
Farmed salmon, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 100 g · 206 kcal
Protein, plus omega-3: EPA + DHA and vitamin B12. Rich in 5 more nutrients: see Good for.
Go easy on big portions: histamine.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (100 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
22.1 g in one serving: 39% of the 56 g a day men need, 48% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
- A lot
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
2,147 mg in one serving: 859% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
2.8 µg in one serving: 117% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
13.1 µg in one serving: 87% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
12.2 mg in one serving: 76% of the 16 mg a day men need, 87% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
41.4 µg in one serving: 75% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.65 mg in one serving: 50% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.34 mg in one serving: 28% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 31% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
14 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
90.5 mg in one serving: 16% of the 550 mg a day men need, 21% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
384 mg in one serving: 11% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.14 mg in one serving: 11% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 13% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
34 µg in one serving: 9% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
69 µg in one serving: 8% of the 900 µg a day men need, 10% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.14 mg in one serving: 8% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
30 mg in one serving: 8% of the 400 mg a day men need, 10% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
113 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 10% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
3.7 mg in one serving: 4% of the 90 mg a day men need, 5% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
0.43 mg in one serving: 4% of the 11 mg a day men need, 5% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
0.34 mg in one serving: 4% of the 8 mg a day men need, 2% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
15 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.1 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
Watch out
How we counted this
Histamine
Go easyA big dose in one meal brings on flushing, headache and an upset stomach.
Learn more
200 g in one meal reaches the limit
You’d need about 2 servings in one meal of this food alone to reach the limit.
“Go easy” here because fewer than 2 servings at a time reach the limit; one serving on its own stays under it.
One serving carries 25.6 mg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Under the limit for one serving; fewer than 2 servings reach it.
Rated on the dose in one meal: even the worst raw batch measured carries about half the 50 mg per-meal dose in 100 g, and most batches are below the 2.13 mg/kg detection limit. Salmonids have little free histidine (under 1,000 mg/kg, FAO/WHO).
Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs
Worth knowingFlagged for women who are or may become pregnant; no cap for other adults (EFSA's limit protects the sons of future mothers). The share per serving comes from a study of farmed Atlantic salmon fillets in Norway (Jensen 2020), on the older 2005 toxic equivalency factors; EFSA says the 2022 factors lower exposure estimates by about 27-35%, so the share against the 2026 limit is overstated.
Learn more
Methylmercury
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 5 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 2.1 µg (total Hg)
How we got this
An average adult already takes in about 18% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 4,300 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 3,500 g of room left before the limit.
Women who are or may become pregnant, and children: 670 g a day.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
No cap, on agency advice for this fish: Health Canada sets no consumption limit for salmon, and the FDA and EPA list it as a Best Choice. The computed share of the tolerable weekly intake is shown for information.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 34 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.21 µg (at the upper-bound mean, 2.1 µg/kg)
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 83,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 24,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 91 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 1.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.4 µg (at most: every sample at the 4 µg/kg reporting limit)
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
A daily serving adds at most 1.1% to EFSA's adult average of 35 µg/day, far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A
For some people
Measured, not rated: 119.3 mg purines (taken from a similar food)
Learn more
If you have gout: avoiding organ meats such as liver, which are higher in purines, is one of the diet changes that help lower uric acid in the blood and the number of flares, according to the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Source: NIAMS (NIH), Gout: diagnosis, treatment, and steps to take
How we got this
Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Raw salmon measures 119.3 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species and whether farmed are not stated). No cooked figure was found, so that value stands in. A 100 g serving carries about 119 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 335 g.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Cholesterol
63 mg in a 100 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Sugar
0 g of sugar in a 100 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Not measured in this food yet. Not rated: EFSA's reference point is for inorganic arsenic. The arsenic in fish is mostly organic, and total arsenic cannot be converted without a measurement of its forms in salmon.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted31 g in 100 g (this food: 22.1 g) · but less omega-3: EPA + DHA and vitamin B12
More vitamin B12
Mackerel, cooked19 µg in 100 g (this food: 2.8 µg) · but less omega-3: EPA + DHAWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Sardines, canned in water10.8 µg in 100 g (this food: 2.8 µg)Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For omega-3: EPA + DHA: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 100 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Sardines, canned in oil- More vitamin B12 (8.94 µg vs 2.8 µg)
- More calcium (382 mg vs 15 mg)
- More omega-3: ALA (498 mg vs 113 mg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (982 mg vs 2,147 mg)
- Less vitamin D (4.8 µg vs 13.1 µg)
Mackerel, cooked- More vitamin B12 (19 µg vs 2.8 µg)
- More riboflavin (0.41 mg vs 0.14 mg)
- More selenium (51.6 µg vs 41.4 µg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (1,203 mg vs 2,147 mg)
- Less vitamin D (2.6 µg vs 13.1 µg)
2 foods out of the 20 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Light tuna, canned in water- 90 kcal in 100 g (this food: 206)
- More selenium (67.8 µg vs 41.4 µg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (222 mg vs 2,147 mg)
- Less vitamin D (1.2 µg vs 13.1 µg)
Shrimp, cooked- 119 kcal in 100 g (this food: 206)
- More zinc (1.63 mg vs 0.43 mg)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (276 mg vs 2,147 mg)
- Less vitamin D (0.1 µg vs 13.1 µg)
Cod, baked- 105 kcal in 100 g (this food: 206)
- Less omega-3: EPA + DHA (158 mg vs 2,147 mg)
- Less vitamin D (1.2 µg vs 13.1 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Bacon, pan-fried33.9 g protein · 468 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it too
Pork chop, pan-fried27.6 g protein · 238 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it tooNeeds care in handling: see its page
Ground turkey, 93% lean, cooked27.1 g protein · 213 kcal per 100 gWorth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · this food has it tooNeeds care in handling: see its page
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Clams, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Salmon, Atlantic, farmed, cooked (baked or broiled)
How the serving was set: 100 g cooked (Health Canada I.3, 125 g raw / 100 g cooked)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.113 g | 0.11 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Calcium | 15 mg | 15 mg | 7.28 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 11 mg | 11 mg | 5.34 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| 15 mg | 15 mg | 7.28 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3183 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Choline | 90.5 mg | 90.5 mg | 43.93 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Energy | 206 kcal | 206 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 2.147 g | 2.15 g | 1.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Fat | 12.35 g | 12.35 g | 6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 14.6 g | 14.6 g | 7.09 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 63 mg | 63 mg | 30.58 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 2.397 g | 2.4 g | 1.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Folate | 34 µg | 34 µg | 16.5 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 8 µg | 8 µg | 3.88 µg | second database · not used · 4.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Iron | 0.34 mg | 0.34 mg | 0.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.45 mg | 0.45 mg | 0.22 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Magnesium | 30 mg | 30 mg | 14.56 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 30 mg | 30 mg | 14.56 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 12.178 mg | 12.18 mg | 5.91 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3183 | C |
| Phosphorus | 252 mg | 252 mg | 122.33 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 262 mg | 262 mg | 127.18 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Potassium | 384 mg | 384 mg | 186.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 412 mg | 412 mg | 200 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Protein | 22.1 g | 22.1 g | 10.73 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 25.2 g | 25.2 g | 12.23 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.135 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.09 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Selenium | 41.4 µg | 41.4 µg | 20.1 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 20 µg | 20 µg | 9.71 µg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Sodium | 61 mg | 61 mg | 29.61 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 49 mg | 49 mg | 23.79 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Sugars | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.34 mg | 0.34 mg | 0.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.26 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.13 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 69 µg | 69 µg | 33.5 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 2.8 µg | 2.8 µg | 1.36 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 2.5 µg | 2.5 µg | 1.21 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.647 mg | 0.65 mg | 0.31 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used · 4.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 3.7 mg | 3.7 mg | 1.8 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin D | 13.1 µg | 13.1 µg | 6.36 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 7.3 µg | 7.3 µg | 3.54 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 1.14 mg | 1.14 mg | 0.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 3.7 mg | 3.7 mg | 1.8 mg | second database · not used · 3.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.1 µg | 0.1 µg | 0.05 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Water | 64.75 g | 64.75 g | 31.43 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 59.7 g | 59.7 g | 28.98 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Zinc | 0.43 mg | 0.43 mg | 0.21 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.6 mg | 0.6 mg | 0.29 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Copper | 0.049 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.02 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Ash | 1.15 g | 1.15 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Energy | 861 kj | 861 kj | 417.96 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 230 iu | 230 iu | 111.65 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 526 iu | 526 iu | 255.34 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Folate, food | 34 µg | 34 µg | 16.5 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 34 µg | 34 µg | 16.5 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.248 g | 0.25 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Threonine | 0.969 g | 0.97 g | 0.47 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.018 g | 1.02 g | 0.49 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Leucine | 1.796 g | 1.8 g | 0.87 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Lysine | 2.03 g | 2.03 g | 0.99 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Methionine | 0.654 g | 0.65 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Cystine | 0.237 g | 0.24 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.863 g | 0.86 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.746 g | 0.75 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Valine | 1.139 g | 1.14 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Arginine | 1.322 g | 1.32 g | 0.64 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Histidine | 0.651 g | 0.65 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Alanine | 1.337 g | 1.34 g | 0.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.263 g | 2.26 g | 1.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 3.299 g | 3.3 g | 1.6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Glycine | 1.061 g | 1.06 g | 0.52 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Proline | 0.781 g | 0.78 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Serine | 0.902 g | 0.9 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.571 g | 0.57 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 1.493 g | 1.49 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.315 g | 0.32 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 2.046 g | 2.05 g | 0.99 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.666 g | 0.67 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.113 g | 0.11 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 1.273 g | 1.27 g | 0.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 1.457 g | 1.46 g | 0.71 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.767 g | 0.77 g | 0.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0.184 g | 0.18 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 1.368 g | 1.37 g | 0.66 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0.69 g | 0.69 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.17 g | 0.17 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 4.181 g | 4.18 g | 2.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 4.553 g | 4.55 g | 2.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| Manganese | 0.016 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.02 mg | second database · not used · 3.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 8.045 mg | 8.05 mg | 3.91 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 8.6 mg | 8.6 mg | 4.17 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1.475 mg | 1.48 mg | 0.72 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 1.5 mg | 1.5 mg | 0.73 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C | |
| Retinol | 69 µg | 69 µg | 33.5 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175168 | C |
| 17 µg | 17 µg | 8.25 µg | second database · not used · 4.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #16-359 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hodgkinson et al. 2025: salmon atlantic farmed (pig) animal study King Salmon fillets (farmed status not stated) · Oven cooked to 52 C internal temperature then flaked · diet protein level not stated; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day full text read | Protein | 96.4 % | not reported | 6 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · Worth knowing · Flagged for women who are or may become pregnant; no cap for other adults (EFSA's limit protects the sons of future mothers). The share per serving comes from a study of farmed Atlantic salmon fillets in Norway (Jensen 2020), on the older 2005 toxic equivalency factors; EFSA says the 2022 factors lower exposure estimates by about 27-35%, so the share against the 2026 limit is overstated. · Jensen 2020 · B
- Fish allergy · Worth knowing · Person-specific: fish is a priority allergen in Canada (Health Canada) and a major allergen on the FDA and EU lists (EU Regulation 1169/2011, Annex II). · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Histamine · Go easy: within 2 servings of the limit · Rated on the dose in one meal: even the worst raw batch measured carries about half the 50 mg per-meal dose in 100 g, and most batches are below the 2.13 mg/kg detection limit. Salmonids have little free histidine (under 1,000 mg/kg, FAO/WHO). · Madejska 2022 · B
- Inorganic arsenic · Not rated yet · Not rated: EFSA's reference point is for inorganic arsenic. The arsenic in fish is mostly organic, and total arsenic cannot be converted without a measurement of its forms in salmon. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · A daily serving adds at most 1.1% to EFSA's adult average of 35 µg/day, far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Methylmercury · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap, on agency advice for this fish: Health Canada sets no consumption limit for salmon, and the FDA and EPA list it as a Best Choice. The computed share of the tolerable weekly intake is shown for information. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
- Purines and gout · Not rated yet · Not rated for people with gout or hyperuricemia: the only reference is a Japanese dietary recommendation of 400 mg purines a day, seen through Kaneko 2014 rather than an agency document, so no reference is established. Raw salmon measures 119.3 mg purines per 100 g (HPLC, Kaneko 2014, four purine bases; the species and whether farmed are not stated). No cooked figure was found, so that value stands in. A 100 g serving carries about 119 mg. For scale only, 400 mg would be reached at about 335 g. · Kaneko 2014 · C
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Jensen IJ, Eilertsen KE, Otnæs CHA, Mæhre HK, Elvevoll EO. An update on the content of fatty acids, dioxins, PCBs and heavy metals in farmed, escaped and wild Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar L.) in Norway. Foods 2020;9(12):1901 · doi:10.3390/foods9121901 · PMID 33352671
jensen2020-foods· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI open access) - Kaneko K, et al. (2014) Total purine and purine base content of common foodstuffs for facilitating nutritional therapy for gout and hyperuricemia. Biol Pharm Bull 37(5):709-721 · doi:10.1248/bpb.b13-00967 · PMID 24553148
kaneko-2014-purines· secondary source · J-STAGE open access - Madejska A, Pawul-Gruba M, Osek J. Histamine content in selected production stages of fish products. J Vet Res 2022;66(4):599-604 · doi:10.2478/jvetres-2022-0063 · PMID 36846046
madejska2022-histamine· full text read · CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 - Hodgkinson SM, Stroebinger N, Stein HH, Fanelli NS, de Vries S, van der Wielen N, et al. True ileal amino acid digestibility of human foods classified according to food type as determined in the growing pig. J Nutr 2025;155:3384-3400. · doi:10.1016/j.tjnut.2025.08.004 · PMID 40812478
pq_hodgkinson2025· full text read · CC BY (Europe PMC licence field)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.