FoodtopsyFrançais
A mound of cooked white beans

White beans, cooked

Checked by us One serving: 95 g (about ½ cup) · 131 kcal

Protein, plus some fibre and iron. 5 more nutrients in moderate amounts: see Good for.

Cook dried beans well: raw or undercooked, they carry a natural toxin. Nothing else to watch.

Good for

How we counted this

What one serving (95 g) gives you.

Your body needs enough of each of these. Past enough, more doesn’t help. Amounts are what the food databases list, not what your body absorbs, unless a row says it was measured.

The words: “A lot” means one serving gives 20% or more of Health Canada’s daily amount, “Some” 10% to 19%, “A little” 2% to 9%, “Almost none” under 2%. Strongest word first; within a word, protein and fibre lead, then the biggest share.

A milligram (mg) is a thousandth of a gram, and a microgram (µg) a thousandth of a milligram: 1,000 µg make 1 mg.

14 more nutrients at a little or less

How to handle it

Watch out

How we counted this

How to handle it, just above: Cook dried beans well

Checked for cadmium and lead: fine at normal amounts.
  • Cadmium

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 21 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to use up what an average adult’s intake leaves under the limit.

    Learn more

    One serving carries 0.33 µg

    How we got this

    A serving a day adds 1.9% to what an average adult already takes in: a share of that intake, not of the limit. With that serving every day, an average adult would be at about 72% of the limit.

    An average adult already takes in about 71% of the limit. One serving a day fits in the room left.

    Counted from zero, with no allowance for what adults already take in from other food, 49,000 g a week would reach the limit.

    Why this rating: Eating it daily comes to 662 g a week, which stays within the 14,000 g of room left before the limit.

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: under the limit

    A daily serving adds 1.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap.

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with cadmium

  • Lead

    Nothing to watch

    You’d need about 100 servings a day, every day, of this food alone to double the lead an average adult already gets. No dose is known to be safe, so doubling is where we flag.

    Learn more

    A serving a day adds 1% to what an average adult already takes in. There is no limit to take a share of.

    One serving carries 0.36 µg

    How we got this

    The dataset’s rating: Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake

    Daily serving adds about 1.0% to average adult intake (0.5% at the recent mean); no cap

    Health Canada, Canadian Total Diet Study – Trace Elements (2005–2018 composites) · grade B

    Every food with lead

Worth knowing

No limit applies, so none is rated.

  • Sugar

    0.3 g of sugar in a 95 g serving, natural and added together.

    Learn more

    Shown, not rated. The food tables we read give total sugar, and few give added sugar, so the site can’t yet tell sugar added in making a food from the sugar in fruit or milk.

Also measured in it

Figures from the dataset. None has a limit to be rated against, so none is a verdict.

  • Phytate, as the source gives it: 1.7% average of three cultivars % (form and basis not stated) (not stated); control beans 980; iron-biofortified beans 1320 mg/100 g (phytic acid) (not stated) · Proulx 1993, PubMed 25332466 · grade B

    Phytate (also written InsP6, IP6 or phytic acid), the form in which plants store phosphorus, is found in whole grains, beans and nuts. It binds zinc in the gut and lowers how much zinc and plant (non-heme) iron you absorb. No limit applies.

    Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Zinc fact sheet · NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Iron fact sheet

Better options

How we counted this

“Better” here always means better at something the row names: more of one nutrient, more nutrients per serving, or the goal you pick. It never means better in every way.

Every amount below is for the same weight, 95 g, the size of one serving of this food, so a swap compares like with like. A serving of another food can be bigger or smaller.

Compared with the other main-dish proteins we’ve checked.

A food is listed only if it gives clearly more: at least a fifth more than this food, and at least 10% of the daily amount more.

More of what it’s good for

More protein

Amounts as listed, not adjusted for how much gets in.

For fibre: no other main-dish proteins we’ve checked give clearly more, in the same 95 g.

For iron: Chicken liver, simmered would lead, in the same 95 g, but is left out (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

More nutrients per serving, counted together

The other main-dish proteins we’ve checked with more nutrients per serving than this one, counting at most 100 kcal. One score ranks them all, so the same few often lead.

  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (566 mg vs 65.3 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.27 mg vs 0.04 mg)
    • More protein (17.2 g vs 9.2 g)
  • Lentils, cookedMore folate (171 µg vs 76.6 µg)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • More calcium (331 mg vs 85.1 mg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (302 mg vs 65.3 mg)
    • More selenium (8.42 µg vs 1.23 µg)
    • Less folate (14.2 µg vs 76.6 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.28 g vs 5.96 g)

Where the calcium card measured that less calcium gets in than from milk, calcium counts for less; everything else is as listed.

Your goal

Your goal changes only this list, not what the food gives you or what to watch.

Losing weight: fewer calories, and more nutrients, protein and fibre for each calorie.

  • Lentils, cookedMore folate (171 µg vs 76.6 µg)
  • Soybeans, cooked
    • More omega-3: ALA (566 mg vs 65.3 mg)
    • More riboflavin (0.27 mg vs 0.04 mg)
    • More protein (17.2 g vs 9.2 g)
  • Tofu, calcium-set
    • 72 kcal in 95 g (this food: 131)
    • More calcium (331 mg vs 85.1 mg)
    • More omega-3: ALA (302 mg vs 65.3 mg)
    • More selenium (8.42 µg vs 1.23 µg)
    • Less folate (14.2 µg vs 76.6 µg)
    • Less fibre (0.28 g vs 5.96 g)
Why some foods aren’t suggested

Left out: Bacon, pan-fried (Worth knowing: dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs · portions too different to compare by weight).

Left out: Chicken liver, simmered (Preformed vitamin A (retinol): limit it).

Bring a tracker export or describe your usual week. The same rules check all of it.

The numbers

Open every value

Name in the database: White beans, cooked

How the serving was set: 125 mL cooked = 94.57 g (Health Canada K.2; FDC 179 g per cup)

Listed nutrients, per 100 g

For each nutrient, the value this page uses is marked “used”. A row marked “second database” is another database’s figure for a matching food, kept so you can see how far databases disagree (they can differ in the samples analysed, lab methods and rounding). Its own cells are worked out from it, but none of the page’s words or scores are.

NutrientPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Omega-3: ALA0.069 g0.07 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Calcium90 mg85.11 mg64.75 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
65 mg61.47 mg46.76 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
90 mg85.11 mg64.75 mgcopy of USDA · not usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3386C
Carbohydrate25.09 g23.73 g18.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Choline35.1 mg33.19 mg25.25 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Energy139 kcal131.45 kcal–FDC Energy (kcal) usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy)–
Omega-3: EPA + DHA0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fat0.35 g0.33 g0.25 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.5 g0.47 g0.36 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Cholesterol0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fatty acids, total saturated0.091 g0.09 g0.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fibre6.3 g5.96 g4.53 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Folate81 µg76.6 µg58.27 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Iron3.7 mg3.5 mg2.66 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
2.5 mg2.36 mg1.8 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Magnesium63 mg59.58 mg45.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
45 mg42.56 mg32.37 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Niacin (B3, niacin equivalents)2.057 mg1.94 mg1.48 mglisted usedCanadian Nutrient File 2026 #3386C
Phosphorus113 mg106.86 mg81.29 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
120 mg113.48 mg86.33 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Potassium561 mg530.54 mg403.6 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
320 mg302.62 mg230.22 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Protein9.73 g9.2 g7 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
6.6 g6.24 g4.75 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Riboflavin (B2)0.046 mg0.04 mg0.03 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.04 mg0.04 mg0.03 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Selenium1.3 µg1.23 µg0.94 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
4 µg3.78 µg2.88 µgsecond database · not used · 3.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Sodium6 mg5.67 mg4.32 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
15 mg14.19 mg10.79 mgsecond database · not used · 2.5×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Sugars0.34 g0.32 g0.24 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.8 g0.76 g0.58 gsecond database · not used · 2.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Thiamin (B1)0.118 mg0.11 mg0.08 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.1 mg0.09 mg0.07 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Vitamin A0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin B120 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Vitamin B60.093 mg0.09 mg0.07 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.12 mg0.11 mg0.09 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Vitamin C0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin D0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Vitamin E0.94 mg0.89 mg0.68 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.07 mg0.07 mg0.05 mgsecond database · not used · 13.4×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Vitamin K13.5 µg3.31 µg2.52 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Water63.08 g59.65 g45.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
69.6 g65.82 g50.07 gsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Zinc1.38 mg1.31 mg0.99 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
1 mg0.95 mg0.72 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
NutrientPer 100 gPer servingPer 100 caloriesHowSourceGrade
Beta-carotene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Copper0.287 mg0.27 mg0.21 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.14 mg0.13 mg0.1 mgsecond database · not used · 2.1×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Ash1.75 g1.65 g1.26 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Caffeine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Theobromine0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Energy581 kj549.45 kj417.99 kjlisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin A, IU0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin D (D2 + D3), International Units0 iu0 iu0 iulisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Lycopene0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Folic acid0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Folate, food81 µg76.6 µg58.27 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Folate, DFE81 µg76.6 µg58.27 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Tryptophan0.115 g0.11 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Threonine0.409 g0.39 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Isoleucine0.429 g0.41 g0.31 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Leucine0.776 g0.73 g0.56 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Lysine0.668 g0.63 g0.48 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Methionine0.146 g0.14 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Cystine0.106 g0.1 g0.08 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Phenylalanine0.526 g0.5 g0.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Tyrosine0.274 g0.26 g0.2 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Valine0.509 g0.48 g0.37 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Arginine0.602 g0.57 g0.43 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Histidine0.271 g0.26 g0.19 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Alanine0.408 g0.39 g0.29 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Aspartic acid1.176 g1.11 g0.85 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Glutamic acid1.483 g1.4 g1.07 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Glycine0.38 g0.36 g0.27 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Proline0.412 g0.39 g0.3 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Serine0.529 g0.5 g0.38 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg0 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fatty acids, total trans0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 4:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 6:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 8:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 10:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 12:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 14:00 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 16:00.085 g0.08 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
SFA 18:00.005 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
MUFA 18:10.031 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 18:20.083 g0.08 g0.06 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 18:30.069 g0.07 g0.05 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 20:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
MUFA 16:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 18:40 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
MUFA 20:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
MUFA 22:10 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0 g0 g0 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated0.031 g0.03 g0.02 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.152 g0.14 g0.11 glisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Iodine0.1 µg0.09 µg0.07 µglisted usedUSDA iodine database (2024) #Beans, white, from dry, boiledC
Lutein + zeaxanthin0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
Manganese0.636 mg0.6 mg0.46 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.7 mg0.66 mg0.5 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Niacin (B3, preformed)0.14 mg0.13 mg0.1 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.6 mg0.57 mg0.43 mgsecond database · not used · 4.3×UK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Pantothenic acid (B5)0.229 mg0.22 mg0.16 mglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0.17 mg0.16 mg0.12 mgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C
Retinol0 µg0 µg0 µglisted usedUS food database (USDA SR Legacy) #175203C
0 µg0 µg0 µgsecond database · not usedUK food tables (CoFID 2021) #13-087C

Change the amount to rescale the first column. Nutrients a database doesn't list are missing, not zero.

Absorption studies

Studies of how much of a nutrient gets in; those done in animals are marked. This page quotes a figure only from a study that passes our screen: adults, graded A, of this food in this preparation, with a test dose on record and a source that has passed our evidence check. The exception is calcium on our calcium card: its figure comes from the card’s own study, checked with the card, and is marked “used” even where that study misses a step of this screen. The others are listed so nothing is hidden, each with the first check it fails.

No study of this food passes the screen yet, so no absorption figure is quoted.

StudyNutrientAbsorbedTest dosePeopleGradeOn this page
Weaver et al. 1993: white, red and pinto beans, pooled (shared arm; same study figure attached to both white and pinto rows)

white, red and pinto beans (labelled with 45Ca), cultivars not stated; the three types pooled, no per-type figure given · not stated; described as "cooked and pureed beans" eaten with toast, butter and coffee or tea in a later review (Shkembi & Huppertz 2022)

abstract only

Calcium21.9 %72 mg24ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Petry et al. 2014: control (non-biofortified) bean meals, native phytic acid

common bean, class unstated (Rwandan control beans); not white or pinto · cooked composite bean meals with potatoes or rice · load not reported (control beans 5.4 mg Fe per 100 g as analysed)

abstract only

Iron9.2 %not reported22BNot used: not graded A, so not a direct human study of this food and preparation.
Petry et al. 2016: beans common

control beans (regular iron and phytic acid concentrations) · cooked beans in a composite meal · load not reported in the text I read

abstract only

Iron8 %not reported25ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Petry et al. 2013: beans common

low-phytic-acid (lpa) mutant line high in polyphenols (PA 124 mg/100 g): NOT a standard bean; lpa line low in polyphenols 4% (1.8-8.7) · bean meal (cooking not stated) · load not reported

abstract only

Iron6.1 %not reported20BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Hodgkinson et al. 2025: beans common (pig) animal study

dry navy beans (a white bean) · Soaked, pressure cooked in water then lightly mashed · diet protein level not read; ration 0.08 x metabolic body weight (kg^0.75) per day

full text read

Protein96.6 %not reported6BNot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Donangelo 2003: high-Fe/Zn bean genotype (HFeZnB), extrinsic label

high-Fe/Zn bred genotype (zinc 98% higher than common beans): NOT the common-bean genotype · beans fed in a single meal; cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Zinc13.4 %not reported11ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.
Donangelo 2003: high-Fe/Zn bean genotype (HFeZnB), intrinsic label

high-Fe/Zn bred genotype: NOT the common-bean genotype · beans fed in a single meal; cooking not stated · load not reported

abstract only

Zinc15.2 %not reported11ANot used: we haven’t confirmed how the food was prepared in this study.

Hazard rows as the dataset rates them

  • Cadmium · Nothing to watch: under the limit · A daily serving adds 1.9% to an average adult's cadmium intake (EFSA 2012 adult median, 1.77 µg/kg body weight/week; Canadian adults in 2007: 1.2-1.75), far from doubling it, so no cap. · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Lead · Nothing to watch: doesn’t double average intake · Daily serving adds about 1.0% to average adult intake (0.5% at the recent mean); no cap · Health Canada Total Diet Study, trace elements · B
  • Phytohaemagglutinin (raw bean lectins) · Worth knowing · A risk only when raw or undercooked: boil for at least 30 minutes (FDA) and never slow-cook raw beans; canned beans carry under 1% of the lectin (phytohaemagglutinin) in raw beans. FDA: white kidney beans carry about a third of the toxin in red ones. · FDA 2012 · B

Oxalate, phytate and gut-tolerance measurements

  • fodmap excess fructose: none (fructose not detected) mg/g · seed flour · common bean dry seed, 12 accessions · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
  • fodmap fructan: 0.24 g/100 g FW = 1.85% DW (± 0.00 / 0.03) g/100 g · fresh weight · canned, as bought, whole beans cooked/dried for analysis · grade B · Ferjancic 2024
  • fodmap fructan: contested (#33) g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried haricot beans soaked overnight, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap gos: mean 3.64 across 7 great northern genotype means (computed from Table 5 rows) % dry weight · dry weight · dry seed (raw) · grade B · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: mean 1.72 across 7 great northern genotype means; leaching 47-55% (mean 52.3) % dry weight · dry weight · laboratory-canned, drained and rinsed (not home-boiled) · grade B · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: computed by agent from Table 5 rows: mean of 7 great northern genotype means · range 3.61–3.68 % dry weight (total RFO, stachyose basis) · dry weight · great northern (white) bean dry seed, field-grown, Alberta Canada · grade A · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: computed by agent from Table 5 rows: mean of 7 great northern genotype means · range 1.62–1.92 % dry weight (total RFO, stachyose basis) · dry weight · great northern (white) bean, laboratory-canned, drained and rinsed · grade B · Oleary 2026
  • fodmap gos: range 23.3–33.1 mg/g (RFO = verbascose + stachyose + raffinose; mean of 12 accessions) · mg per g of seed flour; moisture not stated · common bean (Phaseolus vulgaris) dry seed, local accessions, Asturias Spain · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
  • fodmap gos: 1.09 g/100 g · fresh weight, as eaten (drained) · dried haricot beans soaked overnight, boiled in unsalted water, drained · grade B · Biesiekierski 2012
  • fodmap gos: 45.43 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Judion (JG): raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 44.18 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Judion (JG): cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 42.17 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote WA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 30.48 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote WA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 38.5 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote PA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 29.73 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote PA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 34.61 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote BA: raw dry seed · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap gos: 33.1 mg/g dry matter · dry matter (freeze-dried) · Phaseolus coccineus (runner bean) Ayocote BA: cooked; soaked 10 h, boiled 98 C 60 min, drained, freeze-dried · grade B · Redondo cuenca2022
  • fodmap mannitol: not detected (not stated) g per 88 g serve · as eaten, per serve · haricot beans, boiled (88 g) · grade B · Varney 2017
  • fodmap mannitol: trace, not quantified mg/g · seed flour · common bean dry seed, 12 accessions · grade A · Rodriguezmadrera 2026
  • histamine: not detected (n = 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · legumes, non-fermented (cooked or raw not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018
  • lactose: 0 g/100 g · as listed · Beans, haricot, whole, dried, boiled in unsalted water · grade B · UK food tables (CoFID 2021)
  • lactose: not detected (not stated) g per 88 g serve · as eaten, per serve · haricot beans, boiled (88 g) · grade B · Varney 2017
  • oxalate soluble: about 24-72% of total oxalate is soluble across all pulses tested (not bean-specific) % of total · not stated · raw and processed seeds, pulses pooled · grade C · Shi 2018
  • oxalate soluble: mean 38.8 (n = 2) mg/100 g · seeds, dry (as bought) · raw dry seed (listing is cooked: preparation mismatch) · grade B · Siener 2021
  • oxalate total: 0.34% average of white, red, pinto beans % (basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Weaver 1993
  • oxalate total: 0.37% average of three cultivars % (basis not stated) · not stated · raw and cooked legumes were fed to rats; which state was analysed is not stated · grade B · Proulx 1993
  • oxalate total: 98.86-117.0 mg/100 g in common beans (the abstract does not say which states the range covers) mg/100 g · not stated · not stated (range may pool raw, soaked and cooked seeds) · grade B · Shi 2018
  • oxalate total: mean 547.9 (n = 2) mg/100 g · seeds, dry (as bought) · raw dry seed (listing is cooked: preparation mismatch) · grade B · Siener 2021
  • oxalate total: 47 ± 17 after boiling (raw 158 ± 16) mg/100 g · fresh weight · boiled (cooked in water until soft, about 2 h for beans) · grade B · Akhtar 2011
  • phytate: 1.7% average of three cultivars % (form and basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Proulx 1993
  • phytate: control beans 980; iron-biofortified beans 1320 mg/100 g (phytic acid) · not stated · beans as fed in composite meals (basis not stated) · grade B · PubMed 25332466
  • phytate: 1.7% average of white, red, pinto beans % (form and basis not stated) · not stated · not stated · grade B · Weaver 1993
  • phytate: range across published bean studies, mean about 1000 mg/100 g beans (phytic acid) · not stated (review) · not stated; mostly raw seed · grade B · Petry 2015
  • phytate: two normal-phytate parent lines: 1030 and 1360; low-phytic-acid lines 124 and 70 mg/100 g (phytic acid) · not stated · not stated · grade B · PubMed 23784069
  • tyramine: not detected (n 6) mg/kg · fresh weight · white beans, as sold in Spanish retail (dry vs cooked/canned not stated) · grade B · Sanchezperez 2018

Sources

Body map 2026-10-25.1: each nutrient’s job comes from an agency fact sheet, linked beside it under Good for.

The plain words: “a lot” means one serving (100 g when the food has no serving size) gives at least 20% of the daily amount (the reference intake), “some” at least 10%, “a little” at least 2% (the cut-offs are ours, one set for every page: 20% and 10% are borrowed from the US labelling terms “high” and “good source” and applied to Health Canada’s daily amount, whereas Health Canada’s own shopper rule says 15%; provisional: they may change in a later method version). The daily amount is Health Canada’s Dietary Reference Intake for adults 19–30; where men and women need different amounts we use the higher one (protein: 56 g for men, 46 g for women). The percentage printed under each nutrient is the printed amount as a share of that daily amount, rounded to the nearest whole number, and the word is read from that percentage, so the amount, the percentage and the word always agree. Calcium with a measured absorption is scaled by how well it gets in compared with milk.

The scale: “Nothing to watch” means a serving a day stays under the limit at ordinary amounts; “Go easy” means a serving a day can push past the limit for adults who already take in the most, or fewer than 2 servings reach it; “Limit it” means once a week or less. The dataset’s own rating is under “How we got this”. Provisional: the scale may change in a later method version.

Measured absorption under Good for: grade-A studies in adults that tested this preparation of this food, as a share of the listed amount (the share digested, for protein), quoted once each source has passed our evidence check; animal studies and other variants stay in the table above. Provisional: this screen may change in a later method version.