxic equivalents/g (median 0.0722, maximum 0.2639). One sample at 0.1126 pulls the mean up.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Cholesterol
74 mg in a 100 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 100 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Purines, which matter for gout, aren’t measured for this food yet.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted31 g in 100 g (this food: 18.7 g) · but less vitamin B12
Pork chop, pan-fried27.6 g in 100 g (this food: 18.7 g) · but less vitamin B12Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
More niacin
Chicken breast, roasted19.7 mg in 100 g (this food: 8.97 mg) · but less vitamin B12
Pork chop, pan-fried14.7 mg in 100 g (this food: 8.97 mg) · but less vitamin B12Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
More vitamin B12
Mackerel, cooked19 µg in 100 g (this food: 1.2 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Sardines, canned in water10.8 µg in 100 g (this food: 1.2 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Shrimp, cooked- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (276 mg vs 13 mg)
- More selenium (49.5 µg vs 19 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.66 µg vs 1.2 µg)
- Less riboflavin (0.02 mg vs 0.19 mg)
- Less niacin (7.01 mg vs 8.97 mg)
Sardines, canned in oil- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (982 mg vs 13 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (8.94 µg vs 1.2 µg)
- More selenium (52.7 µg vs 19 µg)
- Less vitamin B6 (0.17 mg vs 0.35 mg)
- Less zinc (1.31 mg vs 2.53 mg)
Mackerel, cooked- More vitamin B12 (19 µg vs 1.2 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (1,203 mg vs 13 mg)
- More selenium (51.6 µg vs 19 µg)
- Less zinc (0.94 mg vs 2.53 mg)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Light tuna, canned in water- 90 kcal in 100 g (this food: 150)
- More selenium (67.8 µg vs 19 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (222 mg vs 13 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (2.57 µg vs 1.2 µg)
- Less zinc (0.66 mg vs 2.53 mg)
Shrimp, cooked- 119 kcal in 100 g (this food: 150)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (276 mg vs 13 mg)
- More selenium (49.5 µg vs 19 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.66 µg vs 1.2 µg)
- Less riboflavin (0.02 mg vs 0.19 mg)
- Less niacin (7.01 mg vs 8.97 mg)
Cod, baked- 105 kcal in 100 g (this food: 150)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (158 mg vs 13 mg)
- More selenium (37.6 µg vs 19 µg)
- Less zinc (0.58 mg vs 2.53 mg)
- Less niacin (6.78 mg vs 8.97 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Bacon, pan-fried33.9 g protein · 468 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Pork chop, pan-fried27.6 g protein · 238 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Left out: Clams, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Turkey, ground, 93% lean, raw
How the serving was set: 100 g raw (Health Canada TRA item L.7)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.127 g | 0.13 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Calcium | 21 mg | 21 mg | 14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Choline | 53 mg | 53 mg | 35.33 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Energy | 150 kcal | 150 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fat | 8.34 g | 8.34 g | 5.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Cholesterol | 74 mg | 74 mg | 49.33 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 2.17 g | 2.17 g | 1.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Folate | 7 µg | 7 µg | 4.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Iron | 1.17 mg | 1.17 mg | 0.78 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Magnesium | 21 mg | 21 mg | 14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 8.967 mg | 8.97 mg | 5.98 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Phosphorus | 193 mg | 193 mg | 128.67 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Potassium | 213 mg | 213 mg | 142 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Protein | 18.73 g | 18.73 g | 12.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.185 mg | 0.19 mg | 0.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Selenium | 19 µg | 19 µg | 12.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Sodium | 69 mg | 69 mg | 46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.067 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin A | 22 µg | 22 µg | 14.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.2 µg | 1.2 µg | 0.8 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.35 mg | 0.35 mg | 0.23 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg | 0.4 µg | 0.27 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin E | 0.11 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Water | 72.63 g | 72.63 g | 48.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Zinc | 2.53 mg | 2.53 mg | 1.69 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Copper | 0.107 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Ash | 0.92 g | 0.92 g | 0.61 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Energy | 628 kj | 628 kj | 418.67 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 73 iu | 73 iu | 48.67 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 14 iu | 14 iu | 9.33 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.13 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.02 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Folate, food | 7 µg | 7 µg | 4.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 7 µg | 7 µg | 4.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Betaine | 7.1 mg | 7.1 mg | 4.73 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.213 g | 0.21 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Threonine | 0.859 g | 0.86 g | 0.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.838 g | 0.84 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Leucine | 1.545 g | 1.55 g | 1.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Lysine | 1.675 g | 1.68 g | 1.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Methionine | 0.551 g | 0.55 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Cystine | 0.198 g | 0.2 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.729 g | 0.73 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.663 g | 0.66 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Valine | 0.868 g | 0.87 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Arginine | 1.359 g | 1.36 g | 0.91 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Histidine | 0.554 g | 0.55 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Alanine | 1.166 g | 1.17 g | 0.78 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.808 g | 1.81 g | 1.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 2.997 g | 3 g | 2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Glycine | 1.024 g | 1.02 g | 0.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Proline | 0.828 g | 0.83 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Serine | 0.795 g | 0.8 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0.2 g | 0.2 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.112 g | 0.11 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.068 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 1.477 g | 1.48 g | 0.98 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.566 g | 0.57 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.007 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 2.508 g | 2.51 g | 1.67 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 2.231 g | 2.23 g | 1.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.127 g | 0.13 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.108 g | 0.11 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.008 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.271 g | 0.27 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.029 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 2.843 g | 2.84 g | 1.9 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 2.537 g | 2.54 g | 1.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.074 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.032 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.015 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.265 g | 0.27 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 2.435 g | 2.44 g | 1.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 2.185 g | 2.19 g | 1.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.014 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.079 g | 0.08 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.032 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.121 g | 0.12 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 18:3i | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Manganese | 0.008 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 5.417 mg | 5.42 mg | 3.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1 mg | 1 mg | 0.67 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
| Retinol | 22 µg | 22 µg | 14.67 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172850 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Campylobacter · Worth knowing · Flagged for a cooking warning (74 °C): Campylobacter was recovered from 46% (188 of 412) of raw retail turkey meat samples in southern Ontario, 2003-2004 (turkey pieces, not ground turkey; abstract only). · PubMed 19343933 · B
- Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · Worth knowing · Flagged: EFSA's 2026 tolerable weekly intake (TWI) for dioxins and dioxin-like compounds is 0.6 pg WHO 2022 toxic equivalents/kg body weight/week, but the survey figures are on the older WHO2005 basis, so no grams figure is given until they are recomputed. In 24 CFIA raw turkey samples (2014-2019 survey; cut and form not stated) the lower-bound mean is 0.0063 pg/g (median 0.0004, maximum 0.1126) and the upper-bound mean 0.08478 pg WHO 2005 toxic equivalents/g (median 0.0722, maximum 0.2639). One sample at 0.1126 pulls the mean up. · CFIA dioxins survey (2014–2019) · B
- Safe cooking temperature · Worth knowing · Flagged for a cooking warning: Health Canada advises cooking ground poultry, including turkey burgers, meatballs and sausages, to an internal temperature of 74 °C (165 °F); poultry pieces also need 74 °C. · Health Canada, safe cooking temperatures · A
- Salmonella · Worth knowing · Flagged for a cooking warning: Health Canada's rule for ground poultry is to cook to 74 °C. Salmonella was found in 24% (95 of 397) of raw retail turkey meat samples in southern Ontario (February 2003 to May 2004; turkey pieces, not ground turkey; abstract only), and in 27% of turkey (n 91) in Alberta retail in 2007-08, S. Heidelberg the common serovar, with about 25% of turkey isolates resistant to amoxicillin-clavulanate, ceftiofur and ceftriaxone. No CFIA retail turkey survey was found. · PubMed 19343933 · B
- Salmonella · Worth knowing · Flagged for a cooking warning: a PHAC public health notice (final update 2020-02-21) names exposure to raw turkey and raw chicken products as the likely source of a Salmonella Reading outbreak, with 130 cases in ten provinces and territories (illnesses April 2017 to January 2020), no single supplier and no Canadian recall. The notice advises cooking ground poultry to 74 °C and not rinsing poultry. Raw turkey was not the sole source, and whether it was ground or pieces is not stated; this anchors the flag and is not a prevalence. · PHAC 2018 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- histamine: ND at day 0 of chilled storage (n = 3 determinations; 4 muscles pooled) mg/kg · fresh weight · raw turkey leg (not ground), retail, chilled at 2 C · grade B · Triki 2018
Sources
- CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey: Dioxins and Dioxin-like Compounds in Selected Foods 2014-2019 (data and 2-page overview PDF; report page inspection.canada.ca)
cfia-dioxins-2014-2019· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Safe cooking temperatures (published 2024-06-04; page details 2020-05-29)
hc-safe-cooking-temps· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Public Health Agency of Canada, Public Health Notice: Outbreak of Salmonella illnesses linked to raw turkey and raw chicken (notice of 2018, final update 2020-02-21)
phac-2018-salmonella-reading-raw-turkey· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright) - Cook A, Reid-Smith R, Irwin R, et al. (2009 Mar). Antimicrobial resistance in Campylobacter, Salmonella, and Escherichia coli isolated from retail turkey meat from southern Ontario, Canada. J Food Prot · PMID 19343933
pmid:19343933· abstract only · licence not recorded - Triki M, Herrero AM, Jimenez-Colmenero F, Ruiz-Capillas C. Quality assessment of fresh meat from several species based on free amino acid and biogenic amine contents during chilled storage. Foods 2018;7(9):132. · doi:10.3390/foods7090132 · PMID 30149617
triki2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.