
Lentils, dry
Checked by us One serving: 35 g (about 3 tablespoons) · 123 kcal
Weighed dry, before cooking.
Lots of folate and thiamin.
Nothing to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (35 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
168 µg in one serving: 42% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.31 mg in one serving: 26% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 28% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
20 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
Learn more
8.25 g in one serving: 15% of the 56 g a day men need, 18% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
3.75 g in one serving: 10% of the 38 g a day men need, 15% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.19 mg in one serving: 15% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
2.51 mg in one serving: 31% of the 8 mg a day men need, 14% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.2 mg in one serving: 14% of the 16 mg a day men need, 16% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.35 mg in one serving: 12% of the 11 mg a day men need, 17% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
332 mg in one serving: 10% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 13% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
37.3 mg in one serving: 9% of the 400 mg a day men need, 12% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
33.7 mg in one serving: 6% of the 550 mg a day men need, 8% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.07 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 6% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
39.2 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
21.6 mg in one serving: 2% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
1.58 mg in one serving: 2% of the 90 mg a day men need, 2% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
1.75 µg in one serving: 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, 2% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
0.17 mg in one serving: 1% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
0.7 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 900 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
0.04 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
0 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sugar
0.7 g of sugar in a 35 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 35 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
For folate: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 35 g.
For thiamin: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 35 g.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (19 µg vs 0.04 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (0.65 µg vs 0 µg)
- More omega-3: EPA + DHA (47.3 mg vs 0 mg)
- Less folate (2.1 µg vs 168 µg)
- Less thiamin (0.03 mg vs 0.31 mg)
Eggs, hard-boiled- More selenium (10.8 µg vs 0.04 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (0.39 µg vs 0 µg)
- More choline (103 mg vs 33.7 mg)
- Less folate (15.4 µg vs 168 µg)
- Less thiamin (0.02 mg vs 0.31 mg)
2 foods out of the 11 other main-dish proteins we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Lentils, cooked- 41 kcal in 35 g (this food: 123)
- Less folate (63.4 µg vs 168 µg)
- Less thiamin (0.06 mg vs 0.31 mg)
Soybeans, cooked- 60 kcal in 35 g (this food: 123)
- More omega-3: ALA (209 mg vs 39.2 mg)
- Less folate (18.9 µg vs 168 µg)
- Less thiamin (0.05 mg vs 0.31 mg)
Tofu, calcium-set- 27 kcal in 35 g (this food: 123)
- More calcium (123 mg vs 21.6 mg)
- Less folate (5.25 µg vs 168 µg)
- Less thiamin (0.03 mg vs 0.31 mg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Bacon, pan-fried would lead this list, but it’s left out (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Lentils, dry
How the serving was set: 35 g dry (Health Canada K.2)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.112 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Calcium | 61.85 mg | 21.65 mg | 17.62 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 71 mg | 24.85 mg | 20.23 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| 35 mg | 12.25 mg | 9.97 mg | copy of USDA · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3392 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 62.171 g | 21.76 g | 17.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Choline | 96.4 mg | 33.74 mg | 27.47 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Energy | 350.933 kcal | 122.83 kcal | – | FDC Energy (Atwater Specific Factors) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| 352 kcal | 123.2 kcal | – | from SR Legacy · not used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C | |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fat | 1.925 g | 0.67 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 1.9 g | 0.67 g | 0.54 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 0.154 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fibre | 10.7 g | 3.75 g | 3.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Folate | 479 µg | 167.65 µg | 136.49 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 110 µg | 38.5 µg | 31.35 µg | second database · not used · 4.4× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Iron | 7.158 mg | 2.51 mg | 2.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 11.1 mg | 3.89 mg | 3.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Magnesium | 106.7 mg | 37.35 mg | 30.4 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 110 mg | 38.5 mg | 31.35 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 6.288 mg | 2.2 mg | 1.79 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #3392 | C |
| Phosphorus | 373.6 mg | 130.76 mg | 106.46 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 350 mg | 122.5 mg | 99.73 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Potassium | 948.9 mg | 332.12 mg | 270.39 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 940 mg | 329 mg | 267.86 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Protein | 23.569 g | 8.25 g | 6.72 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 24.3 g | 8.51 g | 6.92 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.211 mg | 0.07 mg | 0.06 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0.27 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Selenium | 0.1 µg | 0.04 µg | 0.03 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 105 µg | 36.75 µg | 29.92 µg | second database · not used · 1,050× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 12 mg | 4.2 mg | 3.42 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Sugars | 2.03 g | 0.71 g | 0.58 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 1.2 g | 0.42 g | 0.34 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.873 mg | 0.31 mg | 0.25 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0.41 mg | 0.14 mg | 0.12 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 2 µg | 0.7 µg | 0.57 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.54 mg | 0.19 mg | 0.15 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0.93 mg | 0.33 mg | 0.27 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 4.5 mg | 1.58 mg | 1.28 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 0.49 mg | 0.17 mg | 0.14 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin K1 | 5 µg | 1.75 µg | 1.42 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Water | 9.451 g | 3.31 g | 2.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 10.8 g | 3.78 g | 3.08 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Zinc | 3.863 mg | 1.35 mg | 1.1 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 3.9 mg | 1.37 mg | 1.11 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 23 µg | 8.05 µg | 6.55 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Copper | 0.838 mg | 0.29 mg | 0.24 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 1.02 mg | 0.36 mg | 0.29 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 360.285 kcal | 126.1 kcal | 102.66 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 350.933 kcal | 122.83 kcal | 100 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Nitrogen | 3.771 g | 1.32 g | 1.07 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Ash | 2.884 g | 1.01 g | 0.82 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Starch | 37.13 g | 13 g | 10.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Sucrose | 1.47 g | 0.51 g | 0.42 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Glucose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fructose | 0.27 g | 0.09 g | 0.08 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Maltose | 0.3 g | 0.11 g | 0.09 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Energy | 1,473 kj | 515.55 kj | 419.74 kj | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Resistant starch | 16 g | 5.6 g | 4.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 39 iu | 13.65 iu | 11.11 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 0 iu | 0 iu | 0 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 4.23 mg | 1.48 mg | 1.21 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Folate, food | 479 µg | 167.65 µg | 136.49 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 479 µg | 167.65 µg | 136.49 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.221 g | 0.08 g | 0.06 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Threonine | 0.882 g | 0.31 g | 0.25 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Isoleucine | 1.065 g | 0.37 g | 0.3 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Leucine | 1.786 g | 0.63 g | 0.51 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Lysine | 1.72 g | 0.6 g | 0.49 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Methionine | 0.21 g | 0.07 g | 0.06 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Cystine | 0.322 g | 0.11 g | 0.09 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 1.215 g | 0.43 g | 0.35 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.658 g | 0.23 g | 0.19 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Valine | 1.223 g | 0.43 g | 0.35 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Arginine | 1.903 g | 0.67 g | 0.54 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Histidine | 0.693 g | 0.24 g | 0.2 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Alanine | 1.029 g | 0.36 g | 0.29 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 2.725 g | 0.95 g | 0.78 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 3.819 g | 1.34 g | 1.09 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Glycine | 1.002 g | 0.35 g | 0.29 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Proline | 1.029 g | 0.36 g | 0.29 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Serine | 1.136 g | 0.4 g | 0.32 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 0.136 g | 0.05 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.015 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 0.184 g | 0.06 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 0.414 g | 0.14 g | 0.12 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.112 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.006 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 0.193 g | 0.07 g | 0.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 0.526 g | 0.18 g | 0.15 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Manganese | 1.569 mg | 0.55 mg | 0.45 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #2644283 | C |
| 1.4 mg | 0.49 mg | 0.4 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 2.605 mg | 0.91 mg | 0.74 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 2.2 mg | 0.77 mg | 0.63 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 2.14 mg | 0.75 mg | 0.61 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| Retinol | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172420 | C |
| 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-089 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: none on the means (fructose 44 < glucose 164) mg/100 g dry weight · per 100 g seed (table footnote: 'dry weight basis; 85% dry and 15% moisture for the dry basis') · lentil dry seed, organic cultivars, SC USA · grade A · Thavarajah 2026
- fodmap excess fructose: implied 0.27 (artefact, contradicted) g/100 g · as listed (raw lentils) · Lentils, raw · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
- fodmap gos: range 453–2018 mg/100 g dry weight (Sta + Raf = stachyose + raffinose; mean of cultivars) · per 100 g seed (table footnote: 'dry weight basis; 85% dry and 15% moisture for the dry basis') · lentil dry seed, spring cultivars grown under certified organic management, SC USA · grade A · Thavarajah 2026
- fodmap gos: range 223–1642 mg/100 g dry weight (Ver + Kes = verbascose + kestose; mean of cultivars) · per 100 g seed (table footnote: 'dry weight basis; 85% dry and 15% moisture for the dry basis') · lentil dry seed, organic cultivars, SC USA · grade A · Thavarajah 2026
- fodmap gos: 1.59 g/100 g dried seed (GOS leached into the water, not seed content) · dried seed (extraction yield) · dry lentils boiled 30 min without soaking (L-BW) · grade B · Martins 2023
- fodmap mannitol: range 49–348 mg/100 g dry weight (mean of cultivars) · per 100 g seed (table footnote: 'dry weight basis; 85% dry and 15% moisture for the dry basis') · lentil dry seed, organic cultivars, SC USA · grade A · Thavarajah 2026
- histamine: not detected (n 6) mg/kg · as supplied (dry seed; basis not stated) · raw dry lentils, untreated control (not cooked, not fermented) · grade B · Mockus 2023
- histamine: not detected (n 7) mg/kg · fresh weight · lentils, as sold in Spanish retail (dry vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
- oxalate soluble: 14.3 mean (range 14.0-14.5, n = 2) mg/100 g, brown lentils; red lentils 7.8 (6.7-8.8, n = 2) mg/100 g · dry seed as analysed · seeds, dry (raw) · grade A · Siener 2021
- oxalate total: 24.0 mean (range 21.6-26.3, n = 2) mg/100 g, brown lentils; red lentils 13.8 (13.7-13.8, n = 2) mg/100 g · dry seed as analysed (not dry-matter corrected; basis column reads 'seeds, dry') · seeds, dry (raw) · grade A · Siener 2021
- tyramine: not detected (n 6) mg/kg · as supplied (dry seed; basis not stated) · raw dry lentils, untreated control (not cooked, not fermented) · grade B · Mockus 2023
- tyramine: not detected (n 7) mg/kg · fresh weight · lentils, as sold in Spanish retail (dry vs cooked not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Martins GN, Carboni AD, Hugo AA, Castilho PC, Gomez-Zavaglia A. Chickpeas' and lentils' soaking and cooking wastewaters repurposed for growing lactic acid bacteria. Foods 2023;12:2324 · doi:10.3390/foods12122324 · PMID 37372536
martins2023· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Mockus E, Zokaityte E, Starkute V, Klupsaite D, et al. Influence of different lactic acid bacteria strains and milling process on the solid-state fermented green and red lentils (Lens culinaris L.). Front Nutr 2023;10:1118710. · doi:10.3389/fnut.2023.1118710
mockus2023· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2018, Foods 7:205, Table 1 (histamine in plant foods; PMC6306728)
sanchezperez2018· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Siener R et al. 2021 (oxalate in legumes and vegetables; CC BY 4.0)
siener2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Thavarajah D, Dempsey M, Lawrence T, Shipe E, Kumar S. Assessing conventionally bred lentil (Lens culinaris Medik) cultivars for adaptation to organic cropping systems. Sci Rep 2026;16:27958 · doi:10.1038/s41598-026-63027-8 · PMID 42481655
thavarajah2026· full text read · CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.