FoodtopsyFrançais
A pile of french fries

French fries, restaurant

Checked by us One serving: 70 g · 218 kcal

Lots of vitamin B6.

Go easy: acrylamide can add up.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (70 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

21 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
  • Acrylamide

    Go easyHealth Canada, fast-food fries, Ottawa 2009 and 2014
    Learn more

    +47–105% a serving a day adds to an average adult’s intake from all food

    That share is for one serving, 70 g, every day. Eaten once a week instead, the same serving adds a seventh as much: 6.7–15%, not 47–105%.

    No amount of acrylamide is proven harmless, so we compare with what people already take in instead of counting to a limit. We flag a food only when a daily serving would double that average.

    “Go easy” here because agencies’ estimates of what an average adult takes in differ, and against the lowest of them a serving a day can double it.

    One serving carries 29.3 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can double average intake

    May exceed: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 46.6-104.8% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), so the top of the range reaches doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 145-267%. At the 2014 survey mean alone (358 µg/kg) the range is 39.8-89.5%, below the line.

    Hossain Z, Zhao T, Becalski A, Schneider J, Feng SY, Rawn DFK. Trends in acrylamide content in selected potato/sweet potato products on the Canadian market. Food Addit Contam A 2024. · grade A

    Every food with acrylamide

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Acrylamide

      Go easyUS FDA 2011-15 (Abt 2019), ready-to-eat potato products
      Learn more

      +47–105% a serving a day adds to an average adult’s intake from all food

      That share is for one serving, 70 g, every day. Eaten once a week instead, the same serving adds a seventh as much: 6.6–15%, not 47–105%.

      No amount of acrylamide is proven harmless, so we compare with what people already take in instead of counting to a limit. We flag a food only when a daily serving would double that average.

      “Go easy” here because agencies’ estimates of what an average adult takes in differ, and against the lowest of them a serving a day can double it.

      One serving carries 29.3 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Go easy: can double average intake

      May exceed: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 46.5-104.6% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), so the top of the range reaches doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 145-266%. A secondary citation, in a category wider than fries (hash browns, puffs).

      Abt E et al. Acrylamide levels and dietary exposure from foods in the United States, an update based on 2011-2015 data. Food Addit Contam A 2019;36(10):1475-1490. · grade B

      Every food with acrylamide

  • You’d need about 5.6 servings in one sitting of this food alone to reach the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 1.26 mg

    How we got this

    390 g in one sitting reaches the limit

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's 2020 no-concern line for one sitting is 100 µg/kg body weight of total glycoalkaloids (7,000 µg at 70 kg; an effect level of 1 mg/kg body weight with a margin of 10). At the mean of 18 µg/g, 389 g in one sitting would reach it, eaten alone; a 70 g serving is 18% of the limit, and 44% at the highest value reported (44 mg/kg, 159 g). The source says only "commercial product" for three samples and does not say where the fries were bought. This is a fried or processed product, not the raw tuber.

    EFSA CONTAM Panel (2020) Risk assessment of glycoalkaloids in feed and food, in particular in potatoes and potato-derived products. EFSA Journal 18(8):6222 · grade B

    Every food with potato glycoalkaloids (solanine)

  • 3-MCPD and its esters

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 9.4 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 9.59 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 20–69% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 42–59% of the limit.

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 35% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 1,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 70 g a day, which stays within the 660 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: EFSA's group tolerable daily intake for 3-MCPD and its fatty acid esters is 2 µg/kg body weight/day (2018), 140 µg/day at 70 kg. A serving carries 9.6 µg, 6.9% of it; about 1,022 g of fries a day would reach it, eaten alone. The average adult takes in 0.2-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day (14-49 µg/day), 10-35% of the limit, and the serving adds 19.6-68.5% to that, under doubling. The fries measured were German food-service fries. The BfR finds the limit not exceeded for adults but clearly exceeded for children and infants in some scenarios.

    BfR. Possible health risks due to high concentrations of 3-MCPD and glycidyl fatty acid esters in certain foods. BfR Opinion No 020/2020, 20 April 2020. · grade A

    Every food with 3-MCPD and its esters

  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, fast-food fries

    You’d need about 2.2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 3.12 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 18% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 84% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 3,900 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 490 g a week, which stays within the 1,100 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 18% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada. Total Diet Study trace elements, open.canada.ca dataset 83934503, English resource 9c988c19-07ae-4aa4-8496-84658b6b0c45; composites pooled as an equal-weight mean per TDS food code, non-detects stored as 0. · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Cadmium

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, fast-food fries

      You’d need about 1.8 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 4.06 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 23% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 87% of the limit.

      An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 3,000 g a week would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 490 g a week, which stays within the 880 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      A daily serving adds 23% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

      US FDA. Total Diet Study elements FY2018-FY2020 summary (media159749). · grade A

      Every food with cadmium

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watchUS FDA 2011-15, restaurant and take-out fries

    You’d need about 2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 44–99% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 27.8 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap, though only just: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 44.1-99.3% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), the top of the range a hair under doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 138-253%; the band rests on EFSA's average.

    US FDA. Survey Data on Acrylamide in Food: Individual Food Products (spreadsheets media130926 and media130927). · grade B

    Every food with acrylamide

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watchEFSA 2015, European ready-to-eat fries (2010 on)

    You’d need about 2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 34–77% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 21.6 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide, and a serving stays under doubling. A 70 g serving adds 34.2-77.0% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015). Against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 107-196%; the band rests on EFSA's average. At the old 100 g default the same mean (308 µg/kg) gives 48.9-110%.

    EFSA CONTAM Panel (2015) Scientific Opinion on acrylamide in food. EFSA Journal 13(6):4104 · grade A

    Every food with acrylamide

  • Acrylamide

    Nothing to watchEFSA 2015, European deep-fried fries (home and pro mixed)

    You’d need about 2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the acrylamide an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 27–61% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 17 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide, and a serving stays under doubling. A 70 g serving adds 27.0-60.8% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015). Against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 84-155%; the band rests on EFSA's average.

    EFSA CONTAM Panel (2015) Scientific Opinion on acrylamide in food. EFSA Journal 13(6):4104 · grade A

    Every food with acrylamide

  • You’d need about 2 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the glycidyl esters (glycidol) an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 39–59% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 8.26 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: a 70 g serving carries 8.26 µg of glycidyl esters counted as glycidol (0.118 µg/kg body weight), which adds 39-59% to EFSA's 2016 average adult intake (0.2-0.3 µg/kg body weight/day), under doubling. No safe threshold is set for glycidol; EFSA counts a margin of exposure of 25,000 or more on a T25 of 10.2 mg/kg body weight/day as low concern.

    BfR. Possible health risks due to high concentrations of 3-MCPD and glycidyl fatty acid esters in certain foods. BfR Opinion No 020/2020, 20 April 2020. · grade A

    Every food with glycidyl esters (glycidol)

Checked for nickel and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Nickel

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 2000-18, fast-food fries

    You’d need about 63 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 10.7 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 4.5–5.3% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 27–28% of the limit.

    The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 6,000 g a day would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 70 g a day, which stays within the 4,400 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. A 70 g serving adds 4.5-5.3% to the average adult's intake; about 5,962 g of fries a day would reach the limit, eaten alone. For nickel-sensitised people EFSA's acute line is 0.143 µg/kg body weight per sitting (10 µg at 70 kg); a serving here is 10.7 µg.

    Health Canada. Total Diet Study trace elements, open.canada.ca dataset 83934503, English resource 9c988c19-07ae-4aa4-8496-84658b6b0c45; composites pooled as an equal-weight mean per TDS food code, non-detects stored as 0. · grade A

    Every food with nickel

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Nickel

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, fast-food fries

      You’d need about 69 servings in a day of this food alone to use up what the highest average adult intake we found leaves under the limit.

      Learn more

      One serving carries 9.87 µg

      How we got this

      A serving a day adds 4.1–4.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 27–28% of the limit.

      The highest average adult intake we found already takes up about 26% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

      Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 6,500 g a day would reach the limit.

      Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 70 g a day, which stays within the 4,800 g of room left before the limit.

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

      No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. A 70 g serving adds 4.1-4.9% to the average adult's intake; about 6,454 g of fries a day would reach the limit, eaten alone. For nickel-sensitised people EFSA's acute line is 0.143 µg/kg body weight per sitting (10 µg at 70 kg); a serving here is 9.9 µg.

      US FDA. Total Diet Study elements FY2018-FY2020 summary (media159749). · grade A

      Every food with nickel

  • Lead

    Nothing to watchHealth Canada TDS 1999-2018, fast-food fries

    You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 0.5% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.18 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    No cap: a 70 g serving adds 0.51% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (0.179 µg; EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead.

    Health Canada. Total Diet Study trace elements, open.canada.ca dataset 83934503, English resource 9c988c19-07ae-4aa4-8496-84658b6b0c45; composites pooled as an equal-weight mean per TDS food code, non-detects stored as 0. · grade A

    Every food with lead

  • 1 other measurement of this food, same verdict
    • Lead

      Nothing to watchUS FDA TDS 2018-20, fast-food fries

      You’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

      Learn more

      A serving a day adds 0.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

      One serving carries 0.04 µg

      How we got this

      The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

      No cap: a 70 g serving adds 0.11% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (0.039 µg). 26 of 27 samples fell below the 4 ppb reporting limit, so the level is a floor.

      US FDA. Total Diet Study elements FY2018-FY2020 summary (media159749). · grade A

      Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.2 g of sugar in a 70 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Tyramine: 0.58 mg per kg fresh weight, so about 0.041 mg in a 70 g serving. (0.58 (standard deviation 0.64), range nd–2.2 (potato, preparation not stated; NOT fries)) · Sanchezperez 2018 · grade B

    For scale, EFSA found no reported ill effects at 6 mg of tyramine in a meal for people on the older MAO-inhibitor antidepressants, 50 mg for those on the newer ones and 600 mg for healthy people not taking them, based on limited data. EFSA 2011

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Measured in this food, not rated yet. Not rated: this is a contrast figure from Normandin 2013 (one city, an adolescent-diet sample, known only from its abstract), not used to rate fries. At its level a 70 g serving would add 117.0-263.2% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), or 366-671% against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day): the whole range sits above the doubling line.

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 70 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other starchy sides we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For vitamin B6: no other starchy sides we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 70 g.

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other starchy sides we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Sweet potato, baked
    • More vitamin A (673 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin C (13.7 mg vs 3.29 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (4.2 mg vs 305 mg)
    Worth knowing: acrylamide · less of a concern than in this food
  • Whole-wheat bread
    • More selenium (18.1 µg vs 0.63 µg)
    • More thiamin (0.27 mg vs 0.12 mg)
    • More protein (8.61 g vs 2.4 g)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (97.3 mg vs 305 mg)

2 foods out of the 5 other starchy sides we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Sweet potato, baked
    • 63 kcal in 70 g (this food: 218)
    • More vitamin A (673 µg vs 0 µg)
    • More vitamin C (13.7 mg vs 3.29 mg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (4.2 mg vs 305 mg)
    Worth knowing: acrylamide · less of a concern than in this food
  • Sweet potato, boiled
    • 53 kcal in 70 g (this food: 218)
    • More vitamin A (551 µg vs 0 µg)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (0 mg vs 305 mg)
    • Less niacin (0.61 mg vs 2.54 mg)
  • Whole-wheat bread
    • More selenium (18.1 µg vs 0.63 µg)
    • More thiamin (0.27 mg vs 0.12 mg)
    • More protein (8.61 g vs 2.4 g)
    • Less omega-3: ALA (97.3 mg vs 305 mg)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Flour tortillas (Worth knowing: lead).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: French fries, restaurant or fast-food, fried in vegetable oil

How the serving was set: 70 g prepared (Health Canada TRA P.1 French fries)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.436 g0.31 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Calcium18 mg12.6 mg5.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
18 mg12.6 mg5.77 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
18 mg12.6 mg5.77 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4664C
Carbohydrate41.44 g29.01 g13.28 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Choline36.8 mg25.76 mg11.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Energy312 kcal218.4 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fat14.73 g10.31 g4.72 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
14.2 g9.94 g4.55 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total saturated2.336 g1.64 g0.75 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fibre3.8 g2.66 g1.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
3.8 g2.66 g1.22 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Folate30 µg21 µg9.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
38 µg26.6 µg12.18 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Iron0.81 mg0.57 mg0.26 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.72 mg0.5 mg0.23 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Magnesium35 mg24.5 mg11.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
29 mg20.3 mg9.29 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)3.633 mg2.54 mg1.16 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #4664C
Phosphorus125 mg87.5 mg40.06 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
143 mg100.1 mg45.83 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Potassium579 mg405.3 mg185.58 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
544 mg380.8 mg174.36 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Protein3.43 g2.4 g1.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
3.5 g2.45 g1.12 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Riboflavin (B2)0.039 mg0.03 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.09 mg0.06 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not used · 2.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Selenium0.9 µg0.63 µg0.29 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Sodium210 mg147 mg67.31 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
193 mg135.1 mg61.86 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Sugars0.3 g0.21 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.3 g0.21 g0.1 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Thiamin (B1)0.17 mg0.12 mg0.05 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.07 mg0.05 mg0.02 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin B60.372 mg0.26 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.04 mg0.03 mg0.01 mgsecond database · not used · 9.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin C4.7 mg3.29 mg1.51 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
2 mg1.4 mg0.64 mgsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin E1.67 mg1.17 mg0.54 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
3.28 mg2.3 mg1.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Vitamin K111.2 µg7.84 µg3.59 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Water38.55 g26.99 g12.36 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
38.5 g26.95 g12.34 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Zinc0.5 mg0.35 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.4 mg0.28 mg0.13 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Copper0.124 mg0.09 mg0.04 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.08 mg0.06 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Ash1.85 g1.3 g0.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Energy1,305 kj913.5 kj418.27 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocopherol, beta0.05 mg0.04 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocopherol, gamma3.63 mg2.54 mg1.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocopherol, delta0.9 mg0.63 mg0.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.02 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocotrienol, beta0.09 mg0.06 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocotrienol, gamma0.03 mg0.02 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Tocotrienol, delta0.03 mg0.02 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)42.8 µg29.96 µg13.72 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Folate, food30 µg21 µg9.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Folate, DFE30 µg21 µg9.62 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Betaine0.4 mg0.28 mg0.13 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total trans0.06 g0.04 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 4:00.08 g0.06 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 8:00.014 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 10:00.013 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 12:00.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 14:00.018 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 16:01.22 g0.85 g0.39 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 18:00.838 g0.59 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 20:00.07 g0.05 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 18:15.821 g4.07 g1.87 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:24.948 g3.46 g1.59 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:30.436 g0.31 g0.14 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:40.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 22:00.04 g0.03 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 16:10.026 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 20:10.107 g0.07 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 22:10.004 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Phytosterols0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated5.969 g4.18 g1.91 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated5.398 g3.78 g1.73 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 15:00.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 17:00.011 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
SFA 24:00.022 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
TFA 16:1 t0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
TFA 18:1 t0.026 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
TFA 22:1 t0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
TFA 18:2 t not further defined0.033 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:2 CLAs0.017 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 24:1 c0.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0.007 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 16:1 c0.026 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 18:1 c5.796 g4.06 g1.86 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c4.898 g3.43 g1.57 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 22:1 c0.003 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c0.029 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 17:10.008 g0.01 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:30.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic0.027 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic0.033 g0.02 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA)0.407 g0.28 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:3 n-30.001 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 20:3 n-60 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
PUFA 22:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Lutein + zeaxanthin27 µg18.9 µg8.65 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
Manganese0.247 mg0.17 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.16 mg0.11 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Niacin (B3, preformed)3.004 mg2.1 mg0.96 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.6 mg0.42 mg0.19 mgsecond database · not used · 5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.58 mg0.41 mg0.19 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0.49 mg0.34 mg0.16 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #170698C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-486C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide, and a serving stays under doubling. A 70 g serving adds 27.0-60.8% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015). Against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 84-155%; the band rests on EFSA's average. · EFSA 2015 · A
  • Acrylamide · Go easy: can double average intake · May exceed: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 46.6-104.8% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), so the top of the range reaches doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 145-267%. At the 2014 survey mean alone (358 µg/kg) the range is 39.8-89.5%, below the line. · DOI 10.1080/19440049.2024.2379388 · A
  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide, and a serving stays under doubling. A 70 g serving adds 34.2-77.0% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015). Against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 107-196%; the band rests on EFSA's average. At the old 100 g default the same mean (308 µg/kg) gives 48.9-110%. · EFSA 2015 · A
  • Acrylamide · Go easy: can double average intake · May exceed: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 46.5-104.6% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), so the top of the range reaches doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 145-266%. A secondary citation, in a category wider than fries (hash browns, puffs). · DOI 10.1080/19440049.2019.1637548 · B
  • Acrylamide · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap, though only just: no safe threshold is set for acrylamide. A 70 g serving adds 44.1-99.3% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), the top of the range a hair under doubling. Against Health Canada's lower adult mean (11-20 µg/day) it is 138-253%; the band rests on EFSA's average. · FDA 2011–2015 · B
  • Acrylamide · Not rated yet · Not rated: this is a contrast figure from Normandin 2013 (one city, an adolescent-diet sample, known only from its abstract), not used to rate fries. At its level a 70 g serving would add 117.0-263.2% to EFSA's adult mean intake (0.4-0.9 µg/kg body weight/day = 28-63 µg/day, 2015), or 366-671% against Health Canada's lower mean (11-20 µg/day): the whole range sits above the doubling line. · DOI 10.1016/j.fct.2013.03.005 · B
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 18% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 23% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Glycidyl esters (glycidol) · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a 70 g serving carries 8.26 µg of glycidyl esters counted as glycidol (0.118 µg/kg body weight), which adds 39-59% to EFSA's 2016 average adult intake (0.2-0.3 µg/kg body weight/day), under doubling. No safe threshold is set for glycidol; EFSA counts a margin of exposure of 25,000 or more on a T25 of 10.2 mg/kg body weight/day as low concern. · BfR 2020 · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a 70 g serving adds 0.51% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (0.179 µg; EFSA 2012), far from doubling it. No safe threshold is set for lead. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · No cap: a 70 g serving adds 0.11% to the average adult's lead intake of 35 µg/day (0.039 µg). 26 of 27 samples fell below the 4 ppb reporting limit, so the level is a floor. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • 3-MCPD and its esters · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's group tolerable daily intake for 3-MCPD and its fatty acid esters is 2 µg/kg body weight/day (2018), 140 µg/day at 70 kg. A serving carries 9.6 µg, 6.9% of it; about 1,022 g of fries a day would reach it, eaten alone. The average adult takes in 0.2-0.7 µg/kg body weight/day (14-49 µg/day), 10-35% of the limit, and the serving adds 19.6-68.5% to that, under doubling. The fries measured were German food-service fries. The BfR finds the limit not exceeded for adults but clearly exceeded for children and infants in some scenarios. · BfR 2020 · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. A 70 g serving adds 4.5-5.3% to the average adult's intake; about 5,962 g of fries a day would reach the limit, eaten alone. For nickel-sensitised people EFSA's acute line is 0.143 µg/kg body weight per sitting (10 µg at 70 kg); a serving here is 10.7 µg. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
  • Nickel · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: nickel is rated against EFSA's tolerable daily intake of 13 µg/kg body weight/day (2020). The average adult already takes in 22-26% of it, under half, so a food would have to reach the limit on its own to matter. A 70 g serving adds 4.1-4.9% to the average adult's intake; about 6,454 g of fries a day would reach the limit, eaten alone. For nickel-sensitised people EFSA's acute line is 0.143 µg/kg body weight per sitting (10 µg at 70 kg); a serving here is 9.9 µg. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Potato glycoalkaloids (solanine) · Nothing to watch: under the limit · No cap: EFSA's 2020 no-concern line for one sitting is 100 µg/kg body weight of total glycoalkaloids (7,000 µg at 70 kg; an effect level of 1 mg/kg body weight with a margin of 10). At the mean of 18 µg/g, 389 g in one sitting would reach it, eaten alone; a 70 g serving is 18% of the limit, and 44% at the highest value reported (44 mg/kg, 159 g). The source says only "commercial product" for three samples and does not say where the fries were bought. This is a fried or processed product, not the raw tuber. · EFSA 2020 · B

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap fructan: not detectable g/100 g · fresh weight · 'French fries' composite of at least three brands, Slovenian grocery stores and markets; samples 'were cooked, baked, or fried and then dried', so the fries' own preparation is not stated · grade A · Ferjancic 2024
  • histamine: not detected (potato, preparation not stated, n = 10; NOT fries) mg/kg · fresh weight · potato, preparation not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • tyramine: 0.58 (standard deviation 0.64), range nd–2.2 (potato, preparation not stated; NOT fries) mg/kg · fresh weight · potato, preparation not stated (the authors' own database of Spanish market products) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.