FoodtopsyFrançais
A small pile of dry rolled oats

Rolled oats, dry

Checked by us One serving: 40 g (about ½ cup) · 152 kcal

Weighed dry, before cooking.

Some protein and fibre. 6 more nutrients in moderate amounts: see Good for.

Worth knowing: lead.

Worth knowing for some people: gluten cross-contact.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (40 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

14 more nutrients at a little or less

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 9 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 75 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 490 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 40 g a day, which stays within the 360 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: a 40 g dry serving carries about 75 µg of nickel, 8.2% of EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (910 µg at 70 kg; EFSA 2020); about 485 g of dry oats in a day would reach it on their own. Under half the limit, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is.

    CFIA, Pesticides and Metals in Grain Products and Ready-to-Eat Meals, April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017 · grade A

    Every food with nickel

Checked for deoxynivalenol, cadmium, glyphosate residues and ochratoxin A: fine at normal amounts.
  • You’d need about 21 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.99 µg

    How we got this

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 70% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 2,800 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 40 g a day, which stays within the 850 g of room left before the limit.

    general_acute: 23,000 g in one sitting.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A bound, not an estimate: 1.4% of the group tolerable daily intake (1 µg/kg body weight/day) on the CFIA mean, 3.7% on EFSA's oat-milling mean, 5.5% at the CFIA maximum. Under half the tolerable intake on every reading, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is. Acute: 0.014 µg/kg body weight against the group acute reference dose of 8 µg/kg body weight per eating occasion.

    CFIA, Food Safety Action Plan Targeted Survey - Deoxynivalenol in Selected Foods - 2011-2012 · grade B

    Every food with deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin)

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 11 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.66 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 3.7% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 11,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 280 g a week, which stays within the 3,100 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 3.7% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    CFIA, Pesticides and Metals in Grain Products and Ready-to-Eat Meals, April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017 · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Glyphosate residues

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need more than 100 servings in a day of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 7.7 µg

    How we got this

    180,000 g a day reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: a 40 g dry serving carries about 7.7 µg of glyphosate, 0.02% of EFSA's acceptable daily intake of 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day (35,000 µg at 70 kg; EFSA 2023). Under half the limit, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is.

    CFIA, Pesticides and Metals in Grain Products and Ready-to-Eat Meals, April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017 · grade A

    Every food with glyphosate residues

  • Ochratoxin A

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 34 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the ochratoxin A an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.8–3% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 3.5 ng

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap. On the lower bound a serving adds 0.8-3.0% to EFSA's adult average (1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper). No detection limit is given, but it cannot be higher than a value that was detected, so the highest value found (0.48 µg/kg) caps the mean: even at that level a serving adds only 4.5-16.5%, far from doubling.

    CFIA, Ochratoxin A in Wheat Products, Oat Products, Rice Products and Other Grain Products, April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 · grade A

    Every food with ochratoxin A

For some people

  • Listed for oatmeal, cooked with water; applies here too. See that page

    Regular oats can carry wheat, rye or barley; people with coeliac disease are told to use oats specially produced to be gluten-free (no more than 20 ppm of gluten, per the page). Health Canada's page does not mention avenin.

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.4 g of sugar in a 40 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 40 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other breakfast foods we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For protein: Bacon, pan-fried would lead, in the same 40 g, but is left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).

For fibre: no other breakfast foods we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 40 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other breakfast foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Eggs, hard-boiled
    • More choline (118 mg vs 16.2 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.44 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More riboflavin (0.21 mg vs 0.06 mg)
    • Less magnesium (4 mg vs 50.5 mg)
    • Less thiamin (0.03 mg vs 0.16 mg)

1 food out of the 4 other breakfast foods we’ve checked and could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Whole-wheat bread102 kcal in 40 g (this food: 152)
  • Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat
    • 24 kcal in 40 g (this food: 152)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.3 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less thiamin (0.01 mg vs 0.16 mg)
    • Less magnesium (4.4 mg vs 50.5 mg)
  • Eggs, hard-boiled
    • 62 kcal in 40 g (this food: 152)
    • More choline (118 mg vs 16.2 mg)
    • More vitamin B12 (0.44 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More riboflavin (0.21 mg vs 0.06 mg)
    • Less magnesium (4 mg vs 50.5 mg)
    • Less thiamin (0.03 mg vs 0.16 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Oats, rolled, dry

How the serving was set: 40 g dry (Health Canada C.1, hot breakfast cereals, dry)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.1 g0.04 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Calcium45.53 mg18.21 mg12.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
50 mg20 mg13.2 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
52 mg20.8 mg13.73 mgsecond database · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1464C
Carbohydrate68.658 g27.46 g18.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Choline40.4 mg16.16 mg10.66 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Energy378.866 kcal151.55 kcal–FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods)–
379 kcal151.6 kcal–from SR Legacy · not usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fat5.89 g2.36 g1.55 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
8.1 g3.24 g2.14 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fatty acids, total saturated1.11 g0.44 g0.29 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fibre10.1 g4.04 g2.67 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
7.8 g3.12 g2.06 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Folate32.03 µg12.81 µg8.45 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
32 µg12.8 µg8.45 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Iron4.339 mg1.74 mg1.15 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
3.64 mg1.46 mg0.96 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Magnesium126.3 mg50.52 mg33.34 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
114 mg45.6 mg30.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)4.106 mg1.64 mg1.08 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #1464C
Phosphorus387.3 mg154.92 mg102.23 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
387 mg154.8 mg102.15 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Potassium350.1 mg140.04 mg92.41 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
372 mg148.8 mg98.19 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Protein13.496 g5.4 g3.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
10.9 g4.36 g2.88 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Riboflavin (B2)0.155 mg0.06 mg0.04 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0.05 mg0.02 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Selenium25.35 µg10.14 µg6.69 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
3 µg1.2 µg0.79 µgsecond database · not used · 8.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Sodium0.668 mg0.27 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
1 mg0.4 mg0.26 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Sugars0.99 g0.4 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0.3 g0.12 g0.08 gsecond database · not used · 3.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Thiamin (B1)0.406 mg0.16 mg0.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
1.05 mg0.42 mg0.28 mgsecond database · not used · 2.6×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin B60.135 mg0.05 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
0.34 mg0.14 mg0.09 mgsecond database · not used · 2.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0 mg0 mg0 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin E0.42 mg0.17 mg0.11 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0.59 mg0.24 mg0.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Vitamin K12 µg0.8 µg0.53 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Water10.25 g4.1 g2.71 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
9.4 g3.76 g2.48 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Zinc2.744 mg1.1 mg0.72 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
2.3 mg0.92 mg0.61 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Copper0.428 mg0.17 mg0.11 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
0.37 mg0.15 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Energy (Atwater general)381.626 kcal152.65 kcal100.73 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Energy (Atwater specific)378.866 kcal151.55 kcal100 kcallisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Nitrogen2.315 g0.93 g0.61 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Ash1.706 g0.68 g0.45 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Starch53.81 g21.52 g14.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Sucrose0.99 g0.4 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Glucose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fructose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Maltose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Energy1,586 kj634.4 kj418.62 kjfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Galactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Molybdenum, Mo160.4 µg64.16 µg42.34 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iufrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Tocopherol, beta0.03 mg0.01 mg0.01 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Tocopherol, gamma0.12 mg0.05 mg0.03 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Biotin21.9 µg8.76 µg5.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Folate, food32 µg12.8 µg8.45 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Folate, DFE32 µg12.8 µg8.45 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Tryptophan0.182 g0.07 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Threonine0.382 g0.15 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Isoleucine0.503 g0.2 g0.13 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Leucine0.98 g0.39 g0.26 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Lysine0.637 g0.25 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Methionine0.207 g0.08 g0.05 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Cystine0.455 g0.18 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Phenylalanine0.665 g0.27 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Tyrosine0.395 g0.16 g0.1 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Valine0.688 g0.28 g0.18 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Arginine0.85 g0.34 g0.22 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Histidine0.275 g0.11 g0.07 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Alanine0.563 g0.23 g0.15 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Aspartic acid1.217 g0.49 g0.32 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Glutamic acid2.83 g1.13 g0.75 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Glycine0.642 g0.26 g0.17 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Proline0.451 g0.18 g0.12 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Serine0.705 g0.28 g0.19 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 12:00.02 g0.01 g0.01 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 14:00.01 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 16:00.94 g0.38 g0.25 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
SFA 18:00.06 g0.02 g0.02 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
MUFA 18:11.97 g0.79 g0.52 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 18:22.2 g0.88 g0.58 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 18:30.1 g0.04 g0.03 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
MUFA 16:10.01 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated1.98 g0.79 g0.52 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated2.3 g0.92 g0.61 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Total dietary fiber (AOAC 2011.25)10.42 g4.17 g2.75 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
High Molecular Weight Dietary Fiber (HMWDF)9.703 g3.88 g2.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Beta-glucan7.52 g3.01 g1.98 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Low Molecular Weight Dietary Fiber (LMWDF)0.701 g0.28 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
Lactose0 g0 g0 gfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Lutein + zeaxanthin180 µg72 µg47.51 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
Manganese3.234 mg1.29 mg0.85 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
3.66 mg1.46 mg0.97 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.993 mg0.4 mg0.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2346396C
0.8 mg0.32 mg0.21 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Pantothenic acid (B5)1.12 mg0.45 mg0.3 mgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0.75 mg0.3 mg0.2 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µgfrom SR Legacy usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #173904C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #11-788C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 3.7% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · CFIA 2016–2017 · A
  • Deoxynivalenol (vomitoxin) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A bound, not an estimate: 1.4% of the group tolerable daily intake (1 µg/kg body weight/day) on the CFIA mean, 3.7% on EFSA's oat-milling mean, 5.5% at the CFIA maximum. Under half the tolerable intake on every reading, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is. Acute: 0.014 µg/kg body weight against the group acute reference dose of 8 µg/kg body weight per eating occasion. · CFIA 2011–2012 · B
  • Glyphosate residues · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: a 40 g dry serving carries about 7.7 µg of glyphosate, 0.02% of EFSA's acceptable daily intake of 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day (35,000 µg at 70 kg; EFSA 2023). Under half the limit, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is. · CFIA 2016–2017 · A
  • Lead · Worth knowing · Flagged, though no reading comes near a cap. On the lower bound a serving adds 0.04% to average intake. The upper bound is missing (the file gives no detection limit); even the highest sample detected (20 µg/kg x 40 g = 0.8 µg) adds 2.3%. It stays flagged because more than 60% of samples were below detection, and then the method asks for both bounds. · CFIA 2016–2017 · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: a 40 g dry serving carries about 75 µg of nickel, 8.2% of EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (910 µg at 70 kg; EFSA 2020); about 485 g of dry oats in a day would reach it on their own. Under half the limit, so it cannot trigger a cap whatever the average intake is. · CFIA 2016–2017 · A
  • Ochratoxin A · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap. On the lower bound a serving adds 0.8-3.0% to EFSA's adult average (1.66-3.84 ng/kg body weight/day on the lower bound, 3.47-6.03 on the upper). No detection limit is given, but it cannot be higher than a value that was detected, so the highest value found (0.48 µg/kg) caps the mean: even at that level a serving adds only 4.5-16.5%, far from doubling. · CFIA 2018–2019 · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose < glucose) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · whole oat flour · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g (basis not stated) · whole-food matrix as purchased · oat flour (not rolled oats) · grade B · Natale 2025
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) · not detected (<0.1 g/100 g dry matter) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · raw oat grain (Avena sativa), unmalted control of the malting experiment; grains supplied by Societa Agricola Zannini (Jesi, Italy) · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · oat MALT (kilned), from the same Zannini grain · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · as eaten, moisture not excluded (as relayed) · oat flakes (as relayed by Ispiryan) · grade C · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · as eaten (dry product, no cooking; moisture not removed) · Oats, dry: crushed grain produced by steaming and flattening with rollers, no further cooking (composite of Uncle Tobys, Coles and Lowan Quick Oats) · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/portion · as eaten, per 34 g (0.5 cup) dry oats · Oats, dry (as above) · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter of the freeze-dried bread (as printed, one decimal) · commercial whole-grain OAT BREAD (Fazer): water, whole grain oats (flour, flakes, groats), sunflower seed, refined oat flour, pumpkin seed, rapeseed oil, psyllium, starter, oat fiber; oats 100% of grain ingredients · grade B · Pirkola 2023
  • fodmap gos: 0.31 g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · whole oat flour · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • fodmap gos: 0.265 g/100 g (basis not stated) · whole-food matrix as purchased; moisture basis not stated · oat flour (not rolled oats) · grade B · Natale 2025
  • fodmap gos: 0.24 g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · raw oat grain (unmalted control) · grade B · Ispiryan 2021
  • fodmap mannitol: not detected (<0.005) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · whole oat flour · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed (dry oats) · Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
  • lactose: not detected g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · whole oat flour (all ingredients in Table 2) · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
  • tyramine: not detected (n 2) mg/kg · fresh weight · oats, as sold in Spanish retail (rolled/flaked form not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.