
Eggs, raw
Checked by us One serving: 100 g (about 2 large eggs) · 148 kcal
Protein, plus choline and selenium. Rich in 4 more nutrients: see Good for.
Worth knowing: raw egg white and biotin.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (100 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
The label says 12.4 g. Measured in adults, about 51–65% of it is digested: 6.36–8.05 g.
From our evidence: Raw egg vs cooked egg: how much of the protein you digest →
Learn more
Measured in 2 studies in adults, at a test dose of 25 g; grade A. Details in The numbers.
12.4 g in one serving: 22% of the 56 g a day men need, 27% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ? Counting only the part studies found is digested (6.36–8.05 g), that is 11–14%.
- A lot
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
335 mg in one serving: 61% of the 550 mg a day men need, 79% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
31.1 µg in one serving: 57% of the 55 µg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
1.02 µg in one serving: 43% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.42 mg in one serving: 32% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 38% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
58 mg in one serving: 23% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
180 µg in one serving: 20% of the 900 µg a day men need, 26% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
15 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
3.03 mg in one serving: 19% of the 16 mg a day men need, 22% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
71 µg in one serving: 18% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
2.46 µg in one serving: 16% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.24 mg in one serving: 11% of the 11 mg a day men need, 16% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.67 mg in one serving: 21% of the 8 mg a day men need, 9% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Listed amount only. 1 absorption study of this nutrient is on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.05 mg in one serving: 7% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.08 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 7% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.06 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
48 mg in one serving: 5% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
132 mg in one serving: 4% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 5% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
48 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
11.4 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
0.3 µg in one serving: under 1% of the 120 µg a day men need, under 1% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Raw egg white and biotin (avidin)
Worth knowingAvidin in raw egg white binds biotin; the binding is lost on cooking. Deficiency reported with chronic ingestion of raw egg white
Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
Cadmium
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.
Learn more
One serving carries 0.04 µg
How we got this
A serving a day adds 0.2% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 71% of the limit.
An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.
Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 450,000 g a week would reach the limit.
Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 700 g a week, which stays within the 130,000 g of room left before the limit.
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit
A daily serving adds 0.22% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Lead
Nothing to watchYou’d need more than 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.
Learn more
A serving a day adds 0.4% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.
One serving carries 0.12 µg
How we got this
The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake
Daily serving adds 0.35% to the average adult intake (margin of exposure (MOE) basis); not a cap
Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade A
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Cholesterol
411 mg in a 100 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
The American Heart Association says healthy adults can include up to one whole egg a day (up to two for older adults with normal cholesterol, in a heart-healthy diet), and the Heart and Stroke Foundation says cholesterol in food has less effect on blood cholesterol than saturated and trans fat. If your cholesterol is high, your healthcare provider may advise limiting egg yolks. One serving on this page is 100 g (about 2 large eggs); that guidance counts eggs, not servings.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Source: Carson et al., Circulation 2020 (American Heart Association science advisory) · Heart and Stroke Foundation, Managing cholesterol
Sugar
0.4 g of sugar in a 100 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Lactose: 0–0.1 g per 100 g, so about 0–0.11 g in a 100 g serving. · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods), US food database (USDA SR Legacy), UK food tables (CoFID 2021), Canadian Nutrient File 2026 · grade B
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 100 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted31 g in 100 g (this food: 12.4 g) · but less choline
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g in 100 g (this food: 12.4 g) · but less choline and selenium
More selenium
Tilapia, cooked54.4 µg in 100 g (this food: 31.1 µg) · but less choline
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
For choline: Beef liver, pan-fried would lead, in the same 100 g, but is left out (Copper: limit it).
Chicken liver, simmered would lead this list, but it’s left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat- 59 kcal in 100 g (this food: 148)
- Less choline (15.1 mg vs 335 mg)
- Less selenium (9.7 µg vs 31.1 µg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (54.4 µg vs 31.1 µg)
- More niacin (9.16 mg vs 3.03 mg)
- More vitamin B12 (1.86 µg vs 1.02 µg)
- Less choline (51.3 mg vs 335 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.07 mg vs 0.42 mg)
Deli turkey breast- 106 kcal in 100 g (this food: 148)
- More niacin (11.6 mg vs 3.03 mg)
- More vitamin B6 (0.41 mg vs 0.06 mg)
- Less choline (30.1 mg vs 335 mg)
- Less selenium (13 µg vs 31.1 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g protein · 272 kcal per 100 g
Tempeh20.3 g protein · 192 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Left out: Mussels, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Egg, whole, raw
How the serving was set: 100 g (Health Canada G.2, eggs including eggs in the shell; label unit "# eggs (# g)")
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.048 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Calcium | 48 mg | 48 mg | 32.43 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 46 mg | 46 mg | 31.08 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| 50.211 mg | 50.21 mg | 33.93 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #125 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 0.96 g | 0.96 g | 0.65 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Choline | 335 mg | 335 mg | 226.35 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Energy | 148 kcal | 148 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.058 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Fat | 9.96 g | 9.96 g | 6.73 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 9 g | 9 g | 6.08 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 411 mg | 411 mg | 277.7 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 3.2 g | 3.2 g | 2.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Folate | 71 µg | 71 µg | 47.97 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 47 µg | 47 µg | 31.76 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Iron | 1.67 mg | 1.67 mg | 1.13 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 1.72 mg | 1.72 mg | 1.16 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Magnesium | 11.4 mg | 11.4 mg | 7.7 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 13 mg | 13 mg | 8.78 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 3.029 mg | 3.03 mg | 2.05 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #125 | C |
| Phosphorus | 184 mg | 184 mg | 124.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 179 mg | 179 mg | 120.95 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Potassium | 132 mg | 132 mg | 89.19 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 145 mg | 145 mg | 97.97 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Protein | 12.4 g | 12.4 g | 8.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 12.6 g | 12.6 g | 8.51 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.419 mg | 0.42 mg | 0.28 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.5 mg | 0.5 mg | 0.34 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Selenium | 31.1 µg | 31.1 µg | 21.01 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 23 µg | 23 µg | 15.54 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Sodium | 129 mg | 129 mg | 87.16 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 154 mg | 154 mg | 104.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Sugars | 0.37 g | 0.37 g | 0.25 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.077 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 180 µg | 180 µg | 121.62 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.02 µg | 1.02 µg | 0.69 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 2.7 µg | 2.7 µg | 1.82 µg | second database · not used · 2.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.063 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.13 mg | 0.13 mg | 0.09 mg | second database · not used · 2.1× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin D | 2.46 µg | 2.46 µg | 1.66 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 2.5 µg | 2.5 µg | 1.69 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 1.05 mg | 1.05 mg | 0.71 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| 1.29 mg | 1.29 mg | 0.87 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 0.3 µg | 0.3 µg | 0.2 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Water | 75.8 g | 75.8 g | 51.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 76.8 g | 76.8 g | 51.89 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Zinc | 1.24 mg | 1.24 mg | 0.84 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 1.1 mg | 1.1 mg | 0.74 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Copper | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.05 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Energy (Atwater general) | 143 kcal | 143 kcal | 96.62 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Energy (Atwater specific) | 147 kcal | 147 kcal | 99.32 kcal | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Nitrogen | 1.99 g | 1.99 g | 1.34 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Ash | 0.85 g | 0.85 g | 0.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Starch | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Sucrose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Glucose | 0.2 g | 0.2 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Carbohydrate, by summation | 0.2 g | 0.2 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Energy | 617 kj | 617 kj | 416.89 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Sugars, Total | 0.2 g | 0.2 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Total fat (NLEA) | 8.65 g | 8.65 g | 5.84 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 1.1 µg | 1.1 µg | 0.74 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 540 iu | 540 iu | 364.86 iu | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 98.4 iu | 98.4 iu | 66.49 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol) | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 2.46 µg | 2.46 µg | 1.66 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 25-hydroxycholecalciferol | 0.56 µg | 0.56 µg | 0.38 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.13 µg | 0.13 µg | 0.09 µg | second database · not used · 4.3× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Zeaxanthin | 229 µg | 229 µg | 154.73 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 13 µg | 13 µg | 8.78 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Lutein | 230 µg | 230 µg | 155.41 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 0.5 mg | 0.5 mg | 0.34 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.06 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.06 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| cis-beta-Carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| cis-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| cis-Lutein/Zeaxanthin | 57 µg | 57 µg | 38.51 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0.1 µg | 0.1 µg | 0.07 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Folate, food | 47 µg | 47 µg | 31.76 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 47 µg | 47 µg | 31.76 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Choline, free | 0.6 mg | 0.6 mg | 0.41 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Choline, from phosphocholine | 309 mg | 309 mg | 208.78 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Choline, from phosphotidyl choline | 0.2 mg | 0.2 mg | 0.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Choline, from glycerophosphocholine | 0.2 mg | 0.2 mg | 0.14 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Betaine | 0.3 mg | 0.3 mg | 0.2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Choline, from sphingomyelin | 25.1 mg | 25.1 mg | 16.96 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.166 g | 0.17 g | 0.11 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Threonine | 0.594 g | 0.59 g | 0.4 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.616 g | 0.62 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Leucine | 1.05 g | 1.05 g | 0.71 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Lysine | 0.832 g | 0.83 g | 0.56 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Methionine | 0.418 g | 0.42 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Cystine | 0.272 g | 0.27 g | 0.18 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.66 g | 0.66 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.512 g | 0.51 g | 0.35 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Valine | 0.734 g | 0.73 g | 0.5 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Arginine | 0.787 g | 0.79 g | 0.53 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Histidine | 0.283 g | 0.28 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Alanine | 0.667 g | 0.67 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.27 g | 1.27 g | 0.86 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.63 g | 1.63 g | 1.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Glycine | 0.408 g | 0.41 g | 0.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Proline | 0.56 g | 0.56 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Serine | 0.919 g | 0.92 g | 0.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Hydroxyproline | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Cysteine | 0.385 g | 0.39 g | 0.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.038 g | 0.04 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.006 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.032 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 2.32 g | 2.32 g | 1.57 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.813 g | 0.81 g | 0.55 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 3.411 g | 3.41 g | 2.3 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 1.555 g | 1.56 g | 1.05 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.048 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.188 g | 0.19 g | 0.13 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.058 g | 0.06 g | 0.04 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.004 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.007 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.201 g | 0.2 g | 0.14 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.027 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.007 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 3.63 g | 3.63 g | 2.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 1.82 g | 1.82 g | 1.23 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.008 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.022 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| TFA 16:1 t | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| TFA 18:1 t | 0.023 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| TFA 22:1 t | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| TFA 18:2 t not further defined | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 CLAs | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.018 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 c | 0.238 g | 0.24 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 c | 3.35 g | 3.35 g | 2.26 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 n-6 c,c | 1.46 g | 1.46 g | 0.99 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-6 c,c,c | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.023 g | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-monoenoic | 0.026 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans-polyenoic | 0.012 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 n-3 c,c,c (ALA) | 0.036 g | 0.04 g | 0.02 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-3 | 0.001 g | 0 g | 0 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 n-6 | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 c | 1.46 g | 1.46 g | 0.99 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 c | 0.011 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 c | 0.02 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| trans-beta-Carotene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| trans-Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, alpha | 13 µg | 13 µg | 8.78 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| Iodine | 49 µg | 49 µg | 33.11 µg | listed used | USDA iodine database (2024) #Egg, whole, raw, fresh | C |
| 50 µg | 50 µg | 33.78 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| 49.1 µg | 49.1 µg | 33.18 µg | second database · not used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C | |
| Lactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 503 µg | 503 µg | 339.86 µg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| Manganese | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.1 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1.533 mg | 1.53 mg | 1.04 mg | from SR Legacy used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #171287 | C |
| 1.35 mg | 1.35 mg | 0.91 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C | |
| Retinol | 179 µg | 179 µg | 120.95 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) #748967 | C |
| 126 µg | 126 µg | 85.14 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-937 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evenepoel et al. 1998: RAW 13C/15N-labelled egg protein, true ileal digestibility homogenate of 200 g 13C/15N-labelled egg white (100 g of each label) and the yolk of one egg; mostly egg white (yolk weight not stated) · raw (the same test meal "in raw form") full text read | Protein | 51.3 % | 25,000 mg | 5 | A | Used |
| Evenepoel et al. 1999: RAW labelled egg protein, digested and absorbed in the small intestine (1 - the 35.10% printed as escaping) 13C/15N/2H-labelled egg protein · raw (the same meal "raw") abstract only | Protein | 64.9 % | 25,000 mg | 10 | A | Used |
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evenepoel et al. 1998: cooked (microwaved homogenate, mostly egg white) 13C/15N-labelled egg protein, true ileal digestibility homogenate of 200 g 13C/15N-labelled egg white (100 g of each label) and the yolk of one egg; mostly egg white (yolk weight not stated) · cooked (microwaved homogenate, mostly egg white) full text read | Protein | 90.9 % | 25,000 mg | 5 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Callender 1970: egg eggs labelled biologically with 59Fe (hens fed 59Fe) · eggs in a standard meal (cooking not stated) · load not reported full text read | Iron | 3.7 % | not reported | 27 | A | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Sirichakwal et al. 1985: egg (egg white (intrinsic 74Se label)) egg white only (not whole egg) · not stated (egg white fraction of intrinsically labelled eggs) · load not reported abstract only | Selenium | 54.1 % | not reported | 4 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Sirichakwal et al. 1985: egg (egg yolk, high labelling dose, with L-amino acid mixture) egg yolk only, with amino acid mixture as the protein background · not stated (egg yolk fraction) · load not reported abstract only | Selenium | 76.7 % | not reported | 4 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Sirichakwal et al. 1985: egg (egg yolk, low labelling dose, with L-amino acid mixture) egg yolk only, low labelling dose · not stated (egg yolk fraction) · load not reported abstract only | Selenium | 79 % | not reported | 4 | B | Not used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study. |
| Doscherholmen et al. 1975: egg, fried whole egg, in vivo labelled by injection into two hens fed standard Purina Flock Chow · fried eggs: "the whites were coagulated and the yolks were still mainly liquid"; frying fat not stated · one whole fried egg per test, about 60 g, average B12 0.67 ug (hen 1) or 0.85 ug (hen 2); about 0.5 uCi 57Co per egg full text read | Vitamin B12 | 24.2 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Raw egg white and biotin (avidin) · Worth knowing · Avidin in raw egg white binds biotin; the binding is lost on cooking. Deficiency reported with chronic ingestion of raw egg white · Solvik 2024 · B
- Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 0.22% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Dietary cholesterol · Context · Context only: no rating, no agency limit used · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods) · C
- Egg allergy · Worth knowing · Eggs are a Health Canada priority allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Daily serving adds 0.35% to the average adult intake (margin of exposure (MOE) basis); not a cap · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · A
- Salmonella · Worth knowing · Raw or lightly cooked eggs: higher risk for young children, the elderly, pregnant women and people with weakened immune systems; cook to 74 C, or use pasteurized egg for unheated dishes · Health Canada, Egg safety · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- fodmap excess fructose: fructose 0.0, glucose 0.2 g/100 g (fructose minus glucose is not positive) g/100 g · fresh weight, raw · raw whole egg (USDA Foundation analytical sample) · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
- histamine: not detected (n = 14) mg/kg · as sold · eggs as sold, Spain; preparation not stated · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
- histamine: YOLK: ND to 0.56 mg/kg (range of group means, region x season; SDs up to 0.70) mg/kg · as sampled (raw egg contents) · raw egg contents stored 7 days at ambient temperature; yolk and albumen analysed separately · grade A · Assis 2016
- histamine: ALBUMEN: 0.31 to 13.34 mg/kg (range of group means; the 13.34 cell has standard deviation 24.86, so one pool dominates; most cells 1-3.2) mg/kg · as sampled (raw egg contents) · raw egg contents stored 7 days at ambient temperature; albumen analysed separately · grade A · Assis 2016
- histamine: mean 0.01 · standard deviation 0.002 · n 3 mg/kg · as sold (raw egg) · raw egg · grade B · Chung 2017
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · fresh weight, raw · raw whole egg (USDA Foundation analytical sample) · grade B · US food database (USDA Foundation Foods)
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Egg, whole, raw, fresh · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
- lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Eggs, chicken, whole, raw · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
- lactose: 0.11 g/100 g · as listed · Egg, whole, raw · grade B · Canadian Nutrient File 2026
- tyramine: not detected (n 14) mg/kg · fresh weight · eggs, as sold (shell egg; raw vs cooked and species not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2021
Sources
- Assis DCS, Menezes LDM, Lima AL, Klein RWT, Heneine LGD, Ornellas CBD, Figueiredo TC, Cançado SV (2016) Avaliação da qualidade interna de ovos de consumo pela pesquisa do teor de aminas bioativas. Arq Bras Med Vet Zootec 68(2):517-524 · doi:10.1590/1678-4162-7962
assis2016· full text read · Journal open access (SciELO); licence not checked - Chung BY, Park SY, Byun YS, Son JH, Choi YW, Cho YS, Kim HO, Park CW. Effect of different cooking methods on histamine levels in selected foods. Ann Dermatol 2017;29(6):706-714. · doi:10.5021/ad.2017.29.6.706 · PMID 29200758
chung2017· full text read · CC BY-NC 4.0 - Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - Callender ST, Marney SR Jr, Warner GT (1970). Eggs and iron absorption. Br J Haematol 19:657-65 · doi:10.1111/j.1365-2141.1970.tb07010.x · PMID 5492486
doi:10.1111/j.1365-2141.1970.tb07010.x· full text read · licence not recorded - USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, release 2026-04-30
fdc-foundation-2026-04-30· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Egg safety (date modified 2024-04-11 as shown)
hc-egg-safety· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites)
hc-tds-trace-elements· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Evenepoel P, Claus D, Geypens B, Hiele M, Geboes K, Rutgeerts P, Ghoos Y (1999) Amount and fate of egg protein escaping assimilation in the small intestine of humans. Am J Physiol 277(5):G935-G943 · doi:10.1152/ajpgi.1999.277.5.g935 · PMID 10564098
pmid:10564098· abstract only · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Doscherholmen A, McMahon J, Ripley D (1975) Vitamin B12 absorption from eggs. Proc Soc Exp Biol Med 149(4):987-990 · doi:10.3181/00379727-149-38940 · PMID 1172618
pmid:1172618· abstract only · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Sirichakwal PP, Young VR, Janghorbani M. Absorption and retention of selenium from intrinsically labeled egg and selenite as determined by stable isotope studies in humans. Am J Clin Nutr 1985;41:264-9 (author list, volume and pages from the PubMed record). · doi:10.1093/ajcn/41.2.264 · PMID 4038573
pmid:4038573· abstract only · publisher; abstract read only - Evenepoel P, Geypens B, Luypaerts A, Hiele M, Ghoos Y, Rutgeerts P (1998) Digestibility of cooked and raw egg protein in humans as assessed by stable isotope techniques. J Nutr 128(10):1716-1722 · doi:10.1093/jn/128.10.1716 · PMID 9772141
pmid:9772141· full text read · publisher (bronze OA, free to read at OUP) - Sánchez-Pérez S et al. 2021, Nutrients 13:1395, Table 1 (histamine)
sanchezperez2021· full text read · CC BY 4.0 - Solvik BS, Strand TA (2024) Biotin: a scoping review for Nordic Nutrition Recommendations 2023. Food Nutr Res 68:10256 · doi:10.29219/fnr.v68.10256 · PMID 38327992
solvik2024· full text read · Open access (PMC); licence not checked - USDA, FDA and ODS-NIH Database for the Iodine Content of Common Foods, Release 4.0 (October 2024; 478 foods). Prepared by Heydorn K, Wambogo E, Spungen JH, Ershow AG, Gahche JJ, Haggans C, Merkel J, Patterson KY, Pehrsson PR. USDA ARS Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory.
usda-iodine-db4· secondary source · US Government work (public domain; USDA ARS)
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.