
Pasta, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 215 g (about 1¾ cups) · 340 kcal
Lots of protein and selenium. Rich in 4 more nutrients: see Good for. Some of that may be added by the maker and depends on the brand: check your label.
Go easy: cadmium can add up.
Worth knowing for some people: gluten.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (215 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
12.5 g in one serving: 22% of the 56 g a day men need, 27% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
56.8 µg in one serving: 103% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.59 mg in one serving: 49% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 54% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
6.67 mg in one serving: 42% of the 16 mg a day men need, 48% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
157 µg in one serving: 39% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.29 mg in one serving: 22% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 26% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
3.87 g in one serving: 10% of the 38 g a day men need, 15% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
2.75 mg in one serving: 34% of the 8 mg a day men need, 15% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
1.1 mg in one serving: 10% of the 11 mg a day men need, 14% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
38.7 mg in one serving: 10% of the 400 mg a day men need, 12% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.11 mg in one serving: 8% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
51.6 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 5% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
94.6 mg in one serving: 3% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
13.8 mg in one serving: 3% of the 550 mg a day men need, 3% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
15.1 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.13 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Cadmium
Go easyBuilds up in the kidneys over years.
Learn more
1,500 g a week takes an average adult to the limit
You’d need about 7 servings a week of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
“Go easy” here because, for adults who already take in the most from other food, a serving a day can push past the limit.
One serving carries 7.42 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 42% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 101% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day uses up the room left in about 7 days of the week.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 5,100 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 1,505 g a week, which is more than the 1,500 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can push past the limit
The dataset’s original note, counted from zero and kept as written: A daily serving adds 42% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin)
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 2.7 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 7.63 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 16–36% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 81–95% of the limit.
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 2,000 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 215 g a day, which stays within the 590 g of room left before the limit.
general_acute: 16,000 g in one sitting.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
Same occurrence as the dry row, applied to the dry weight of the cooked serving (215 g cooked is about 90 g dry). 85 g x 84.8 µg/kg = 7.21 µg = 0.103 µg/kg body weight, 10.3% of the group tolerable daily intake (1.0 µg/kg body weight/day, EFSA 2017). EFSA's adult average, 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, plus the serving stays under the limit (0.40-0.80), and the serving adds 15-34%: no cap.
Ochratoxin A
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 6 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 4.9–18% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.02 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Same occurrence as the dry row, applied to the dry weight of the cooked serving (215 g cooked is about 90 g dry). 85 g x 0.229 µg/kg = 0.0195 µg = 0.000278 µg/kg body weight/day: a margin of exposure of about 52,000 against EFSA's benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats, EFSA 2020); it adds 4.6-16.8% to the average adult intake (0.00166-0.00603 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap.
Checked for lead: fine at normal amounts.
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 49 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 2.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.73 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
215 g x 3.38 µg/kg = 0.73 µg, 2.1% of the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day, EFSA): far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
For some people
Person-specific: wheat pasta contains gluten, so it is flagged for people with coeliac disease.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
1.2 g of sugar in a 215 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Lactose: 0 g per 100 g, so about 0–0.0086 g in a 215 g serving. · Torbica 2025 · grade A
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 2
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic, and pasta has only total arsenic here. If all of it were inorganic, a serving would carry 0.43 µg, 0.006 µg/kg body weight, against an average adult intake of 0.03-0.15 µg/kg body weight/day.
Not measured in this food yet. not rated: no Canadian value; the FDA non-detect (RL 1 ppb, n = 3) is not a rating.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 215 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
No swaps for selenium: they may be added to this food, so its amount varies by brand.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Whole-wheat bread26.4 g in 215 g (this food: 12.5 g)
White bread, toasted19.4 g in 215 g (this food: 12.5 g)
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g. In a typical diet most protein comes from other foods; among starchy sides, these help most.
Whole-wheat bread12.3 g protein · 254 kcal per 100 g
White bread, toasted9 g protein · 290 kcal per 100 g
2 foods out of the 5 other starchy sides we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Pasta, cooked (boiled, drained), enriched (spaghetti, macaroni)
How the serving was set: 215 g cooked (Health Canada C.8, pastas and noodles without sauce)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.024 g | 0.05 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Calcium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 7 mg | 15.05 mg | 4.43 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 12 mg | 25.8 mg | 7.59 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| 7 mg | 15.05 mg | 4.43 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4464 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 30.86 g | 66.35 g | 19.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Choline · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 6.4 mg | 13.76 mg | 4.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Energy | 158 kcal | 339.7 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fat | 0.93 g | 2 g | 0.59 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.8 g | 1.72 g | 0.51 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.176 g | 0.38 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fibre | 1.8 g | 3.87 g | 1.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 2.5 g | 5.38 g | 1.58 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Folate · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 73 µg | 156.95 µg | 46.2 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 9 µg | 19.35 µg | 5.7 µg | second database · not used · 8.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Iron · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 1.28 mg | 2.75 mg | 0.81 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.78 mg | 1.68 mg | 0.49 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Magnesium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 18 mg | 38.7 mg | 11.39 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 23 mg | 49.45 mg | 14.56 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 3.1 mg | 6.67 mg | 1.96 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4464 | C |
| Phosphorus · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 58 mg | 124.7 mg | 36.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 88 mg | 189.2 mg | 55.7 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Potassium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 44 mg | 94.6 mg | 27.85 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 114 mg | 245.1 mg | 72.15 mg | second database · not used · 2.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Protein | 5.8 g | 12.47 g | 3.67 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 5.5 g | 11.83 g | 3.48 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.136 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.01 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used · 13.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Selenium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 26.4 µg | 56.76 µg | 16.71 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 11 µg | 23.65 µg | 6.96 µg | second database · not used · 2.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Sodium | 1 mg | 2.15 mg | 0.63 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 1 mg | 2.15 mg | 0.63 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Sugars | 0.56 g | 1.2 g | 0.35 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 1.1 g | 2.37 g | 0.7 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.274 mg | 0.59 mg | 0.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used · 3.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin A · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin B12 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.049 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin C · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin D · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin E · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.06 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.32 mg | 0.09 mg | second database · not used · 2.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Water | 62.13 g | 133.58 g | 39.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 55.2 g | 118.68 g | 34.94 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Zinc · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.51 mg | 1.1 mg | 0.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.6 mg | 1.29 mg | 0.38 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Copper · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.1 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.15 mg | 0.32 mg | 0.09 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Ash | 0.27 g | 0.58 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Starch | 26.01 g | 55.92 g | 16.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.09 g | 0.19 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Glucose | 0.04 g | 0.09 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fructose | 0.03 g | 0.06 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Maltose | 0.4 g | 0.86 g | 0.25 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Energy | 660 kj | 1,419 kj | 417.72 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 7 µg | 15.05 µg | 4.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.03 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.5 mg | 1.08 mg | 0.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.05 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0.5 µg | 1.08 µg | 0.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Folic acid | 66 µg | 141.9 µg | 41.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Folate, food | 7 µg | 15.05 µg | 4.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 119 µg | 255.85 µg | 75.32 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Betaine | 68 mg | 146.2 mg | 43.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.081 g | 0.17 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Threonine | 0.203 g | 0.44 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.224 g | 0.48 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Leucine | 0.434 g | 0.93 g | 0.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Lysine | 0.131 g | 0.28 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Methionine | 0.064 g | 0.14 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Cystine | 0.112 g | 0.24 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.293 g | 0.63 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.107 g | 0.23 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Valine | 0.258 g | 0.55 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Arginine | 0.208 g | 0.45 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Histidine | 0.131 g | 0.28 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Alanine | 0.192 g | 0.41 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.274 g | 0.59 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 2.018 g | 4.34 g | 1.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Glycine | 0.194 g | 0.42 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Proline | 0.689 g | 1.48 g | 0.44 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Serine | 0.271 g | 0.58 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.149 g | 0.32 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.014 g | 0.03 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.131 g | 0.28 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.295 g | 0.63 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.024 g | 0.05 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.131 g | 0.28 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.326 g | 0.7 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 0.131 g | 0.28 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| SFA 13:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.024 g | 0.05 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 7 µg | 15.05 µg | 4.43 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| Manganese · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.322 mg | 0.69 mg | 0.2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.44 mg | 0.95 mg | 0.28 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 1.689 mg | 3.63 mg | 1.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 1.6 mg | 3.44 mg | 1.01 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.112 mg | 0.24 mg | 0.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0.39 mg | 0.84 mg | 0.25 mg | second database · not used · 3.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C | |
| Retinol · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169737 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-1129 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Arsenic, all forms · Not rated yet · Not rated: the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic, and pasta has only total arsenic here. If all of it were inorganic, a serving would carry 0.43 µg, 0.006 µg/kg body weight, against an average adult intake of 0.03-0.15 µg/kg body weight/day. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
- Cadmium · Go easy: can push past the limit · A daily serving adds 42% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Gluten (celiac disease) · Worth knowing · Person-specific: wheat pasta contains gluten, so it is flagged for people with coeliac disease. · Health Canada, celiac disease · A
- Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · Same occurrence as the dry row, applied to the dry weight of the cooked serving (215 g cooked is about 90 g dry). 85 g x 84.8 µg/kg = 7.21 µg = 0.103 µg/kg body weight, 10.3% of the group tolerable daily intake (1.0 µg/kg body weight/day, EFSA 2017). EFSA's adult average, 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, plus the serving stays under the limit (0.40-0.80), and the serving adds 15-34%: no cap. · CFIA 2018–2019 · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · 215 g x 3.38 µg/kg = 0.73 µg, 2.1% of the average adult lead intake (35 µg/day, EFSA): far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Mercury, all forms · Not rated yet · not rated: no Canadian value; the FDA non-detect (RL 1 ppb, n = 3) is not a rating. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Same occurrence as the dry row, applied to the dry weight of the cooked serving (215 g cooked is about 90 g dry). 85 g x 0.229 µg/kg = 0.0195 µg = 0.000278 µg/kg body weight/day: a margin of exposure of about 52,000 against EFSA's benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats, EFSA 2020); it adds 4.6-16.8% to the average adult intake (0.00166-0.00603 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap. · CFIA ochratoxin A survey (2012–2022) · A
- Wheat allergy · Worth knowing · Person-specific: durum wheat pasta contains wheat protein; wheat is a Health Canada priority allergen. · Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose minus glucose: at most 0.013 g/100 g (negative in some samples, counted as 0) g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · cooked (boiled per pack instructions, 100 g in 1 L water, 5-9 min), drained · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap fos: 0.127 to 0.853 g/100 g as is (kestose + nystose + kestopentaose); kestose alone 0.06 to 0.81 g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · cooked (boiled per pack instructions, 100 g in 1 L water, 5-9 min), drained · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap fructan: 0.33 ± 0.01 g/100 g fresh weight (0.73 ± 0.03 g/100 g dry weight; water 55%); per 215 g serve 0.71 g, above the Varney core-grain cut-off < 0.30 g (arithmetic) g/100 g · fresh weight · 'Pasta (cooked)', composite of at least 3 brands, Slovenian grocery stores; Megazyme fructan kit, AOAC 999.03 · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
- fodmap gos: 0.003 to 0.048 g/100 g (raffinose + stachyose + verbascose; raffinose and verbascose not detected, so stachyose) g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · cooked (boiled per pack instructions, 100 g in 1 L water, 5-9 min), drained · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap polyols: total xylitol + sorbitol + mannitol + maltitol 0.0 to 0.025 g/100 g; sorbitol up to 0.009, mannitol not detected g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · cooked (boiled per pack instructions, 100 g in 1 L water, 5-9 min), drained · grade A · Torbica 2025
- histamine: not detected, n = 7 'Pasta (wheat)' mg/kg · fresh weight · 'Pasta (wheat)'; dry or cooked not stated; Spanish market (the authors' own database) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
- lactose: not detected to 0.004 g/100 g g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · cooked (boiled per pack instructions, 100 g in 1 L water, 5-9 min), drained · grade A · Torbica 2025
- tyramine: not detected, n = 7 'Pasta (wheat)' mg/kg · fresh weight · 'Pasta (wheat)'; dry or cooked not stated; Spanish market (the authors' own database) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- CFIA, Multi-Mycotoxins in Corn Products, Crackers, Other Grain Products, Pasta and Gluten-Free Products, 2018–2019
cfia-multimyco-2018-2019· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Ochratoxin A in Selected Foods, 2012-2018 and 2019-2022
cfia-ota-2012-2022· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada 2.0 (as for the other CFIA datasets; not checked on this page) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Ferjancic B et al. 2024, Fructan content in most commonly consumed Slovenian foods, Front Nutr (PMC11327153)
ferjancic2024· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Health Canada, Celiac disease
hc-celiac-disease· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens (page details 2017-09-18)
hc-wheat-fact-sheet· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Torbica AM, Vujasinovic V, Miljic U, Radivojevic G, Filipcev B, Miljic M et al. Successful strategy in creating low-FODMAP wholegrain bread: simple and global. Foods 2025;14:304 · doi:10.3390/foods14020304 · PMID 39856969
torbica2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.