FoodtopsyFrançais
A baked sweet potato split open

Sweet potato, baked

Checked by us One serving: 110 g (about 1 medium sweet potato) · 99 kcal

Lots of vitamin A and vitamin B6. Rich in 1 more nutrient: see Good for.

Worth knowing: acrylamide.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (110 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

19 more nutrients below “a lot”

Watch out

How we counted this
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 12 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.63 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 3.5% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 73% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 31,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 770 g a week, which stays within the 9,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 3.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 25 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 3.8–4.1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 1.32 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    lower bound 12 µg/kg (reported mean; FDA counts non-detects as 0); upper bound at most 13.2 µg/kg by arithmetic (12 + 8 x 4 / 27); adds 3.8-4.1% to the EFSA adult mean of 35 µg/day (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day x 70 kg); no cap

    US FDA, Total Diet Study FY2018–FY2020 Elements Report Supplement · grade A

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    7.1 g of sugar in a 110 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also checked (nothing to act on) · 1

Noted for context, or not measured in this food yet.

  • Not rated: the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic and the TDS reports total arsenic; speciation not available

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 110 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other starchy sides we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

For vitamin A: no other starchy sides we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 110 g.

For vitamin B6: no other starchy sides we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 110 g.

None of the 4 other starchy sides we could compare gives clearly more nutrients per serving.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

None of the 4 other starchy sides we could compare gives clearly more nutrients, protein and fibre per calorie.

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: Sweet potato, baked

How the serving was set: 110 g (Health Canada P.3, potatoes, sweet potatoes, yams, plain, fresh)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.006 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Calcium38 mg41.8 mg42.22 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
31 mg34.1 mg34.44 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
38 mg41.8 mg42.22 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2241C
Carbohydrate20.71 g22.78 g23.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Choline13.1 mg14.41 mg14.56 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Energy90 kcal99 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fat0.15 g0.17 g0.17 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.4 g0.44 g0.44 gsecond database · not used · 2.7×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.052 g0.06 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fibre3.3 g3.63 g3.67 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
5.2 g5.72 g5.78 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Folate6 µg6.6 µg6.67 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
9 µg9.9 µg10 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Iron0.69 mg0.76 mg0.77 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.9 mg0.99 mg1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Magnesium27 mg29.7 mg30 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
23 mg25.3 mg25.56 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.154 mg2.37 mg2.39 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #2241C
Phosphorus54 mg59.4 mg60 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
65 mg71.5 mg72.22 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Potassium475 mg522.5 mg527.78 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
480 mg528 mg533.33 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Protein2.01 g2.21 g2.23 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
1.6 g1.76 g1.78 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Riboflavin (B2)0.106 mg0.12 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Selenium0.2 µg0.22 µg0.22 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
1 µg1.1 µg1.11 µgsecond database · not used · 5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Sodium36 mg39.6 mg40 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
52 mg57.2 mg57.78 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Sugars6.48 g7.13 g7.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
14.5 g15.95 g16.11 gsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Thiamin (B1)0.107 mg0.12 mg0.12 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.09 mg0.1 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin A961 µg1,057.1 µg1,067.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin B60.286 mg0.31 mg0.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.07 mg0.08 mg0.08 mgsecond database · not used · 4.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin C19.6 mg21.56 mg21.78 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
23 mg25.3 mg25.56 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin E0.71 mg0.78 mg0.79 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
1.43 mg1.57 mg1.59 mgsecond database · not used · 2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Vitamin K12.3 µg2.53 µg2.56 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Water75.78 g83.36 g84.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
65.6 g72.16 g72.89 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Zinc0.32 mg0.35 mg0.36 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.4 mg0.44 mg0.44 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene11,509 µg12,659.9 µg12,787.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
5,140 µg5,654 µg5,711.11 µgsecond database · not used · 2.2×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Copper0.161 mg0.18 mg0.18 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.18 mg0.2 mg0.2 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Ash1.35 g1.49 g1.5 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Starch7.05 g7.76 g7.83 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Sucrose2.28 g2.51 g2.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Glucose0.57 g0.63 g0.63 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fructose0.5 g0.55 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Maltose3.12 g3.43 g3.47 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Energy378 kj415.8 kj420 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Galactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin A, IU19,218 iu21,139.8 iu21,353.33 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Carotene, alpha43 µg47.3 µg47.78 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocopherol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocopherol, gamma0.01 mg0.01 mg0.01 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocopherol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocotrienol, alpha0.02 mg0.02 mg0.02 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocotrienol, beta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocotrienol, gamma0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tocotrienol, delta0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone)0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Folate, food6 µg6.6 µg6.67 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Folate, DFE6 µg6.6 µg6.67 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Betaine34.6 mg38.06 mg38.44 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tryptophan0.04 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Threonine0.107 g0.12 g0.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Isoleucine0.07 g0.08 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Leucine0.118 g0.13 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Lysine0.084 g0.09 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Methionine0.037 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Cystine0.028 g0.03 g0.03 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Phenylalanine0.114 g0.13 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Tyrosine0.044 g0.05 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Valine0.11 g0.12 g0.12 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Arginine0.07 g0.08 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Histidine0.039 g0.04 g0.04 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Alanine0.099 g0.11 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Aspartic acid0.488 g0.54 g0.54 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Glutamic acid0.198 g0.22 g0.22 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Glycine0.081 g0.09 g0.09 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Proline0.067 g0.07 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Serine0.113 g0.12 g0.13 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 16:00.05 g0.06 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 18:00.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 20:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 18:10.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 18:20.09 g0.1 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 18:30.006 g0.01 g0.01 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 22:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 14:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.002 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.092 g0.1 g0.1 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 15:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 17:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
SFA 24:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 17:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
PUFA 20:30 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
MUFA 15:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Iodine1.5 µg1.65 µg1.67 µglisted usedUSDA iodine database (2024) #Sweet potato, baked, peel removedC
Lactose0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0 g0 g0 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
Manganese0.497 mg0.55 mg0.55 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.5 mg0.55 mg0.56 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Niacin (B3, preformed)1.487 mg1.64 mg1.65 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.5 mg0.55 mg0.56 mgsecond database · not used · 3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.884 mg0.97 mg0.98 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0.59 mg0.65 mg0.66 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #168483C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-672C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Acrylamide · Worth knowing · Flagged, not rated: baking forms acrylamide, and one sample (not detected) is too thin to rate a hot-baked root. Sweet potato chips and crackers are high (CFIA 14-930 µg/kg chips, 460 crackers; Health Canada 2024: sweet potato chips the highest mean) but are other products. Boiling or steaming is the mitigation. · FDA 2002–2006 · B
  • Arsenic, all forms · Context · Not rated: the reference point (EFSA 2024) is for inorganic arsenic and the TDS reports total arsenic; speciation not available · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 3.5% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · lower bound 12 µg/kg (reported mean; FDA counts non-detects as 0); upper bound at most 13.2 µg/kg by arithmetic (12 + 8 x 4 / 27); adds 3.8-4.1% to the EFSA adult mean of 35 µg/day (0.50 µg/kg body weight/day x 70 kg); no cap · US FDA Total Diet Study (2018–2020) · A

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: 0.53 µg/mg · dry weight (= mg/g DW) · boiled (unpeeled whole root; steamed 40 min, boiled 30 min, baked 90 min at 200 C) · grade B · Zhang 2022
  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not above glucose) units not stated in the table · not stated (table notes 'fw' for its other rows) · baked whole unpeeled root (boiled 90 C 100 min, water discarded; baked 190 C 70 min) · grade B · Guclu 2023

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.