
Eggs, scrambled
Checked by us One serving: 110 g (about 2 large eggs) · 164 kcal
Protein, plus selenium and choline. Rich in 3 more nutrients: see Good for.
A lot per serving: saturated and trans fat. Nothing else to watch.
Good for
How we counted this
What one serving (110 g) gives you.
Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.
The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share. ?
A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.
- A lot
Protein
Your muscles, and every other tissue, are built and repaired from it.
From our evidence: Raw egg vs cooked egg: how much of the protein you digest →
Learn more
11 g in one serving: 20% of the 56 g a day men need, 24% of the 46 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- A lot
Selenium
Your thyroid uses it to make its hormones.
Learn more
25.9 µg in one serving: 47% of the 55 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, selenium fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Choline
Your cells need it for their membranes, and to make acetylcholine, a messenger for memory, mood and muscle control.
Learn more
243 mg in one serving: 44% of the 550 mg a day men need, 57% of the 425 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, choline fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin B12
Your body needs it to make red blood cells and keep nerves working.
Learn more
0.84 µg in one serving: 35% of the 2.4 µg a day.
Listed amount only. 2 absorption studies of this nutrient are on file for this food, but none is quoted yet. Each one is in The numbers, with the reason. See the studies
Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B12 fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Riboflavin (B2)
Your cells use it to make energy and handle fats. It also helps turn tryptophan into niacin and activate vitamin B6.
Learn more
0.41 mg in one serving: 32% of the 1.3 mg a day men need, 37% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, riboflavin fact sheet for health professionals
- A lot
Vitamin A
Your eyes need it to see in dim light.
Learn more
Getting enough matters; more than enough doesn’t sharpen your sight.
177 µg in one serving: 20% of the 900 µg a day men need, 25% of the 700 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin A fact sheet for health professionals
16 more nutrients below “a lot”
- Some
Omega-3: EPA + DHA
Long-chain omega-3s, built into your cell membranes. DHA is concentrated in your brain and retinas.
Learn more
47.3 mg in one serving: 19% of the 250 mg a day.
Health Canada sets no daily amount for these fats, so the daily figure here is the European Food Safety Authority’s.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)
More than 400 of your enzymes need it to work.
Learn more
2.78 mg in one serving: 17% of the 16 mg a day men need, 20% of the 14 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, niacin fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin D
Your body needs it to absorb calcium and keep your bones hard.
Learn more
Your skin also makes it in sunlight, so food is only one of its sources.
1.98 µg in one serving: 13% of the 15 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Vitamin B6
Helps you use protein, and your brain needs it to make its chemical messengers.
Learn more
0.15 mg in one serving: 12% of the 1.3 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin B6 fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Zinc
Your immune system and healing wounds depend on it.
Learn more
1.14 mg in one serving: 10% of the 11 mg a day men need, 14% of the 8 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, zinc fact sheet for health professionals
- Some
Folate
Your body needs it to make DNA and to divide new cells.
Learn more
39.6 µg in one serving: 10% of the 400 µg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, folate fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Omega-3: ALA
The one omega-3 your body can’t make: it must come from food. Your cells build it into their membranes and burn it for energy.
Learn more
147 mg in one serving: 9% of the 1,600 mg a day men need, 13% of the 1,100 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, omega-3 fatty acids fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin E
Shields the fats in your cells from damage; your immune system uses it too.
Learn more
1.27 mg in one serving: 8% of the 15 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin E fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Iron
Carries oxygen in your blood.
Learn more
1.44 mg in one serving: 18% of the 8 mg a day men need, 8% of the 18 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, iron fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Calcium
Builds your bones and teeth.
Learn more
72.6 mg in one serving: 7% of the 1,000 mg a day.
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, calcium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Potassium
Your nerves, muscles and kidneys need it to work.
Learn more
145 mg in one serving: 4% of the 3,400 mg a day men need, 6% of the 2,600 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, potassium fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Thiamin (B1)
Your cells use it to get energy from food, and so to grow and work.
Learn more
0.04 mg in one serving: 3% of the 1.2 mg a day men need, 4% of the 1.1 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, thiamin fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Vitamin K1
Your blood needs it to clot.
Learn more
4.4 µg in one serving: 4% of the 120 µg a day men need, 5% of the 90 µg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin K fact sheet for health professionals
- A little
Magnesium
Your muscles and nerves need it to work.
Learn more
12.1 mg in one serving: 3% of the 400 mg a day men need, 4% of the 310 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, magnesium fact sheet for health professionals
- Almost none
Fibre
Keeps your gut moving.
Learn more
0 g in one serving: under 1% of the 38 g a day men need, under 1% of the 25 g women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. Institute of Medicine 2005, Dietary Reference Intakes for Energy, Carbohydrate, Fiber, Fat, Fatty Acids, Cholesterol, Protein, and Amino Acids
- Almost none
Vitamin C
Your body makes collagen with it, which wounds need to heal. It also helps you absorb iron from plants.
Learn more
0 mg in one serving: under 1% of the 90 mg a day men need, under 1% of the 75 mg women need. The word follows the smaller share, which is the share of the higher amount. ?
Source: How much of it gets in hasn’t been measured for this food yet. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, vitamin C fact sheet for health professionals
Watch out
How we counted this
Nothing here reaches a limit at ordinary amounts.
Worth knowing
No limit applies, so none is rated.
Sodium and saturated fat
One 110 g serving, as a share of the label’s daily value: sodium 160 mg (7%) · saturated and trans fat 4.4 g (22%)
Learn more
We name one of these whenever a serving gives 20% or more of its daily value on Health Canada’s Table of Daily Values (sodium 2,300 mg, saturated and trans fat together 20 g), the same 20% that reads “a lot” under Good for. The same rule applies to every food. Daily values are what labels count against, not limits.
Source: Health Canada, Table of Daily Values (nutrition labelling)
Cholesterol
305 mg in a 110 g serving.
Learn more
Shown, not rated: the current US and Canadian dietary guidelines set no daily limit for cholesterol from food, and put the weight on saturated fat and the overall diet. The Canadian Nutrition Facts table gives it no percent daily value.
The American Heart Association says healthy adults can include up to one whole egg a day (up to two for older adults with normal cholesterol, in a heart-healthy diet), and the Heart and Stroke Foundation says cholesterol in food has less effect on blood cholesterol than saturated and trans fat. If your cholesterol is high, your healthcare provider may advise limiting egg yolks. One serving on this page is 110 g (about 2 large eggs); that guidance counts eggs, not servings.
Source: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030 · Health Canada, Canada’s Dietary Guidelines, Section 1
Source: Carson et al., Circulation 2020 (American Heart Association science advisory) · Heart and Stroke Foundation, Managing cholesterol
Sugar
1.5 g of sugar in a 110 g serving, natural and added together.
Learn more
Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.
Also measured in it
Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.
Lactose: 1.1 g per 100 g, so about 1.22 g in a 110 g serving. · US food database (USDA SR Legacy) · grade B
Better options
How we counted this
“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.
Every amount below is for the same weight, 110 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.
A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.
More of what it’s good for
More protein
Chicken breast, roasted34.1 g in 110 g (this food: 11 g) · but less choline
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked29.7 g in 110 g (this food: 11 g) · but less choline
More selenium
Tilapia, cooked59.8 µg in 110 g (this food: 25.9 µg) · but less choline
Eggs, hard-boiled33.9 µg in 110 g (this food: 25.9 µg)
More choline
Eggs, hard-boiled323 mg in 110 g (this food: 243 mg)
Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.
More nutrients per serving, counted together
The other main-dish proteins or breakfast foods we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.
Eggs, hard-boiled- More vitamin B12 (1.22 µg vs 0.84 µg)
- More choline (323 mg vs 243 mg)
- More selenium (33.9 µg vs 25.9 µg)
Tilapia, cooked- More selenium (59.8 µg vs 25.9 µg)
- More vitamin B12 (2.05 µg vs 0.84 µg)
- More niacin (10.1 mg vs 2.78 mg)
- Less choline (56.4 mg vs 243 mg)
- Less riboflavin (0.08 mg vs 0.41 mg)
2 foods out of the 16 other main-dish proteins or breakfast foods we’ve checked and could compare give clearly more nutrients per serving.
Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.
Your goal
Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.
Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.
Greek yogurt, plain, nonfat- 65 kcal in 110 g (this food: 164)
- Less choline (16.6 mg vs 243 mg)
- Less selenium (10.7 µg vs 25.9 µg)
Cottage cheese- 115 kcal in 110 g (this food: 164)
- Less choline (20.2 mg vs 243 mg)
- Less selenium (10.7 µg vs 25.9 µg)
Eggs, hard-boiled- More vitamin B12 (1.22 µg vs 0.84 µg)
- More choline (323 mg vs 243 mg)
- More selenium (33.9 µg vs 25.9 µg)
Building muscle: more protein and more calories, per 100 g.
Eggs, hard-boiled12.6 g protein · 155 kcal per 100 g
Chicken breast, roasted31 g protein · 165 kcal per 100 g
Ground beef, 80% lean, cooked27 g protein · 272 kcal per 100 g
Why some foods aren’t suggested
Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).
Left out: Mussels, cooked (Cadmium: limit it).
Left out: Beef liver, pan-fried (Copper: limit it).
Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.
The numbers
Open every value
Name in the database: Egg, whole, scrambled
How the serving was set: 110 g (Health Canada G.1, egg mixtures such as scrambled eggs, omelettes)
Listed nutrients, per 100 g
For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.
| Nutrient | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3: ALA | 0.134 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Calcium | 66 mg | 72.6 mg | 44.3 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 58 mg | 63.8 mg | 38.93 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| 71.643 mg | 78.81 mg | 48.08 mg | second database · not used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #133 | C | |
| Carbohydrate | 1.61 g | 1.77 g | 1.08 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Choline | 221 mg | 243.1 mg | 148.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Energy | 149 kcal | 163.9 kcal | – | FDC Energy (kcal) used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) | – |
| Omega-3: EPA + DHA | 0.043 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fat | 10.98 g | 12.08 g | 7.37 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 21.2 g | 23.32 g | 14.23 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Cholesterol | 277 mg | 304.7 mg | 185.91 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fatty acids, total saturated | 3.331 g | 3.66 g | 2.24 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fibre | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.1 g | 0.11 g | 0.07 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Folate | 36 µg | 39.6 µg | 24.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 28 µg | 30.8 µg | 18.79 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Iron | 1.31 mg | 1.44 mg | 0.88 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 1.46 mg | 1.61 mg | 0.98 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Magnesium | 11 mg | 12.1 mg | 7.38 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 13 mg | 14.3 mg | 8.72 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents) | 2.525 mg | 2.78 mg | 1.69 mg | listed used | Canadian Nutrient File 2026 #133 | C |
| Phosphorus | 165 mg | 181.5 mg | 110.74 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 164 mg | 180.4 mg | 110.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Potassium | 132 mg | 145.2 mg | 88.59 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 150 mg | 165 mg | 100.67 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Protein | 9.99 g | 10.99 g | 6.7 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 11 g | 12.1 g | 7.38 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.376 mg | 0.41 mg | 0.25 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.37 mg | 0.41 mg | 0.25 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Selenium | 23.5 µg | 25.85 µg | 15.77 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 19 µg | 20.9 µg | 12.75 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Sodium | 145 mg | 159.5 mg | 97.32 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 253 mg | 278.3 mg | 169.8 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Sugars | 1.39 g | 1.53 g | 0.93 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.7 g | 0.77 g | 0.47 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.07 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Vitamin A | 161 µg | 177.1 µg | 108.05 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin B12 | 0.76 µg | 0.84 µg | 0.51 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 2.4 µg | 2.64 µg | 1.61 µg | second database · not used · 3.2× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.134 mg | 0.15 mg | 0.09 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin D | 1.8 µg | 1.98 µg | 1.21 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 2.8 µg | 3.08 µg | 1.88 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Vitamin E | 1.15 mg | 1.27 mg | 0.77 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 1.38 mg | 1.52 mg | 0.93 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Vitamin K1 | 4 µg | 4.4 µg | 2.68 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Water | 76.4 g | 84.04 g | 51.28 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 65.1 g | 71.61 g | 43.69 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Zinc | 1.04 mg | 1.14 mg | 0.7 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 1 mg | 1.1 mg | 0.67 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C |
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Per serving | Per 100 calories | How | Source | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beta-carotene | 26 µg | 28.6 µg | 17.45 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Copper | 0.059 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.04 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.05 mg | 0.06 mg | 0.03 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Ash | 1.01 g | 1.11 g | 0.68 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Sucrose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Glucose | 0.28 g | 0.31 g | 0.19 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fructose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Maltose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Alcohol, ethyl | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Theobromine | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Energy | 621 kj | 683.1 kj | 416.78 kj | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Galactose | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fluoride, F | 0.8 µg | 0.88 µg | 0.54 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin A, IU | 578 iu | 635.8 iu | 387.92 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Carotene, alpha | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units | 72 iu | 79.2 iu | 48.32 iu | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | 1.8 µg | 1.98 µg | 1.21 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta | 7 µg | 7.7 µg | 4.7 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Lycopene | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocopherol, beta | 0.03 mg | 0.03 mg | 0.02 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocopherol, gamma | 2.12 mg | 2.33 mg | 1.42 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocopherol, delta | 0.65 mg | 0.72 mg | 0.44 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocotrienol, alpha | 0.04 mg | 0.04 mg | 0.03 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocotrienol, beta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocotrienol, gamma | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tocotrienol, delta | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin K (Menaquinone-4) | 0.2 µg | 0.22 µg | 0.13 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin K (Dihydrophylloquinone) | 0.1 µg | 0.11 µg | 0.07 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Folic acid | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Folate, food | 36 µg | 39.6 µg | 24.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Folate, DFE | 36 µg | 39.6 µg | 24.16 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Betaine | 0.3 mg | 0.33 mg | 0.2 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tryptophan | 0.139 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Threonine | 0.442 g | 0.49 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Isoleucine | 0.532 g | 0.59 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Leucine | 0.861 g | 0.95 g | 0.58 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Lysine | 0.705 g | 0.78 g | 0.47 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Methionine | 0.297 g | 0.33 g | 0.2 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Cystine | 0.205 g | 0.23 g | 0.14 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Phenylalanine | 0.535 g | 0.59 g | 0.36 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Tyrosine | 0.402 g | 0.44 g | 0.27 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Valine | 0.676 g | 0.74 g | 0.45 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Arginine | 0.623 g | 0.69 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Histidine | 0.245 g | 0.27 g | 0.16 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Alanine | 0.566 g | 0.62 g | 0.38 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Aspartic acid | 1.034 g | 1.14 g | 0.69 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Glutamic acid | 1.378 g | 1.52 g | 0.92 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Glycine | 0.335 g | 0.37 g | 0.22 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Proline | 0.453 g | 0.5 g | 0.3 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Serine | 0.742 g | 0.82 g | 0.5 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin E, added | 0 mg | 0 mg | 0 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Vitamin B-12, added | 0 µg | 0 µg | 0 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fatty acids, total trans | 0.624 g | 0.69 g | 0.42 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 4:0 | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 6:0 | 0.016 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 8:0 | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 10:0 | 0.021 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 12:0 | 0.017 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 14:0 | 0.092 g | 0.1 g | 0.06 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 16:0 | 2.17 g | 2.39 g | 1.46 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 18:0 | 0.927 g | 1.02 g | 0.62 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 20:0 | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 18:1 | 4.25 g | 4.68 g | 2.85 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 18:2 | 2.067 g | 2.27 g | 1.39 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 18:3 | 0.134 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 20:4 | 0.139 g | 0.15 g | 0.09 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA) | 0.043 g | 0.05 g | 0.03 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 22:0 | 0.008 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 14:1 | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 16:1 | 0.15 g | 0.17 g | 0.1 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 18:4 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 20:1 | 0.025 g | 0.03 g | 0.02 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA) | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 22:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) | 0.005 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Phytosterols | 10 mg | 11 mg | 6.71 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fatty acids, total monounsaturated | 4.441 g | 4.89 g | 2.98 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated | 2.429 g | 2.67 g | 1.63 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 15:0 | 0.007 g | 0.01 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 17:0 | 0.019 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 24:0 | 0.003 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 24:1 c | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 20:2 n-6 c,c | 0.013 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 17:1 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 20:3 | 0.017 g | 0.02 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| SFA 13:0 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| MUFA 15:1 | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| PUFA 22:4 | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | 0.01 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Lactose | 1.11 g | 1.22 g | 0.74 g | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.7 g | 0.77 g | 0.47 g | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin | 372 µg | 409.2 µg | 249.66 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| Manganese | 0.022 mg | 0.02 mg | 0.01 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.08 mg | 0.09 mg | 0.05 mg | second database · not used · 3.6× | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Niacin (B3, preformed) | 0.076 mg | 0.08 mg | 0.05 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 0.1 mg | 0.11 mg | 0.07 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Pantothenic acid (B5) | 1.217 mg | 1.34 mg | 0.82 mg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 1.03 mg | 1.13 mg | 0.69 mg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C | |
| Retinol | 159 µg | 174.9 µg | 106.71 µg | listed used | US food database (USDA SR Legacy) #172187 | C |
| 264 µg | 290.4 µg | 177.18 µg | second database · not used | UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #12-945 | C |
Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.
Absorption studies
Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.
No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.
| Study | Nutrient | Absorbed | Test dose | People | Grade | On this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garrod et al. 2019: scrambled egg, vitamin B12 bioavailability (14C-B12, accelerator mass spectrometry) hens injected IM with 14C-B12 (eggs endogenously labelled); scrambling fat or milk not stated · scrambled; eggs pooled, blended, cooked in covered plastic containers by immersion in boiling water to at least 71 C, frozen at -20 C; eaten with dry toast and water. No added fat or milk mentioned · 1.4 to 2.65 microgram B12 per single serving (range across the 10 subjects, 0.0014-0.00265 mg); percent bioavailability fell as dose rose (about half at 2.6 microgram vs 1.4); absorbed dose 0.5-0.8 microgram; each serving about 80 g of egg (Methods) full text read | Vitamin B12 | 30.2 % | not reported | 10 | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
| Doscherholmen et al. 1975: egg, scrambled whole egg whole egg, in vivo labelled by injection into hens fed standard Purina Flock Chow · scrambled whole eggs (cooked; fat and method not stated); stored at -20 C in cellophane bags, reheated 30 s in a microwave · 0.56 ug B12 in 45-56 g of scrambled whole eggs, 0.4-0.5 uCi 57Co full text read | Vitamin B12 | 27.5 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
| Doscherholmen et al. 1975: egg, scrambled yolks only yolks only, in vivo labelled; mixed uniformly before scrambling · scrambled egg yolks only (cooked) · 0.5 ug B12 in 15 g of scrambled egg yolks, 0.4-0.5 uCi 57Co full text read | Vitamin B12 | 36.4 % | not reported | – | A | Not used: no test dose on record. |
| Kim et al. 2016: egg, scrambled, TRL vitamin E response (total) same brand bought from one local market · scrambled whole egg, "prepared uniformly on the basis of the American Egg Board's recommendation" · 150 g scrambled whole egg = 1.14 mg alpha-tocopherol (measured 7.6 ug/g x 150 g) full text read | Vitamin E | – | not reported | 9 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
| Kim et al. 2016: egg, scrambled, TRL vitamin E response per mg eaten not stated · scrambled whole egg · 1.14 mg alpha-tocopherol (measured) in 150 g scrambled whole egg full text read | Vitamin E | – | not reported | 9 | A | Not used: it measures something other than the share absorbed. |
Hazard rows as the dataset rates them
- Egg allergy · Worth knowing · Eggs are a Health Canada priority allergen · Health Canada, priority allergens · A
- Salmonella · Context · Scrambled until firm, with no liquid egg left, meets the advice; the flag belongs to raw or runny eggs. · PHAC 2021 · A
Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements
- lactose: 1.11 g/100 g · as listed · Egg, whole, cooked, scrambled (made with milk) · grade B · US food database (USDA SR Legacy)
Sources
- Health Canada, Canadian Nutrient File 2026 (14th edition)
cnf-2026· dataset · Open Government Licence – Canada 2.0 - Public Health England, Composition of Foods Integrated Dataset (CoFID) 2021
cofid-2021· dataset · Open Government Licence v3.0 - USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, 2018-04
fdc-sr-legacy-2018-04· dataset · CC0 1.0 (public domain) - Health Canada, Common food allergens (priority allergens list)
hc-priority-allergens· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Public Health Agency of Canada, Public Health Notice: Outbreak of Salmonella infections linked to eggs (final update 2021-04-14)
phac-egg-outbreak-2021· page · Government of Canada terms (Crown copyright; not OGL) - Doscherholmen A, McMahon J, Ripley D (1975) Vitamin B12 absorption from eggs. Proc Soc Exp Biol Med 149(4):987-990 · doi:10.3181/00379727-149-38940 · PMID 1172618
pmid:1172618· abstract only · Publisher copyright; abstract cited, nothing redistributed - Kim JE, Ferruzzi MG, Campbell WW. Egg consumption increases vitamin E absorption from co-consumed raw mixed vegetables in healthy young men. J Nutr 2016;146:2199-2205. · doi:10.3945/jn.116.236307 · PMID 27655756
pmid:27655756· full text read · licence not recorded - Garrod MG, Rossow HA, Calvert CC, Miller JW, Green R, Buchholz BA, Allen LH (2019) 14C-Cobalamin absorption from endogenously labeled chicken eggs assessed in humans using accelerator mass spectrometry. Nutrients 11(9):2148 · doi:10.3390/nu11092148 · PMID 31500393
pmid:31500393· full text read · Open access (PMC, MDPI); licence not checked
Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.
The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.
The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.
Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.