
Lentils, cooked
Checked by us One serving: 105 g (about ½ cup) · 121 kcal
Lots of fibre and folate.
Nothing to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (105 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
8.26 g in one serving: 22% of the 38 g a day men need, 33% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
189 µg in one serving: 47% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
9.43 g in one serving: 17% of the 56 g a day men need, 21% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
3.48 mg in one serving: 44% of the 8 mg a day men need, 19% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.52 mg in one serving: 16% of the 16 mg a day men need, 18% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.18 mg in one serving: 15% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 16% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.19 mg in one serving: 15% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.33 mg in one serving: 12% of the 11 mg a day men need, 17% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
386 mg in one serving: 11% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 15% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
37.7 mg in one serving: 9% of the 400 mg a day men need, 12% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
34.2 mg in one serving: 6% of the 550 mg a day men need, 8% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.08 mg in one serving: 6% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
2.93 µg in one serving: 5% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
38.7 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
19.9 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
1.57 mg in one serving: 2% of the 90 mg a day men need, 2% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
1.78 µg in one serving: 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, 2% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.12 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need about 46 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.16 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 120,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 732 g a week, which stays within the 34,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.89% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B
Lead
Nothing to watchA serving a day adds 0% to the lead an average adult already gets from all food. No dose is known to be safe, so we’d flag a food only if a daily serving doubled that intake.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); the upper bound adds 1.2% to the 35 µg/day average. No cap
US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade B
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
1.9 g of sugar in a 105 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Oxalate: 4–289 mg per 100 g in the sources we hold. · PubMed 29580532, Chai 2005 · grade B, C
We haven’t rated this food for oxalate. We count only a figure that comes from a grade A or B source and says it was measured per 100 g of the food as eaten, and none of the figures here does both.
Phytate: 413–714 mg per 100 g as eaten. · PubMed 30400385 · grade A, B
Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet
Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1
Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.
Shown as context, not scored. Health Canada lists lentils among the legumes that contain lectins, but its symptoms and its advice (soak 5 hours, then boil hard for 10 minutes) concern undercooked red kidney beans, and boiled lentils are cooked either way.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 105 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For fibre: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 105 g.
For folate: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 105 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Soybeans, cooked- More omega-3: ALA (626 mg vs 38.7 mg)
- More protein (19 g vs 9.43 g)
- More riboflavin (0.3 mg vs 0.08 mg)
- Less folate (56.5 µg vs 189 µg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (56.9 µg vs 2.93 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.95 µg vs 0 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (141 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less folate (6.28 µg vs 189 µg)
- Less fibre (0 g vs 8.26 g)
Eggs, hard-boiled- More selenium (32.2 µg vs 2.93 µg)
- More choline (307 mg vs 34.2 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.16 µg vs 0 µg)
- Less folate (46 µg vs 189 µg)
- Less fibre (0 g vs 8.26 g)
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (56.9 µg vs 2.93 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.95 µg vs 0 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (141 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less folate (6.28 µg vs 189 µg)
- Less fibre (0 g vs 8.26 g)
Deli turkey breast- More niacin (12.2 mg vs 2.52 mg)
- More selenium (13.6 µg vs 2.93 µg)
- More vitamin B6 (0.43 mg vs 0.19 mg)
- Less folate (4.18 µg vs 189 µg)
- Less fibre (0 g vs 8.26 g)
2 foods out of the 10 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Tempeh20.3 g protein · 192 kcal per 100 g
Soybeans, cooked18.2 g protein · 172 kcal per 100 g
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Lentils, boiled
How the serving was set: 125 mL cooked = 104.6 g (Health Canada K.2; FDC 198 g per cup)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.037 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Calcium | 19 mg | 19.87 mg | 16.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 21 mg | 21.97 mg | 18.1 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| 19 mg | 19.87 mg | 16.38 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3393 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 20.13 g | 21.06 g | 17.35 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Choline | 32.7 mg | 34.2 mg | 28.19 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Energy | 116 kcal | 121.34 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fat | 0.38 g | 0.4 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.7 g | 0.73 g | 0.6 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.053 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fibre | 7.9 g | 8.26 g | 6.81 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 7.4 g | 7.74 g | 6.38 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Folate | 181 µg | 189.33 µg | 156.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 152 µg | 158.99 µg | 131.03 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Iron | 3.33 mg | 3.48 mg | 2.87 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 2.11 mg | 2.21 mg | 1.82 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Magnesium | 36 mg | 37.66 mg | 31.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 25 mg | 26.15 mg | 21.55 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 2.41 mg | 2.52 mg | 2.08 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3393 | C |
| Phosphorus | 180 mg | 188.28 mg | 155.17 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 102 mg | 106.69 mg | 87.93 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Potassium | 369 mg | 385.97 mg | 318.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 202 mg | 211.29 mg | 174.14 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Protein | 9.02 g | 9.43 g | 7.78 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 7.8 g | 8.16 g | 6.72 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.073 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.06 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Selenium | 2.8 µg | 2.93 µg | 2.41 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 18 µg | 18.83 µg | 15.52 µg | second database · not used · 6.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Sodium | 2 mg | 2.09 mg | 1.72 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Sugars | 1.8 g | 1.88 g | 1.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.2 g | 0.21 g | 0.17 g | second database · not used · 9× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.169 mg | 0.18 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.09 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.178 mg | 0.19 mg | 0.15 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.19 mg | 0.2 mg | 0.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 1.5 mg | 1.57 mg | 1.29 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.11 mg | 0.12 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.61 mg | 0.64 mg | 0.53 mg | second database · not used · 5.5× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 1.7 µg | 1.78 µg | 1.47 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Water | 69.64 g | 72.84 g | 60.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 71.3 g | 74.58 g | 61.47 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Zinc | 1.27 mg | 1.33 mg | 1.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.79 mg | 0.83 mg | 0.68 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 5 µg | 5.23 µg | 4.31 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Copper | 0.251 mg | 0.26 mg | 0.22 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.21 mg | 0.22 mg | 0.18 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Ash | 0.83 g | 0.87 g | 0.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Energy | 487 kj | 509.4 kj | 419.83 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 8 iu | 8.37 iu | 6.9 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Folate, food | 181 µg | 189.33 µg | 156.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 181 µg | 189.33 µg | 156.03 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.081 g | 0.08 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Threonine | 0.323 g | 0.34 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.39 g | 0.41 g | 0.34 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Leucine | 0.654 g | 0.68 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Lysine | 0.63 g | 0.66 g | 0.54 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Methionine | 0.077 g | 0.08 g | 0.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Cystine | 0.118 g | 0.12 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.445 g | 0.47 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.241 g | 0.25 g | 0.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Valine | 0.448 g | 0.47 g | 0.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Arginine | 0.697 g | 0.73 g | 0.6 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Histidine | 0.254 g | 0.27 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Alanine | 0.377 g | 0.39 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 0.998 g | 1.04 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.399 g | 1.46 g | 1.21 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Glycine | 0.367 g | 0.38 g | 0.32 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Proline | 0.377 g | 0.39 g | 0.33 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Serine | 0.416 g | 0.44 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.045 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.061 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.137 g | 0.14 g | 0.12 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.037 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.002 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.064 g | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.175 g | 0.18 g | 0.15 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| Manganese | 0.494 mg | 0.52 mg | 0.43 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.46 mg | 0.48 mg | 0.4 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 1.06 mg | 1.11 mg | 0.91 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 1.8 mg | 1.88 mg | 1.55 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 0.638 mg | 0.67 mg | 0.55 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0.33 mg | 0.35 mg | 0.28 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C | |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172421 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-661 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rafii 2022: metabolic availability of methionine from cooked Canadian lentils (IAAO, slope ratio vs crystalline amino acids) Canadian lentils, cultivar not stated · cooked Canadian lentils; lentils + steamed rice 1:1 in a second arm · load not reported: 3 graded daily methionine intakes from lentils (reference diet 0.5, 1, 2, 3 mg/kg/d); lentil grams not stated abstract only | Methionine | – | not reported | 5 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Fakiha 2020: bioavailable lysine from stewed Canadian lentils (IAAO, slope ratio vs crystalline amino acids) Canadian lentils, cultivar not stated · stewed Canadian lentils · load not reported: 3 lysine intakes from lentils (10, 12, 15 mg/kg/d); reference diet 5, 8, 12, 15 mg/kg/d abstract only | Lysine | – | not reported | 9 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Gillooly et al. 1983: lentils, brown brown lentils · boiled 20 min in salted water (750 g vegetable in 1500 ml water with 5 g NaCl; lentils 40 min in 2500 ml), homogenised in a Waring blender to a thick soup; 100 g eaten (equivalent to 50 g uncooked vegetable) · 3 mg Fe as FeSO4.7H2O (59Fe or 55Fe) mixed into 100 g puree; native iron of the vegetable not reported full text read | Iron | 2.4 % | not reported | 11 | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
| Gillooly et al. 1983: lentils, green green lentils · boiled 20 min in salted water (750 g vegetable in 1500 ml water with 5 g NaCl; lentils 40 min in 2500 ml), homogenised in a Waring blender to a thick soup; 100 g eaten (equivalent to 50 g uncooked vegetable) · 3 mg Fe as FeSO4.7H2O (59Fe or 55Fe) mixed into 100 g puree; native iron of the vegetable not reported full text read | Iron | 3.2 % | not reported | 11 | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.89% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 0, upper bound 4 µg/kg (the reporting limit); the upper bound adds 1.2% to the 35 µg/day average. No cap · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · B
- Phytohaemagglutinin (raw bean lectins) · Context · Shown as context, not scored. Health Canada lists lentils among the legumes that contain lectins, but its symptoms and its advice (soak 5 hours, then boil hard for 10 minutes) concern undercooked red kidney beans, and boiled lentils are cooked either way. · Health Canada, Lectins in Dry Legumes · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose < glucose) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · lentil, whole seeds (as listed in Table 2; no cooking mentioned) · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
- fodmap excess fructose: 0.01 g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · lentils boiled and canned in brine, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap fructan: not detected (<0.1) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · lentil, whole seeds (as listed in Table 2; no cooking mentioned) · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
- fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried green lentils soaked, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried red lentils soaked, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · lentils boiled and canned in brine, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap gos: 3.98 g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · lentil, whole seeds (as listed in Table 2; no cooking mentioned) · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
- fodmap gos: -10 % change in total alpha-GOS after soaking (vs raw seed) · relative change · lentil, soaked · grade B · Njoumi 2019
- fodmap gos: 0.46 g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried green lentils soaked, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap gos: 0.22 g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · lentils boiled and canned in brine, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- fodmap gos: 3.53 g/100 g dry matter · dry weight of freeze-dried puree (moisture 2.6%) · red lentils (CDC Maxim), 200 g batches simmered 30 min after boiling in 500 mL deionized water; cooked lentils AND cook water pureed and freeze-dried (nothing drained off) · grade B · Graf 2019
- fodmap mannitol: not detected (<0.005) g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · lentil, whole seeds (as listed in Table 2; no cooking mentioned) · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
- fodmap mannitol: trace g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · lentils boiled and canned in brine, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
- lactose: not detected g/100 g dry matter · dry matter · lentil, whole seeds · grade A · Ispiryan 2020
- oxalate total: 168.6-289.1 mg/100 g across raw, soaked and cooked lentil samples mg/100 g · not stated · raw and processed (soaked or cooked) lentil seeds, not separated · grade B · PubMed 29580532
- oxalate total: 4 to 80 mg/100 g cooked weight across the legumes tested (lentils not itemised in the abstract) mg/100 g · cooked weight · cooked legumes (several) · grade C · Chai 2005
- oxalate total: 100 mg total oxalate per serving (serving size not stated in abstract) mg/serving · per serving (size unknown) · not stated · grade B · PubMed 11559120
- oxalate total: 24.0 mean (21.6-26.3) mg/100 g in DRY brown lentils; cooked value not measured mg/100 g · dry seed as analysed · seeds, dry (raw): the listing is cooked · grade B · Siener 2021
- phytate: 714.46 +/- 28.85 (standard deviation, n = 3-4) mg phytic acid/100 g mg phytic acid/100 g · per 100 g of the cooked product as prepared (not stated by the paper; its Table 1 gives dry matter 34.28 g/100 g and protein 8.31 g/100 g for this column) · green lentils, household cooking (FNLS protocol: not soaked, 1:2 seed:water, 25 min) · grade A · PubMed 30400385
- phytate: 412.59 +/- 36.26 (standard deviation) mg phytic acid/100 g mg phytic acid/100 g · as-prepared (fresh) weight of the canned product; dry matter 24.20 g/100 g · brown lentils, canned · grade B · PubMed 30400385
Sources
- Biesiekierski JR. Understanding gluten sensitivity: the role of gluten and dietary carbohydrates in the genesis of gastrointestinal symptoms in individuals who do not have coeliac disease. PhD thesis, Monash University (submitted 22 August 2012; deposited in Bridges 2017). Chapter 4 reproduces Biesiekierski et al. J Hum Nutr Diet 2011;24:154-176. · doi:10.26180/4621804.v1
biesiekierski2012-thesis· full text read · In Copyright (rightsstatements.org InC 1.0, figshare licence field) - Chai W, Liebman M. Oxalate content of legumes, nuts, and grain-based flours. J Food Compos Anal 2005;18:723-9 · doi:10.1016/j.jfca.2004.07.001
chai2005· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Gillooly M, Bothwell TH, Torrance JD, MacPhail AP, Derman DP, Bezwoda WR, et al. (1983). The effects of organic acids, phytates and polyphenols on the absorption of iron from vegetables. Br J Nutr 49:331-42 · doi:10.1079/bjn19830042 · PMID 6860621
doi:10.1079/bjn19830042· full text read · licence not recorded - US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement
fda-tds-fy2018-2020· dataset · US government work (17 USC 105), public domain - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Graf D, Monk JM, Lepp D, Wu W, McGillis L, Roberton K, Brummer Y, Tosh SM, Power KA. Cooked red lentils dose-dependently modulate the colonic microenvironment in healthy C57Bl/6 male mice. Nutrients 2019;11(8):1853. · doi:10.3390/nu11081853 · PMID 31405019
graf2019· full text read · CC BY - Health Canada, Lectins in Dry Legumes (page details date 2017-05-04)
hc-lectins-legumes· page · Government of Canada terms - Ispiryan L, Zannini E, Arendt EK. Characterization of the FODMAP-profile in cereal-product ingredients. J Cereal Sci 2020;92:102916. · doi:10.1016/j.jcs.2020.102916
ispiryan2020· full text read · journal pre-proof copy from the UCC repository (CORA) - Njoumi S, Josephe Amiot M, Rochette I, Bellagha S, Mouquet-Rivier C. Soaking and cooking modify the alpha-galacto-oligosaccharide and dietary fibre content in five Mediterranean legumes. Int J Food Sci Nutr 2019;70:551-561 · doi:10.1080/09637486.2018.1544229 · PMID 30614326
njoumi2019· abstract only · Publisher copyright - Massey LK, Palmer RG, Horner HT. Oxalate content of soybean seeds (Glycine max), soyfoods, and other edible legumes. J Agric Food Chem 2001;49:4262-6 · doi:10.1021/jf010484y · PMID 11559120
pmid:11559120· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Shi L, Arntfield SD, Nickerson M. Changes in levels of phytic acid, lectins and oxalates during soaking and cooking of Canadian pulses. Food Res Int 2018;107:660-8 · doi:10.1016/j.foodres.2018.02.056 · PMID 29580532
pmid:29580532· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Margier M, Georgé S, Hafnaoui N, Remond D, Nowicki M, Du Chaffaut L, Amiot MJ, Reboul E. Nutritional composition and bioactive content of legumes: characterization of pulses frequently consumed in France and effect of the cooking method. Nutrients 2018;10(11):1668 · doi:10.3390/nu10111668 · PMID 30400385
pmid:30400385· full text read · MDPI open access (CC BY assumed from the publisher; not re-checked this session) - Fakiha A, Tul-Noor Z, Paoletti A, Pencharz PB, Ball RO, Levesque CL, Elango R, Courtney-Martin G. Bioavailable lysine, assessed in healthy young men using indicator amino acid oxidation, is greater when cooked millet and stewed Canadian lentils are combined. J Nutr 2020;150:2729-37 · doi:10.1093/jn/nxaa227 · PMID 32840580
pmid:32840580· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Rafii M, Pencharz PB, Boileau K, Ball RO, Tomlinson C, Elango R, Courtney-Martin G. Metabolic availability of methionine assessed using indicator amino acid oxidation method, is greater when cooked lentils and steamed rice are combined in the diet of healthy young men. J Nutr 2022;152:1467-75 · doi:10.1093/jn/nxac049 · PMID 35218191
pmid:35218191· abstract only · Publisher copyright (journal article) - Siener R et al. 2021 (oxalate in legumes and vegetables; CC BY 4.0)
siener2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.