FoodtopsyFrançais
Two slices of whole-wheat bread

Whole-wheat bread

Checked by us One serving: 75 g (about 2 slices) · 191 kcal

Lots of selenium and niacin. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.

Nothing to watch for most people.

Worth knowing for some people: gluten.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (75 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

19 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • You’d need about 2.1 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 9.75 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 20–46% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 84–102% of the limit.

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 540 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 75 g a day, which stays within the 160 g of room left before the limit.

    general_acute: 4,300 g in one sitting.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    Group tolerable daily intake 1 µg/kg body weight/day (70 µg/day at 70 kg). A serving is 0.139 µg/kg body weight, 13.9% of it. EFSA's adult average is 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, so average plus serving stays under the limit (0.44-0.84) and the serving adds 20-46%, short of doubling: no cap either way.

    CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Deoxynivalenol in Selected Foods - 2011-2012 · grade B

    Every food with deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin)

Checked for cadmium, acrylamide and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 4.8 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.56 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 8.8% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 77% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 8,400 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 525 g a week, which stays within the 2,500 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 8.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 12 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 4–8.9% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 2.5 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    Adds 4-9% to EFSA's average adult acrylamide intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap. On its own the serving gives a margin of exposure of about 4,750 against the benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 170 µg/kg body weight/day (level of concern 10,000).

    CFIA, FSAP Targeted Survey – Acrylamide 2013–2015 · grade B

    Every food with acrylamide

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 91 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.37 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    Adds about 1.1% to EFSA's average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day, or 35 µg/day), so no cap. No safe threshold is set for lead (level of concern 10).

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A

    Every food with lead

For some people

  • Celiac disease is triggered by wheat, barley, rye and their hybrids; Health Canada: affects nearly 1% of the population

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    3.3 g of sugar in a 75 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Lactose: 0.8 g per 100 g, so about 0.59 g in a 75 g serving. · Ispiryan 2020, Watters 2026 · grade B

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: 0.04 g/100 g (bread as analysed, per 100 g of loaf (moisture not stated); the loaf mixed the labelled flour with white bread flour, so it is not a full whole-wheat loaf); 6.3–10.1 mg/g (dry matter (dm); phytic acid) · PubMed 1941185, Fretzdorff 1992 · grade B

    These come from different samples and are given on different bases (as the food was analysed, or per gram of dry matter), so the figures can’t be compared with each other.

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 75 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other starchy sides or breakfast foods we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For selenium: Bacon, pan-fried would lead, in the same 75 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

For niacin: Bacon, pan-fried would lead, in the same 75 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other starchy sides or breakfast foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Sweet potato, boiled
    • More vitamin A (590 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin C (9.6 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less selenium (0.15 µg vs 19.4 µg)
    • Less niacin (0.65 mg vs 4.13 mg)
  • Eggs, hard-boiled
    • More choline (220 mg vs 20.4 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.83 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More riboflavin (0.38 mg vs 0.12 mg)
    • Less thiamin (0.05 mg vs 0.29 mg)
    • Less magnesium (7.5 mg vs 57.5 mg)

2 foods out of the 7 other starchy sides or breakfast foods we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Sweet potato, boiled
    • 57 kcal in 75 g (this food: 191)
    • More vitamin A (590 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin C (9.6 mg vs 0 mg)
    • Less selenium (0.15 µg vs 19.4 µg)
    • Less niacin (0.65 mg vs 4.13 mg)
  • Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat
    • 44 kcal in 75 g (this food: 191)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.56 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less thiamin (0.02 mg vs 0.29 mg)
    • Less selenium (7.28 µg vs 19.4 µg)
  • Cottage cheese
    • 78 kcal in 75 g (this food: 191)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.5 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less selenium (7.28 µg vs 19.4 µg)
    • Less thiamin (0.04 mg vs 0.29 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Left out: Sweet potato, baked (Worth knowing: acrylamide).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Whole-wheat bread, commercial, sliced

How the serving was set: 75 g (Health Canada A.1, bread; label serving form '2 slices (# g)')

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.139 g0.1 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Calcium163 mg122.25 mg64.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
106 mg79.5 mg41.73 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
73 mg54.75 mg28.74 mgsecond database · not used · 2.2×Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4067C
Carbohydrate43.1 g32.33 g16.97 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Choline27.2 mg20.4 mg10.71 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Energy254 kcal190.5 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fat3.55 g2.66 g1.4 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
2.5 g1.88 g0.98 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.732 g0.55 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fibre6 g4.5 g2.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
7 g5.25 g2.76 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Folate42 µg31.5 µg16.54 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
40 µg30 µg15.75 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Iron2.56 mg1.92 mg1.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
2.4 mg1.8 mg0.94 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Magnesium76.6 mg57.45 mg30.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
66 mg49.5 mg25.98 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)5.512 mg4.13 mg2.17 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4067C
Phosphorus212 mg159 mg83.46 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
202 mg151.5 mg79.53 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Potassium250 mg187.5 mg98.43 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
253 mg189.75 mg99.61 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Protein12.3 g9.23 g4.84 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
9.4 g7.05 g3.7 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Riboflavin (B2)0.166 mg0.12 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.05 mg0.04 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not used · 3.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Selenium25.8 µg19.35 µg10.16 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
7 µg5.25 µg2.76 µgsecond database · not used · 3.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Sodium450 mg337.5 mg177.17 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
400 mg300 mg157.48 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Sugars4.34 g3.26 g1.71 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
2.8 g2.1 g1.1 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Thiamin (B1)0.391 mg0.29 mg0.15 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.25 mg0.19 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin B60.216 mg0.16 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.11 mg0.08 mg0.04 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin E2.82 mg2.12 mg1.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.28 mg0.21 mg0.11 mgsecond database · not used · 10.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Vitamin K17.8 µg5.85 µg3.07 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
2 µg1.5 µg0.79 µgsecond database · not used · 3.9×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Water38.7 g29.03 g15.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
41.2 g30.9 g16.22 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Zinc1.76 mg1.32 mg0.69 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
1.6 mg1.2 mg0.63 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene2 µg1.5 µg0.79 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Copper0.226 mg0.17 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.23 mg0.17 mg0.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Energy (Atwater general)254 kcal190.5 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Nitrogen1.97 g1.48 g0.78 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Ash2.36 g1.77 g0.93 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Starch28.7 g21.53 g11.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Sucrose0.03 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Glucose1.1 g0.83 g0.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fructose2.24 g1.68 g0.88 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Maltose1.03 g0.77 g0.41 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Carbohydrate, by summation39.2 g29.4 g15.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Energy1,060 kj795 kj417.32 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Sugars, Total4.41 g3.31 g1.74 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Total fat (NLEA)2.98 g2.24 g1.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Vitamin A, IU3 iu2.25 iu1.18 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Tocopherol, beta0.24 mg0.18 mg0.09 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocopherol, gamma0.9 mg0.68 mg0.35 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocopherol, delta0.29 mg0.22 mg0.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.41 mg0.31 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocotrienol, beta1.27 mg0.95 mg0.5 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocotrienol, gamma0.37 mg0.28 mg0.15 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Tocotrienol, delta0.18 mg0.14 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0.6 µg0.45 µg0.24 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Folate, food42 µg31.5 µg16.54 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Folate, DFE42 µg31.5 µg16.54 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Choline, free16.3 mg12.23 mg6.42 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Choline, from phosphocholine0.4 mg0.3 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Choline, from phosphotidyl choline2.9 mg2.18 mg1.14 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Choline, from glycerophosphocholine7.6 mg5.7 mg2.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Betaine126 mg94.5 mg49.61 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Choline, from sphingomyelin0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Fatty acids, total trans0.022 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 8:00.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 10:00.008 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 12:00.013 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 14:00.008 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 16:00.44 g0.33 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 18:00.235 g0.18 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 20:00.008 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 18:10.584 g0.44 g0.23 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
PUFA 18:21.446 g1.08 g0.57 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
PUFA 18:30.139 g0.1 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
PUFA 20:40.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 22:00.007 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
MUFA 16:10.016 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 20:10.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.616 g0.46 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated1.61 g1.21 g0.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 15:00.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 17:00.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 24:00.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
TFA 16:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
TFA 18:1 t0.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
TFA 22:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 24:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 16:1 c0.015 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 18:1 c0.582 g0.44 g0.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c1.46 g1.1 g0.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 22:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 17:10.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:30.001 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fatty acids, total trans-dienoic0.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.005 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 22:20 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
SFA 11:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.139 g0.1 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:3 n-30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:3 n-60 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:3i0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 22:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:3 n-90 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 14:1 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 17:1 c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
MUFA 20:1 c0.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:2 c1.46 g1.1 g0.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 18:3 c0.141 g0.11 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:3 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:4c0.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:5c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 22:5 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 22:6 c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
PUFA 20:2 c0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
Iodine1.9 µg1.43 µg0.75 µglisted usedUSDA iodine database (2024) #Bread, whole-wheat, commercially preparedC
Lactose0.01 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Lutein + zeaxanthin87 µg65.25 µg34.25 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
Manganese2.18 mg1.64 mg0.86 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
1.75 mg1.31 mg0.69 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Niacin (B3, preformed)4.43 mg3.32 mg1.74 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
3.8 mg2.85 mg1.5 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.65 mg0.49 mg0.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #335240C
0.63 mg0.47 mg0.25 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172688C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-981C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Weaver et al. 1991, study 1: leavened whole-wheat bread alone (intrinsic 45Ca)

leavened (yeast; dough fermented twice); lab-baked loaf, 170 g dough, 190 C, 25 min; Table 1 formula: flour 50.4, yeast 1.0, sugar 3.0, water 32.7, salt 0.8, shortening 12.1 g/100 g; flour = intrinsically 45Ca-labelled wheat flour mixed with 'Pillsbury bread flour' (labelled flour 9.4-20.8% of total flour); whether the unlabelled flour was whole-wheat is not stated; phytate of the loaf by analysis 0.04 g/100 g (labelled flour as milled: 0.96%) · leavened whole-wheat bread, baked (half loaf, 78.3 g); no accompaniment stated in the Study 1 protocol paragraph

full text read

Calcium81.7 %13 mg11BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Weaver et al. 1991, study 1: same bread co-ingested with milk (meal-level arm)

leavened (yeast; dough fermented twice); lab-baked loaf, 170 g dough, 190 C, 25 min; Table 1 formula: flour 50.4, yeast 1.0, sugar 3.0, water 32.7, salt 0.8, shortening 12.1 g/100 g; flour = intrinsically 45Ca-labelled wheat flour mixed with 'Pillsbury bread flour' (labelled flour 9.4-20.8% of total flour); whether the unlabelled flour was whole-wheat is NOT stated; phytate of the loaf by analysis 0.04 g/100 g (labelled flour as milled: 0.96%) · leavened whole-wheat bread (as above) eaten with labelled milk

full text read

Calcium74.8 %15 mg11BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Weaver et al. 1991, study 3: leavened bread, crust removed (intrinsic 45Ca), AUTHOR LOAD-ADJUSTED

leavened bread from intrinsically labelled wheat flour (15% of the flour labelled, the rest Pillsbury bread flour); text says only 'wheat bread', whole-wheat status not stated · leavened bread with crust removed (to remove Maillard products); 60.8 g bread eaten with margarine (fat load 31.6 g)

full text read

Calcium70.3 %10 mg15BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Bohn et al. 2004: white-wheat bread + added phytic acid 1.49 mmol (whole-meal-equivalent amount)

NOT whole-wheat: white bread with sodium-phytate-type addition at the amount 'naturally present in whole-meal' bread (model of whole-meal bread) · white-wheat bread (phytic-acid-free) with phytic acid added; stable isotopes 25Mg / 26Mg

abstract only

Magnesium13 %88 mg–BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Bohn et al. 2004: white-wheat bread + added phytic acid 0.75 mmol (brown-bread-equivalent amount)

NOT whole-wheat: white bread + added phytic acid at the amount present in brown bread · white-wheat bread (phytic-acid-free) with phytic acid added

abstract only

Magnesium24 %88 mg–BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Hoppe et al. 2025: 80 g scalded (high-phytate) whole grain rye bread

rye, not wheat: the paper's whole grain / whole meal rye bread; its Methods list wholegrain rye flour, wholegrain wheat flour and wheat flour; whole grain 30 g of 80 g bread, 44 g of 120 g · whole grain RYE bread, scalded-flour (high-phytate) vs sourdough-fermented (near-zero phytate); radioiron 55Fe / 59Fe, erythrocyte incorporation

full text read

Iron7 %1 mg8BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Hoppe et al. 2025: 80 g sourdough (dephytinized) whole grain rye bread

rye, not wheat: the paper's whole grain / whole meal rye bread; its Methods list wholegrain rye flour, wholegrain wheat flour and wheat flour; whole grain 30 g of 80 g bread, 44 g of 120 g · whole grain RYE bread, scalded-flour (high-phytate) vs sourdough-fermented (near-zero phytate); radioiron 55Fe / 59Fe, erythrocyte incorporation

full text read

Iron19.1 %1 mg8BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Hoppe et al. 2025: 120 g scalded (high-phytate) whole grain rye bread

rye, not wheat: the paper's whole grain / whole meal rye bread; its Methods list wholegrain rye flour, wholegrain wheat flour and wheat flour; whole grain 30 g of 80 g bread, 44 g of 120 g · whole grain RYE bread, scalded-flour (high-phytate) vs sourdough-fermented (near-zero phytate); radioiron 55Fe / 59Fe, erythrocyte incorporation

full text read

Iron4.6 %1 mg17BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Hoppe et al. 2025: 120 g sourdough (dephytinized) whole grain rye bread

rye, not wheat: the paper's whole grain / whole meal rye bread; its Methods list wholegrain rye flour, wholegrain wheat flour and wheat flour; whole grain 30 g of 80 g bread, 44 g of 120 g · whole grain RYE bread, scalded-flour (high-phytate) vs sourdough-fermented (near-zero phytate); radioiron 55Fe / 59Fe, erythrocyte incorporation

full text read

Iron15 %1 mg17BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: bread whole wheat (pig) animal study

Aunt Millie's whole wheat bread, US · Fed as received (Table 1 row order) · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein70.7 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds 4-9% to EFSA's average adult acrylamide intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap. On its own the serving gives a margin of exposure of about 4,750 against the benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 170 µg/kg body weight/day (level of concern 10,000). · CFIA 2013–2015 · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 8.8% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Gluten (celiac disease) · Worth knowing · Celiac disease is triggered by wheat, barley, rye and their hybrids; Health Canada: affects nearly 1% of the population · Health Canada, celiac disease · A
  • Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · Group tolerable daily intake 1 µg/kg body weight/day (70 µg/day at 70 kg). A serving is 0.139 µg/kg body weight, 13.9% of it. EFSA's adult average is 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, so average plus serving stays under the limit (0.44-0.84) and the serving adds 20-46%, short of doubling: no cap either way. · CFIA 2011–2012 · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Adds about 1.1% to EFSA's average adult lead intake (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day, or 35 µg/day), so no cap. No safe threshold is set for lead (level of concern 10). · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Wheat allergy · Worth knowing · Wheat (and triticale) is a Health Canada priority food allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.036 g/100 g · 'as is' · same control bread · grade B · Torbica 2025
  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not above glucose) g/100 g · as is (bread) · wholewheat SODA bread (wholemeal 36% + wheat flour, buttermilk, sodium bicarbonate raising agent; no yeast) · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.57 g/100 g · as is (bread, per 100 g) · whole-wheat bread, baker's yeast (60 min proof at 32 C) · grade B · Watters 2026
  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not above glucose) g/100 g · as is (bread, per 100 g) · whole-wheat bread, sourdough · grade B · Watters 2026
  • fodmap fos: 1.626 g/100 g · 'as is' (fresh weight) · lab-baked wholegrain wheat bread, control recipe (100% wholegrain wheat flour, 2% baker's yeast, 30 C, 90 + 30 min) · grade B · Torbica 2025
  • fodmap fructan: 0.14 g/100 g · fresh weight (0.25 +/- 0.04 g/100 g dry weight; water 44%) · commercial 'brown bread', composite of >= 3 brands, Slovenia · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
  • fodmap fructan: 0.76–1.09 g/100 g · not stated · UK retail 'granary' breads, individual brands (AOAC 999.03) · grade B · Whelan 2011
  • fodmap fructan: 1.626 g/100 g · as is (bread) · baked bread, 100% wholegrain wheat flour, yeasted (2% baker's yeast, 90 min + 30 min at 30 C, 55% water) · grade A · Torbica 2025
  • fodmap fructan: 1.32 g/100 g · as is (bread) · wholewheat SODA bread (wholemeal 36% + wheat flour, buttermilk, sodium bicarbonate raising agent; no yeast) · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap fructan: 0.4 g/100 g · as is (bread, per 100 g) · whole-wheat bread, baker's yeast (60 min proof at 32 C) · grade B · Watters 2026
  • fodmap fructan: 0.8 g/100 g · as is (bread, per 100 g) · whole-wheat bread, sourdough (about 8 h starter + about 14 h proof) · grade B · Watters 2026
  • fodmap fructan: 0.28 g/100 g · dry weight (bread water 33.7%) · commercial whole-grain bread, as sold (100% whole-grain flour, hypermarket) · grade A · Marin 2022
  • fodmap fructan: 0.68 g/100 g · dry weight (bread water 41.6%) · commercial whole-grain bread, as sold (100% whole-grain flour, local bakery) · grade A · Marin 2022
  • fodmap fructan: 1.12 g/100 g · dry weight (bread water 41.3%) · commercial whole-grain bread, as sold (100% whole-grain flour, local bakery) · grade A · Marin 2022
  • fodmap fructan: 0.74 g/100 g · dry weight (bread water 41.2%) · commercial whole-grain bread, as sold (75% whole-grain flour, local bakery) · grade B · Marin 2022
  • fodmap gos: 0.082 g/100 g · 'as is' · same control bread · grade B · Torbica 2025
  • fodmap gos: 0.07 g/100 g · as is (bread) · wholewheat SODA bread (wholemeal 36% + wheat flour, buttermilk, sodium bicarbonate raising agent; no yeast) · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap polyols: 0.17 g/100 g · 'as is' · same control bread · grade B · Torbica 2025
  • fodmap polyols: not detected g/100 g · as is (bread) · wholewheat SODA bread (wholemeal 36% + wheat flour, buttermilk, sodium bicarbonate raising agent; no yeast) · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • histamine: not detected (n = 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · wholemeal bread, Spanish market samples (authors' own database) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
  • lactose: 0.79 g/100 g · as is (bread) · wholewheat SODA bread (wholemeal 36% + wheat flour, buttermilk, sodium bicarbonate raising agent; no yeast) · grade B · Ispiryan 2020
  • lactose: < 0.04 g/100 g · as is (bread, per 100 g) · whole-wheat bread, baker's yeast · grade B · Watters 2026
  • oxalate total: 35 mg/100 g · as eaten, per 100 g · 'Bread, Wheat, Whole Grain, 100% Whole Wheat' (13 mg per 38 g slice) · grade B · Oxalosis and Hyperoxaluria Foundation 2026
  • phytate: 0.04 g/100 g · bread as analysed, per 100 g of loaf (moisture not stated); the loaf mixed the labelled flour with white bread flour, so it is not a full whole-wheat loaf · lab-baked leavened loaf of the Weaver 1991 absorption study (170 g dough, 190 C, 25 min) · grade B · PubMed 1941185
  • phytate: 6.3–10.1 mg/g · dry matter (dm); phytic acid · lab-baked whole-meal coarse-meal wheat breads (unfermented-sponge procedure, yeast, 60 min proof, 200 C) · grade B · Fretzdorff 1992
  • phytate: 7.7–9.9 micromoles/g · dry matter (the paper's methods give micromoles/g dry matter; Table 1 header says micromoles/g) · lab-baked whole grain SPELT breads, direct yeast recipe (3 varieties; flour 9.9-11.9) · grade B · Longin 2023
  • phytate: 64% of the flour's phytate was hydrolysed in whole-wheat bread made without additives % of flour phytate · relative to whole-meal flour · lab-baked whole-wheat bread, no additives (Sweden) · grade B · Turk 1996
  • tyramine: not detected (nd) mg/kg · fresh weight · not stated (market product); reported per kg fresh weight · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.