
Pasta, dry
Checked by us One serving: 85 g (about ⅔ cup elbow macaroni) · 315 kcal
Weighed dry, before cooking.
Lots of protein and selenium. Rich in 4 more nutrients: see Good for. Some of that may be added by the maker and depends on the brand: check your label.
Nothing to watch for most people.
Worth knowing for some people: gluten.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (85 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
11.1 g in one serving: 20% of the 56 g a day men need, 24% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
53.7 µg in one serving: 98% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.76 mg in one serving: 63% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 69% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
8.32 mg in one serving: 52% of the 16 mg a day men need, 59% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
201 µg in one serving: 50% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.34 mg in one serving: 26% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 31% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
2.81 mg in one serving: 35% of the 8 mg a day men need, 16% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
45.1 mg in one serving: 11% of the 400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
1.2 mg in one serving: 11% of the 11 mg a day men need, 15% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
2.72 g in one serving: 7% of the 38 g a day men need, 11% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
190 mg in one serving: 6% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 7% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
12.8 mg in one serving: 2% of the 550 mg a day men need, 3% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
17.9 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
20.4 mg in one serving: 1% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 2% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.09 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0.09 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Some or all may be added by the maker, so it varies by brand: check your label.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin)
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 2.9 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 7.21 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 15–34% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 81–94% of the limit.
The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 830 g a day would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 85 g a day, which stays within the 250 g of room left before the limit.
general_acute: 6,600 g in one sitting.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
85 g x 84.8 µg/kg = 7.21 µg = 0.103 µg/kg body weight, 10.3% of the group tolerable daily intake (1.0 µg/kg body weight/day, EFSA 2017). EFSA's adult average, 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, plus the serving stays under the limit (0.40-0.80), and the serving adds 15-34%: no cap. Boiling moves deoxynivalenol into the cooking water (60% retained in five cooked dry pastas in a Dutch test), so cooked pasta carries less. Health Canada has no limit for it in pasta; CFIA and Health Canada found the 2018-19 levels 'not expected to pose a concern'.
Ochratoxin A
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 6 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 4.6–17% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.02 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
85 g x 0.229 µg/kg = 0.0195 µg = 0.000278 µg/kg body weight/day: a margin of exposure of about 52,000 against EFSA's benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats, EFSA 2020); it adds 4.6-16.8% to the average adult intake (0.00166-0.00603 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap. Health Canada's proposed maximum for cereal products is 3 ppb (2009, still under consideration); the highest pasta sample, 2.82, is below it.
For some people
Person-specific: wheat pasta contains gluten, so it is flagged for people with coeliac disease.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
2.3 g of sugar in a 85 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Lactose: 0 g per 100 g, so about 0–0.0093 g in a 85 g serving. · Torbica 2025 · grade A
Phytate, as the source gives it: 205.08 ± 4.29 dry matter (control pasta, 100% wheat semolina, no quinoa); wheat semolina ingredient 268.65 ± 4.94 mg/100 g mg/100 g (dry matter) · Demir 2020 · grade B
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 85 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
No swaps for selenium: they may be added to this food, so its amount varies by brand.
More of what it’s good for
For protein: no other starchy sides we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 85 g.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Not compared: this food’s score counts added vitamins and minerals, and those vary by brand. Compare labels instead.
None of the 5 other starchy sides we could compare gives clearly more protein, and more calories, per 100 g.
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Pasta, dry, enriched (spaghetti, macaroni; durum semolina)
How the serving was set: 85 g dry (Health Canada C.8, pastas and noodles without sauce; 215 g cooked is the other form)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.024 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Calcium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 21 mg | 17.85 mg | 5.66 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 24 mg | 20.4 mg | 6.47 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| 21 mg | 17.85 mg | 5.66 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4515 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 74.67 g | 63.47 g | 20.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Choline · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 15.1 mg | 12.84 mg | 4.07 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Energy | 371 kcal | 315.35 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fat | 1.51 g | 1.28 g | 0.41 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 1.6 g | 1.36 g | 0.43 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.277 g | 0.24 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fibre | 3.2 g | 2.72 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Folate · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 237 µg | 201.45 µg | 63.88 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 19 µg | 16.15 µg | 5.12 µg | second database · not used · 12.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Iron · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 3.3 mg | 2.81 mg | 0.89 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 1.59 mg | 1.35 mg | 0.43 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Magnesium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 53 mg | 45.05 mg | 14.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 47 mg | 39.95 mg | 12.67 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 9.783 mg | 8.32 mg | 2.64 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #4515 | C |
| Phosphorus · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 189 mg | 160.65 mg | 50.94 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 179 mg | 152.15 mg | 48.25 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Potassium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 223 mg | 189.55 mg | 60.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 232 mg | 197.2 mg | 62.53 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Protein | 13.04 g | 11.08 g | 3.51 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 11.3 g | 9.61 g | 3.05 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.4 mg | 0.34 mg | 0.11 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.01 mg | second database · not used · 13.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Selenium · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 63.2 µg | 53.72 µg | 17.04 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 22 µg | 18.7 µg | 5.93 µg | second database · not used · 2.9× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Sodium | 6 mg | 5.1 mg | 1.62 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 2 mg | 1.7 mg | 0.54 mg | second database · not used · 3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Sugars | 2.67 g | 2.27 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 2.1 g | 1.79 g | 0.57 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.891 mg | 0.76 mg | 0.24 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.17 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used · 5.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin A · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Vitamin B12 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.142 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.14 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.04 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin C · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin D · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin E · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.11 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used · 2.7× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.1 µg | 0.09 µg | 0.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.21 µg | 0.18 µg | 0.06 µg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Water | 9.9 g | 8.42 g | 2.67 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 8.7 g | 7.39 g | 2.35 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Zinc · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 1.41 mg | 1.2 mg | 0.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 1.2 mg | 1.02 mg | 0.32 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Copper · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.289 mg | 0.25 mg | 0.08 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.3 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Ash | 0.88 g | 0.75 g | 0.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Starch | 62.45 g | 53.08 g | 16.83 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Sucrose | 0.48 g | 0.41 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Glucose | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fructose | 0.11 g | 0.09 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Maltose | 1.96 g | 1.67 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Energy | 1,553 kj | 1,320.05 kj | 418.6 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 18 µg | 15.3 µg | 4.85 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.06 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.88 mg | 0.75 mg | 0.24 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.13 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Biotin | 3.536 µg | 3.01 µg | 0.95 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2758998 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Folic acid | 219 µg | 186.15 µg | 59.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Folate, food | 18 µg | 15.3 µg | 4.85 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 391 µg | 332.35 µg | 105.39 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Betaine | 142.4 mg | 121.04 mg | 38.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.185 g | 0.16 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Threonine | 0.462 g | 0.39 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.511 g | 0.43 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Leucine | 0.988 g | 0.84 g | 0.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Lysine | 0.298 g | 0.25 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Methionine | 0.147 g | 0.12 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Cystine | 0.255 g | 0.22 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.668 g | 0.57 g | 0.18 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.243 g | 0.21 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Valine | 0.588 g | 0.5 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Arginine | 0.474 g | 0.4 g | 0.13 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Histidine | 0.298 g | 0.25 g | 0.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Alanine | 0.438 g | 0.37 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.624 g | 0.53 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 4.596 g | 3.91 g | 1.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Glycine | 0.441 g | 0.37 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Proline | 1.569 g | 1.33 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Serine | 0.617 g | 0.52 g | 0.17 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.251 g | 0.21 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.025 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.171 g | 0.15 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.54 g | 0.46 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.024 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.171 g | 0.15 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.564 g | 0.48 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 0.171 g | 0.15 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| SFA 13:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.024 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 18 µg | 15.3 µg | 4.85 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| Manganese · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.917 mg | 0.78 mg | 0.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.77 mg | 0.65 mg | 0.21 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 7.177 mg | 6.1 mg | 1.93 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 3.3 mg | 2.81 mg | 0.89 mg | second database · not used · 2.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0.431 mg | 0.37 mg | 0.12 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0.8 mg | 0.68 mg | 0.22 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C | |
| Retinol · may be added · varies by brand, check your label | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #169736 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-716 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Gluten (celiac disease) · Worth knowing · Person-specific: wheat pasta contains gluten, so it is flagged for people with coeliac disease. · Health Canada, celiac disease · A
- Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · 85 g x 84.8 µg/kg = 7.21 µg = 0.103 µg/kg body weight, 10.3% of the group tolerable daily intake (1.0 µg/kg body weight/day, EFSA 2017). EFSA's adult average, 0.3-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day, plus the serving stays under the limit (0.40-0.80), and the serving adds 15-34%: no cap. Boiling moves deoxynivalenol into the cooking water (60% retained in five cooked dry pastas in a Dutch test), so cooked pasta carries less. Health Canada has no limit for it in pasta; CFIA and Health Canada found the 2018-19 levels 'not expected to pose a concern'. · CFIA 2018–2019 · A
- Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · 85 g x 0.229 µg/kg = 0.0195 µg = 0.000278 µg/kg body weight/day: a margin of exposure of about 52,000 against EFSA's benchmark dose lower limit (BMDL10) of 14.5 µg/kg body weight/day (kidney tumours in rats, EFSA 2020); it adds 4.6-16.8% to the average adult intake (0.00166-0.00603 µg/kg body weight/day), so no cap. Health Canada's proposed maximum for cereal products is 3 ppb (2009, still under consideration); the highest pasta sample, 2.82, is below it. · CFIA ochratoxin A survey (2012–2022) · A
- Wheat allergy · Worth knowing · Person-specific: durum wheat pasta contains wheat protein; wheat is a Health Canada priority allergen. · Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose minus glucose: at most 0.049 g/100 g (negative in some samples, counted as 0) g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · dry · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap fos: 0.799 to 1.386 g/100 g as is (kestose + nystose + kestopentaose); kestose alone 0.618 to 1.337 g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · dry · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap fructan: 0.70 ± 0.06 g/100 g edible portion (gluten-containing pasta group mean, 'GC') g/100 g · edible portion; dry or cooked not stated · pasta, gluten-containing group (Spanish supermarkets); methods are in supplementary 1 (not read) · grade B · PubMed 38642193
- fodmap gos: 0.006 to 0.069 g/100 g (raffinose + stachyose + verbascose; raffinose and verbascose not detected, so stachyose) g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · dry · grade A · Torbica 2025
- fodmap polyols: total xylitol + sorbitol + mannitol + maltitol 0.01 to 0.097 g/100 g; sorbitol not detected, mannitol not detected g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · dry · grade A · Torbica 2025
- histamine: not detected, n = 7 'Pasta (wheat)' mg/kg · fresh weight · 'Pasta (wheat)'; dry or cooked not stated; Spanish market (the authors' own database) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
- lactose: not detected to 0.011 g/100 g g/100 g · as is (fresh weight) · dry · grade A · Torbica 2025
- phytate: 205.08 ± 4.29 mg/100 g dry matter (control pasta, 100% wheat semolina, no quinoa); wheat semolina ingredient 268.65 ± 4.94 mg/100 g mg/100 g · dry matter · laboratory-made dry pasta from semolina, n = 4; phytic acid extracted with HCl and precipitated with iron(III) (colorimetric) · grade B · Demir 2020
- tyramine: not detected, n = 7 'Pasta (wheat)' mg/kg · fresh weight · 'Pasta (wheat)'; dry or cooked not stated; Spanish market (the authors' own database) · grade A · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- CFIA, Multi-Mycotoxins in Corn Products, Crackers, Other Grain Products, Pasta and Gluten-Free Products, 2018–2019
cfia-multimyco-2018-2019· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Ochratoxin A in Selected Foods, 2012-2018 and 2019-2022
cfia-ota-2012-2022· dataset · Open Government Licence - Canada 2.0 (as for the other CFIA datasets; not checked on this page) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Demir B, Bilgiçli N. Changes in chemical and anti-nutritional properties of pasta enriched with raw and germinated quinoa (Chenopodium quinoa Willd.) flours. J Food Sci Technol 2020;57(10):3884-3892 · doi:10.1007/s13197-020-04420-7 · PMID 32904010
demir2020· full text read · Open access (PMC); licence not re-checked - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Celiac disease
hc-celiac-disease· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Wheat & Triticale - Priority food allergens (page details 2017-09-18)
hc-wheat-fact-sheet· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Matías S, Perez-Junkera G, Martínez O, Miranda J, et al. FODMAP Content Like-by-like Comparison in Spanish Gluten-free and Gluten-containing Cereal-based Products. Plant Foods Hum Nutr 2024 · doi:10.1007/s11130-024-01177-8 · PMID 38642193
pmid:38642193· full text read · Open access (PMC); licence not re-checked - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Torbica AM, Vujasinovic V, Miljic U, Radivojevic G, Filipcev B, Miljic M et al. Successful strategy in creating low-FODMAP wholegrain bread: simple and global. Foods 2025;14:304 · doi:10.3390/foods14020304 · PMID 39856969
torbica2025· full text read · CC BY 4.0 (MDPI)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.